Maybach Excelero

I’m sure many of you know about the ultimate luxury car from the same group that brings you the Mercedes Benz S-class. The Maybach 57 and 62. The numbers refer to the length of the car. Either 5.7 meters or 6.2 meters.

They’ve recently outdone themselves with a special concept luxury coupe – The Maybach Exelero.

The car is basically a Maybach 57 chassis but shorter, but width and height remains the same. The car was developed in a joint venture between Maybach and Fulda, a tyre manufacturer who wanted to use the car to test whether it’s tyres could withstand high speeds.

The particular tyre tested for this car was it’s 315/25/ZR23 series tire that is capable of speed of over 350 kph. Notice the 25? Super thin sidewall means a very low profile look. Note that this is not a racing tyre but it’s street legal!

For this crazy application, the 5.6 litre Maybach V12 was upped to 5.9 litres and the twin-turbo system was optimized for top-speed, along with other tweaks.

The result is 700bhp and 1000Nm of torque. Top speed achieved so far is 351.45kph. Well, they managed to test the speed limit of the tyres alright! :)

Fulda also teamed up with Maybach back in 1938 fo the exact same reason. This was the old Maybach that Fulda used to test it’s tyres back in 1938. Top speed was over 200kmh. The car was lost in World War 2.

You gotta love that sporty red trimmed interior! The dash sports a huge speedometer to show the high top speed that the car can go? :P

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ambayah on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:37 am

Wah, now all want to look like Bat-mobile eh. I like the front, no the rear. Especiall those clowny lights.

• AlexC on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:22 pm

Yeah, its looks very batman like… too bad our road is just not roadworthy enough, full of got damn pot holes, manholes and whatever holes there is… cant even tar back the road properly when they do so, you'd see all those manholes cover left unpatched and there'll be a dip there… its all over penang island… no thanks to sami vellu… come here clean your shit oi… if you need every picture of all these for you to patch up, i'd be more than willing to snap that…

• don^don on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:38 pm

wow~ a batman car??? that's a super-hyper fast car! such high torque, how much would the acceleration be?

the front looks awesome! but the back… erm… mayb a lil weird. nevertheless, its really streamline, like it! haha~

street legal tyres which can withstand such high speed? who's gonna buy that tyre for street racing? and its so "thin"!

• good, great…… BUT not for everyday, everyone.

• i really love the interior…really cool man!it's like yours wordpress theme hehehe Paul

• ir_entau on Aug 12, 2005 at 8:19 pm

Walao this maybach sure sempoi and luxury ar their design. Sure lovely liao but unfortunately if picture only no point la, if got into malaysian market maybe only the AP kings and co only can taste the maybach experience. kanneh liao the AP kings – they should change their name to Fai Chye Kings. Now we all like angan angan mat jenin only. Can dream only….sigh.

• bikerwannabe on Aug 12, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Doesn't the front grille looks like the BMW kidney grille?

• accord kia on Aug 13, 2005 at 12:10 am

the front light look like honda accord

• How much does a "normal" Maybach worth in malaysia? I saw 1, at my work place… i remember the its logo.

• neurra on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:05 am

what's up with the front grill? looks like Punisher logo.. swtz.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:06 am

auw…. pow!……….

that car…… my gosh….

if a women drive that thing may be some say 'must be sugerdehdi ti lich lalok.. er.. latok i mean… if male … same story la……

if "eh-pi" king… i orlehdi have it … last year… bee-por sale in here…..

ha… ha… ha…

• mamat on Aug 13, 2005 at 2:28 pm

this car looks like a 1950 Citroen DS from the early sketch

• mamat: you're right it does… but the citroen is shorter.

• gen2 gang on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:04 pm

i want change my gen2maybach to the future.goooooddddddddd.nice interior design.

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 17, 2005 at 7:55 am

Saw one Maybach the other day. It belongs to the Government. It is the King official car. He came to USM for the Convo. He came with his wife…Nice car man….So solid…Wa punya water dripping everywhere…Talk to the driver… He say it is around RM 3 mil something..Including some modification….

The car is BIG and LONG….But easy to drive, according to the driver…Wa bole tengok saja la….apa bole buat…..

• This car looks awesome, I wish I could buy it, the only thing is I don't think it'll fit in me garage.. hehe

• OTSCH on Oct 01, 2005 at 11:13 am

An awesome vehicle, it seems like the darth vader´s drivings, i like it, it seems to be angry with the rest of the world.

• skiendog on Oct 17, 2005 at 7:58 pm

nope. looks nothing like the citroen. ok, as far as automobiles go, it looks great. it is TRUELY a work of art. buy guys, come on, it does ot look like something that mayback should be invinting!! i mean, people, mayback is about the ultimate luxury car. not some high performance batmobile. not to say that the 57 and 62 aren't higyh performance…..they will outperform almost any car on the road except other supercars……but people, this is NOT what maybach has ever been about. and not to say that it doesnt look very nice on the inside as well, it does. just not….like what i believe that a maybach SHOULD look like on the inside. catch my drift?

oh, and before i go, im under the impression that maybach did not invent the S class. they only take the S class and lengthen the chasis to make the 57 and 62. the S class has been around since almost day one in mercedes. (hints the SE, right?) well, also has maybach, actually. the gentleman was side by side with mercedes since day one. but anyway, the relationship between maybach and the mercedes S class is that maybach uses the chasis for it's vehicles.

• DRHart on Nov 03, 2005 at 11:29 pm

This is the most beautiful piece of nature I have ever seen.

Its beauty and power make me fall to my knees and weep.

There has never been and probably never will be something

so beautiful again.

• ahmed on Dec 30, 2005 at 5:04 am

very nice except for the back…..to extreme