No more APs for Wald

MITI has stopped the issue of APs for the Wald marque based on reports of non- compliance with import regulations by the local importer Amazing Tempo Sdn. Bhd.

Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd is owned by Tunku Datuk Zainol Tengku Izham and Ramzia Arshad, who were allocated 2,025 APs this year.

The Wald cars imported into Malaysia are basically tuned Toyota and Volkswagen models.

I wonder what that ‘non-compliance’ is.

Source: New Straits Times

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maelzx on Aug 31, 2005 at 11:19 pm

I like WALD car … but still prefer the original one. So I dont care if WALD are nowhere to stay.

• ferrari on Aug 31, 2005 at 11:51 pm

Non compliance means that some one got more A.P's than another's favoured son so not fair. Instead of cancelling APs, they just ban WALD! /do u know that WALD signboards have just appeared in my area since July 05? Now they have to remove them and waste all the advertising money. Wonder what happens to the wald cars already imported? Do they have to be tuned down to meet the JPJ requirement? I just cannot understand why wald is a threat as all the cars are premium models and more expensive than Proton Perdana. They should not threaten proton's sales as proton don't have cars in that category. Wonder if porsche cars are tuned up and if they meet the requirements…. I also read that certain cars are now reclassified to cars instead of MPV and subjected to higher price, e.g. GM Aveo, Kia Picanto and others. Is Hyundai Matrix affected? Imagine 1 ap = RM20,000, 2000 ap x 20,000 = RM40.000.000 lost! IF I were the affected company I have to "chao lo" or die a bankrupt.

• wingz on Aug 31, 2005 at 11:52 pm

non-compliance means hulur tak cukup ? LMAO!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 01, 2005 at 1:06 am

AP issues already a hot topic. Many "TAI LO" or "BIG BRO" watching!!! including US.

I guess None compliance maybe caused by ENGINE cc size crash with POTONG or NAZI or PRO2 models. You all may just know that POTONG is lossing money now!! So Government Need to take aggressive countermeasures immediately! TO repair the WOK or "PO WOK"!!

• hfrshah on Sep 01, 2005 at 1:44 am

WTF??

does this mean all the VW cars sold by Amazing Tempo Sdn. Bhd. will no longer be available? damn it.. what a waste.

Proton sure knows how to make the rakyat hate them..

• littlemin on Sep 01, 2005 at 1:45 am

Damn it!!!!!!!!!!

• They can still sell, but they have to buy APs from the Open AP recipients lah.

• Anonymous on Sep 01, 2005 at 2:19 am

Does this mean no more VW Golf GTI's? Nooo..

• There were loads of WALD advertisements along the Fed. Highway when I was driving to 'balik kampung'. All of the WALD models that appeared were the VW's. I agree with ferrari about the ads money.

Sad for them……..

• well thats life, cari new business la…anyway, tak mampu buy the WALD car also lah..'wald' a waste…

• AlexC on Sep 01, 2005 at 3:11 pm

So what's gonna happen to the buyers of these cars now??? I do know of someone close who bought Wald's Golf… does it mean they're closing down or what??? after sales for those people???

Anyway, our local tuners like Wald only make minor changes like rims, body kits and those stuffs… for the more serious tuning like engine capacity they make it optional, so whats up with being non compliant??? Without AP no problem la… even if VW is just a average car in UK, i would rather have that in our streets than proton…

• Johnny Boy on Sep 01, 2005 at 5:45 pm

VW will still be available. Only Wald tuned VW will not be approved for importation………

Coz Wald is a scam to malaysian, import second hand cars, put 1 Wald sticker, sell RM50,000 more than original brand…..c'mon malaysian, do your research…..

Even the sticker was paste on at Port Klang before declaring to customs. Nothing special actually.

• dont be so naive as to think that wald lost their AP's due to proton or supposed competition to proton.

i find it really weird that some people actually feel pity for them.

Companies like wald get AP's for free, they don't pay for it. and they have an unusually high ratio of AP's numbering in the hundreds.

There must be a good reason why they lost their AP's.

i'm not about to speculate.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 01, 2005 at 8:50 pm

dont be stupid lah..

do you al want to buy a WALD? huh!..

if you all got the money.. buying a WALD is never in choice lah!..

stop being a hipocrate-lah mennnn..

// if i got lots a money.. of courseee.. i will buy a BMW 6 series!

what the F wald is.. !

• luv u mitsu! f-ing hipocrate guys here!

• Biothing on Sep 02, 2005 at 5:10 am

What the heck is WALD?

WALD cars just like other tune up la.. special, well how special you want it to be? I think we are not really culturally awake to accept tune up cars en mass, and I agree it can cost a bomb to own one.

Why everyone so happy about WALD being terminated? I failed to understand. I am happy with all the choices.

They are giving guarantee 2 years on our WISH tune up version, pay 15K more (after bargain), but the tune up engine has 20BHP extra, and save bit more petrol.

Cannot afford BMW 6 series? I say aye to any tune up that can save petrol!

Hey, why not all go hybrid!!

• Apai_Mau on Sep 02, 2005 at 6:22 am

Everyone would love to go hybrid.

But since local car manufacturers are very unlikely to make one, it will take a long time before the common rakyat gets one. And by that time I wonder if Proton still exists…and the APs become the next car manufacturer(s)…

• Philippecr on Sep 02, 2005 at 8:46 pm

em… i heard from my father say tat WALD car are all "run-tax" cars. they're tune the car outside of Malaysia, then sell here. Something like Buy-Tune-Sell. Since it's tuned, it din considered as New Car adi, the tax collecting is different with New Cars.

just my 2cents ^^" dun flame me. izzit correct?

• hfrshah on Sep 02, 2005 at 9:06 pm

Wald cars are considered reconditioned cars-second hand

• Not all wald cars are reconditioned.

The VW touregs and Golf GTi are supposed to be brand new.

I guess "non-compliance" menas that WALD did not bring in the original car from the manufacturer, instead, it brought in a rebadged version

• hfrshah on Sep 03, 2005 at 3:34 am

yeah the Touareg, Polo 1.4, Golf 1.6, and Golf GTI are new cars. theyre brought in by Wald, new. only some carry their Wald badge

• sazliaza on Sep 03, 2005 at 9:29 pm

WALD ARE ALL NEW IMPORTED CARS. SO SAD NOT TO BE ABLE TO BUY ANYMORE VW. NASSIMUDIN IS A HAPPY MAN NOW THAT HIS MAIN COMPETITOR HAS LOST…

• Biothing on Sep 07, 2005 at 8:44 pm

WALD brand is big in Japan. Apart from performance cars, they also do marine things, boat etc.

sazliaza!

I guess the big AP Kings are afraid that the smaller ones are threatening the import business. Since WALD setup is combine Malay Chinese etc, so he got many NAGA with him. NAZA got scared la!

Is it really about NAZA??

How about this for theory.. AP King NAZA not really King, but Amazing Tempo one is the real King (he is royal blood, Tengku after all). I heard he donated a lot money to charities and village people – now that's the real King. Not the NAZA one with Zillions (!!!) of APs, or the Honda ones.

So NAZA King got scared with NAGA King! ha ha

But then again, NAGA king lost lah. Why ahh

All this nonsense, we want HYBRID. tired of paying petrol like crazyy

• i'm lost here ? where the hell am i? is it mars!!!!!!

everybody talking abt cars, wald here and wald there!!!! From IMF to AP's. I think rafidah also too much. She treats her own ministry like his own bloody home. Why all the sudden she's so damn quiet ?? When 1997 recession hit malaysia we all endure lots of pain VSS and so much more. Asking IMF to interfere with our own economy, is like handing them a knife so they can cut our throat. No one can guarantee how could IMF help. Better ask george soros!! I read someone wrote that we shout "ikat perut" for 4 -5 years so as to wipe out all the corruption and such in the G. A call to endure and shaken all things up, wll let me say to that poor fellow, how do u feel if i go to ur house and start doing as what IMF doing, controlling everything.? There is no good at all abut this stupid IMF. Yeah they call us what ever they want but look at the end of the day, World Bank itself acknowlegde that malaysia took a very good countermeasure to save the economy. Soon after that IMF also issue a statement that we did a good job to maintain our economy from futher depression. I love it when Dr M really gave this mongkey George Soros a really good 'tiaw'….i love to his face when malaysia imposed/ decide to abolish some Ringgit notes. Well he deserves it.

About cars all this tune up shits….i think it is about time they wind up their business. Those people should be shot to death. But to think it again, we as a customers also some kind of stupid too. We have the freedom to ask and choose. If u think u can afford go ahead and buy and if u not just walk away and find cars that fits your financial. Don't blame on other party.

cuz why i tell u y, "when u point 1 finger to a person, look where are the other 4 finger goes to". The choice is ours. Not them.

If by chance Pak Lah read this commentry, i would like to suggest to him that he should reshuffle his cabinet members. This is what happen if someone stays to long at one position. Chaotic!!!! Do more surprise visit, consistantly transfer their minister from one to other ministry or just replace with new faces, this in include their staff ministry. Hantarkan ajer mereka semua ni pergi luar bandar. Let them befriended with monkeys.

Nobody is perfect but once again. There's always a solutions to every problem. If u not satisfied or agree what the G's doing all this while, we don't have to kill each other to straight it out, just put a X at the right spot when the polling days arrive. Now everybody have a choice..!!! wicked.?!?!?@

Later guys,

~k~

• wat ?? the wald only rm 11,000 so funny …my bike also twice the price..

damn for the those has the AP and eat the AP alone …i wish i could get one so i can i import a bicycle from china for only 1 cent a lot