Satria Replacement Model to get Kleemann Supercharger

The Proton Satria Neo has been launched! Click the banner for an in-depth review of the car we’ve all known as the Proton Satria Replacement Model!

Seems Proton is working with Kleemann for it’s new 1.8 litre Campro to be found in the Satria Replacement Model. The 1.8 litre Campro engine will be developed to be fitted with Kleemann’s twin-screw supercharger.

The Kleemann supercharger managed to push up output from 306hp and 460Nm torque up to 506hp and 675Nm torque on a 5 litre Mercedes V8 engine without any engine modifications.

I’ve tried to look for other sources of this piece of news online but only found one in Bahasa Melayu by Johardy Ibrahim in Utusan Malaysia’s Korporat section, seems strange doesn’t it? Let’s treat this as an unconfirmed rumour for now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason on Sep 07, 2005 at 8:09 pm

Should give about extra 40-80 HP on a 1.8 engine i guess.

• Is the 1.8L Campro really have the Cam Profile Switching capabilities? So I guess the engine w/o Kleeman will have 120-140hp and add another 40hp with Kleeman. 180hp Proton? Hmm hope the brake work all the time.

• Edison on Sep 07, 2005 at 8:47 pm

So I am assuming that this new engine will be used for the SRM GTi? This should be pretty interesting. I've tested the Gen2 the other day, but I didn't find anything special about the power that was produced by the 1.6 Campro. Not only it is seriously overrated but a Wira 1.6 does a much better job.

Btw, does anyone know when the SRM will be launched? Need a car real bad!

• Biothing on Sep 07, 2005 at 8:48 pm

Can't beat them, join them.

I wonder how many people bought Kleeman before. But if this gadget works why not! Tune Up Satria yeaa!!

Maybe other tune up kits can come in too, cheaper perhaps. Tom, Impul, GPower, Brabus (Is it really approved by Mercedes – I know ONLY AMG is Mercedes approved la!!)

Afraid WALD has missed the boat! Should have offerred WALD Satria or WALD Waja!!??

WE WANT HYBRID (repeat many times!!)

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 07, 2005 at 8:49 pm

Paul, I am wondering SRM 1.8l Engine Block is the same as 1.6 Campro or not?? Please find out more info…

If it is the same, I just doubt the realiability of the Campro engine structure, whether it can withstand these Upgrade Supercharge force 506hp!!!

Aluminium Block had been used on Mitsubishi new models as standard, mainly for weight reduction, it already applied on CLOTs and new Outlander (To be launched in Japan in OCT 2005) Hope POTONG will use it on SRM to improve performance too.

• ah lim on Sep 07, 2005 at 9:09 pm

potong mimpi kot…. ahak ahak ahaks……

• Andrew on Sep 07, 2005 at 9:17 pm

Another weird decision from Proton.

SRM with 1.8ltr engine supercharged?

Who are the target market?

Who would want to buy the car (pricing concern)?

Where can we find the confidence in the end-product?

Proton has completely gone GERMAN.

Will SRM help Proton make a profit from the market where all people need is an affordable people-mover, not a 2nd car (track car/sports car/whatsoever)?

Just simply astonishing!

• FiveElements on Sep 07, 2005 at 9:31 pm

Lets just see if this will happen. But seriously i doubt so.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 07, 2005 at 9:42 pm

good job proton..

satria already have a good look.. now must have more power..

but.. please.. no 1.3 please.. because of budget type buyer.. that gonna make satria = cheap model..

so only 1.6 and 1.8 is okaylah..

after increase hp out put.. and must though as savy at least.. no more tin milo!..

FAST, SPORTY, enough WEIGHT, and a must have a SUPERBRAKE! = ALL disk brake.

Wait and see.. (maybe they going fast later.. to cover all they lost on Late of savvy. )

Hurmpp.. but i do doubt so.. always indah khabar dari rupa.

• FiveElements on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:01 pm

Think we all must remind ourself that PROTON OWNS LOTUS.

And they never make good use out of it. Now what Kleemann???

The clowns at PROTON are real good running a circus.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:16 pm

siao one

i stil upset they dun want take eo1 engine (furious@#$@!%)

why so stupid one offered by petronas lagi ,if have also no need supercharger lah waste oil nia more combustion more oil

damn this car is really gonna makan oil

why if want sports car build one alang alang sports car wanna build just come out with ur proton ultimate rite away loh

why dun make an affordable people mover with lots of space a suv perhaps and dump a reliable engine that save oil in it

ah make it round 70k it will be instant hit man

• napps on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:26 pm

Boleh percaya ke ni???

• E-Nabill on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:28 pm

guys,ther is one one source for this news,could be jus romours,if it was true and a signed document,i tink it wil be all over the media,or mabe its some proton insider trying to get shareholders and investors exciting again about proton…..

• cameljoe on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:30 pm

Gee, Proton getting creative? Maybe is for the R3 project or some race car project. How much bhp can one get from this setup? 1.8L say 200bhp, can ah. Dunno, somebody can help calculate.

Yo, Paul, got meself a blog, hahahaahahah, aiyo, a lot of hard work updating stuff.

• supercharger?? the buyers would be those people who doesn't mind to burn a hole in their pocket just for petrol.

• hfrshah on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:52 pm

guy can we please wait till the engine is ready, then only comment? if its proven to be bad, then kutuk puas-puas, but before that please, control yourselves.. its just a rumour anyway…

if they are gonna make a supercharged Proton, its gotta be a performance oriented model, most probably SRM GTi.. and Kleeman is officially recognized by Mercedes-Benz. installing Kleeman's superchargers does not void the car's waranty.

FiveElements, all the recent Proton cars have outstanding handling. thats a direct result of Lotus' involvement.. and a damn good one too. they too are (reportedly) working with Proton in developing Proton's Cam Profiling System

• hfrshah on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:05 pm

Kleemann claims that their superchargers doesnt affect fuel consumption as much as you guys think.. in city driving where a variation of engine revs/speed is used, fuel consumption figure will decrease by about 0.5km/ltr… AND on highways, the extra power will allow the engine to run at a much lower rev while cruising at a constant speed, thus fuel consumption does not change at all(and on som cases its better!)

• Wonderer on Sep 08, 2005 at 12:14 am

Paul, what is a compressor anyway ? Is it based on turbocharger principal ? Btw Why Proton must use compressor, does CAMPRO with CPS still don't have the umpphh ? Hmmm

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 12:22 am

hfrshah,

The handling thingy mentioned by PROTON is just another sales gimmick la brother….

Well with that words it makes you feel better for the handling. To achieve that its not too difficult. Lowered your car with the correct height and use the correct spring. With the right size tyres and rims of course.

Some people opt for the dangerous and cheaper way by just chopping their spring will have the same performance so called "HANDLING by LOTUS"

Actually i have compared my stock Satria GTI with my friends "chop" Satria 1.6 which is " HANDLING BY AH BENG AND AH SENG". There are no differences at all in terms of handling.

You are right if its compared to Proton's other stock model la….

• potong-oriented on Sep 08, 2005 at 12:49 am

haha..at last potong show up their capabilities of kelentong..:P but its a good idea to put on Kleeman's gadget.but just now potong dah rugi,how come their can intro sum new model with sum high-cost gadget?new marketing strategy ah?

• aksMS on Sep 08, 2005 at 1:25 am

Different people has different appreciation. Some would find Savvy a good design. While others might say it's hideous. Same thing with ride and handling. It's difficult to make cars that will suits everybody preferences because everyone has different style of driving and different benchmark of ride comfort.

I would agree that with some 'good' investment, any top notch after market product with top notch setting could easily match or surpass the one from the stock GTi's.

When there are so many options in the market…why not?

• Use Eibach springs…thumbs up. (c:

• Apai_Mau on Sep 08, 2005 at 1:32 am

Supercharged SRM? Vrooommm……

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 08, 2005 at 1:40 am

yo Paul, dig some more about the Putra in the resent topic.. it does look cool.. if it's true to use 1.1L engine.. won't mind waiting for it…

• hang jebat: that one photoshop joke lah

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 08, 2005 at 2:05 am

whoaa… i tot it was real coz of the mag paper… anyway good photoshop joke… hehe

& Paul, another favor.. can u dig somemore abot the AMT Savvy, when will it be released, latest news etc… coz i went Proton Edar a while ago & the salesperson told the booking of the AMT version can be made already…

• aksMS on Sep 08, 2005 at 2:44 am

People just love to joke around about Proton. When will the Management and the big 'G' will ever take notice?

Anyway, the mid section does have the resemblence of Merc Coupe and Beemer. Especially the door handles. Or is it a Honda? Hahah. My credit to whoever that find the time to do it (the Photoshop). Maybe Proton should bring back the design contest.

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 3:08 am

the pic was originally a Merc SL55 AMG(can see from the side 'gills' and rims) with Gen.2 front and back pasted on..

• aksMS on Sep 08, 2005 at 3:43 am

ya ka? heheh. if only Proton 'did' build tis car, i dont mind queing. PRM 1.8 Campro Supercharge, a sport version. Peh! Paul, would u?

• there can make a car so pro but when come to problem there also pro in dont no n biasa la.

like to do a stupid thing but dont like people to say there r stupid.

• Biothing on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:19 pm

What's this about Kleeman (and Barbus) being 'approved' tuner/vendor whatever for Mercedes. ONLY AMG lo, approved and fully owned by Mercedes. Other stuff are make believe.

Kleeman is Danish [not German]. Proton does Danish!! Must be Rafidah's niece's doing..trying to improve ties with Proton.. he he

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:52 pm

Kleemann cars are still named 'Mercedes-Benz Kleemann '. it is recognized by Mercedes GMbH as a tuner.

AMG is not fully owned by Mercedes.. DaimlerChrysler AG owns a majority(51%) share of AMG. Mercedes-AMG(launched in 1999) is the daughter company

• Sekot on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:21 pm

DaimlerChrysler is Mercedes la… dulu nama dia Daimler Benz AG.. then they bought over Chrysler Corp jadi la Daimler Chrysler… Kleeemann just another tuner, but it is recon by DC..

• rafreez on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:42 pm

I've no comments, i'm only going to comment when I can test drive it…I hope you guys no more 'Tin Kosong'

• five elements,

if you actually believe cutting your springs can equal the same performance as a car tuned by lotus or any other good handling stock road car, you obviously have no understanding of what handling in a car is all about.

• The rumors are true… The COO of Proton is to sign A MOU very soon…..A new era………Proton.

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:36 pm

HELLO MR GARY,

I'M NOT ENCOURAGING YOU TO CUT YOUR SPRING LA!!!!

SECONDLY, I THINK YOU ARE ABIT FACINATED WITH THE 'LOTUS TUNED WORD'

THIRDLY, PAY ATTENTION JUST TO PROVE I'M RIGHT. BRING YOUR CAR (IF ITS A LOTUS TUNED PROTON) TO YOUR MECHANIC. ASK HIM TO JACK IT UP AND LOOK BELOW. ASK THEM TO REMOVE THE TYRES THE SPRING AND ABSOBER. SEE YOURSELF HOW LOTUS TUNE THAT.

PLS DO ALSO ASK HIM IF THE WORD 'LOTUS TUNED' IS BULLSHIT.

• AlexC on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:29 pm

Erm, i think lotus tuned is more like the slightly more aerodynamic bumpers found on the god damn old satria body… its look way cooler than the normal satria… springs, just put any adjustables and generally they're good to go for higher speed and corners… but with a 1.8 engine, i see no sense from lotus putting 2 exhaust, doesnt complement on the power… cosmetic, maybe… unless they have higher capacity like way above 2 litre engine…

And the engine, why the hell campro and so what if its kleeman??? proton still could not make their cam to work yet also, so what the big deal of having kleeman??? get brabus or ac schnitzer (if they are willing also) to do it, great names, so what if the engine block itself is a failure??? can jalan, yes, but technology??? this is quite basic in terms of current automobile industry… 'lotus tuned', 'kleeman tuned', all biols down to the same thing… proton is still trying to take people's ass to stick to their face to sell product… throw that thundercat logo and put in a sexy ass in g-strings la, many will attract more buyers…

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:56 pm

the Satria bodykit was designed by Proton in-house..

its not as simple changing spring/ride height/tyre combination la. you need to have expertise in getting the right balance/compromise for body control and ride quality.. and Lotus has that is abundance!

if it was as simple as you mentioned, then you wont have 'bad-handling' cars anymore.. and i wasnt talking about the Satria GTi only, more like Proton in general.. when compared head to head, the Waja has superior balance/body control than the Civic.. Lotus influence lead to that outcome

• Verne on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:37 pm

I used my limited translation skills to post an English version of the Utusan article. Available here:

http://www.macxcess.com/vblog/2005/09/supercharge…

I am skeptical, although it sounds absolutely exciting. Makes no economic sense, and very, very shortsighted.

• 5 elements,

firstly, you dont have to be so insecure and type out your entire reply in "CAPS".

Maybe i'm just stupid, so could you please enlighten me on how you can see if lotus has tuned a car just by doing what you just told me? jacking up the car, taking of the wheels, springs and absorbers?

At the same time, maybe you could also tell me why you think your satria gti is not "lotus tuned"?

• aksMS on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:30 am

I think what was meant by Lotus tuned handling was the different spring rate and damper setting. When you take a look at it it may look no different than other Proton's OEM parts. But the rate and settings are tuned accordingly to the body weight and structure.

Potong spring can only make a car looks good. But the ride and handling was sacrificed. It may be cheap. But, most people dont realize how dangerous it is. So much for the ASAL BOLEH Malaysian.

• Verne on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:51 am

I don't understand how people can claim that a Lotus-tuned SGTi has no difference with a normal Satria. Or a Waja, Gen-2, Perdana V6 or Savvy as compared to their predecessors.

Lotus may not have been completely involved in developing suspension systems from ground up for these models, but have lended a hand in tuning ride and handling and NVH.

To claim that they don't have any effect is a pretty remarkable statement. From the uninformed that is.

• cbljkkj on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:03 am

I completely agree with you Verne. I may have criticized many Proton cars in the past and badgered them to death with a stick but at least i do agree that at least we have improved a little if not a lot.

The only thing that pisses me off nowadays is the QC on the current cars compared to their predecessors. It's a little weird to being going backward QC wise but hopefully the handling will be improved over time.

This 1.8 Campro Kleeman Supercharged is certainly one of the most exciting news to come out of Proton/Anonymous/Utusan but like you Verne, I am also very skeptical it will actually come true. Whatever happens, happens

• Hahhahah hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:50 am

To hfrshah :

See from the side u know is SL55 AMG ???

With full kleemenn loaded Benz is not Allowed to have BENZ TAG (the star infront).

So u found all Brabus withB logo in front and Kleemenn with K (pink colour) and a blue Kleemenn Caliper that is pure Kleemenn car …..

Not those Ah Beng Benz with Brabus Bodykit or tail pipe and call it A Brabus Benz ……….

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:47 am

yeah its kinda obvious actually.. the side profile hasnt been changed, from the ‘gills’ just behind the front wheel arches you should know its an SL, and from the rims, youd know its the AMG version. and oh.. having the original unedited picture helps too, hehe

• AlexC on Sep 09, 2005 at 2:33 pm

hfrshah: with a little research, you can tune your car handling much better compared to default parts… talking about driving, if this is not the extreme or just on road drive, it makes not much difference… tyres, just select the thread that suits your road most, but usually drivers dont just buy tyres just for wet or dry road, mostly on tar generally… height, the lower the better, reduces center of gravity, normal physics… springs, many manufacturers have optimised parts if you know where to look for… you will also need to consider the road condition, grip on tyre with max engine output and thrust and many other factors if you're talking about serious mod… in this case, this is a sportier version of satria only, not tuned for any specific handling… and your last claim about handling, boxed shape type of car like satria and golf gives better handling too generally…

• FiveElements on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:58 pm

GARY GARY OH MR GARY,

Let me cut it short and make it simple.

1) What i'm trying to say is LOTUS TUNED is a GIMMICK.

2)Go to the mechanics they can do it for you

3)You would have notice the GTI has bigger rim, lower center of gravity. That is the basic.

4) Stock car can achieve the similar effect by changing the sports spring.

what i meant was "You dont need a HAVARD proffesor to teach ABC to a kid. Anyone can do it. Un?

• Streamyx User on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:33 am

Perodua is also going to make their tuned version, turbocharged kelisa, kenari.

• I think Tengku Djan'n R3 division is quite 'syok sendiri' in doing this. A turbocharge for SRM? I keep wondering why Proton end up unprofitable..Think what people want and need. Volkswagen=Kereta Rakyat. Im wondering what the R&D they are doing. Honda's involvement in F1 bring V-TEC technology transfered to their cars. AUDI's early involvement in rally give us 4WD family cars.Proton…Petronas…Macam tak ke mana sangat. EO1 engine pun dah jual kat China.

• I think Tengku Djan'n R3 division is quite 'syok sendiri' in doing this. A turbocharge for SRM? I keep wondering why Proton end up unprofitable..Think what people want and need. Volkswagen=Kereta Rakyat. Im wondering what the R&D they are doing. Honda's involvement in F1 bring V-TEC technology transfered to their cars. AUDI's early involvement in rally give us 4WD family cars.Proton…Petronas…Macam tak ke mana sangat. EO1 engine pun dah jual kat China. Lotos own by Proton, tapi hasilnya kurang. Stereng Gen2 and Savvy? Maybe..

• FiveElements on Sep 11, 2005 at 12:36 am

PROTON must be run by a businessman…..NOT A POLITICIAN…

Else HABIS LAH PROTON….

• Wat ? Bahaya tahu…. design la betul-betul….jangan alangx2 … sekejap ada rim 16` , sekejap pakai rim besi buruk…Tune like a pro la….

• five elements,

car handling and setup is not ABC.

bigger rims create more unsprung weight, just by putting bigger rims and wider tyres, you affect the overall balance of a car. every single item changed requires tuning to the dampers and spring rates to achieve the best balance and how the car feels when driven.

buy sports springs? what type? what brand? whats the spring rate? what is your damper setup? whats the setup for damping force, high speed and low speed rebound, and compression. Chassis flex and stiffness, types of bushings used. These are just a few of the many considerations you need to take into account to tune the handling of a car.

if the car is a road car, you need to come to a compromise in terms of ride height, performance, road conditions, as well as how the car behaves unladen and fully laden..etc.

so which local mechanics understand how it all works? If you setup your car with ABC, you'll get handling like ABC.

• FiveElements on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:57 pm

SIGH…..GARY GARY…YOU STILL DONT GET IT…Anyway you have a nice day.

• Quest on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:34 am

I think what 5elements is trying to say is…. "Lotus Tuned" is just a gimmick.. No one doubts that all the steps Gary mentioned have to be taken into consideration when developing a car handling system. But 5elements say, you bring your Satria to a good mechanic, ask them to recommend some after market suspension with good shocks, will also do the job.

Ask those people running in the GTi Merdeka race or what nots. Do you think they have the confidence going fully at the limit with STANDARD "Lotus Tuned" suspension system? NO, they would've reinforced many things, among which Gary missed out, is a rigid chasis.

Why does the Perdana or Waja makes you feel you have a better handling? One simple reason is longer wheelbase and probably better quality chasis.

At the end of the day, is "Lotus Tuned" better than stock? In normal driving conditions, probably very marginally better. In "slightly" extraodinary conditions like faster cornering? Maybe. Is "Lotus Tuned" better than "Ah Seng Ah Keong tuned" with good japanese-made after market performance parts? Who knows? But I think "Ah Seng Ah Keong tuned" handling can out-do standard "Lotus-Tuned", anyday.

So, is "Lotus-Tuned" a gimmick? Probably. I've tested both Satria's (1.6 and GTi with Lotus Tuned thingy) While I'm very impressed with GTi's raw pick up power, the handling wasn't much more impressive. Perhaps I wasn't on the limit.

• ThinkingMalaysian on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:30 am

Haji,

1. It's not Tengku Djan's R3 Division. It's Proton's Motorsports Division aka R3. And yes, sometimes they are syok sendiri, most of them love what they do. In the mean time they TRY to sell R3 created parts and cars. The Satria R3 for example, cost RM15k more than the GTi. From day ONE they had critics like you slamming malaysian efforts for being ambitious. Unfortunate for the critics the Satria R3 is sold out. In fact majority of the owners found new hope in Proton cars under the R3 brand. Even Paul Tan himself has credited R3 efforts.

2. This news of Kleeman 1.8 campro is bullshit. There's no such thing as a 1.8 campro! If anything it's a hoax to fuel the Proton critics so you they will have something to criticise other than thier own lives.

5Elements,

1. Gary is right. Its not a gimmick. The damping, spring and rebound rates are different. It's like the same guitar tuned differently. Lotus is a world-renowned suspension tuner. You obviously don't know what you are talking about.

2. FYI: Almost 70% car manufacturers in the world consult Lotus for various automotive development (not just handling packages)

To the rest,

Understandably, Proton has flaws that may have caused inconvenience to some of you. This however does not justify the blind bashing that has been going on. Coming from the automotive industry I can say, all the top manufacturers went through the same process but they didn't have their country mocking their efforts.

Perodua is lucky to be owned by Toyota. Inherently, it has the best parent to learn from. Given that we will always be learning, Proton (even though not the best then) understood how to manufacture cars (rebadge), to catch up, then it choose to learn how to design cars. What happened to Hyundai when they first designed cars? 99% of the country ate up all the mistakes it made. Because Koreans collectively knows what it takes to be a productive nation.

It's a shame because Proton is a fat organisation. So fat, like IBM the left hand cannot reach the right hand. Believe it or not Edar's salesman don't even know what R&D is up to and the manufacturing line don't even know what the customers want. It's a shame because Proton reflects Malaysia. It's like a mini Malaysia. All sorts of races, schools of thots, characters etc. One guy toils and the other foils it. It's a shame.

• FiveElements on Sep 13, 2005 at 5:46 pm

ThinkingMalaysian,

I dont think you know what are you talking about and i do not think you know what i'm talking about too.

If you do not understand pls refer to what QUEST said. His explaination version is better.

• FiveElements on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:09 pm

Thinking Malaysian,

PERODUA is not owned by TOYOTA. Owns means you have the majority shares in the company.

• Fauzi on Sep 13, 2005 at 9:01 pm

Dear FiveElements,

Perodua is owned by Toyota by way of Daihatsu owing 51% (majority!) of shares in Perodua. Daihatsu, in turn, is owed by Toyota. It’s a normal corporate structure, everywhere.

By saying ‘Lotus Tuned’ is just a gimmick is same like saying proton bluff, lying to us, which, I don’t agree.

I own a gen2 hl and I’m very satisfied with the ‘stock’ handling and so do a lot of other people, even some proton basher admitted this.

Certain people might not like or feel sufficient with it and willing to spend thousands $$$$$$ to have “Ah Beng Ah Seng’ whatever, so what! it’s their money!

• yes five elements, i still dont get what you're trying to say. but i have my own comments to add about handling.

hi quest, you have made very good comments. but i still do not agree that ah seng keong(no disrespect to our local mechanics, a lot of them are good friends) can do a better job with suspension tuning out there than properly qualified and experienced race engineers.

REmeber also, a race car and a road car are 2 very different things.

take a look at this years MME as a gauge. the winner in the 1.8 class is a proton putra. but it has an all australian driver lineup. although the mechanics, and the workshop are local, the people who work there have an intricate knowledge of suspension tuning as well as working closely with the drivers to setup the car.

Same goes for the R3 tuned Gen2. it might only have 150 horsepower at the crank, but it managed a 2min 39sec lap time. this is a super quick time, beating many honda vtec civics. Its the first time also that a gen2 has raced in sepang. The car isnt the lightest, or the most powerful, but suspension tuning and car balance was a priority.

the satria gti might not be the best production performance model from proton, but it was a first for them. that tag now belongs to the satria R3 in my opinion. Honestly, how many cars on the road, brand new in malaysia, can handle so well on malaysian road conditions out of the box within that budget range?

also, chassis stiffness is in the eye of the beholder. a race car? sure its stiff, the roll cage done properly sees to that. road cars are not that easy. too stiff, and ride suffers as well as crash worthiness. Modern cars are designed to be both stiff and flexible where it needs it. same goes for the suspension setup. how hard, how low.. what are the road conditions.. who are the target market..etc. its a fine balance. and the stiffest, lowest, or hardest spring and damper setup does not make a "good handling" car.

just curious, when you mention that the satria gti wasnt impressive on the handling dept. what exactly do you mean by that. what are the details of your drive.. also, what is your benchmark car when testing the satria gti.

• Quest on Sep 15, 2005 at 2:42 am

Hi Gary, Thanks for reading my post. I meant some good "Ah Seng Ah Keong" mechanic, you give them the right budget, you can make your Proton much better handling.

Many may be impessed with "Lotus Tuned", but ask yourself, this is Proton you're talking about, with Proton's standards (and you know what I mean), you can have Ferrari, winner of the last 6 consecutive constructors championship in F1, Tuning for Proton,…. geez, on a Proton, I'm not impressed. Sure I agree that there's plenty of science behind developing road handling, you have to admit, if the package sucks to begin with, ie. chasis, material, design rigidity of car, PLUS infamous workmanship and finishing….. there's only so much Lotus can do. They came out with a good compromise design, based on all those sciences, finish product is not their responsibilty.

Sure Proton is using the slight design change planned by Lotus, by any usual Proton standards, you do the maths on defects, recall, workmanship, end product quality…. means you'll probably have to minus off some percentages here and there, what do you get….. Probably as good as any standard car la.

Let's face it, they have a HUGE quality control problem which they unofficially acknowledge thru mechanics who says."Standard la!!" whenever you have any defects or problem…. Take all those things into consideration…. Lotus Tuned- How much is that worth? Gimmick or real scientifically improved handling on you standard STOCK Proton. What are the odds?

I think it's a gimmick. And GOOD GIMMICK too, because it works to some extend, obviously many people here are thoroughly and steadfastly impressed.

Chiaou!!

• Quest on Sep 15, 2005 at 3:05 am

Coming back to the main actual topic, Campro 1.8 with kompressor?…….

Anyone hear that there are actual electrical driven compressor/super charger units? I first discovered it looking at ebay.com.my and later googled it. Sure enuf, there are such things developed especially in US. Much simpler to use and install, connects straight to the air hose and fuel distribution unit. Runs on electricity so don't need actual engine power to drive the belt that drives the charger. Assuming that you're familliar with how a superchargher/ kompressor works, it uses the engine, thru' an extra pulley that drives a belt connected to the compressor unit that compresses air and injects this compressed air through to the fuel distribution unit, forcing more air to penetrate into the combustion chamber and faster. Turbo works in simillar fashion accept Turbo doesn't need the engine's power to drive the pulley, and in turn drive the compressor…. Turbo works by running the exhaust flow thru' a 1 turbine that will do the compressing just based on basically a waste product, the exhaust flow. But what the turbo lacks is operating speed, whereby most turbo units can only start compressing at 3,000 RPM and above. Whereas a compressor/supercharger runs from the moment your car starts (because it's driven thru a belt connected thru a pulley, connected to you running engine. So the compressing starts right at the beginning.

Scientific reports show that these electric compressor works (of course also drawing electric power from your car, unlike turbo) and do have observable improvement in dyno tests and road test. The problem therefore is knowing the limit that your car can take before it burns out or meltdown (warning to you speed demons that push your car so fast and so rapidly up the RPM). Also, they found that initially the fuse kept blowing.

So, has anyone heard of this electric compressor/supercharger? Or has anyone here tried it?

BTW, CAMPRO has so far proven another gimmick, the one that Gen2 has, have absolutely no cam profile differentials in it. It's just another 1.6 DOHC, basic albeit slightly powerful engine.

• quest, i have been writing back and forth with five elements, and now yourself. no disrespect to either of you, but from talking to both of you, i have come to the conclusion that you do not really understand the concept of suspension tuning, car handling, and what it takes to get all these things right, whether for a road going production model, or a full blown race car.

for a start, you are mistaken to think that "quality" has a bearing on car handling.

you also insinuate that a satria gti handles like any other "standard road" car.

what do you use as a benchmark when you mention 'standard road' car?

Btw, back to the topic also, the ""slow"" operating speed of a turbo that you mention is approximately 20,000rpm at engine idle speed, which is usually around 800-1000rpm, engine speed.

What you have mentioned about turbos is also a misconception.

A car running a smaller turbine, with lower boost will also have no apparent feeling of "lag". btw, most supercharged standard road cars run very low boost pressures.

• Quest on Sep 16, 2005 at 2:58 am

Gary, you never cease to amaze me, really. You're entitled to how you think. I can't change that. You have your point.

I hope you can allow me my entitlement to how I feel about this……

Lotus Tuned, to me, is a gimmick, I agree with 5elements, but I'll say one more thing, its a gimmick that works, seeing how some people are entirely sold.

And again, I'm not a car engineer or expert, if you find my description of supercharger wrong, puhleease excuse my ignorance. I merely wanted to ask if any forumers here have heard-of or even used the electrical driven supercharger/kompressor. I believe my knowledge of the "supercharger" is accurate.

I never mention anything about boost because unlike you, I'm not as learned as you.

"Btw, back to the topic also, the “”slow”" operating speed of a turbo that you mention is approximately 20,000rpm at engine idle speed, which is usually around 800-1000rpm, engine speed"

You have all your numbers. I know an F1 engine's TOP RPM is around 19,000 to 20,000 rpm. TOP RPM. An ordinary car idles around 800 to 1000 rpm, true.

I meant slow operating speed was… in order for the turbine to start spinning in a turbo unit, it needs the exhaust flow to generate enough force, right around a minimum of 3,000 rpm. Some bigger turbo boost units operate at 4,500 rpm. Most turbo units only starts boosting at a minimum 3,000 RPM. The time it takes for rpm to reach boosting level is called turbo lag, and some cars take forever to reach that level.

Hence some manafacturers prefers to use supercharger instead, which compresses intake air immediately at start-up.

I think that much I know la…

• jonjwlee on Sep 20, 2005 at 12:56 am

Yes, you may be able to replace the suspension of a Satria GTi/Perdana V6/Waja/Gen.2/Savvy with aftermarket stuff and get much better handling than stock, but I doubt you'd be able to do it without compromising the ride (which are excellent in the mentioned cars). Take recent BMWs, for example. Yes, they're among the best-handling cars. But they did it at the expense of ride quality i.e. X3 and 1-Series. Take your friend's chopped Satria 1.6 onto a 'kampung' road and tell me if it rides any better. And these Protons are stock. If you could find anything STOCK that comes remotely close to Protons in terms of ride and handling IN PROTON'S PRICE RANGE, then I praise you. Proton's not making good use of Lotus' expertise…ha…

And I'm really skeptical about the Kleeman thing.

• teochew lang on Sep 29, 2005 at 12:23 am

when proton gonna have their 500bhp supercars?

• seewai on Oct 17, 2005 at 10:32 pm

what is the chasis material???it is very important to know..for proton car??

• wow! proton engine's horsepower can reach up to 180…

nice

• mazrin on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:28 pm

No comment, but no more produce carburetor system on proton model anymore please……

• SliCKLips on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:57 pm

no lah….. SRM will only launch with 1.3 and 1.6 …. no where to be heard about the 1.8 engine which uses campro technology… have u guys tried do put a 1.6 gen2 for test? the auto trans sucks big time…. better own a kenari lorrr…

• faizal on Dec 02, 2005 at 10:50 am

yea more ass holes on the road ….. thinking they are F1 drivers

• KethoN on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:46 pm

Woi..do you think malaysia PJP allow Proton to include this turbo system ah…sedangkan those proton wira they race like madz and always got into accident…If this model out..sure more ppl kena saman and more accident…

Cool!

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:26 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• scudracer (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:30 pm

Waja 1.8 means Renault 1.8 right? This is nothing new and I don't think the Utusan report said Campro. Anyway the pic in Utusan is like … front bumper design from VW Golf GTi. Maybe at the time of design they all thought Proton-VW deal is on so be more VW. So out went the Alfalfa beaky nose.

• Fraz006 on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:38 am

lotus tuned means u get the best compromise for handling and ride comfortability. try installing aftermarket parts to ur standard perodua viva, myvi or satria lama, wira lama. i promise to cut my finger if u can get as balanced as lotus tuned. it is either u get too stiff and hurt ur back on malaysia road or not enough stiffness but still stiffer a bit than stock. lotus tuned is the best balance, the accurate sweet spot of handling, comfortability and body mass graph. even the very basic subject for suspension (vibration, oscillation basics) learnt in uni days, its fucking hard u know. if u get B also consider excellent aredy. u say give ur car to no degree ahbeng to tune ur suspension and then voila?? hahahahaha. FIVE ELEMENT and QUEST u need to wake up, bro.

always bash proton. bash proton. if u have the knowledge takpalah. maen cakap tapi degree dalam arts,photographic, mass communication jer payah lah bro.