2006 Kia Rio

The Kia Rio name is refreshed in Malaysia with the new Kia Rio model being launched here in Malaysia on 7th September 2005.

[UPDATE: Read my test drive report on the Kia Rio 1.4]

The Rio transforms from a small stationwagon (sedan available too) to a sporty hatchback. We’ve not really seen much in the sporty hatchback segment below RM80,000 other than the Proton Satria and now Malaysians have an alternative choice. This Kia Rio shares the same platform with the Hyundai Accent.

Internationally, the Kia Rio is actually more well-known as a Sedan, and this hatchback variant that we have here in Malaysia is actually known as the Kia Rio5.

The new Rio comes with a 1.4 litre 16 valve DOHC engine making 94ps and a max torque of 124.5Nm. This engine is mated to a 4-speed automatic gearbox with eletronic management and adaptive control, which means it will learn your style of driving and change it’s shift patterns accordingly.

I’m a bit disappointed with the interior though… it looks a bit cheap.

Note that the 1.4 engine in the Rio needs a minimum of RON95 grade of petrol, so you can’t use the cheaper RON92 petrol still available at some petrol stations (Esso/Mobil Synergy Regular, Petronas Prima 92, etc) It needs a minimum of RON97 (Esso/Mobile Synergy F1, Petronas Primax, Shell Super/V Power)

The new Kia Rio costs RM75,000 and is available in four colours – Black, Orange, Sapphire and Silver.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:46 pm

it deosnt have any feature that stands out actually,its jus another alternative……n i dont tink a 1.4 is worth rm75k

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:07 pm

Before TAX, this car only selling RM40K max! What can we DO?

Buy or Look only

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 4:26 pm

well thats about the cheapest a non-national hatch can go…. the interior is horrendous, hate those rotary knobs..

• Aris Tee on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:01 pm

"hate those rotary knobs.. "

dun most cars come with those? dunno… just my 2cents :)

nice car, i think the interior's ok, the overall car looks more class, expensive

• ya la the interior really sucks….

• Inevitable on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:03 pm

I rather wait for Naza 206 … keke

• ah lim on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:06 pm

better than poton……. buy buy buy

• Wilfred on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:16 pm

not a good choice thought…….

• i am waiting for Naza 206 too… because i've rode in a peugeout206 b4.

it's like riding a horse to riding a donkey (proton).

• rafreez on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:58 pm

75k for this interior (uwek), i rather buy citra…another 5k and I got a 7 seater

• aji mohd fadhilah on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:26 pm

this car may be can tackle young executive if kia can provide bodykit and sport packege and maybe can give more choice for upgrade to novus edition.Rm75k is not worth it for just standard package.Kia Malaysia must prove to public that this car using less petrol and what technology that they offer such as VVTI and IVTECor CVT from other manufacturer because the most important now is people will as the popular question "minyak kuat tak''

• nuggyn on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:19 pm

Naza 206 might be a good buy.

BUT the big question is…will the cost of maintaining this french-based car will be for most of us??

i have a feeling that it will be another "Tiara"

• gowin on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:28 pm

This Kia rio is a entry level in Kia, so expect much in the things given !!!

Whether is worth Rm75000 ?

i don't think so…….

1.4 liter, cheap interior, so so quality, no airbags.

• Stingray on Sep 10, 2005 at 2:50 am

Hmm.. it sure looks better than the old rio… haven't seen a real life one yet, so can't say, but the old one def had lousy cheap interior finish. Must go see.

• yusmady on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:28 am

compare with myvi? which one more economic hehehe…

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:28 am

ohh dear. not another cheapskate korienkia crap from the cousin of melted H

• rkaru on Sep 10, 2005 at 7:41 am

gowin: Kia Rio is not entry level. Kia Picanto is.

I am currently using the previous version of Rio (not the first generation). Quite happy with the car (if I can just ignore the highly priced spare-parts). It's 1.3, but this morning on my way to Tampin I went toe to toe with a Harrier and a Gen2. I went as far as 160kmh before I remembered my bad tire conditions and pulled back.

Managed to take a peek at the new Rio at the showroom before they closed this evening, and managed to get hold of the brochure as well. The interior's not that bad. Major improvements from my Rio.

The ICE console shown by Paul is not the one available locally. Here they're giving single level (can't remember the proper term) unit, with a hollow compartment beneath the cd/radio player. It's a single cd mp3/wma/cd/fm/am player. From the model code, I guess it's Kenwood.

Major improvements over the previous incarnation of Rio;

1. ABS/EBD (old one dont have)

2. cd player (last time cassette only)

3. Alloy rims.

4. Reverse sensors

5. Alarm system (believe or not, last time no alarm system).

6. Sportier looks.

Disappointments;

1. About RM10k higher than the old one.

2. Having reincarnated as a hatchback from a small stationwagon, the luggage compartment's smaller.

3. About RM10k more expensive than the old one.

4. No airbags.

5. About RM10k costlier than the old one.

Having said all that… I'm really considering of reincarnating my Rio.

• purity on Sep 10, 2005 at 10:27 am

doesnt appeal to me at all… RM50K ok la… can consider. otherwise, bungkus!

• E-Nabill on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:22 pm

wel its new model, bt it doesnt mean thr r major upgrade..i tink it should be classified as a facelift rather than an entire new model,bcos the spec sheet is disapointing,n kia cars usually nt so entertaining to drive..n again…that high price…

• Dear Paul,

off this topic………

in todays newspaper, JPJ had ban the use of xenon bright white lights.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BLUE LIGHT THAT WAS INSTALLED ON THE WATER SPRINKLER. ????????????

• Thank goodness… the older Kia Rio is one car on the road that makes me wanna run up to it with a baseball bat and . . . .

no offence rkaru

• Wiraone on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:55 pm

rkaru & gowin,

Every car manufacturers have their own target market for their cars.. and as such, there is not such thing as entry level or whatever. Kia Picanto is a city car .. Kia Rio is a small hatch family car .. they're in totally different market segments.

• Looks better than the old model.

• azam@dr on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:22 am

PROTOn = dONKEY, dONKEY = prOton,

MAlaysian ???

no choice but to buy donkey je

• rkaru on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:58 am

azam@dr: ???

NF: None taken. (I tot the same thing about the first generation Rio.) When we first bought it, it was supposed to be our second car, aka missus' car. Long story cut short… I ended up with the Rio and the missus the Aveo. Not love at first sight, the Rio. I grew into it. I especially love the huge bootspace. Useful in my line of work.

For those who commented about the new Rio's RM75K price, I think for it's class, it is not that expensive. The Honda Jazz (not the VTEC version) goes for RM95K. The new Aveo, last I heard is RM78K.

• December on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Im never a fan of Korean cars, regardless the brand or the model, even the model, 2 of my family members owns KIA, i drove it, doesnt differ much from Potong Wila, but the price, surely does, this is rather an unimpressive or inappropriate attempt to make the car on par on other reliable models like Suzuki Swift. Korean cars suck big time, hey this isnt racisms, its about idealogy. Paul..is this a soon to be deleted material? Sue me :P..kiddin ;)

• btw..is this imported version? I am afraid 78k is for the imported version and later when it is assembled here, it sells at 60+ where the first batch owner always get rugi like hell.

• btw..like wat december said, i am not really a korean car fan-si oso…but do interested to get a second-handed sonata as it lack of second hand value. a 2 years old sonata can be obtained at abt 76-80k which is similiar class to a camry or accord…or er…potong perdana i suppose..

• zookxxx on Sep 13, 2005 at 11:48 pm

…another copycat….Renault Clio..Naza Rio….???!!!

• kia future owners,

beware of the NAZA CURSE!

• Yeah, nx yr NAZA will assemble Rio, rebadge and sell it around 60k…beware..but it looks Euro, not so korean.

• Wolfgang TUV on Sep 14, 2005 at 9:11 pm

Not PERFECT !!!!……Second Price will be Down !! Beware….

• Xoomie on Sep 18, 2005 at 9:27 am

Better careful…. Naza might come out with this model.. then the resale value drop like helll!

• Padebembey on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:44 am

1. FC

City driving: 12km/ltr

Highway: 16km/liter

Found out in a US site and convert

from MPG to KM/Ltr.

2. Would Naza really assemble local version of Rio? That's scary thought!

• shariff on Sep 28, 2005 at 5:21 pm

I'll wait for Naza Rio… then the price will be 15k cheaper than this one.

• No good compare to the price.Too expensive for 1.4liter.better buy Citra.

• proton crap on Oct 08, 2005 at 4:42 pm

is very nice, but a little expensive laaa. still better that Proton. :-P

• whitetiger (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:07 pm

i think that you must try 1st for the this rio…….

before i bought it, also feel same like you all…

the rio is too expensive…..

but when i tried to drive rio, i can feel the power of it….

very strong!!

although is 1.4 only!!

last two week (about 1 july), i heard from one of my friend said that these rio price now is much more higher!! about 90k

when i buy this, is about 75k

so you can see the value on it!!

just try it 1st before give some comment!!

many friends try it and they just say "is it realy just 1.4 only??"

i can feel the energy of rio when i drive it!!

do you??

• Unggal on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:38 am

In my opinion this car is good, major good. But to bad, one security system that tis car doen't have is an air-bags. now days air-bags is totally important to a driver if they involve with an acident. I go to the show room at petaling jaya. I was really have interested with this car. But when ask the salesmen about security system. It kinda dissapointed becuz it does not have an air-bags. :-(

• Ash Menon on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:21 am

No airbags?! That's not good…

Interior not so impressive, the radio cluster reminds me of a Hyundai i10, gearbox reminds me of the Matrix.

Looks spacious, tho, and pricing is not as bad as some. Definitely affordable for some demographics.

Outside looks fantastic in red, except for those black bumpers…

• dexter on Jul 05, 2010 at 9:16 pm

freaking awesome car! bought this instead of myvi and no regrets so far. interior quality is very good (the pictures doesn’t do it justice). Overall a its a great car.