2007 Chevrolet Aveo

[ UPDATE: The Chevrolet Aveo notchback sedan has been launched in Malaysia. Click here for more details! ]

Here are more photos of the 2006/2007 Chevrolet Aveo, including shots of the back.

Now that I’ve looked through Chevy’s car portfolio, the headlamp design is actually similiar to the Chevrolet Cobalt as well as the Toyota Vios. Similiarity to the Vios ceases when looking the back profile. The lights are rather Lancer-ish. Another car which has carried this look is the old Mercedes C-class. I don’t really understand the obsession with the Altezza-style crystal brake lamps. It makes the car look so “Brothers”.

In the USA, the Chevrolet Aveo sedan of the previous incarnation has been the best-selling small-sized car for the 13th straight month in August.

Some basic statistics for you guys to get an idea of how big it is. The length of the car is 4310mm, width is 1710mm and height is 1495mm. As a comparison, the Toyota Vios’s length is 4285mm, it’s width is 1695mm and it’s height is 1435mm. So this Chevrolet Aveo Sedan is actually slightly bigger than the Vios in every way – length, width, and height.

Engine options showcased at the IAA Frankfurt Motor Show were 1.2 and 1.4 litre models. Apparently the 1.2 litre is very fuel efficient, rated at 6.8 litres of fuel for 100km, and the 1.4 litre model uses 7 litres of fuel for 100km for manual transmissions. For auto transmissioms, Chevrolet says you need to add 0.6 litres to those figures. The car comes with a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic transmission.

Doesn’t the car look so much better without those crystal headlamps?!

Expect 3-door and 5-door hatchback versions of this new Chevrolet Aveo to appear by the end of the year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Korean Car or not I'd take the 2007 Chevy Aveo over a new Proton Wira (model date: 1993). keke

• say….this is one good looking car, and is within my engine category. think i could challenege it to a quarter-mile dash?

• armandd on Sep 14, 2005 at 8:47 am

aiyaaa… small cars no gud at drag racelah…

• Ever sat in a Class E drag car before? I have… it gave me the shock of my life! :P

• armandd on Sep 14, 2005 at 9:16 am

that car must be a modified one, rite?

• drag car mah… of course :P

daihatsu charade with gtti 1 liter turbo engine inside.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 14, 2005 at 2:59 pm

This car is bad looking at any ANGLE! But the interior looks unique.

• cameljoe on Sep 14, 2005 at 3:26 pm

Not too bad on the pixs. If it is bigger than vios, so space is not a problem. The dashfront layout is better than the vios. However, most of the time, the Koreans only give you conventional engine, sometimes even older tech engine, no vvt stuff which enhance the economy / performance of the engine. Of course compare to proton is much better la. Still, see if build quality have improved or not.

• any idea about the smart forfour, it is really hot man. feel like canceling the myvi and go for this man..

check out the site of smart forfour i found;;
    http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/050121/4/1xic3.html

• unfortunately, the smart fourfour cost more than RM100,000. i think you're better off sticking to the myvvi. :)

the aveo isn't too bad looking actually. as is too often the case these days, it seems to have taken styling cues from 3 or 4 different cars. its totally impossible to be 100% original in design nowadays anyway.

interior looks almost corolla/vios like, even the silhouette of the car.

looks like another succesful bread and butter car to be.

• i dun know why but i just luv the wood trimmings.. it gives a sense of class only found in luxury cars.

the only thing left is the price.

if it is priced 5-10K above Waja… i'll buy it!!!!

• 4JB1-T on Sep 14, 2005 at 6:00 pm

notice the rear lamp resembles the Gen-2 crop circle…?

• gogochaiyo on Sep 14, 2005 at 7:37 pm

This car does not really differentiate the years..

compare:

1. 2003's debut car design with this 2006/7 debut car design

2. Features

only comparing these 2 items and what will you find?

almost 90% similar?

where is the improvement?

better stick with my old car though!

• on-and-off on Sep 14, 2005 at 8:53 pm

4JB1-T said,

September 14, 2005 @ 10:00 am

notice the rear lamp resembles the Gen-2 crop circle…?

—-> this is the latest trends which most car designed the rear lamp in such way. nothing is 'cropper' than Altis rear lamp where my dad used to put the extra 'break lamp' for his lorry somewhat 20 years ago.

• zongtwi on Sep 15, 2005 at 12:45 am

It looks too normal, there's no wow factor. Looks wise, loads of other cars look better than this. Even Gen2 looks slightly better. Don't get fooled by the lights and shine from the 3rd, 4th and 5th pic, from the 1st and 2nd pic, it is clearly a dull car. Although, the twin spoke sport rims and rear spoiler makes it look much sportier. With these additional parts, it reminds me of the brilliant but now outdated Toyota Altezza/Lexus IS200, it looks great but now 5-8 years old already. Conclusion: very dull, no wow factor, design looks atleast 8 years old, GM's gotto do better than this if they want to compete against other world players, the likes of Honda, Toyota, Merc and BMW.

• narrowband on Sep 15, 2005 at 8:00 am

simplicity is the best. not too much of fussy styling. looks almost everybit like Vios. not surprising to see people compare it with Vios, naturally.

• What is that car doing.. driving in the middle of a field?!

• see fat on Oct 27, 2005 at 3:39 am

the car looks bland…why is chevy trying to bring re-badged daewoos here? come on, gives us the latest cadillca cts,, chrysler 300c, linclon ls…all these are exciting models, unlike the bland korean cars…we r not stupid u know we knew it is just a korean car slapped with "chevrolet" name

booo

• this car abit look like small scale ford focus……….maybe because of its wide fender………………..paul u must know me………your hmc fren

• IMPALA39 on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:09 am

Wicked looking little car,I like the direction GM is headed.

L8TR

• RAYMOND KENNEDY on Dec 23, 2005 at 12:49 pm

I DONT KNOW IT LOOKS LIKE ALL THEY DID TO ME WAS PUT THAT HHR FRONT ON THE AVEO ADDED SOME FOG LIGHTS AND SAID THEY REDISIGNED THE FRONT THE BACK LOOKS LIKE A FEW OTHER CHEVY OUT WITH THAT CHROME PIECE ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE TAILIGHTS ON IT HOWEVER ARE A NEEDED PLUS. I NEVER LIKED THE FOUR DOOR ANYWAYS I BOUGHT THE FIVE DOOR WHERE ARE THE PICTURES TO THAT AS WELL AS THE PICTURES TO THE NEW THREE DOOR. I WILL STICK WITH MY 2006 FIVE DOOR THANKS.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 3:57 am

Good observation. But do remember that the company still has unsold 2004/2005 stock of the Optra 1.6L.

The new Aveo will be the one based on the Gentra. If they price exceeds RM80k, they can forget about high volume. Malaysians still prefer Japanese, and for RM80k, they'll buy the City or the Vios.

Your reviews are not too bad, but some of them are a bit too far etched. I think you should check your sources. Like other industries, espionage is quite normal in automotive and many will use the media to gain either info or to led you away from the truth. Be careful.

Anyway, I can see that many Malaysians now think that they are Jeremy CLarkson, or Jeremy Clarkson wannabes. Pathetic. It takes more than just driving skill and interest to be an automotive writer. You need contacts, exposure and many more. You must not only be able to ask the right question, but must be prepared to give suggestions. I have seen many newbies asking stupid questions to manufacturers.

There are also rules and regulations, plus the respect to the industry that bloggers do not need to bother. Some car companies actually request that no stories on the new models should be publicised yet as they are still selling the old ones. That is why some readers think those journos are out-dated, or slow in getting the news.

There are also insider comments which cannot be published freely for lack of proof. Bloggers however can put in anything.

In malaysia, there are not more than 15 good automotive journos, which are those who are still surviving and still maintaining their readership.

Your blog is good, but I seriously have to question some of the statements given by your visitors.

But as usual, when it comes to Proton, everybody thinks he/she is a car expert! hahaha!

• soporific (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:54 am

there are also test drives which bloggers never get to go for. there are cars that journos take home for days, weeks, heck, years even that bloggers never get to touch. that is why some readers think bloggers have no contacts, exposure and many more.

strange why journos are so keen to follow the manufacturer's instructions on embargoes when apparently, some of them, like CBT, claim to be not shy to write about the weaknesses of a car. maybe you only need to kowtow to manufacturers in one way or the other, not both.

• antnagir (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Is that a 1950's robot disguised as the dash?? " It does not compute…"

• adrian yap (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 1:32 am

a lot of owner of chevy face spare part woes even ah beng workshop admitt it

• ENGHWA on Feb 16, 2009 at 11:08 pm

2006year ZERO milage new car selling off at RM59k

Worth to buy?

• omar kamel on Mar 15, 2009 at 2:26 pm

please can somebody send me wt is hold in the atuomatic gear

• omar kamel on Mar 15, 2009 at 2:29 pm

i am from egypt the Aveo car is shit all wheels are 14 inch no stability the motor is poor no fog light dose the mother company knows all they do to fuck the car or not

• adil69 on May 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

my best car its aveo 2997 silver

• alan s on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:27 pm

i bought this car last week i hope it will be good car