J.D. Power Malaysia Quality Study

This is the third J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2005 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS) conducted so far. The study measures new-vehicle quality in the first two to six months of ownership.

The study focuses on 135 problem symptoms affecting quality across nine IQS problem categories: ride, handling and braking, features and controls, seats, heating, ventilation and cooling, sound system, vehicle exterior, vehicle interior, transmission, and engine.

We can see that the Proton Wira managed to get into the Top 3 for the entry-level mid-sized car segment, with 171 problems per 100 cars, above the segment average of 241 problems per car. This also means the Proton Waja and Proton Gen2 are probably below industry standard.

The study included data from over 2600 vehicle owners of 37 models. These owners purchased their vehicles between August 2004 and February 2005.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:47 am

wow…..toyota is the top for every car segment….

except pick-up car…why?

proton QC as bad as we thought….

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:10 am

I have an idea Honda is not doing well with the Civic. That probably explains the situation. And where is the Large family car segment? I'd like to see the Large cars.

• aksMS on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:17 am

Be it capitalist or not, I think Proton should outsource their parts from vendors who produce better quality products. It may kills the local vendor but that's the price it should take in this globalisation era. Those who can't keep up with the pace and demands should be left behind. Why wait? It will make Proton loses more ground and sales to the competitors.

Another crucial thing is the QC department. It doesn't matter if Proton uses German TUV or other strict quality standard. It's the quality of their QC inspectors that they should check and improve in the 1st place. Only then, zero defect can likely be achieve.

Until then, keep your fingers cross. My 2 cents.

• Streamyx User on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:06 am

The problem is not the quality products. It's Proton not outsourcing it to quality vendors. Same goes to any car manufacturer.

All about saving money. Manual roll down window is just redicolous for this decade.

Lets bash.

• are you surprised that the wira made it to the top three? Proton has been building the same bloody car for 12 years straight… i'd be damned if they can't even get that right…

anyway, it still cant hide its 1980s architecture no matter how many face-lifts or plastic surgery it goes through…. besides, it does not come with the latest safety features… so its still a piece of $#!t!

do the right thing…. for that price buy a Myvi…. keke :)

• E-Nabill on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:55 am

well , the volume that proton produces the wira is so mnay times more than wat vios/city n other cars make…so its bound that there will be more QC problems , if vios is produced anywer near the wira production rate,i bet it wil go down the list…its normal…

• u mean its normal for mass-produced vehicles to have a higher fault rate? i dont see corollas falling apart, and its everywhere.

we all know proton is crap quality because proton is complacent that the rakyat will still buy it. if perodua comes up with a new sedan or "aeroback" model u tink ppl will still buy a Gen2 or wira?

anyway no offense, mistakes happen in production because quality control missed it. mistakes happen to Proton because they simply dont give a fark.

Malaysia boleh

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:51 am

E-Nabill : It is based on the number of problems per 100 cars , Meaning that it is 100 Wira's vs 100 Vios'es or 100 City's , so there is absolutely nothing biased about it. And the Wira is a 12 yr old car so I assume Proton will have already realized their problem in this 12 yr window.

Frankly I feel it may be a bit unfair to Proton , given that they are producing at a volume much larger than the City/Vios. So lets see the report for Thailand (They mass produce Toyota's there IIRC.) And compare it with this.

• gegaoff on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:04 am

but seems perodua kelisa and kenari also have a huge amount of problem cars, right? what that suppose to mean?

actually in fact, this only show that our national's quality still far behind the international standard. is the ppl, we Malaysian that have the problem. all the same, we still have far way to go.

• gegaoff : That surprised me , didn't actually see it until you highlighted that Kenari's have a lot of problems too.

Actually I'm quite impressed with the Kenari myself. Cuz I was looking for one b4 Myvi came out. I've test driven a lot of Kenari's , some from used car dealers and some from personal owners , and a new unit from P2. What surprised me is the Kenari is very powerful despite having a 1.0 3-Cyc Engine, It had also given the 'On the Road' feel to me , As driving a Kenari is really fun , most probably because of its unique height.

Sigh , I didn't expect it had so much problems. 268 per 100 cars . That means 2.68 problems on a car. Hope my Myvi doesn't give me headaches later on.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 10:52 am

*Bump* It's sad to get a problematic car.

After what you've paid , you wouldn't want to get a faulty car.

• biothing on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:40 pm

About Proton, it is not about the 'car' only. It is the whole business. SOme who said the're concerned with Proton, really is bullshitting. TunM is more concerned with the vendors who have been supplying for Proton, they make profits, even if Proton doesn't.

The questiin is how do we improve the exisitng vendors, who market their products only to Proton, that has very little market reach. It is not only Proton that needs to go global first, but the parts and componenent! Can't blame it on Proton only.

Let VW participate in Ptroton decision making – where to get components and parts from. Then we can perhaps see a better Proton

we want hybrid!! (still not tired in demanding this)

• aksMS on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:58 pm

eRis-Aeir4s: Nobody wants a troublesome car. Indeed, we paid some hefty price on a car but yet, those things happen somehow. If not sooner, maybe later. But at least, it should be problem free up to 3 to 5 years. No one ever wants to make a regular visit to the SC for the first 3 to 6 month of ownership just because of jammed power windows or some silly/bad factory job. From my observation, most car manufacturer make the car to last (problem free) for at least a few years before some things starts to fall off/apart or got jammed. If luck is on your side, you'll get a faulty free car.

Correct me if I'm wrong. Usually when things starts to fall off, there usually be a new model coming out for you to consider. *wink*

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:29 pm

i tot p2 is more worse..

there's kenari and kelisa :o

oso kia is not as good as you think..

why some other top car not in the list?

mitsubishi Storm?

kancil?

• Thomas on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:50 pm

the attitude of P2 SC is better than P1, this make ppl feel comfort with P2.

• car manufacturer should take the survey as challenge, espeacially P1.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 06, 2005 at 1:37 am

yer…

why is it the industry standard is damn low????

industry standard that can't be achieved by proton is called the REAL industry standard….

only my opinion..

• eming on Oct 07, 2005 at 12:11 am

went to a EON showroom last saturday..curious of the door hinges of GEN2 that Paul reported earlier…true enough…all the markings are not alined…I thought Proton has fixed this problem starting from June….awwww! That's QC for u!

• Johan on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:24 am

i would like to know more about the comparison between the new Golf 5 Gti and the subaru i want to buy one but want to know first what is coming my way