New Nissan Sentra facelift in Malaysia

UPDATE: Nissan Sylphy coming in Q2 2008 – Edaran Tan Chong Motor has announced that the new Nissan Sylphy will be available in Q2 2008. Click for more details.

Nissan strikes back with it’s new Sentra which was quietly launched today. It took me pretty much by suprise. I had seen the new Sentra a week or two back when a blog reader Dr. Chai sent a picture to me. Didn’t blog it as there was only one picture. I saw the advertisement in The Star today and I went OMG! New Sentra!

Looks like a facelift to me and not an entirely new model. The current Sentra has already been facelifted twice and this is the third time. Looks like Nissan will lose out a little when the new Civics reach our shores as they only have a facelift while the new Civic is a brand new car.

Anyway let’s check out what Nissan has to offer. The new Sentra has a new grilled and bumper for the front, which brings the look closer to the current Cefiro. The cars feel like a proper family now. The new headlamps have a sharper triangular look, rather than the roundish kind of headlamps on the previous Sentra.

I went over the Nissan Singapore’s site and saw their Sentra had the new grille, but not our headlamps. Nice! These headlamps are called CSR halogen headlamps which have 4 bulbs.

The car also has led signal lamps on the wing mirrors. Kudos to Nissan for paying attention to how everyone were raving over the Myvi’s wing mirrors which had signal lamps on them.

The new Nissan Sentra also comes with an option for a Nismo bodykit which carries a RM2500 premium over the base price.

The car comes in 3 trim levels. SG, SG-L for the 1.6 litre model and XG-L for the 1.8 litre model. The SG has manual and auto options, while the rest are automatic transmission only. The SG trim has 14 inch wheels while the rest has 15 inch wheels. The SG-L improves over the SG with fog lamps, steering wheel audio control, and some more luxurious interior trim. The XG-L comes with even more improvements like a 5-disc CD changer, V-Kool crystal tinting.

The Nissan Sentra 1.8 XG-L is powered by Nissan’s QG18DE engine which makes 128ps at 5600rpm and 164Nm of torque at 4400rpm. The engine also has Nissan’s VTC (Valve timing control) technology. From the dyno graph we can see the torque curve goes pretty high to about 150-160Nm at a low RPM of 2800rpm so highway cruising should be pretty comfortable with the overdrive gear.

The Sentra 1.6 uses the QG16DE which makes 118ps at 6000rpm and 143Nm of torque at 4400rpm.

Fo those concerned with power to weight ratio, the SG weighs 1138kg (manual), 1168kg (auto). The SG-L weighs 1168kg and the XG-L weighs 1188kg.

What about the price?

Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG Manual
RM 93,188.24 Non-Metallic, RM 93,857.04 Metallic

Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG Auto
RM 96,487.94 Non-Metallic, RM 97,156.74 Metallic

Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG-L Auto
RM 102,670.16 Non-Metallic, RM 103,338.96 Metallic

Nissan Sentra 1.8 XG-L Auto
RM 112,967.56 Non-Metallic, RM 113,636.36 Metallic

Nissan also claims the new Nissan Sentra scored 5 out of 5 stars in the Japanese New Car Assessment program and uses this as one of the main marketing points. Another proof that consumers are getting more and more safety-concious these days.

BTW, any of you noticed what I noticed? There is no more 1.5 litre Nissan Sentra. Is Nissan planning to fill in that segment gap with another car to rival the Honda City and Toyota Vios? Singapore has the Nissan Latio which looks pretty much the same concept as the Honda City – practical, fuel economic, lots of space. We can only speculate for the moment.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Philip on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:27 am

looks a lot better than the old model.

• Marmitecrab on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:35 am

Hah! I'm the first.

New look makes the car more grandfather-looking. Nothing exciting. Kinda taking a few .steps backwards, if you ask me.

Also not in line with the new looks under CEO Carlos Ghosn.

• I dunno, I kinda like this kinda looks. Maybe I'm the grandfather sort of guy :P

• cbljkkj on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:40 am

I must say…the black trim interior looks absolutely gorgeous. Its about time the Sentra grew up. The current Sentra is all right but did not really pass me as a proper Nissan.

Nissan has redeemed themselves by bringing this beauty into the market. The Nismo definitely has a widebody look to it and the headlights make it look really mature, reminding me of the stylings of the Nissan Cefiro 3.0 G. I really liked that car and this is no exception either.

Pricewise, it is still a little obscene at this point. I guess it will take time for us to properly digest the fact that the top of the range, loaded with gizmos car is over Rm110,000. Gulp

• cbljkkj on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:42 am

Same here Paul, same here. I also feel that way.LOL

• E-Nabill on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:11 am

hey,doesnt the front look like the nissan infinity brand in US??

big chrome grill……the sentra is definatly the quitest car ive driven compare to city/vios and altis…really good sound proofing….bt handles like a trolley…very soft..hopefull thy will have the nismo suspension package like the one on on the xtrail

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:12 am

I like the one with the bodykit. The standard one does feel a bit grandfather'ish' for me. The Nismo one looks more suitable for a young entrepreneurs to mid 30's executives. But I have a feeling that it is a bit underpower. Paul, what's the power to weight ratio of these Sentras? 128ps and 164Nm sounds ok, but how much weight does it carry??

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:15 am

e-Nabill: I agree with you. The previous Sentra too wobbly…too much body roll when attacking a corner. Ford Lynx 1.6 is better thou….

• aksMS: i just updated the blog post with curb weight.

• travis on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:19 am

Wow indeed an exiciting week for malaysia motorist this week! 1st with the launch of the new facelifted city and now the new sentra!!!!

well the design dont really appealing to me, too uncle look like! But the black interior is splendid work!!!!!

But my question is when the nissan tilda, the 1.5cc car to fight vios and the city will be out????

• Sylvester on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:25 am

The current Nissan Sentra is also known as the Bluebird Sylphy in Japan… and from what have read http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=17043
    a new Bluebird Sylphy will be unveiled at the forthcoming Tokyo Motor Show.

Now this therefore should be the real new Nissan Sentra…. resembles the Infiniti M series or Nissan Fuga…check it out..guess we will have to wait for another year to a year and a half at least for this to come to malaysia…

• That bluebird sylphy center dashboard console area really really looks like a Toyota's.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:43 am

Isn't Infinity Nissan's luxury range?

Like Acura for Honda and Lexus for Toyota ? Or am I mistaken?

BTW . I've sat in a Sentra before , well it was a 1.6 but.. It felt underpowered right from the start. And it really is noisy , when the rev is arnd 2.5-3.5k I could really hear the engine begging for power. Almost like driving with your handbrake on. Never knew what its handling was like , cause never had the chance to swing it hard around corners. But it felt crampy.. For a 100k++ car , it's just too small a size. (I think..)

• cbljkkj on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:10 am

Wow, an amazing 50 kilogrammes difference between the low end manual SG and the top of the range XG-L.

• albagmane on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:28 am

gosh… the Nismo version really blows me away.. i want!!!

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:43 am

It's just the facelift version. Nothing new with the engine. So I guess, it will keep on screaming for more power lah! :)

E-Nabill: The previous Sentra with Nismo bodykit comes with the suspension package or not? I couldn't remember lah. If not, then it will be another bumpy ride lah with this one. Paul, anything on this?

• still prefer ford focus MKII. the facelit is stunning

• E-Nabill on Oct 14, 2005 at 11:29 am

paul , u should post some pics of the new audi TT . looks Awesome..!! and check out the new Ford Iosis concept car…check out the side profile..doesnt it look like a copy of gen2 ??? sounds funny bt no kidding….as for the previous sentra.i dont tink it came with any nismo suspension packages,nt even as an option…jus the body kit n frankly,if u check out the side skirt of the sentra…really looks cheap…rough finishing n the paint looks like its gonna fall of the edges….looks at it closly,i doubt oso its original nismo…anyway…sentra was neva popular to be a drivers car…it jus doesnt want to be driven hard…the 1.8 hardly feels like a 1.8 seriously…bt popular with retired ppl! we all kno y!bt its ultra reliable i must say…QC Very nice…

• Johan on Oct 14, 2005 at 12:11 pm

looks like the old Sentra….in my opinion.

• E-Nabill: this one? http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/13/audi-readi…

aksMS: for rm2500, i doubt it comes with suspension.

• Gannima on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:21 pm

Ah Pek look :( just like Hyundai.

• SEE FU on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:57 pm

Why Nissan change the previous looks to AH PAK!!

Reason AH PAK get More Money than Youngsters!! I don't like this looks too!!

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!!

NISSAN means——> SHIFT_To be Ah Pak

• keniJI on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:19 pm

facelift AGAIN,

come ON. It is time to Phase it Out! with NISSAN latio, or TIAADA.

(just like WAJA, even worse,

selling for AGES,

without a FACE-LIFE!!)

JOKES is, we are FORCED to buy it.

• willp on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:43 pm

What is Nissan Malaysia planning? Cefiro also "facelifted" instead of the New Teena. Now Sentra got the third facelift?

• ha ha he he…. see Paul… I told you to look for some NISSAN blog.

pls pls readers, do not compare this car with Vios & City, this is a 1.6cc Sentra to be in the catagory with Civic & Altis.

Look forward to see Nissan Latio :) :D

• Michael Chua on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:35 pm

Still another cosmetic facelift? I thought Sunny is going for an extreme makeover which will make it look like the Renault Megane. And it won't be priced around S$50k to S$60k anymore. It will be priced higher.

• December on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:38 pm

Oh yes, i saw this hot mama in The Star yesterday, and i went drooling, im never a fan of sentra, but this looks promising, good facelift, looks more elegant.

• Barry Ong on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:31 pm

Come on guys…… why buys a facelift nissan for such a price??? you guys must be kidding……

buy our local, beli buatan malaysia…. our waja also has facelift…

new colour….black… em…, 2 extra airbag… extra cost too….

that is what you call face lift.Rite guys? can some one pls tell proton guys they sucks big time…. they r not suitable to be in the car industries….

Paul….you have been doing a great work…thanks man… cheers and have a good day you guys car lovers….

• benunited on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:45 pm

7.5/10

• E-Nabill on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:48 pm

paul im refering to this one… .http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/60893/new_audi_tt.html

• Verne on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:02 pm

It's not fugly, but its close. Have to agree that it looks grandfather-looking, and terribly unexciting.

Engine is bulletproof though, coming from Nissan. And build quality and safety should be up there at the top of the ranks.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:23 pm

nissan is the best in engine perfomance and abiity.. dun foget about fuel saving too..

but thisSentra look ugly for me..

model b4 seem more sporty .. even the past and old sentra model.. :D

maybe they gonna chage sentra and cefiro for the luxury one.. the sport one is just = skyline ..

nissan sunny 1.3 still banyak kat jalan raya maa.. tahan lama betul tuh!..

oso my adik ipar punya old sunny(pakai jarang2.. ) masih tahan sampai sekarang.. enjin pun susah rosak punya.. minyak jimat tu penting juga.. :D

• Flizzardo on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:56 am

the lamp looks like lancer's lamp -.-

• Charger on Oct 15, 2005 at 7:54 am

Looks like Lexus leh, older Lexus models.

Why does the gear lever, from D to L straight? No other selection in between? How can? Later pull down to L, the driver straightaway fly out through the windscreen.

• pakwan on Oct 15, 2005 at 11:58 pm

The front really reminds me of the Nissan Maxima..which I personally think is an awesome car..

• ThatJames on Oct 16, 2005 at 7:54 am

Was at the showroom today. If you book the SG-L or XG-L today or tomorrow, you get the Nismo kit free. Sweet~

• char siew pau on Oct 16, 2005 at 11:48 pm

the new look is much worse than the old car…damn!! i was actually plannning to get on ebut wit this silly and boring face, no thanks!~!

• Kay Poh Chee on Oct 20, 2005 at 9:28 pm

Jz bought the XG-L 3 months back only. So frust that the salesman never said anything abt the new model! Going to kick his ass soon.

I tell you Nismo bodykit is fake lah. Mine keeps cracking whenever a stone hits the front skirting. Somemore say original.

Noticed also the driver side coin container keeps falling out. TCES also cannot get replacement part for it under warranty after 2 months. Kinda makes one thing what would you do if you need to replace any parts of the car.

Thats Nissan Sentra for you!

• Heeros on Oct 20, 2005 at 11:15 pm

good job! (^0^)

• @ bong on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:36 am

i'm driving nissan sentra. 23 years old already , very tough. the new sentra looks nice. but i preffered it to be more sporty like civic. how abot nissan langley? stop production?

• zamakhshary on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:33 pm

nothing changes but facelite…

• proton crap on Oct 29, 2005 at 12:44 am

nissan done a good job. they know customer needs and design

• Sugufish on Nov 05, 2005 at 2:22 am

I think its pretty well done for Nissan standards. Nissan is never known for radical designs. Bodykit's great.

• Dearrick on Nov 05, 2005 at 8:18 am

Charger,

You are right, it does look like Lexus, or also Nissan Altima @ US. I really love this chick! It is not an Ah Pek but a steady car! Will need to test drive regarding the pick up power…..Check this Altima out… I have had Honda Civic, Honda Accord and Ford Explorer SUT , and now I am bck in Malaysia and riding my dad's NISSAN SUNNY….and it is still running good! (Almost 13 years car!)

http://www.automotivechronicles.com/articles/2005…

http://www.automotriz.net/2003/galeria/images/102…

http://www.kielsandandgravel.com/images/PASSENGER…

http://www.webwombat.com.au/motoring/news_reports…

YOU GUYS HAVE TO HAVE TO HAVE TO SEE THESE PICTURES….

• perlyn on Nov 09, 2005 at 7:24 am

this new sentra is for cat 50+. its dissapointing for those young one like us. juz can't compare with civic 1.8/2.0 i-vtec 2006

• Prinz PPKN on Nov 12, 2005 at 1:32 am

although its a commendable piece of work, nissan still takes pride in maintaining its 'family sedan' kinda looks!!

Slightly asynchronous with the rhythm of young and trendy..

I would still go for Honda Civic 2.0 VTEC!! Drop-dead gorgeous chick!!

• ahsoon on Nov 13, 2005 at 9:19 am

guys, don't you all know that nissan in malaysia is controlled by TAN CHONG!!!

so, anyone who can, just pust the company to introduce more REAL Shift_The_Future model like JAPAN or SINGAPORE.

Latio, Latio-Tiida, Teana, Lafesta, Note, etc.

• This car's headlights look like those from the American Mercury Sable and the grill looks like the Infiniti Q45 grill. I hope that the American-market Sentra is more streamlined like this and doesn't have the chiseled-from-stone look of their other products.

• RichX on Dec 31, 2005 at 12:23 am

Eh no update on the new Cefiro, or am I just not competant enough to find it?

• Badrul on Jan 06, 2006 at 1:50 am

I owned a N16 facelift 2 1.6 SG which I bought last May . I was thinking to kick my SA ass for not informing of the new facelift but after I saw it physically , goshh , I was lucky to have bought the 2nd facelift more sportier than the new order . In fact I like the original N16 Sentra . The engine is very disappointing for a Rm90xxx car , totally underpower. My old Spectra performed better , I reckoned . Now I know why Nissan is ranked third behind Honda and Toyota . But it is much much better than any Proton models but expensive .

cheere

• Guys… if you really look at the real deal topped with Aerokit, it's a lot better than the one you see in hte brochure of website. Couldn't believe myself either. I have just booked my 1.8XG-L with full spec. Not uncle, not grandpa, looks hell lot nicer than the 2nd facelife (to me la) and the test drive is solid. Got nissan people send the car to my factory here and rammed the thing on straight road.. good. Not over and not under. My preference :) Still.. have to wait 2 weeks.. :(

• iamlohsy on Jan 09, 2006 at 7:48 am

i too bought one just in time for cny. sold of my waja 1.8x in the process.

however you look at it, it is still a lot better than that stupid proton car…. nissan reliability and cost efficient is well known. can't say the same for the money sucking, stressful maintainence, teribble technicians and unwilling learner of proton. choose a nissan over proton anytime. totally regreted not listening to the 'elders' when i bought the waja…. btw, my father's nissan (datsun at that time) is still running after so 21 yrs

• NissanShift (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 11:42 pm

I bet most of those who says the sentra looks like a grandfather car hasn't seen the new 1. The New Nissan Sentra with its new Nismo Bodykit ROCKS ( Bodykit is Imported from Japan, not local made. Costs RM 2500 without installation without Paint ) The bodykit is free for now due to its new facelift promotion. All u have to do if Tint the windows darker and put it 17inch Sport rims, Nada Complain in the looks department.

I'm sorry Kay Poh Chee you had such a bad experience with a Sentra. Actually, so many customers, you are the first i hear to complain that the skirting cracked, only big stones choose to hit you ? :) Kidding la jangan marah. Side coin box problem also isolated la….I think you problem is very isolated, if u were in car line you'd be shocked to see what problem other MORE expensive cars are having (Eg, BXX and MerXxxxx) Personaly i think every car brand has their isolated problem, you dont say all Apples on a tree are Rotten juz because u ate ONE rotten apple right ? :)

Thank you WERN for purchasing a Nissan. If i had the money i'd go for the 1.8 XG-L model as well. I hope u enjoy the car when ur New ride arrives. Keep me updated If u put any Eye Candy on it. ^^ ( dark tint, 16-17inch S/Rims, HID headlamps, Perfect liao ! )

Badrul, thank for for owning a Nissan too. I know how u feel about the Sentra being underpowered. Since the Spectra's weight is 1138Kg compared to the Sentra's 1139Kg. But the Sentra's QG16 still generates still power BHP and Nm of torque compared to the Spectra's GA6D 1.6. The Sentra's Auto gearbox is such u need to floor the accelerator b4 the real power kicks in. If u only push it 1/2 or 3/4 it doesnt change to a lower gear. Tried using the O/D button for overtaking ? I have a few customers who traded in their Spectra's for Sentra's….. U should see the condition of a Spectra after 3-4 years of use compared to a sentra. See Those Notorious Genting Taxi's ? Those that zoom up and down Genting at Crazy speeds ? 90% are Sentra's, No Spectra's :) and Sentras are more expensive as u say it… Muz be a reason behind that huh ?

RichX the New Cefiro is called the Cefiro Teana, its has already been on sale in Singapore now. Edaran Tan Chong is trying to bring it into malaysia i think. But no promises when :) just keep your fingers crossed. Teana Very SWEE ooo !!!!

The Honda Civic I-vTec is rm10,000 more expensive than a Nissan. For that u can get a Sr20 turbo engine and dunno god knows how many other parts. make ur Sentra same price as a Civic but the performance beat Civic…

This is Just my 2 Cents worth. Sorry if i said anything offending to anybody :) No hard feelings. Everyone entitled to what they think la hehe. Cya Guyz, Adios !

• Brett (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:47 pm

NISSAN SENTRA got RUSTING ROOF!!!???My name is Brett Tee,I owned a Nissan Sentra 96 manual transmision since 2004,I love this car very much,cos I so trust Nissan making good car all the times!But what dissapointed me is my Nissan Sentra car roof top start getting rust!So unbelievable because this is Nissan!!!I really hope Nissan can explain this,and I wish,also please help me to overcome this problem!Please Nissan manufacturer!

• Brett (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:48 pm

NISSAN SENTRA got RUSTING ROOF!!!???My name is Brett Tee,I owned a Nissan Sentra 96 manual transmision since 2004,I love this car very much,cos I so trust Nissan making good car all the times!But what dissapointed me is my Nissan Sentra car roof top start getting rust!So unbelievable because this is Nissan!!!I really hope Nissan can explain this,and I wish,also please help me to overcome this problem!Please Nissan manufacturer!…My email is [email protected]

• AZEERA on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:52 pm

i very like's NISSAN SENTRA car…

• AZEERA on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:59 pm

i very like's NISSAN SENTRA 1.6 VTCcar,..Went i grow up,i want to buy this car…i very like NISSAN SENTRA 1.6 VTC COLOUR RED…that look very PREETY AND LOOK VERY STROONG..

• Nadarajah on Oct 27, 2009 at 2:56 am

Hi.Rajah here..I'm driving a Nissan Sentra 1.6. I bought my car in November 2005 and I have only driven it 45000km already the car starts to give gearing problems.I find it difficult to change the gear from Parking(P) to Drive(D).It will take long time to change gears because it will be stuck at (P).I bought my car for RM96k and it starts to give the problem just after 3 and half years..i took the car to the Tan Chong Service Centre and they told me that the cost to repair it is RM2500.I find the repair cost is too much for a car which is quite new.Therefore, is it worth the money I paid to buy this car?And is it worth to repair it?I didn't expect such an expansive car could give me so much problems so fast.This is outrageous.This shows such a poor quality of Nissan's products compared to other automotive companies.

From,

Nadarajah,

WNM 1074 (Nissan Sentra 1.6SG-L),

Kajang Selangor

• amoschen on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:08 pm

nissan sentra N16, is a good durable, simple basic.
    meanwhile, there will be the few who experience a bad car; out of every 100, sure to have someone unhappy due to variety of reasons…luck, manufacturing defect, etc

whats important is the overall customer satisfaction , out of every 10 or 100, u find out how many are happy, and why.

Overall agood buy for the price and performance … ( its not high performance racer, by the way !!! Nissan cars usually build for economical, reliable daily use – understand what you buy )

• vaaithesh on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:56 pm

i’ve been using this car since 2008 december i bought it.its stiil looking nice and quitest car and MR.Paul im using the nismo bodykit to my sentra i wanted to change the impul bodykit where can i get it and the standard original my suspensions have been 6 years i want to change it too