Satria Replacement Model – Karak Highway

Here are more on the road spy shots of the new Satria Replacement Model, codenamed SRM24. These photos were taken by Fariq Halim on the Karak Highway 2-3 months ago. Thanks, Fariq.

Can’t wait for it to be finally launched!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:43 pm

Is Fariq Halim work in POTONG!!??

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! Thanks for the spy shots!! When can POTONG release it!!

• spot the same car at the karak highway. yup 2-3 month ago. but don't bring camera at that time. lucky someone did.

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:06 pm

The SRM body looked quite wide from rear, dont u guys think so…

I think it is bigger than Iswara Aeroback.

Handling must be superb!

• sweet ass

• kereta_lumba on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:25 pm

i heard it based from peugot 206 2 doors

• muteki on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:36 pm

always main pusing-pusing on kesas highway. perasan konon macam nighthawk projek.at last nothing better shows.

• superman on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:43 pm

Peugeot and Proton have nothing in common. I think you confused NAZA with Proton

• MutantTomato on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Looks quite nice. Nice round backside! Kinda like those Latino chicks u see in "8th Street Latinas!" ;) Will be waiting to see it once its released. Need to buy a new car. Two cars aren't enough…

• Teratai on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:05 pm

Not another 3 doors hatchback :(

• Nameless on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:28 pm

What the rubbish car from Potong?? Wana keep failing in automobile industry again,isn't it?? That kind of car is Shame of our country,unneceesary to release this kind of ACCIDENT TYPE vehicle,coz more people will die with driving of this car,unless they really want to send life to God or minum Kopi with Hell,then u dcide ur self………

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:35 pm

MutantTomato,

Dude, "8th street Latinas"!!?? typical…

Thought you said you were never ever going to buy another Proton?

I wish Proton all the best.

Thats all im saying, cos its in the morning and im late for work and I need a cig and coffee.

Peace!

Monkey

• superman on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:40 pm

Teratai and nameless.

What drugs are you guys on???… nothin you say makes sense. If you have nothin constructive to post why don't you keep tjose itchy fingers of the keyboard and not waste space on Paultan .org

• Selipar on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:44 pm

almost lookalike with the present satria at a glance…but noticebly wider wheel base..perhaps better stability with lower center of gravity…hopefully.. ;)

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:46 pm

Nameless,

Thats a development vehicle lah you arse. Please only comment on things you ACTUALLY know about. You are not doing anyone any favors by passing idiotic comments like that without any basis. It only makes you sound stupid.

The Savvy is a nice car, and the AMT released yesterday had pretty good reviews. Isn't that a step in the right direction for Proton? Hmmm?

The SRM can only be better. And we would only know when it is released.

So SHUDDUP!

• damion on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:30 am

actually.. i saw this test mule driving around for more than half a year ago…

i spotted this satria test mule with a few more cars, namely the Savvy (test mule then, released now) and a very low seated sports coupe (still unknown model)…

sorry i couldn't prove it with any pictures but i think people around Muar should've seen it a lot of times…

ESPECIALLY when stopped over the road side for some durians on their way up to Tangkak… :P

• @ bong on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:15 am

i always like satria. sporty and cheap. hope this new satria will have bigger interior and more reliable. about the looks……… can always modify ma. malaysians are good on that. cheer u! provided that the can is tough and affortable fuel consumption. give a support la…. ppl

• eMalaysian on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:22 am

huh?

looks like a satria to me.

what's new?

• GeminiGeek on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:24 am

really look like satria, nothing much change eeh? maybe the front? Unlike savvy and tiara, a total revolution. Hopefully this SRM is high enough for me to sit on, cos I'm having trouble sitting at the passenger's seat at back of savvy LOL :P

• neurra on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:33 am

damion: the sports car is the lotus europa.. yet to be released

• FiveElements on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:34 am

mmm…It looks like the current Satria who has put on a couple of kilos.

Anyway, by looking at the PIC it is not ugly (nothing to shout about thought) . If the quality is good and the price is reasonable, i would say why not….if they manage to come out with a turbo charged version….u have my respect…

NAMELESS,

Brother u ok??? It looks much stronger, bigger and safer than the small little KANCIL and SAWI

• kereta_lumba on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:35 am

Superman,

it is not a confusion, both proton and naza use the same base coz want to reduce cost… low cost, high price, high income la…. don't get fool by this strategy….

• THOMAS on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:05 am

My friend ( from PROTON) told me,

SRM almost same as SATRIA in size, also low roof, not suitable for family ( only 2 door) & also 6 footer( low roof).

but it got good look, good handling, good power, good safety, good QUALITY like SAVVY ( also TUV certified)

• wyejon on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:09 am

man… i've been seeing spyshots like this forever… damn sien oredi… when are they really going to launch this little bugger?

• Jason on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:15 am

Lambat-lambat kena launch….., I Already bought Civic 2.0 Hai~~~~~

• be careful, it might be another MEDIA test drive a car that might NOT make it to production.

• E-nabill on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:31 am

proton is really teasing us badly….!

• yhtan on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:41 am

Thumb up for proton…

at least they try to improve

• next year we can see srm in production

• Ihateproton on Nov 18, 2005 at 3:23 am

I cant believe i'm gonna say this,

but i cant wait to see this car released

I hope it will come with well needed upgrades like safety features, a better engine, glove compartment etc.

Personally I hope they keep the name 'satria', and hope it will cost between 45k – 55k ringgit.

• cbljkkj on Nov 18, 2005 at 3:26 am

That car has to shed some weight in the rear department. Look like a car that would nearly fill an entire lane. I don't particularly like Proton anymore but I just hope that for their sake they would build this SRM properly using the suggestions from Proton owners (you know what I mean)

P:S The Lotus Europa would probably not see the light of day in Malaysia as Lotus is packing up their stuff here and going back to the UK

• giganet on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:12 am

yup. looks like the Satria to me too… after this model, there won't be any more new models coming soon right? They should just make a model like Vios or City that everyone can use la… so difficult meh?

• kethon on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:53 am

what ever is it…the front face looks ugly…the rear ok la…cant they design any shaper edge for headlight like Honda City? some more i gave me a feeling the interior widthness is not enough la..

• nuggyn on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:53 am

Frankly, do you still dare to buy another Proton?

• MutantTomato on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:11 am

Monkey: ehehehe… u know me man! i like dem Latino chicas.. Aiii papppi! :P When you coming back man? And this time I promise I will go to Titus with you…ahahaha! :D

Nameless: You're an idiot. You define the term "speaking from your arse." "This type of car is Shame of our country." You formed this opinion from looking at some blurry photos of a TEST MODEL?! "Minum kopi with Hell"…. hmm… How on God's Earth do you "minum Kopi WITH hell" Anyhow, give Proton a chance la! So? Even if one day Proton partners with BMW or MB or Ferrari and makes a car that everyone likes, you will still say its stupid just because Proton is involved?

And another thing to some others… please don't assume that all people who complain about some Proton models are Proton bashers. That would be akin to saying all Germans are Nazis or all Japanese are war criminals. Its called "generalizing," and that is not right at all!

Some of us complained about Proton base don our own experiences with the car or the service. We have a right to voice our displeasure. We paid money to buy the car so why not? Everybody knows Protons have a perenial problem with their power windows. Some people are lucky to get cars with no problems. However, most of the rest do. So what should we do? Just keep quiet and say "Never mind, I support Proton even though they can't rectify a long standing problem like this."? That is called blind patriotism man… Its good to give credit where credit is due, but it isn't wrong to point out a fault when the fault persists.

With that in mind, I salute Proton in bringing the AMT to the Savvy and hope that the SRM will be the best to come out of Proton. :D

• Charger on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:44 am

The rear looks a little like an outdated Renault car. Hope I'm about it, otherwise, big boohoo to potong.

• gowin on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:59 am

ya….i agree with MutantTomato. We all hope that proton can give us a more quality n price affordable national car.

Not to judge something b'4 seeing it.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:02 am

But still, I am really concerned with all the delays Proton are having to launch the SRM. Spyshots and unofficial pics have surfaced on the net for a long time. The launch date was supposed to be last year. So many revised dates, yet we don't seem to be any closer to seeing the car in the dealer's shops. Really hope the new management can sort this problem out.

• kinrara on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:05 am

nuggyn said,

November 17, 2005 @ 9:53 pm

Frankly, do you still dare to buy another Proton?

========================================

I will keep on buying n selling it…. :)

been doing it,,, n can see the improvement…

drove saga ( college) => Iswara (college) => Waja (for wife).. improvement noticed…

whats wrong with proton?… its only that.. its not perceived as a high status car… thats it….

plp ungrade from proton to foreign car for status,,, not because its lousy or burdening…

me driving civic n paying 60k more than a proton is bcause ive got xtra cash n m able to upgrade "socially" in "what car ur driving" sense.. not because proton is a milo tin ,, etc…

proton is still relatively cheap to maintain,, have normal wear n tear,, reliable ( never had any engine breakdown or whatever major)

4 my 2nd car i will still try any new proton n xperince their evolution..(after i finished my present installment n if decide to buy a new one)

• toolan on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:30 am

hey guys, can u see what rims this car use? is it like gen 2 rims or is it like those bling-bling rims like in other SRM spy pic? hope the real thing will not be the bling bling stuff cuz it is ugly.

• [PBâ„&ce on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:31 am

MutantTomato said,

"Even if one day Proton partners with BMW or MB or Ferrari and makes a car that everyone likes, you will still say its stupid just because Proton is involved?

> Does Lotus count? I think the involvement started from the sGTi up to the Savvy. Proton involved? Egad! Stupid Stupid Stupid! ;)

And another thing to some others… please don’t assume that all people who complain about some Proton models are Proton bashers. That would be akin to saying all Germans are Nazis or all Japanese are war criminals. Its called “generalizing,” and that is not right at all!"

> That's right. We ProtonBashersâ„¢ do not like to be associated with the rest of the public. That would akin to saying the best car I've ever owned is a Proton. That's call "ignorance" and that is not right at all!

On a separate note, I propose for all ProtonBashersâ„¢ to afix [PBâ„¢] beside their name to avoid future misunderstandings. ;)

• jakesky on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:44 am

that's my car. why is it on the web?

darn.

• hatukngkau [Half-Hal on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:55 am

hmm… bad news folks… i foresee… no ABS, no SRS (airbag), no AMT (yet)… good car or not? we'll see after it launches and see how's the sales figures… and oh yeah, how many complaints they receives…

hahaha… no offence but this is just my own personal guess and if there are ppl who doesnt like it, screw and move on….

• lol car. the car looks very dirty leh

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:24 am

MutantTomato,

Titus closed liao lah!!!! mah hai!

I am happy. At work I now dont even mention the word Proton. I used to mention this name in every other sentence that comes from my mouth.

Dont get me wrong. It is good that Proton stepping in the right direction. I only hope that is lasts.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:07 pm

Hey, monkey and mutanttomato, i know la u guys are friends, but pls no private msgs in here…this is a public commenting place. If you want to chat about personal things, send emails la to each other…heh

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:23 pm

zongtwi aka speed junkie,

SHUDDUP!!!!!!

• I read in the newspaper that Proton will launch the car in January 2006. The delay he said because now they focus on Savvy sales and to get ready the stock for faster car delivery prior booking.

Perhaps Proton target everything to run smooth and perfect when they launch the SRM. One thing for sure, I am going to be there-Proton Edar Showroom and check the latest quality and improvement of the car. So save the comments now and see the real deal first.

• MutantTomato,

I share your view that it is good to give credit to Proton where credit is due, and complaint when the problem persists. So, don't stop at this forum, please don't hesitate to write your view to Proton in the future. I am sure that would be more contructive then arguing with those baseless guys.

• 4G63T on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:01 pm

I've seen a SRM in Kuala Kangsar a few weeks bad. Didn't have my digicam with me so no pictures.

Actually…I nearly rear ended him driving too close when he suddenly made a left turn into a food court without signaling…hehehe…that would be a scene….Next day there will be a blog titled…."Big butt secret prototype gets rear ended…"

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:02 pm

front view tak de ke?..view bontot je…hehe…;-)

• stewpid on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:43 pm

u wan front view ah?? its almost the same with Gen-dua laa….

whoa… if the supercharge version gets real…..

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:00 pm

Please don't complaint much about Proton, the Savvy sale is picking up as well & the car have not much complaint if compare to Myvi……keep it up Proton

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:25 pm

front and back view without disguise, read on another post from paul.
    http://paultan.org/archives/2005/06/24/satria-rep…

• superman on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:18 pm

kereta lumba,

take it from me Proton has no tie with Peogeot at all. The SRM paltform is Lotus engineered

Only Naza are palnning to build the 206 locally

• superman on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:22 pm

giganet said,

November 17, 2005 @ 9:12 pm

yup. looks like the Satria to me too… after this model, there won’t be any more new models coming soon right? They should just make a model like Vios or City that everyone can use la… so difficult meh?

The Vios and City rival?? Does GEN 2 anwer your question.

• hamsaplo on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:31 pm

Wahlau eh, only can get the rear pics only kah? supercar of the not so future (SRM) only can see the back and smell the ekzos but cannot kejar

• albagmane on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:42 pm

gosh… proton proton.. proton can only produce these bunch of craps! it doesnt suit the malaysian demands at all! SUCKS proton!

• Seangi on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:18 pm

I saw 2 of them last month (Oct 14th) in KotaBahru, Kelantan.

They were heading to south (KB – Kuala Krai direction)

May be they were doing on road test from Kelantan to KL.

• clarkkent on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:01 pm

2 cars arent enuff konon. If two kancils memang le not enuff!!

• Mutant Tomato on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:16 pm

Zongtwi: Bro, I take it u n monkey are working in the same place? :D take the fella and chuck him in a wind tunnel la. Do some aerodynamics testing on him. then try to design a Lotus based on him. Think you can call it the Lotus Stick. hahahahaha! :P

amt: Bro, I have done so. When I had my Wira, I used to complain and compliment a lot when I went to Glenmarie. The compliments were always welcome, but everytime a complaint was made, the standard responses were given:

1. Its a Proton. Made in Malaysia. What do you expect la?

2. If you're not happy, then change cars la!

So how? But I still have hope in stuff coming out of Proton la. Heck, I honestly think the Putra and Perdana are decent cars. Not 10/10 la, but decent. :)

Similarly, until the SRM is officially launched, I will refrain from saying anything. This is a test model. Nothing has been 100% finalized yet. Thats what a TEST is for! Now's the time they refine and improve the car (hopefully). So, to criticize a test model is like saying two relatively ugly people who are married will DEFINITELY have an ugly child! Don't be stupid la…

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:44 pm

amt / MutantToms,

Correct. Give credit where credit is due. The new Protons look good. Savvy is a decent car. Not my taste, but it's a decent car. We cannot hope that Proton would make cars of EU, Jap or US standards only after 20 years in the business. Look how long it tooks the Japanese OEMs to get to where they are.

There are many good and world class engineers at Proton and I do not doubt their capability. Proton has a new management and now they have to:

a) move into a new era without TM

b) start stepping away from the government protection. Difficult, but not impossible.

c) pay attention to quality. Evidence is in the TUV ratings. Not ideal, but a step in the right direction

Given the correct management and vision, I do not see anything that can stop Proton from manufacturing good cars. It is time that they shed the "baby fat".

When SRM is launched, we would then see. A good pointer for good things to come is the Savvy and its new AMT version.

• Marmitecrab on Nov 19, 2005 at 12:02 am

Hi MT!

Like yourself, I too have had lousy experiences with Proton. I used to think that owning a Proton is like not owning a real car, where you're expected to have low expectations and when things don't work, then it's not their fault. After all, Proton, lah, whaddya expect?

But then I grew up. I realised that I'm not gonna put up with it anymore and when I make a purchase, it's my money and I want satisfaction.

It's very easy to get sucked into all the hoopla that's made when a new model Proton is launched. I remember when the Gen.2 came out, I went to see it and I thought, "Hmm! Nice. When I have the money, I'll definitely get one". Then came the complaints. But still, I was determined. I went to the showroom and requested a test-drive. "What? A test-drive?", said the salesman. "Yes, you don't expect me to buy a car without testing, do you? When you buyh a handphone also you want to test-test first, right?"

Guess what? After two visits with the same requests, no calls. So I bought a Hyundai instead and I love it. I once said, "I'll never buy a Korean car". Now, I eat my words because in terms of satisfaction, I've finally bought a real car.

• benunited on Nov 19, 2005 at 1:18 am

hmm…6/10

• abe pie on Nov 19, 2005 at 1:37 am

design : no komen. really don’t like 2 doors car.

launched date : last year proton promised to launch the srm at 3q or the year. now the info change already. promise..promise..promise

are proton doing R&D in hybrid car, or fuel cell car. anyone knows.?

• giganet on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:14 am

superman said,

November 18, 2005 @ 11:22 am

The Vios and City rival?? Does GEN 2 anwer your question.

——————————————————————————–

Gen2 more like hatchback. Interior is not nice. The closest IMHO is the waja, but it is old model already and quality is behind these 2.

I also benchmark Proton cars like this. I take a model from Proton and a Japanese model, same cc and all, imagine the 2 as same price, which would be a better buy. So far, I always end up with Japanese cars. hahaha.

• fariq on Nov 19, 2005 at 3:05 am

I was actually trying to overtake the srm to take a picture from the front end .. but since i was only in a kelisa.. it was a bit difficult to keep up. the srm was quite fast ..

• Marmitecrab, nice to know your bitter exprience with PROTON, this is the factor ppl feel bad with PROTON. PROTON need to learn.

• Lpost on Nov 19, 2005 at 4:53 am

in term of design, gen2 is the winner, and vios such a boring old design.

from the picture i have saw (prototype), the design look acceptable and some part are superb. hope to see SRM with better design….

• not bad

• Sexythang on Nov 19, 2005 at 9:40 am

man im so excited about this car im gonna try keep my pee in. cant wait.

brb…..gota go dump some crap in the toilet.

• i am actually very excited about this. imagine how it would feel driving this with the new AMT transmission with roughly (suspectedly) 200HP gti.. can someone say ITS A GTR? (lol)

but all jokes aside i think it looks pretty cool, except the front (proton fronts are always so ugly, must be the logo). im more concerned with the interior and the overally build though. not to mention the price! the r3 gti is priced at around rm80k (i think), which is a collosal rip-off given they used the same old ass engine and there were lack of overall enhancements from the normal gti model.

for 80k i demand brembo brakes and recaro seats goddamnit. i sincerely hope the Proton management do themselves (and us) a little favour by pricing this baby more competitvely than its predecessor…

as a malaysian i could always settle for a little less because thats the nature of the enviroment we live in , but i guess its a little time we get our bang for the buck. price it well or bust proton!

60-70K ILL GET ONE RIGHT NOW THANK YOU BYE BYE (GTI)

non GTI version prolly around 50K (+ recaro, brembo, turbo, leather, momo worth around less than 20K right)

Its a GTR!

• Due to cost effective practise,Proton use the same floor plan for Waja, Gen2 and SRM. This SRM will share some chassis with Gen2. The engine will be the same what we find in Gen2.The GTi version will have Kleeman's turbo kit (hope so). The sport rim is the blink2 one. I'm eager to see the R3 version. What's on the earth will Tengku Djan do with it. For young people and Ah Bengs this is a value for money car. i thjink Proton don't really do a market survey. The model is just for a niche market. They should come out with a 5 doors SRM insread. listen to the people who gonna buy and use the car.What are the marketing division of Proton are doing.

• cyborgx on Nov 19, 2005 at 3:00 pm

damn kao sien ah.. another satria.Aiyo.

• superman on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:18 pm

swee said,

November 19, 2005 @ 3:17 am

the r3 gti is priced at around rm80k (i think), which is a collosal rip-off given they used the same old ass engine and there were lack of overall enhancements from the normal gti model.

for 80k i demand brembo brakes and recaro seats goddamnit.

60-70K ILL GET ONE RIGHT NOW THANK YOU BYE BYE (GTI)

non GTI version prolly around 50K (+ recaro, brembo, turbo, leather, momo worth around less than 20K right)

___________________________________________________________________________Er, Swee

If you ever get to see the Satria R3 up close you'll probably notice it does have Recaro SR4 seats, Momo Tuner Steering Wheel, Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 tyres(16") Mintex M1144 Brake pads, DBA Crossed drilled brake disc. Not to mention the superbly tuned suspension. On a car that was RM77,888.00. which in case you didn't know was only RM3k+ more than the GTi.

If you are a true car/motorsports enthusiast you will know these items listed above cost quite a lot.

I know coz I own and drive boththis and the GTi and the Satria R3 ROCKS.

• superman on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:22 pm

haji said,

November 19, 2005 @ 6:27 am

I’m eager to see the R3 version. What’s on the earth will Tengku Djan do with it.

They should come out with a 5 doors SRM insread.

You are not the only one waiting for T Djan to tune the SRM's suspension for the R3 version.

5 door SRM ( hatchback) mmmmm I think the GEN2 aredi fits that criteria.

Honestly there is a market for a two door car. Proton sold tons of Satria before production stopped in March 2005

In a country of 26million, there a quite a number that wants to buy a brand new two door car below RM60k

• pycazu on Nov 19, 2005 at 9:45 pm

oppsss.. it's look nice but unfortunely 2-door version only. Maybe out there many ppl like it, but honestly quite troublemsome indeed.

Well the design looked good but the lamp not using LED type as most of the current model do, exp: Myvi. It's looked too dim!

Hope protong really work out this faster…

• gegaoff on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:17 pm

PAUL, i only c the back wo…

i don't like to c ppl's hip.. unless is a gal, pretty gal…

hahaha…

photo not telling any story though…

cheerss.

• narrowband on Nov 20, 2005 at 5:32 am

Front and back view without disguise is in one of Paul's older posts, a lil bit of clicking (link conveniently provided right below the post) does the trick.

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/06/24/satria-rep…
    (it's the 4th link provided)

Apparently some commentors don't know what are disguised cars and spy-shots. Dude, this is not the final version of the car. Dirty as it may appear, it's not supposed to be recognisable. Heck, for all you know it's not a Proton. But for a trained eye, and the obvious cues, this is 90% a Satria replacement model.

How many of you actually purchase a proton and tell yourself "This is my temporary car. I'm gonna use it 3-4 years and then change to a better one". It seems to me Protons are usually a 'temporary solution'.

As for the Vios/City competitor, Gen2 may be an answer but we all know where Gen2 ranks, if compared with the Japs.

By the way, a 5-door Satria is plain ridiculous. Not practical. Too short. Get a Gen2 if you want a 5-door hatch.

• Daihatsu make 3 doors Mira in their country. Due to our local need and after market surveying, Kancil become 5 doors car. Is SRM shorter than Kancil? I don't think so. They should come out with 5 and 3 doors version. More compelling isn't it. Just look at Rio. I don't like Gen2 very much. It does not have the right balance and proportion. The copycat of mazda 6 hatchback. I saw it.

• I read yesterday's The Sun. Business section. proton spokeperson said this SRM will be launced in Jan 06. What makes me think is it clearly stated 1.2l version. Is it gonna be the same engine with TRM a.k.a Savvy?Typo error maybe.

• Yes haji, Proton should produce SRM with both 3 and 5 doors like Peugeot 206. So it can cater a lot more enthusiast, both married and single person.

• i think SRM will coming late….but chencellor coming soon is better somemore got DVD player al.2.0cc wah good…eh

• honda_driver on Nov 24, 2005 at 1:59 am

The SRM is actually a 2dr hatch(3dr) version of the Gen2, which incidentally, is a 4 door hatch(5dr).

• sweden on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:23 am

piece of shit

• miFdHaL on Nov 25, 2005 at 12:00 am

wow…….

it's hot…

the srm totally erased my previous perception of proton's design.

it has a little bit of european style.

i hope that after it is launched, no one will complain about it's QUALITY.

bcoz quality comes first before design.

but i will like to see in future, that proton will produced a powerful, stylish,and high QUALITY four wheel drive (4X4)

• honda_driver on Nov 25, 2005 at 1:45 am

its really funny, but in most malaysian forums, and also blogs like paul's website, the only people who usually fight for "freedom of speech", "freedom of opinion" are the ones who post these…

"sweden said,

November 23, 2005 @ 9:23 pm

piece of shit "

• Streamyx User on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:45 am

Rumors say its using 660cc L200 engine. It is turbo like what we see in the previous spyshots

• Guys with a thing for big ass would definitely love this car.

• garageinc on Nov 26, 2005 at 9:38 am

proton dah lama diberi masa utk improve…(20 tahun) but still keluar kereta yg org tak nak beli…macam arena…tiara…townbox…..yg peliknya perodua yg baru 10 tahun lebih ..tak byk complain tapi byk booking….

bukan taknak support proton..20 years they should be without problems…but it seems to be worse now…!!!!

• Perodua belum pandai buat kereta lagi…. hanya pasang/buat daihatsu..

• SRM is a good looking car.

• lalanuni on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:29 pm

Does proton hav any NEW designs??…I doubt on it..:(

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:27 pm

I didn't know malaysian makes cars. i thought they rode on donkey w/1hp motor. lol

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:29 pm

sweden…i couldn't agree w/you more. malaysian car wannabe are hideous its like another KIA market. lol

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:21 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.