2007 Audi R8

I previously blogged about Audi’s supercar and called it the Audi R9, as most sites were speculating that name to be used, with the digit 8 already being used for it’s flagship luxury sedan, the A8/S8.

Audi has recently announced that it’s new supercar would be called the Audi R8 instead of the R9. The concept was originally unveiled at the Frankfurt Motor Show where it was called the Audi Le Mans Quattro concept. Due in 2007, this car will be powered by a 5.0 litre V10 engine, taking it from 0-100km/h in 3.7 seconds, with an electronically limited top speed of 250km/h. Technically it could do 350 km/h without the speed limiter.

The 5.0 litre 90 degree V10 is similiar to the one found in the Audi S8, but it has been forced inducted with a twin turbo system. The turbocharged air up to a maximum 2.0 bar of boost is fed through dual intercooler mounted above the engine before entering the intake. 2 intake valves and 2 exhaust valves per cylinder means this is a 40 valve engine.

Power figures for this engine are 610hp and an amazing 745Nm of torque, available from 1750rpm all the way to 5500rpm. Can you imagine 745Nm of torque at 1750rpm?! The car is going to be an absolutely breathtaking drive! The engine is mounted in a mid-engine position, so weight distribution is about 40:60 for the front-rear axles.

And of course, the car is equipped with Audi’s excellent Quattro all wheel drive. Can’t wait to hear this one go!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mousanc on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:11 pm

Again.. another superfast car..

• MutantTomato on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:43 pm

Oh…my…GOD….!!!!!! =D 745Nm of torque beginning at 1750rpm?! Jesus, Mary n St Joseph! Walau eh… Its like… Its like… Its like nothing I have EVER seen…

• MutantTomato on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:46 pm

Uhhhh… Paul… Think you made a typo there… If its a V10, then there's 10 pistons right? At 2 intake n 2 exhaust valves per cylinder, that would make it a 40 VALVE engine, not 40 cylinder! :D

If 40 cylinder, I think the car will be longer than the Batmobile from Batman 1&2! :P

• I meant to type valves. @#$@#*($*@#($@#!!

Damn teruk typo!

• It looks not much different from the one Will Smith drives in his 'futuristic' film.

I hope the front looks more Germanic or Teutonic instead looks like a Japanese sport car. However the rear is totally purely German………….

…………..AND I LOVE IT!!!

• cbljkkj on Nov 19, 2005 at 8:25 pm

Wow, all this time I only thought this car was all show no go. Not only does it have monstrous touque but a Lamborghini engine to boot as well (before I get flamed, the S8 engine is from Lamborghini)

I was also wondering how a 5 liter V10 could achieve a 0-100 in 3.7 until I read about the 2.0 bar twin turbo force inducted engine. It even has a really close to perfection weight balance of 40:60. The 350Z is 57:43!!!

Truly breathtaking

• peter on Nov 19, 2005 at 8:59 pm

Agree with Afif, its rear looks better than its front.

• …and for and arm or leg or your newborn, you could be driving this tomorrow, or ever at all!

• gegaoff on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:23 pm

i start to like AUDI… if i kena 6D tonight, AUDI sure is my first car to choose.

hehehe…

cheers…

• MutantTomato on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:29 pm

yeah,,, u guys are right… the back does look better. And interestingly, the side profile isn't too bad, even though this is a "sweeping forward" car. Most other supercars are "sweeping back." If ya don't know what I mean, look at the side profile. See the teardrop shape? In this one, the bigger end of the teardrop is facing the front. Normally, it faces the back. But nonetheless, this is a sweet sweet car…

• yhtan on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:41 pm

2 Thumbs up for this car…

Good job to Audi!

• useless on Nov 19, 2005 at 11:46 pm

I don't care what anyone say's…

That's one sexy looking car.

• MyBoy on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:28 am

That figures achieved by using forced induction with a twin turbo system. Not that impressive to me. If it were NA engine, i might get a litle impress.

• SEE FU on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:44 am

I thought I saw a PuSSyCAT face at the Back!! Smilling to me too….Kwak..kwak..kwak :P

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! Kattun Car!! wah…ha..ha….

• albagmane on Nov 20, 2005 at 6:08 pm

u mean this car will be lauched in 2007? gosh.. if so, this is a really breakthrough in the sports car industry.. LOOK AT THE HEADLIGHTS!! PURE LED… COOL MAN!

• back in the 1930's to 1940's mercedes and audi fight head to head by launching their silver cars…

no doubt about it.. a supercar.. but by looking at it from the side, reminds me of the audi car in i-robot but with no track ball as the tires.. hehehe

and i'm pretty sure the feul consumption is also a breath taking expirience as the driving too.. hehehehe heck.. why bother if can afford the price tag…

• boleh tahan. not so spectacular

• kancil_driver on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:14 pm

driving this car? hmmm, i would be living near highway entrance and work at highway office somewhere else. and every month i should budget for speeding ticket and just enjoy driving! yey!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:25 pm

Afif : I hope the front looks more Germanic or Teutonic instead looks like a Japanese sport car. However the rear is totally purely German………….

…………..AND I LOVE IT!!!

I love German's rear too…..sometimes Russian……the best Jamaican……flavourish Indian……..???

Im talking about their cars, how they decorate the rear of their cars………

• Michael Chua on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:29 pm

Superfast and super lovely.

• countol on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:10 pm

Hi guys,

I have a video shot at future Proton super car. But i need to edit the video first. anybody know what software should i use to edit *.3gp file from my nokia? after editing, i will put it somewhere so everybody can see it. FYI, the car just look like the Audi R8. Codenamed PM5. Source….secret. hehehe

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:21 pm

Who cares…i can't afford it anways. lol

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:23 pm

hammeed you naughty queer so you like german asses. what about donkey ass? lol

• Sure beats my '94 E36