Perodua hopes to reduce waiting time

Perodua Sales Sdn Bhd hopes to cut down the waiting list time for its vehicles to two to three months from the current five months by Q2 2006.

Perodua currently produces 280-300 cars a day on average and 5000-6000 cars a month. On whether Perodua will be coming up with a new model next year, the company says more market studies would have to be made first before anything can become solid. Maybe a Kancil Replacement Model?

Perodua Marketing & sales division senior general manager Mohamad Shukor Ibrahim said Perodua could not see any impact to it’s sales by the Proton Savvy AMT yet.

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:29 pm

current 5 months??? just walk into any showroom and ask, u'll be told that that at least have 1 year waiting list… well we'll see if increased production speed will lead to drop in work quality…

and yes, a new model is very much anticipated, but pls, make it a kelisa replacement… kancil already been updated once, but never on kelisa… maybe we shud see something to be done on that car…

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:34 pm

The rumor of KRM photo is actually MIRA car selling in Japan. http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira/in…

Selling prices at Japan: Under RM35K
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira/in…

I think P2 is going to the right direction, don't know how POTONG to fight back?? SAWI mana boleh?

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!

• pycazu on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:57 pm

How poor a M'sian to wait for a car for at least 6 mths.. I'm the victim oso… :(

5K~6K/mth too few… How to make it to achieve economy of scale! Ohh… btw, i think it already reaching break even stage to come to M'sia.

I want my MYVI!!!

• dont think 5months, i book since 3rd of june, until now still not yet get my myvi 1.3ezi, or maybe 5months in average of every spec myvi include 1.0?

• kanasai on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:03 pm

Hmm… seems that Perodua produce Cars more for the ladies portion.. it's a superd marketing strategy as ladies wanted a small compact car so that it's easy to park and go any where… does not req speed and handling like F1 racer.. but does req lots of safety (for teenager driver).. is very very opposite for savvy to be comparable.. really what the heck is savvy for? savvy = (family = NO, ladies = NO, young guys = YES (speed & handling), exec = NO, Old guy = NO), For perodua Mvvi (family = YES, ladies = YES, young guys = YES (DVVT), exec = YES, Old guy = YES)

• albagmane on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:04 pm

gosh.. HOPES to reduce waiting time only.. this seems that they are not confident at all.. sucks!!!

even if they can reduce the time of waiting list, im doubtful of the LULUS stickers that stick on the window of every perodua vehicle as well.. dono whether really is LULUS or not, since they are in such a hurry..

• benunited on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:16 pm

well, i got a friend who untill now still waiting for his myvi, and he waited for almost 8 months..called the p2, always the same answer, wait, wait, wait…pity for him…nah!! :-p

• Sotong on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Yalah, press reports always claim 4-5 months waiting period but when I booked my Myvi last month I was told to wait 9 months! Maybe P2 really don't know/don't bothered to know what's going on with their dealers.

• azwerx on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:15 pm

I put booking for MyVi at Glenmarie sales centre in early July. Car already at dealer, waiting for registration. Should pick it up by Tuesday. Oh btw, dealer said my booking go through faster because I trade in my kancil with myvi. He said got higher preference for perodua owners who want to trade in.

• michly on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:46 pm

No worry for P2, POTONG totally lost this time . Savvy AMT or what i think impact is very darn minor only …..

• daniel on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:50 pm

no lah.. no more kancil.. produce more safety compliance cars.. not cars that crumble when crashing into barriers at a mere 40 – 50kmh.. please lah perodua..

• Hope P2 increase the prodcution wont become P1's low quality,quality is more important.Lot of ppl predict after CNY waiting time will cut by half.. ppl tned to buy new car for chinese new yr :) Somemore Toyota may launch competitive new car model next yr,P2 order will be less.

• Kancil Killer on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:37 am

Good good… more target practices for me… bring'em up!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 26, 2005 at 2:16 am

Reduce waiting? HELL YEAH.

Almost 6 months and I'm finally getting it next week. Better IMPROVE for real!

• Ihateproton on Nov 26, 2005 at 2:39 am

The new model is closer to Jan 2006 or Dec 2006?

I hope they just keep the new models coming…. then they can change their name to Perosatu… humph…. sounds just as stupid.

• Macgyver on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:10 am

5 months? The last i heard 7-8 months! I'm stll waiting for my MYVI for 4 months already. An infor i got from a reliable source, somebody she knew got her MYVI within 2 week only? Shocking! How can it be? I believe the dealer pull some magic.. potong Q lo!

• "On whether Perodua will be coming up with a new model next year, the company says more market studies would have to be made first before anything can become solid." Look how Perodua succeed. Market study first lorr.

• keniji on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:13 am

rakyat been ripped off here,

cost only usd 5k in japan, and plenty of stock!

• gegaoff on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:49 am

i can tell perodua is improving…

my Myvi so far so good. (touch wood, :D) then few days ago just have my second service. compare to first time, it only take me half an hour. and i consider this a good improvement…

now perodua thinking to have new model coming out? good move. :D

cheers…

• Gstringz on Nov 26, 2005 at 9:52 am

Yeah rite… same old story. 5 mnoths and still waiting. If next week i don't get my car, i wont be bothered to wait for a myvi anymore… Sawiii pon okay lar. Or drive my old V8 Tiara Biodiesel till i die… or the car dies… or which ever comes first lar.

• r3_maniac on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:00 pm

i'm neutral but i wonder why nobody complaints the kancil lifecycle in the market as wira or bengwara.

rusa definately not a ladies car :-p

it's not even a car anyway :-/

• HighEndPcMonitor on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:13 pm

It is really hard to be a car manufacturer where the car thats sells like hot cake and causing long waiting list, the company get bashed for cannot meet the demand of customer and raised concern for quality issue when they try to speed up the production. (i dedicate this to Perodua)

For company that don't make good sales, it is being bashed for producing crapy car and trying to rip off the customers. (i dedicate this to Proton)

So the question is how to solve each companys problem? ?

Perodua = Need to get a bigger and better facility.

Proton = Need to ditch the politics and choose a good design from your exixting experienced designer, Strict on the Quality side, Need Good marketing survey.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:35 pm

"I’m neutral but i wonder why nobody complaints the kancil lifecycle in the market as wira or bengwara.

rusa definately not a ladies car :-p

it’s not even a car anyway :-/ "

-Err, I believe the Kancil is a new model now? Or is it just a mere facelift?

Oh well, but the Kancil is 10 years younger too, I guess..

• dear benunited

"got a friend who untill now still waiting for his myvi, and he waited for almost 8 months"

pls get some fact right, the MyVi was launch on end of Mei, count June to Nov, that is only 6 months…. RIGHT.

Even if he had order 2 months before the launch, that is still NOT right to count the 2 months.

• benunited on Nov 26, 2005 at 6:44 pm

r u sure edw?? then he's must be lying…damn i'll choke him to death after this!!! anyway hope his myvi will never arrive, that's a better & sweeter revenge huahuahuahau

• Crash on Nov 26, 2005 at 10:52 pm

Aiyoo.. apa susah… Ada kawan boleh dapat 2 minggu.. potong Q la.. bayar extra 2k-4k… hahaha ada duit boleh cepat….

• gegaoff on Nov 26, 2005 at 11:55 pm

Crash,

i think cut Q is difficult now, coz at klang, just hear got few staffs get caught becoz of this. and i appreciate cut Q to be disappear.

one of the reason ppl get to wait so long becoz somebody cut Q, oK?

cheers…

• kanasai on Nov 27, 2005 at 7:28 pm

Hello r3_maniac…

who say no one complains about RUSA?? there are lots n lots of complains la… that's y perodua do not have Rusa now after toyota take part in perodua.. get ur facts rite la… up to now… wut ever managment change in within proton, we still do not see changes up to now… the only thing i can see is promotions.. promotions and promotions…. mana new model? mana SRM? even savvy oni come out with AMT… pls shoot the designer la… change savvy to look better for AMT version…. that i think will increase sales for savvy…

• muthu on Nov 28, 2005 at 7:51 pm

aiyoyo…… facelift only la woiiiii

• DamnPerodua on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:42 am

Shit Perodua is "HOPE" to reduce time.

Not true to reduce time, only "HOPE".

People dissapointed about MYvi and wanted to take their booking money

back and salesman says cannot.

That's why MYVI so many people bookinglah.

Many problem about myvi . Water leak into car etc…

Salesman want extra money for MYVI to deliver fast.

Then good lo,i also want to become salesman for every new car launched.

Then i earned a lot.

People scold Savvy , YOU think myvi is malaysian made and design by

malaysia like savvy ah. NO!!!!!!!!

people also scold gen2 a lot. St*pid perodua cars can lapping like gen2 ah?

• Not_A_perodua_Fan on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:46 am

Now the MYVI in second hand car shop lor…..

YEAH!!!!!!

SYOk lor!

the owner must love his Myvi a lot .

it is behind BM high school.

it is in BM penang.

got 2 MYvi sell.

• rikeys on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:38 am

Now the MYVI in second hand car shop lor…..

aiyah that one for cari makan one lar not sold by previous owner

is normal practice many 2nd hand shop buys stock to sell at higher price

for those not willing to wait!!! happened to Citra also when I wanted to buy

they sell at 3-4k more. at least this Myvi has so good demand until 2nd hand shop wants to sell not like Sorry! hahaha

• Not_A_perodua_Fan on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:29 am

Hey F#cker , so clever u go & buy lah at the shop lah.

• metisaplana on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:07 pm

I'd placed my booking early June.Everyday i call d salesman for latest info, he promise me to get it before year end….Yesterday, I rang up the Perodua cust. services and being informed i'll get my MyVi EZi 1.3 on MAR 2006….whoaaaa!!

• Agreed rikeys..its juz back to the old time where POTONG selling their iswara at the hottest !!! ever heard someone profit at selling their cars??? never but iswara!!! KNN after that POTONG are down the slope like NO BODY's BZNESS

– High Profit….Malaysia BOLEH!!

– Profit…OK lah

– Break EVEN…Not loss yet..no fear no fear

– Some loss (few bil) – No la…tat statistic not accurate larrrr..

– Er…er…report not out kenot comment yet

Thats how POTONG BOD Tells u on the POTONG's performance!!!! i think UM chancellor learned from them leh!!!!

SEE FU: YAO MAO GAO…..CHOR!!!!(TM) :P

• Let-VW-takeover-protong on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:00 am

I believe that this MYVI phenomenon is like China’s economy, a bubble waiting to bust. It can’t be THAT good a deal, as

We are Malaysian car buyers + MYVI is a Malaysian car = We will be shortchanged

I was initially looking to buy Hyundai Accent to replace my mum’s 11 year-old protong wira (yea, been driving this piece of junk for THAT long) but my dad keeps nagging that “MYVI has a Daihatsu engine! MYVI is fuel-efficient! MYVI is based on Daihatsu Boon! Daihatsu Boon is HOT in Japan!”
    However, from what I found online, the Daihatsu is only selling modestly in UK, and complaints are aplenty, even worse than the Hyundai.
    So, we booked MYVI, and have waited for 5 LONG months still no sight of it, and after getting it, I’ll be waiting eagerly for problems and faults to arise, and then I’ll ridicule my dad, “NAH! MYVI good oh! See what we’ve got?” haha…

• Heelll oooo on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:41 am

agree wit DamnPerodua , people complain proton and

drive stupid perodua = stupid people .

• CCTan on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:08 pm

Polah Perodua, talk big only from 3 to 2 months, i booked myvi more than 6 months stilll no car, no news, SA said top of the list, top of the list…….wait, wait……

• I hope anybody already booked myvi may aprotest to 2 hq, so that the officer in hq could do a press statement regarding this matter urgently.

tel:03-6092888 customer service department

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:33 pm

Yea, I would like to echo Mng's comment, let us all who booked MYVI call their Customer Service Dept and COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN, and COMPLAIN!!!

On another note, based on my (somewhat limited) legal knowledge, I believe that those, prior to placing booking, are being told by the SAs that their car will be delivered within 2-3 months and yet have waited for 5++ months like me, can actually sue Perodua for Fraudulent Misrepresentation for making a claim that is not true, inducing potential buyers into placing bookings for the MYVI.

Any legal professionals out there who can help clarify on this?

• p2 hq tel:03-6092888 customer service department

• A man on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:09 am

Fck up perodua

• dzuan21 on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:53 am

guys,

whats with the anger.nobody says anything bout toyota avanza for delivering late b4 this.still have 2 wait less than 2 months at the moment.and how long has it been launch???its a normal thing that we have to go thru for cars that sells like hot goreng pisang.i've booked myself a myvi since june and i've requested that i wanted it by next year from 2006 manufactured batch of myvi.prefer 2 wait rather that gettin my car near end of the year and lose few thousands car value by next year.bout jumping Q,even most salesman from other cars than P2 or protong even would willing to do that if ur willing to pay extra.i did that when dealin buyin my parents Vios and CRV.is how the whole industry runs in sales service.do remember that P2 helps toyota in manufacturing Avanza all this while and they been increasing their capacity of production like they doin it on myvi rite now.was there any problem with Avanza until now?maybe theres some but just a small percentage of the whole car sales.think about it guys

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:19 am

Why are we so angry you ask? Haven't you read thru our comments properly?

We are angry because we were being misled about the waiting period!

When I place my booking, the salesguy told me that, "2-3 months for Std, 4-5 months for Premium".

If you can't deliver, don't make those representations! They are misleading carbuyers!

If I had known that it woul take this long I would have bought other car! And you ask why I AM SO ANGRY ?!

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:24 am

Those who placed their bookings while being told by the salesguy that it would take 2-3 months but have instead waited for 5-6 months still no sight of their MYVI should join forces and file a suit, suing Perodua and their agent(the sales reps) for Fraudulent Misrepresentaion, for misleading people to enter into agreements (the order/booking of MYVI) with terms (the waiting period) that they themselves know that couldn't be met.

• See? Perodua sees their problems, and are trying to rectify them. Not like Proton. Savvy sales no good, and they try to fix that by coming out with a Chancellor V6 … which in turn is cheaper than Perdana V6 Executive, yet this market is UBER niched. :D