Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?

Mohd Azril Mansor sent in these nice spyshots of a car being tested on roads of Jalan Duta to Damansara Junction taken by his camera phone. I previously blogged about this mysterious car here, and speculated it might be Perodua’s next model under testing phases, perhaps to replace the Kancil. Thanks Azril!

In the last shot you can see two of these cars being tested. Under the related posts links below you will be able to find the original car which I think this test model is based on, which is the latest Daihatsu Mira being sold in Japan. I like the looks of it.

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• look at the Rim…it's perodua kelisa original rim!

• wafiess on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:58 am

depan macam myvi .. belakang macam pernah aku tgk jugak .. tak boleh nak recall belakang mcm keter aper .. but so far bigger than kancil lol .. size myvi ???

• Jason on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:00 am

Yeah, looks big.

• sookie on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:18 am

that looks like the daihatsu charade

• weilun on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:41 am

looks like lowered !

• midie on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:03 pm

Perodua tak boleh ker reka kete yg menepati citarasa org zaman sekarang plzzzzz lah

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:30 pm

Really hope it's not just a mere face lift or even just a rebadged daihatsu. Would be a bit shameful if there are no engineering developments from Malaysian engineers put into the car. All the best P2!

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:34 pm

wafiess said,

November 30, 2005 @ 2:58 am

depan macam myvi .. belakang macam pernah aku tgk jugak .. tak boleh nak recall belakang mcm keter aper .. but so far bigger than kancil lol .. size myvi ???

——————————————————-

belakang macam fiat Punto

• cbljkkj on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:46 pm

No doubt that this is a new Perodua. One thing puzzling though, I can't help but imagine that this is the Kelisa replacement and not the Kancil replacement. It's got Kelisa rims!!! just speculating. Don't take me seriously.

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 30, 2005 at 3:30 pm

GOOD OUTLOOK!!!

HOPE THE PRICE WILL LOWER THEN MYVI!

• SEE FU on Nov 30, 2005 at 3:39 pm

P2 Mawi crash test results for EUROPEAN market (EuroNCAP is scored 4 stars) which is a very good results in supermini segment:
    http://www.euroncap.com/images/results/superminis…

But M'sia version of MAWI not sure, I hope is the same materials apply, but usually some reinforcements will be removed for cost reduction since M'sia doesn't enforce any NCAP requirement. Business sense lah!

But Daihatsu Mira (The car shown by above) is not selling in Europe, it only market in Japan. See the crash test performance below:
    http://www.crashtest.com/daihatsu/index.htm
    It is only ACCEPTABLE level

Anyway, buying a Kancil should put PRICE as priority rights? Crash don't care lah!! HA..ha..

According the these spy photos, I guess they doing local components test especially the bumper (locally made one) is not painted with body color.

I think this MIRA 90% will be Kancil Replacement Model soon. I strongly believed P2 will modify both Hood and T/gate before launching it.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Cheer :)

• muthu on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:20 pm

i don't think that car is the kancil replacement model……. mayB it belong to NAZA…… just like ATOZ…….

• Edward on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:57 pm

Actually I think it looks more like the Toyota Opa from the last picture above. They seem to have put some bricks at the back of the car as only the back side of the car seems lowered.

• Initial D on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:18 pm

can this be kenari replacement model?

• the rear wheel arch is like myvi also. In general, the myvi genes is obvious in this one. dvvt?

• hey..those are my kelisa rims!

• Xoomie on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Those pics are not Kenari/Kelisa replacement. It is replacement model for Kancil. Definitely it will be cheaper than Myvi. Indeed from the outlook the car looked bigger but it's not as big as Kenari nor Myvi. That is bcoz of the tall roof.

Below is the specs from Japan

http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/z8526/Daihatsu…

• LangkawiCar on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Now becoming new trend la, a foreign car brought into Malaysia and only change headlight and bumper then got the national car status. So simple mah.. like this ar, even I can also bring in a BMW model and only change the wiper, can already be called Malaysian car.

That was the issue raised by Tan Sri Tengku Mahaleel regarding some Malaysian car manufacturer that easily obtain the national car status and competing with Proton.

Not fair mah….

• Selipar on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:29 pm

cbljkkj said,

November 30, 2005 @ 6:46 am

No doubt that this is a new Perodua. One thing puzzling though, I can’t help but imagine that this is the Kelisa replacement and not the Kancil replacement. It’s got Kelisa rims!!! just speculating. Don’t take me seriously.

——————————————————————

I seconded your speculation…and i think the engine capacity will go around 900 – 1000 cc though with better fuel economic efficiency & power delivery…DVVT & DOCH perhaps

anyway..just a thought….but sadly enough…no local R&D much involve as usual from P2 expected….making P1 Sawi crying worse.. :(

• muthu on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:33 pm

agree with u langkawicar…….. this car is bigger than existing kancil, horsepower?…. if 850cc the pickup should be teruk la……….

• Kancil Killer on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:36 pm

more target practises…

• ekestima on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:52 pm

Could it be the replacement model for Kelisa ?

Check it out at http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/cuore/

Our Kelisa looks like Daihatsu Coure is you look back quite sometime ago at Daihatsu website.

Moreover if you look at its engine capacity. http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/cuore/spec/inde…
    It's like 1000CC which fits more to Kelisa than Kancil.

It's just a guess though. We'll just have to wait n c.

• apasal macam kotak mancis jer…any news of modenas new bikes ka?..

• Mohd Razib Zainal on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:12 pm

no need to buat cosmetics changes lah P2….Just import the original mira dan assemble in malaysia…..apa nak susah ubah sana sikit …ubah sini sikit…bazir masa …dan syok sendiri aje…last-last kereta tu hanya terdapat di malaysia aje…ini akan menaikkan kos….macam myvi tu…ubah sana sini…tengok-tengok macam katak….tutup P2 dan jadi assembler dah lah…

• Michael Chua on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:13 pm

Not bad. Looks quite neat.

• Michael Chua on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:14 pm

Reminds me of the Hyundai Atos too.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:27 pm

Many of you look at PERODUA as the "re-badge" king. I think they do not hide the fact that they are.

It is their modus operandi. It has served them well over the years, and in a business sense, it is perfectly acceptable. For Daihatsu (and their owners Toyota), they are more than happy to receive topline contribution indirectly from PERODUA, as given the protectionist automotve policies employed by Malaysia, they would not stand a chance if they were to put a Charade or a Toyota Opa on the market themselves.

If you don't want to undertake "re-badge engineering", then you design and develop with R&D. It takes a lot of financial muscle, and as the PROTON experience will show, it does not necessarily spell SUCCESS.

As a car user, I'm happy to see fair quality PERODUAs on the road available at a cheaper price then what it would be as a Daihatsu or Toyota.

In a sense, its a win-win situation.

PERODUA/Daihatus/Toyota wins, the consumer wins.

This new Kancil is due out by February or March, which is why the Kancil SE is now available.

The Kelisa ugrade is only likely in 2007, but PERODUA is undecided on whether to introduce the Daihatsu Bego (Kembara) or the Sirion (Kelisa) upgrades. They have announced before a 1 new model a year policy.

I think its a nice car, but there will be nay-sayers of course.

• peter on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:39 pm

They must have them loaded up. In that last picture the one in front (off-white colour) looks very low at the back. Perhaps they are testing them under load?

Anyway they look the way small cheap cars should look. Small, and er…. cheap! I like the design at the back, looks practical. The light clusters built into the pillars is a good solution for small cars, allowing the boot opening to be larger.

• albagmane on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:48 pm

gosh… i think this is a kelisa replacement model.. coz kancil model is still quite new lar.. but the kelisa model seems to be very old oredi lah.. should change liao..

• Silver Waja on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:53 pm

At least better looking than savvy I suppose

Mohd Razib Zainal said,

November 30, 2005 @ 11:12 am

no need to buat cosmetics changes lah P2….Just import the original mira dan assemble in malaysia…..apa nak susah ubah sana sikit …ubah sini sikit…bazir masa …dan syok sendiri aje…last-last kereta tu hanya terdapat di malaysia aje…ini akan menaikkan kos….macam myvi tu…ubah sana sini…tengok-tengok macam katak….tutup P2 dan jadi assembler dah lah…

habis tu apa hang boleh buat? cakap otak kosong kerja tak buat. Dari ubah sana sini pun ia diterima ramai, apa masalah hang? Hang takde jangan membebel. Protes tak mampu beli ternyata sekali aku percaya lihat dari hujah hang tu. PEEEGIII LAHH

• E-nabill on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:24 pm

kancil should be banned for life. , its dangerous on the roads,a real nuisance

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:33 pm

e-Nabill,

The KANCIL is not dangerous… the drivers are though! :)

They drive the space-wasters (I call them that because at parking lots, they always fool you into believeing there's space. When you drive up, the puny car is there!) like they're the biggest ones on the roads.

Sheessh kebabbs!

I like the Kancil. Owned a 850cc one in 1995, and they were great. PERODUA is still the best made local car in terms of quality.

• yusmady on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:47 pm

good move p2 hehehe

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:06 pm

LangkawiCar said,

November 30, 2005 @ 9:58 am

Now becoming new trend la, a foreign car brought into Malaysia and only change headlight and bumper then got the national car status. So simple mah.. like this ar, even I can also bring in a BMW model and only change the wiper, can already be called Malaysian car.

That was the issue raised by Tan Sri Tengku Mahaleel regarding some Malaysian car manufacturer that easily obtain the national car status and competing with Proton.

Not fair mah….

=============================================

heh… wana talk about fair kah? protect ketat-ketat for proton and force other car makers go high price is very fair lah…. no wonder ppl would find ways and loopholes to get "national car" status…

always talk kok, if wan really fair, then put fair competition la… take away all those taxes, take away all those protections, take away all those subsidies… let the competition be fair and square… then we see if proton can survive in a true FAIR market or not… but to me for sure Proton will terus lingkup!!!

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:14 pm

back to topic… i find that car's look is ok-lah… provides a refreshing change to our dull malaysian cars landscape. but when it come out i need to test drive it first… then only we can say whether that car is any good or not…

if it's a Kancil Replacement, and still priced at the same Kancil-level price, i'm sure this is another winner from P2… while it may snitch some sales from Myvi but heck it's only from those who cant wait 1 whole year for a car! frankly at Kancil-level price it will definitely allow fresh grads to own their first brand new car easier…

by the way, the place where the picture is taken seems strangely familiar… any clue where it is?

• AE86 Tan Chong MOtor on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:16 pm

Now, i'm sure that it is very exiciting when it come to forecasting, predicting and gossiping. Now guys, my opinion is before we wait and see of what's going to happen, lets discuss the crap that we are talking to. From my view, the car is much like Atos but the rims remind me of kelisa. Then the that makes us confused is the rear part of the car remind me of fiat punto. Some of you guys says, it is a new product from Naza. Might be!. Anyway we'll just wait and see. If it the Kancil replacement model, I think Malaysians wold be happy coz The company has come out with a termendous design of new Kancil and it is superbly crafted. Hope that this Kacil got more special feature and the engine must be suitable or match with the chasis. Hope that it has DOCH engine with DVVT like our friend said in the previous comment.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:25 pm

Half-HalfPB,

Point well said. TM's call for fairness seems very, well… unfair. PROTON is so protected that it should really be making profits not losses.

Many people forget that PERODUA has a DIFFERENT business model. And like I said in my entry earlier today, how can you question something which benefits all parties; i.e. fair quality cars, at good prices for us, and the company also benefits with market share and profits.

If you don't want to buy a PERODUA, then don't. Right?

• savvyamt on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:02 pm

i think it's kelisa replacement model.

as far as i know, original kelisa akan stop production by 2007.

• Jimmy on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:05 pm

Hi, All

The photos taken are definately showing the new coming-soon car from P2. The front looks like MYVI so it is from our good "abang", P2. The back looks spacious and the location of the lights makes the car more visible from afar, this reducing accidents.

As regards to some comments that Kancil car is dangerous, I strongly disagree with such comments. A car is a car. It is just a tool. It is the driver that drives that car is dangerous ..It is his/her attitude of driving that makes him/her dangerous. An example is a knife. Do you think a knife is dangerous? If you use the knife to cut meat/ vegetable, etc to prepare a meal, that knife is a useful tool. It helps you to get a meal done. Right ? But on the other hand, if you use that knife and harm ppl, then that knife is a dangerous tool. Right. But that is just a knife!!. So bottom line is ..how you make use of tools will decide whether a tool is good or bad….

P2 have been introducing new cars to Malaysia market all along and it is their company economics of sales and business sense to re-badge "Japanese cars" to become Malaysian cars.. Definately these Japanese cars have to modify to compile to Malaysian's standards and requirements but I think these modifications are minor and will not in any effect the overall standards of the cars..such as safety aspect, power and perdformance and comfort. The Japanese people are well-known for their "innovation and improvement" attitude towards cars…that is why we see looks of new improvements of Japanese cars over a generation of cars.

P2 approach to this re-badging" cars makes good financial move and policy as it justifies the end product..in cost, humand resources, R & D materials resources and others. It is very very expensive to create a car from scratch and as mentioned before, the end result may not spell "SUCCESS".

• karheng on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:24 pm

Perodua's top men include a guy from Daihatsu to oversee things. Perodua was formed as a joint venture move with Daihatsu to move into the local market thro it's minicars segment. Daihatsu allows their cars to be sold as Perodua in exchange for market penetration. You do not see Daihatsu cars much anymore apart from the old charades. Simple as that.

• KISIO on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:33 pm

same size kancil lama la, tgk pic no.3… lebih kurang size kelisa kat sblah..

• insider on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Daihatsu trying to manufacture boxy MPV dB also in Malaysia plant.

The sequence for new car launches should be:

New Mira –> New Kemabara –> New dB

• Hi,

Dari sumber2 dalaman Perodua, production Kancil akan closed down next year. So this new model might be the new replacement for Kancil not Kelisa.

For me, either Perodua or Naza, it's better to rebadging the product, sbb manyak untuk lol. If U want to know, this year their worker will get bonus for 5-6 months. Tak percaya? Ask their workers. How about Proton?

• Selipar on Dec 01, 2005 at 12:13 am

Jimmy bro,

using knife as an analogy…well…very good & agreed. Tool is a tool. The person who use/handle it responsible for their action & consequnce.

• movesitive on Dec 01, 2005 at 12:38 am

ouch!

this is one of the typical kind of thing.

The old Fiat's Punto looked. On the other

side it have a Kia's Picanto looked. Try

looking at the front bumper from the right

or left side, looked alike the famous

exotic, TAPIR. Hahahaha…It must be the name.

Perodua Tapir. cutey!!!

• V_190E on Dec 01, 2005 at 1:33 am

Susah-susah sangat, ko takyah pikir dan kritik model Malaysia kalau tak suka.. beli je kereta apa yang korang suka Continental ke Japan ke Korea ke… duit korang.. citarasa korang…

Kalau hanya setakat mampu beli Malaysian car, don't argue with the design, speed or what. Memasing ada kelebihan dan kekurangan.. even non-Malaysian car pun bukan le perfect sangat…

Kalau nak semua perfect, kos jangan diambil kira.. bayar saje.. itulah harga untuk dapatkan yang perfect…

Jangan compare Malaysian car dengan established car maker yang lain kat obesi tu… dia ada strong financial dan boleh beli apa dan siapa saje asalkan hasilnya boleh mendatangkan keuntungan besar.. macam Merc & BMW…

Korang ingat sikit ke modal nak buat R&D ?

Pikirlah… letakkan diri kita ditempat mereka, dan baru kita tau apa sebenarnya yang berlaku..

• PabloPabla on Dec 01, 2005 at 1:43 am

If it is a Daihatsu which is rebadged, who cares as long as consumers get good value for money! I've a Kelisa (which is actually a Daihatsu Cuore) and love it to bits. Good engine, super economy fuel consumption and no problems for the last 3 1/2 years. It may be called a Perodua but I know it's a Daihatsu and Japanese cars generally give good value for money. If it's gonna be a rebadged Daihatsu Mira, I can't wait to get my hands on it!

• big hairy flaps on Dec 01, 2005 at 1:55 am

This vehicle has currently been out in the UK for over 2 years badged as the Daihatsu Charade. There is a face lift model coming out in April 2006. but it dosn't change much from the current model. It is sold at £5695;00 GBP. It is very much a budget priced vehicle. It has dohc DVVT 998cc engine. more info can be found about it at the link.

• honda_driver on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:37 am

Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau, proton are not the only ones who get price protection.. etc. etc. from the govt.

perodua and naza gets it as well.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:15 am

i know…before P2 exists, Proton bolot semua… then came P2… and quickly make MOU that they wont kacau each others market… but now times has changed… there is a need and Proton failed to supply to the need. The japs at P2's helm says "to hell with the MOU, we're a business not a sidekick!"

naza knew by just importing and rebadging will not be cost effective and definitely not competitive… so it finds a way to become a "national carmaker" by crook or by nook.

so we can see, even with just 3 players in the same protected, aided environment, Proton also sudah cannot stand properly… what more if the market is truly FAIR? with Japs Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mitsu coming in direct, Conti like Merc,BMW, Citroen, Peugot and VW and American makes like Chevrolet and Ford also coming in direct, i dare say Proton TUMBANG terus!!!

who wants a proton when they can afford these cars? lets make a vote and see the numbers! for me i definitely say TAK NAK to Proton… u guys?

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:38 am

Aiseh,buat analogy kereta dengan pisau…that is so funny. Macam budak-budak. Especially since it is seen at a totally wrong angle. Of course, both cars and knives are just tools to make our lives easier. And of course if we use both responsibly, then everything would be alright. But accidents happen man, and when accidents happen, anything can be dangerous. That is why safety features are important. For the knife, we can't let children use it. We use stainles steel, so that if you accidentally cut yourself , no rust poisoning can occur. If it is a parang, there are specialised covers, for added protection. The same thing applies to cars. We put crumple zones, shatter proof glass, seat belts, airbags etc. These steps were not taken to make cars safe from accidents, instead they are taken to increase survival chances in case of an accident. And that is very important. I myself have been in 2 major accidents, and I can honestly say that both times, it wasn't my fault. The second time, the car was considered a total loss. And I survived because of the seat belts. I wasn't driving like a maniac, I was driving responsibly.

Safety features are damn important in cars, and unless P2 ensures that the safety features in their cars are up to standards, I really advise everyone against buying their cars. I hope they do get it up to standards though, for the sake of all malaysians.

• Ha ha ha… yes… wrong analogy indeed… you use knife but nobody with axe come after you… if somebody come after you with axe what happen…? Axe got long holder maa… so? still pemegang pisau kena kapak dulu maa…

• Toyol Kemli on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:38 am

it should be named P2 Kotak or err, P2 Kotek

• macspeed on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:57 am

this car is being sold as daihatsu charade in UK…the EXACT SAME CAR SEEN IN THE PICS………

cheapest Sirion a.k.a myvi is sold there for 6995 pounds…….similar to the car price here if converted……

the charade meanewhile is sold for 6195 pounds for the cheapest 5 door version. so how much it will cost here? if converted its alredi approaching or in kelisa price range…..

• AE86 Tan Chong MOtor on Dec 01, 2005 at 5:38 am

Ive surf the diahatsu's web and i saw that Dihatsu Cuore( butul kah ???) has the same look as the model shown above. from the technical aspect this car got 1 liter engine DOCH and DVVT. So it's proven that the car is going to be economical yet powerfull. The size is much bigger when it compared to the ordinary Kancil. The safety feature of the car is quite good. If i;m not mistaken they got 4 satr for it. But it is daihatsu not perodua maaa…But we hope tat produa will use the same formula in building it's body.

More info pls log on to Daihatsu Website.

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:55 am

whatever pun…..i hav 2 say TAK NAK TO PROTON

Junk.2 is a JUNK

• neurra on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:24 am

they're more like a kenari replacement model.. it's kinda big to be a kancil replacement model.. LoL.. seriously it looks like kotak..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:16 am

kotak pun kotak lah….. we see if it's a better selling kotak than Proton Juara ye??

• blackhead on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:35 am

last pic, which the white 1 same line with a kelisa, i dun think the car is very big, i guess is kancil replacement…

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:51 pm

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

December 1, 2005 @ 12:16 am

kotak pun kotak lah….. we see if it’s a better selling kotak than Proton Juara ye??

———————————————————–

Don't compare with Juara laa…hehe that was a complete disaster. Set higher standards a bit la to compare with this car…

• muthu on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:16 pm

i like proton JUARA….. macam robot….. i think if i press one button on the dashboard it will turn to ROBOT…….waaaaaaaaaaa

• Rachel on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:37 pm

Hmm…Is that new Kancil model? OMG! Suddenly Kancil becomes so different? Well, I think it looks stylish and of course, the new kancil model is more convincing than the old and current ones. Hmm…how much this new kancil is going to sell in the Malaysia market? I think it should be selling in the market around 25K – 30K. If Perodua gonna market higher than these price range, I guess Malaysians will freak out because Kancil is consider the smallest and cheapest car range in the market. Thus, I personally would like to comment about Malaysian car, either Proton or Perodua, I think they need to speed up their production, as we know there are still many people queuing to get their MyVi, most of them even have been waiting for more than 6 months and yet, there are still Salesman who give empty promises to customers, saying that, they can get their car esp. MyVi in 3 or 4 months time, which is not, unless for Manual as far as I am concern. We, as Malaysians will lose confident towards Malaysian's cars. One more comment is about the quality of Malaysian cars, even new cars have encounter problems, e.g the side window is not properly function, aircond problem and etc. Quality assurance is the most important, should take note.

Think that's all for my comment, thank you.

• Rachel on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:54 pm

OMG! I heard my colleague is telling me that, this new kancil model is going to sell about 40K or more? Serious huh? It's very expensive for a small car like kancil. In terms of the model or style, I can say is worth like 40K…but in terms of quality, I guess it's not worth it! Though I personally drove Kancil before and it was not too bad as it was quite reliable. If out of 10, I will probably give 4 over 10. It is reasonable? haha… Well, people always have a same perception, is that, Malaysian's cars shouldn't sell at high price, it should be cheaper, as it can attacts more Malaysians to support and buy Malaysian cars! Frankly, in terms or quality, Malaysian cars are still far behind others, that's why Proton needs to merge with Mitsubitshi & Perodua needs to merge with Daihatsu to upgrade their technologies.

• Xoomie on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:10 pm

It's definitely a Kancil replacement. New engine will be 1000cc. Kancil will stop production soon but not the Kelisa. Kelisa will still run till late 2007/08.

Kancil has grown!!! yess.. no more 660cc

• superman on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:24 pm

The car in the pic is called Cuore in Japan, Charade in UK and if they inroduce it here as the testing pics can attest, it will replace the Kelisa (which was introduced in 2001)

Personally I'd rather see the Kenari being replaced a that car has beenon the market since 2000 and the newer Move was introduced to the Jap market in 2003.

As a kelisa owner and user I have to say the Kelisa is one heck of a good car.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:27 pm

Attention pls!!

I found some F**KER copy my Nickname and give f**king comment on others.

So if you do found such kind of comment, JUST ignore it. THis He/she must be a PSYcho. What the f**k to use other person name to Said bad words to others. I wish this f**KER will be FOUND soon!!

YAU MOU GAU………CHOR!!

Paul can you find this f**ker for me?

• KISIO on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:16 pm

ait, see fu pon kena rebadged… haha

• muthu on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:36 pm

ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaa so funny KISIO

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:41 pm

I guess this F**ker is from CHINA !!! China super copycat!! Blogger's name also copy!! Just a joke okay!! Sorry lah Chinaman.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Kena Rebadge like KISIO said!!! :P Kwak..kwak…kwak….

• shit is uglier than ever. especially with the purple. teruk.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:09 pm

KY,

we have personal opinion on how the car looks, but then again when launch and the sales is like gila then who are we to condemn it? example would be Myvi… some ppl say it's butt ugly, clumsy, underpowered and copycat but the sales figure says it all…

how about when launch and the sales is way below target then we can condemn kau-kau. example would be savvy… they say handling good la, power la, pickup great la, high speed la… but why when launch sales is not even 1/10 of myvi when launch? some would say bcoz all customer got pulled by myvi oredi, but if Savvy is really good, then it shud have no problem snatching customers away from the long waiting list of myvi! and why do ppl still wait for myvi even if it's damn long??

i have read somewhere that the latest sales of proton vehicles, while has gone up due to promotions and discounts, bul of it are Iswara and Wira, Waja took 3rd place… where's savvy and gen2???

back to topic, if this little replacement car indeed get launched, we see how the sales response are…

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Dec 02, 2005 at 3:00 am

Don't you lose your deposit if you've already committed to buy a car and then you cancel your order? Buying cars are expensive as it is, people can't afford to just throw money down the drain. Probably that is one of the reasons Savvy can't snatch customers already on Myvi waiting list. And also, when Savvy came out, it didn't have automatic transmission, which also affected the sales.

Anyhow…I love how the Automotive market in Malaysia is getting more competitive. All the best to P1 and P2, and all the other brands as well.

• Isamu on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:47 am

With due respect, of course Perodua can produce cars easily since they are just taking tried and tested models from Daihatsu. These models have been designed and developed by so many hundreds of Daihatsu and Toyota engineers in Japan and was on-the-road in Japan for some time before Perodua starts developing them.

Piggyback is fine and it's a completely valid way to work but are our local professionals fully involved in important and critical development areas? I think Perodua can fully develop cars by themselves in the near future should its professionals are properly trained by the Japanese professionals.

On the other hand, Proton deserted this piggyback approach and tried to develop cars independently/near independently. With the SRM likely to be launched in 2006, Proton would already have developed 4 new cars (Waja, Gen.2, Savvy & SRM) since 1998. 4 cars in ~8 years = 1 car in ~2 years. For a company like Proton, this time-to-market speed very commendable indeed.

Although other more established carmakers can design and produce more cars in even shorter time, people tend to forget that the critical supporting industries in North America, Europe, Japan and even Korea are very much advanced. Those are the only places that you can really find real expert companies specialising in jigs, fixtures, metrological tools, equipments and mould and die-making.

One shouldn't over-compare Proton with other more established carmakers because companies like Honda, Toyota and Ford have so much more manpower than Proton. Ford recently announced that they are going assign 350 engineers to its project team in order to develop its hybrid car. Proton and Perodua just can't compete in that sense, at least for now.

Kia cars are still hopeless. Hyundai cars from mid to late 90's had their fair share of quality issues and it was only until recently that the quality of Hyundais have improved. The recently launched MyVi and Savvy don't seem to have much quality issues. I hope this is a sign that things are improving. I stand corrected.

• iQbaL on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:32 am

looks more like a kenari replacement model if you ask me….

• SEE FU on Dec 02, 2005 at 3:14 pm

zongtwi a.k.a. speed junkie said,

December 1, 2005 @ 7:00 pm

Don’t you lose your deposit if you’ve already committed to buy a car and then you cancel your order? Buying cars are expensive as it is, people can’t afford to just throw money down the drain. Probably that is one of the reasons Savvy can’t snatch customers already on Myvi waiting list. And also, when Savvy came out, it didn’t have automatic transmission, which also affected the sales.

Anyhow…I love how the Automotive market in Malaysia is getting more competitive. All the best to P1 and P2, and all the other brands as well.

##########

Zongtwi arr!!

I guess the DEPOSIT amount is not that much only about RM500 to RM3000 max.

If customer really concern about this small amount (really no money) they can negotiate with POTONG dealers rights? I means Make a deal with POTONG sales department to get this Special discount (to compensate their lost due to SAWI late launching news) because These customers really LIKE TO BUY POTONG. Simple rights? Of course these ppl must proof that they had Paid the deposit amount with REceipt or some proof documents. This is also a suggestion from me such kind of Special marketing strategic for POTONG lah!

But I am afraid ppl LIKE MAWI more than SAWI, in that case even POTONG come out with Such kind of OFFER, I'm sure nobody to Turn their head too.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! CHeers :P

• BATMAN=BADMAN on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:24 pm

Aduh SEE FU, u kena rebadged.. need help from BATMAN? Hmm.. must be P1 or P2 bashers..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:32 pm

kotak kotak macam kotak kasut pun = p2 fanatic.. Wooo lawa gila bab* woo.. best best..

aiyaa.. be realistic laa.. comeon..

no wonder lah p2 can make more sale.. ugly and outdated look with kotak2 shape pun masih lawa ke?..

rememring my frens.. 4 of them death in kancil years ago.. :( sadly.. the underpower kancil cant overtake a hicom perkasa only..

aiya.. kancil still the Killer car.. under power.. no safety..

EH!!.. NO ONE WANNA ASK!.. AIRBAG ADA KAAA!! bolo..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:04 pm

kancil is never designed to be a speeder… only the driver tak tahu kemampuan sendiri, tak bawak berhati-hati, in the end accident lah… plus only those who dont value their own lives go modify and turbo-fy their kancil kuat-kuat… kalau dah nyawa melayang, salah siapa? nak tuduh Perodua? kerete Iswara kalau bawak 140km/h stereng dah gegar dah… kalau dah langgar road divider, terbabas dan mampus terus, ha, tuduh Proton lah!!!!

• LangkawiCar on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:01 am

Does everybody realized that there have been some conspiracy over malaysian automotive industry? It might be some sort of a silent marketing strategy to remove Malaysia from the world auto industry.

Just think, P2 was a Malaysian company just like P1 until it was taken over by Daihatsu. But looking at the overall industry, P1 still puts Malaysia as one of the world car manufacturer.

In an oligopolistic industry, fewer competitors will give you a better control of the market and killing a developing new company such as P2 and P1 should be an easy task. P2 was an accomplishment to the strategy.

However, in order to kill P1, they are using Malaysian like [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau to condem the only Malaysian company left in the market. During the P1 commossion 'untuk tutup P1', the share value of proton at Bursa Malaysia has droped BUT have you realized that the stake holding of a Singaporian company (Temasik Holdings) in Proton has increased?

Will the fate of P1 be the same as P2? If so, then we will lose our pride as a Malaysian car manufacturer to the Japanese Car company. ppl like [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau will then be proud having a P2 as a Malaysian car whereas in fact and everybody in a world market knows it is a Japanese manufacturer using a simple marketing tool to win over Malaysian market as well as killing one more competitor, which is sadly to be THE MALAYSIAN OWNED CAR COMPANY.

• Most of P2 product can sale easily even like kotak or whatever as the trust of getting the Toyota treatment… when somebody say Toyota, people will think about quality car… reliability… can easily get the original facelift as well… kedai potong or new import… price??? ada duit semua boleh jadi…

Brand is strongly related to perseption… you do good, people will always doubt… you do bad, people will remember always… you do always good, people will consider… in this case, people will consider P2 a good quality car… if not 90, it should be 70%…

• Hi friends,

Please see the front view at my blog…

http://www.geocities.com/permatadinar/

and comparison to Mira as well…

Paul,

Can update to your blog as well…

• I have the front shots link under 'related blog posts'

• Sorry Paul… lambat la… you already update… toem chui… toem chui… ada kawai email lar…

You online aaa right now… in the office or already at home?

• office working. came in late, so balik late!

• Rostell on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:57 am

did i hear Perodua Design? Apalar…the whole world knows that Perodua shares the same platforms from Daihatsu. Apasal mau kait ngan design kah tak design. Kalau boleh buat 100% local itu lar design…ini sudah lama keluar kat jepun. Ini macam Mira ataupun Charade yang paling latest..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:36 am

LangkawiCar,

i'm not pleased when u are putting me in a wrong light… for ur info, i am not a FULL PROTON BASHERâ„¢, hence my nick half-half… Neither i am being used by anybody… what i had said is just my own words and i'm sure any Proton owners who had their frustrations would share the same views… perhaps i should say u are being used by Proton to support them!

hey, i do support Proton too, but ONLY to a certain extent. i drive a Proton too and i, too have my share of frustration just like many other Proton owners!

Oligopolistic? oh, so u're trying to talk economics to me eh? In this globalised world economy, only the stubborn will continue clinging onto the old method of doing business. Only companies like Proton (or the people behind running it) and closed minded ppl like some of our MPs will continue shouting of National Pride…

Most carmakers nowadays are sharing technical, business and marketing know-hows, platforms and various others in a near open competitive market… Carmakers are opening plants in countries other than their own to take advantage of cost competitive and legal requirements…

We can have US and Thailand made Toyotas, we have locally assembled Chevrolets, so what the heck with u talking about National PRIDE??? does the Japs give a damn about national pride in their cars sold overseas???? Plus, do u have pride in a company who cant even get the minor problem like Power Window failure ironed out even after 20 years??? It should be called National SHAME instead!!!

And if it is so much a National Pride, see what they have done to us Malaysians in general? we get higher priced imports, ok fine, but at least they could've give us decent cars on par with other imported cars…

Just one question :

If Proton is sincere in winning our trust back, why the hell did they still offer the best spec in foreign countries but not in domestic market? Why sell cheaper with higher spec to foreigners instead of our own people?

So far no one can give a convincing answer to justify this treachery… CAN YOU, LANGKAWICAR?

hey, hold on… even Proton have gone globalised to a certain extent, dont they? Handling by UK Lotus? Engine by Japanese Mitsubishi? Savvy's design by Korean LG and engine by French Renault? But why they claim and shout designed and built by Malaysians?

There is a need in this market. Protection given to Proton (and P2) has made them complacent, lazy and arrogant… just ask other Proton owners how's their experience in Dealers shop (a few years back) and Service Centre… does the infamous "Alah… biasalah… Proton… what do u expect?" sentence ring any bell?

Proton failed to supply to this need. other carmakers saw this opportunity and took it. Proton does not realise until it's very late… It's their own fault, now u're pointing your holy gold finger towards EX-BUYERS LIKE ME???

Change is coming, Change is definite, Change is inevitable… If u dont change according to time, u'll be the only one who left out… and truly, the one been left out are the losers. To quote Carlos Ghosn, there are no nationality in cars.

Certainly i realised that ur arguments belongs to the old school of thoughts and u have insufficient knowledge of business and economics. Go read more about Free Trade, Protectionism and Globalisation, both the good and bad effects… and dont u even dare come back to me if u dont know who Adam Smith and David Ricardo are!!!

• DeCosby on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:06 pm

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

December 2, 2005 @ 10:36 pm

Teriffic bro.. u r de wise man, living on earth getting urself out of this stupid population who disregard wht is the meaning of National Pride is. Its true he doesnt read much. He wasnt aware tt our PM has URGED fellow Malaysian to EXCEL. (But mayb he just knew Excel in Microsoft Software.)

Like Mat Salleh claimed b4, r u Malaysian still living above trees? This fella is exactly tt kind of bad apples, bad example putting an end to our national car industry. He doesnt seems to get the question nor understand it. Sad.. in this decade we can still find this kind of ppl.

I am with u. Keep in mind that "THE SUCCESSFUL PPL WHO FAILED WILL TREAT IT LIKE A FEEDBACK TO IMPROVE BETTER. THE FAILURE PPL WILL PUT THE BLAME ON OTHERS JUST LIKE THE WOLRD ARE OWING THEM."

U might as well stop putting $ into his pocket. He doesnt know what is Pound Sterling or USD$. He learns to know from $ to RM in his life.

• DeCosby on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:09 pm

Oops he might live in Langkawi tt he wldnt know whts happening in the current world. His car might be bought so cheap but got to stay in island for at least 3 yrs b4 de car can came out. He knew nothing.. Just forgive him!

• crazylogy on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:21 pm

Definitely a running project to replace one of the current models, my question will be what is P2 stategy? Since our "NATIONAL" Car company came out with SAVVY AMT, Will this model has the same features to complete in technology point of view?

Guys I hate people copying stuffs or not being original but look at it this way, has our country so advance to produce such good quality made products yet? Can our country complete with other advance Asia Country Car Industry? Where do car manufacturers look into when they produce a car? All along I felt that when these people makes car, we were force to buy them no matter what they make up or out from.

Pls don't say we do not support our local market but pls do question how many "YEARS" have u let us down and how many more "YEARS" do you plan to let us down?

• bmpower on Dec 04, 2005 at 8:49 pm

..smua poyo….

tau complain jer… apa yang u all dah contribute ntuk mhasilakan ssebuah kete huh???…complain yg mmbina ok lahh..ini siap kutuk sampai kuar mcm2 pkataan xspatutnya….. so plzz laaa…. blaja dulu camne nk wat kete….kasi hujah baru complain!!

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 05, 2005 at 5:14 am

Crazylogy, tell u what…

i'd rather drive a "copied but proven" car than driving in a "not copied, but cut and paste" car…

• MightyJoe on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:32 am

I’m ashame to be a malaysian, just listening to “THE ALL SMART” malaysians putting putting a bash on its own nation. They even know all the foriegn quotes, philosopher and economists. We should see them inside P1 instead Syed Zainal Abidin Tahir rescueing our national car. They would really turn P1 around. Or would they? (we will espect to hear some excuses later on…)

I like what LangkawiCar said about laughing at ideas. I believe ‘THE ALL SMART’ malaysian will only be smart at critisizing, but doing something abt it…ops.. only at PaulTan (I forgot la…). THATS REALLY HELPS.

• [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:49 am

Ha… ni lagi sekor monyet (bmpower) yang berkepala hotak kosong… kalau semua barang pun kena tau bina sendiri baru bole nak kutuk kerja buruk org lain, buat sendiri je lah… kenapa nak susah-susah bazir duit beli kerja org lain, lepas tu nak susah-susah kutuk?

ko pun lagi satu… pi balik belajar ekonomi dulu… tanya pada org bijak pandai apa itu “absolute advantage” dan “comparative advantage”…

Kenaper kite perlu bekerja dibawah boss? sebab boss bodoh! apsal pulak? pasal tu lah dia gaji kite buat kerja yang dia tak tau buat… kalau dia tau buat, buat apa dia nak bazir duit dan tenaga nak gajikan kite? tapi kalau kerje tak cantik, tak siap, kena marah ngan boss pulak… apa nak buat, dia tetap boss kite kerana tanpa dia, kite tak mudah dapat kerje….

Sekarang kite lah Boss! Kenaper kita kena sabar dengan karenah pekerja yang malas dan buat kerja tak betul, sambil lewa, padahal gaji pulak tetap dibayar? boss tak tau buat kereta, tapi boss tau apa itu kereta yang berkualiti dan apa itu kereta buruk!! duit dibayar untuk sebuah kereta yang baik, bukan untuk beli besi buruk dan boss jugak boleh marah pekerja tanpa perlu tahu buat kereta terlebih dahulu!!

kalau nak komplen tmnet, perlu kena belajar Telecommunications engineering….
    kalau nak komplen ayam kfc tak sedap, pi belajar buat ayam goreng dulu…
    kalau nak komplen handphone baru yang u beli tu ada problem sikit, pi belajar Electronics Engineering…
    kalau nak komplen baju Adidas tu jahit tak cantik, ha, pi belajar jahit baju sendiri…

inilah yang Bmpower suruh kite buat… “kena tau bina sesuatu dulu baru bole komplen, kalau tak tau, just shuddup!” hmm… padahal, aku tak rase bmpower pun tau apa itu “car manufacturing”…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 05, 2005 at 5:55 pm

dah lebih 20 tahun rakyat Malaysia kena pakse beli kerete Proton, bayor duit cukai ini dan itu, sebahagiannya masuk poket Proton, tu tak cukup lagi ker menunjukkan kiter dah contribute untuk mereka menghasilkan sebuah KERETA? tapi apa yang kita dapat? besi buruk dengan 4 tayar!!! itu ko panggil kerete???

• MightyJoe on Dec 05, 2005 at 6:06 pm

Ting.. Tongg… Ting Tong…. What is that sound we heard boys & girls? …..TONG KOSONG KUT?

• [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau, I like your opinion… you really talk with fact , sense, experience and knowledge… gimme five brudder… yeah…

• KISIO on Dec 05, 2005 at 11:57 pm

KALU TAK PUAS ATI JGN LA KUTUK2 ORG LAIN PUNYA PENDAPAT, MONYET LA PEBENDA LA, RESPEK LA ORG LAIN, BUKAN KITA SORANG JER HIDUP KAT DUNIA NIH :-)

• Silver Waja on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:31 am

Well.. it seems tt some doesnt learn but just stick to old school rules.

MightyJoe said,

December 5, 2005 @ 10:06 am

Ting.. Tongg… Ting Tong…. What is that sound we heard boys & girls? …..TONG KOSONG KUT?

> y r u here in de 1st place?

• DeCosby on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:34 am

Hey I like this … "Kenaper kite perlu bekerja dibawah boss? sebab boss bodoh!"

Damn U R GOOD!!! A wise man like u is too generous to lecture those stubborn head here. Bravo..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:32 am

MightyJoe said,

December 5, 2005 @ 10:06 am

—————————————————————-

Ntah lah… aku tak tau pulak apa yang ngko dengar, tapi aku pasti bunyi yg aku dengar tu, bunyi Kepala Hotak orang yang kosong, kena ketuk dengan tukul HatukNgkau nih….

eCUN said,

December 5, 2005 @ 11:13 am

[Half-Half PB™] HatukNgkau, I like your opinion… you really talk with fact , sense, experience and knowledge… gimme five brudder… yeah…

—————————————————————-

FIVE!

DeCosby said,

December 5, 2005 @ 4:34 pm

Hey I like this … “Kenaper kite perlu bekerja dibawah boss? sebab boss bodoh!”

Damn U R GOOD!!! A wise man like u is too generous to lecture those stubborn head here. Bravo..

—————————————————————-

It's nothing… if they wana wake up then good lah… if they wana continue dreaming, then it's their choice, just as long as they dont kacau other ppl who wans to wake up…

macam filem Matrix lah… i'm just like Morpheus asking Neo whether to take the blue or red pill? u wana come into the real world or u wana continue living in the Matrix? Ur choice…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:30 am

MightyJoe said,

December 5, 2005 @ 9:32 am

I’m ashame to be a malaysian, just listening to “THE ALL SMART” malaysians putting putting a bash on its own nation. They even know all the foriegn quotes, philosopher and economists. We should see them inside P1 instead Syed Zainal Abidin Tahir rescueing our national car. They would really turn P1 around. Or would they? (we will espect to hear some excuses later on…)

I like what LangkawiCar said about laughing at ideas. I believe ‘THE ALL SMART’ malaysian will only be smart at critisizing, but doing something abt it…ops.. only at PaulTan (I forgot la…). THATS REALLY HELPS.

—————————————————————-

MightyJoe, i'd love to serve some dish to you…. but too bad i'm too poor, i can only give u very little.

do you think i really love to bash my own countrymen? do you really think i hated the ppl who worked in Proton? hey, i drive a Proton and my ex-brother in-law used to work there as well! my car gave me problems since year one and it still does, and my frustration is becoz after what i thought was an improvement from Proton, but my trust was betrayed (again and again)!

what i am shooting at is the poor management decisions and the ppl who made those decisions all these years, and their lobbying to the government for protection leading to unfair policies formulated and both directly and indirectly caused many hardships to all malaysian ppl!!! situations would have been much better had Proton not come into existence at all OR at least had been managed properly by responsible ppl!

frankly if there are any excellent quotes from distinguished "Anak Malaysia" economists and exceptional "Anak Malaysia" philosophers, i have no problems to quote from them… but fact is, do we really have such talents that shook the world over? who knows that we would have a future Einstein, we would have a future Mandela and we would have a future Malaysian who created cure for AIDS, but all of these children died bcoz accidents in "Proudly built by Malaysians" cars that doesnt pass the International Car Safety Test? Who knows???

another thing that i'm sickeningly pissed off with Proton is for their action to provide better spec cars to foreign market and sell it cheaper (after adding shipping fee some more!!), while selling empty spec cars at much higher price to us malaysians! asking us to be patriotic and buy Proton, but are they themselves patriotic enough, do they ever treat us as one of their own??? how do you explain that!!!???

Secondly, i'd really love to work for Proton, seeing my knowledge and ability could at least offer my efforts to help improvise it to a better company. IF i can do something, i would… but then alas, Proton has no need for people like me… they want workers who dont question their decision and to just do what is told… they were not willing to pay the right salary to get the right people (if u dont know, they're offering only RM1k starting salary to work in their R&D dept, and the requirements : Engineering degree and must have at least 3.0 and above cgpa… which self-respecting 3.0 cgpa engineer wants to work for peanuts?) and certainly they were not of any interest of promoting capable workers but some others who happens to be who's who's so-and-so… hey, i was told all this by my ex-bro-in-law who used to work in Proton!!! he was so pissed with this culture, he and a few other Proton engineers resigned and now works with AMG!

so before u claim other ppl for blind bashing without facts, check with yourself that u are not blind supporting without seeing the true picture…

• DeCosby on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:31 am

Old school? Not anymore..

• IN REPLY TO LANGKAWICAR's POST:

LangkawiCar said,

November 30, 2005 @ 9:58 am

Not fair mah….

MY REPLY TO HIM STARTS HERE:

Please study more about this industry before making rants about manufacturers.

Tengku Mahaleel's claims are not aiming at Perodua. But rather at (That forking fat, specced bitch from Parliament) Naza. For Naza obtained national car status for Naza Ria (Kia Carnival); Naza Citra (Kia Caren), and Inokom getting Inokom Atos (Hyundai Atos) and Inokom GLA (Hyundai Matrix). These forkers get National car status as well. So where are the fingers pointing now my friend?

MY NEW SIGNATURE: Malaysians are forked up lazy arses. We only complain in blogs, mamaks and forums. We should go on a major strike to prevent – Licensed Robbers-(Policemen), stupid, forked up lazy government workers, forked up AP KINGs, FUCKed UP road cutters, forked up road repairmen, and forked up makan duit contractors making roads more and more potholed, price negotiating firemens (before they start "saving" people, forked up PUSPAKOM-(which same as getting driving license, must makan duit then only can pass) and all forked up Proton suppliers + forked up Proton internal purchasers + forked up special protection policies. SEE? I'M ANOTHER FUCKED LAZY ARSE.

• What ever!! I want Proton, SAYA NAK PROTON..

• Pity us lar… who dare to perform the major strike? ISA is waiting to throw us inside… who gonna feed our family then? what f**king policies from the G…

• I know some engineers who work for proton…. and they are still there… hats off to them for their innovative work… and they are from all over Malaysia.

• In reply to Zool, and Proton's engineers switching the signal lights to the left of the steering were clever? neh~ idiotic, fakish impersonator of european cars.

by the way, european cars ending up in Asia having left signal lights are of cost effectiveness considerations, not some purpose image or tactic. STUPID PROTON.

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:41 am

Yea, we should start by staging a demonstration in front of Protong's HQ (btw, where is it ah?),demanding that Protong improve its product quality control, cost control and service to customers, or get out of our way (close down, either voluntarily or by we the consumers boycotting their cars and then subsequently close down) !!! Look at South Korea, their economy is so efficient and fair because ppl launch strikes whenever their not happy with something (in my opinion la).

Say NO to import duties on imported cars!

Say NO to sub-standard cars 'pushed' to us in the name of patriotism!

• I love Proton… say YES to PROTON

• Oii Bob, you pakai ke signal lights????

• raidil on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:05 am

it is a replacement for kancil…. lauching around next year or 2007…depends on d Myvi production going fast or not….it 1000cc price range RM35-40k…itu la whut salesman P2 bg tau aku le..if silap…tk tau le.. :)

• Man said,

December 7, 2005 @ 3:00 pm

Oii Bob, you pakai ke signal lights????

Yes i do. And i do think right hand driven vehicles should have the signal on the right. And left hand drive should be on the left. European cars over here in Asia had their signal lights on the left is because of cost effectiveness, imagine redirecting the cables and wires, putting in another steering manufacturing line to specially make steering wheels with different signal light directions, how much extra the costs would be? And Proton purposely did that, added extra costs to mimic European cars, and they thought they've made a Beemer alternative. MONSTER LOL, MEGA LOL, TRIPLE LOL !! GOD LIKE LOL……….

• It does not matter to me whether the signal is on the left or right as long as you use it to change lanes, go into the right or left exit at junctions and roundabouts, coming out of a parking slot and so on. So if some proton models have signals on the right so be it…. probably can sell more cars to left hand drive countries like China, EU, ASEAN, Middle East, Latin America, North America etc.

• Tom said,

December 8, 2005 @ 8:39 am

It does not matter to me whether the signal is on the left or right as long as you use it to change lanes, go into the right or left exit at junctions and roundabouts, coming out of a parking slot and so on. So if some proton models have signals on the right so be it…. probably can sell more cars to left hand drive countries like China, EU, ASEAN, Middle East, Latin America, North America etc.

WRONG CONCEPT. And you think the same as Proton lor. Signal light placement made people like your car?

MONSTER LOL, MEGA LOL, TRIPLE LOL !! GOD LIKE LOL………

• JACKIE CHAN on Dec 09, 2005 at 1:32 am

Bob,

I like the way you say!! Give me TEN!! :P

About this Replacement kancil….mmm…….too small for Men. I am freshman but will not consider it!

Sorry Perodua, I prefer Proton Satria BTW. PROTON Please make my Price comes true! RM45k boleh kah?

3 cents lah this!

• i dun think it will be Rm45k, Rm55k maybe

• Tom,

I like what you say too, give me twenty…. ramai tak guna signal pun bila saya survey kat jalan raya tadi ….

• Ha, I am sure Perodua will redesign the bumpers.

• SEE FU on Dec 09, 2005 at 6:21 pm

Man and TOm arr!!

Do you understand customers needs and Convenience means!??

Majority of the customer like to use easy operation features and giving Signals are Safety issues not YOU use it or not!

POTONG should design the car follow the Majority customers needs and convenience prior to Cost saving for Export models. In facts Export market is still smaller than BOLEHLAND? How can you do that?

Bob give me 100!! Yeah!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! :P

• The reason signal lights are placed on the right side of our car, is beacuse of our gear knob is on the left. we switch our hands from lefthand hold gear, right hand hold steering to left hand hold steering, right hand taruk signal. Hence both gear and signals on the same side, will exists a very very very minimal inconvinience for consumers; jadi, all the BMWs, Mercs didnt wanna waste extra money making another manufacturing line to purposely cater for the smaller Asia markets. BUT WAJA PURPOSELY DID IT WOR, TO SELL HERE; NOT OVERSEAS. Anyway, end of discussion, waja out many years di…… people still driving it, people still compalining it… everything will just go on and on and on…. :D cheers

• Ujang on Dec 12, 2005 at 7:08 am

APO LAK, WAJA BEST, den suko waja, wira, gen 2, savvy dll.

• proton lover on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:00 pm

what the……….!!!!! why cant perodua design there own model?????? i saw that model here le!!!( i now in japan) none of perodua model is not mainly daihatsu man!!!

• kingsampah on Dec 17, 2005 at 1:31 am

is it samsung or pensonic or national..?can get it from Court mammoth or not…?is it semi auto or fully auto..?washing machine got tyre aa nowadays…very syiiookkk oo..

• very cantik for the new kncil replacement,dunno when will it release………..

i am waiting for it…………bcz it look like cantik n seem like very chp if it is kancil replacement>>>>>looking forward for tis new car

• CONFIRM IS FROM pERODUA….THAT'S DAY I SAW IT TOO AND ASK ONE OF MY FRENS FROM PERODUA….THIS PROTOTAIP HAS BEEN CREATED SINCE A YEARS AGO….

• tokmoh on Dec 24, 2005 at 1:27 am

hello everyone, I'm new here!! Forgive me if I accidentally "re-badge" somebody else like what happened to SEE FU, this is my first post :).

[quote]he was so pissed with this culture, he and a few other Proton engineers resigned and now works with AMG![/quote]

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau,

So your brother-in-law is in Germany now, is he? Cool, I want to be like him B), but I'm most likely going to work for Petronas soon.

Another thing I'd like to highlight about how arrogant Proton people are, I read somewhere before there was this man who graduated Mech Eng 1st class Hnr from some UK uni, but didn't get a position after interviewed by Proton. He tried Perodua, but got some position that doesn't actually fit with what he learned before. I couldn't beleive it myself, is it that Proton didn't want any smart people who can turn their company around? A 1st class Hnr UK grad sounds like a very promising talent that's rare to find, and Proton threw away that talented man, although Perodua didn't acknowledged him with what he deserved, they took him, maybe temporarily before he will be promoted to the sector he wanted and where he deserved.

I wonder why Proton care so much about national pride, where's the fire? Who else cares about national pride, the Japanese? I don't see toyota in all white with a red spot in the middle as their std colour of their car, or Mercedes with black, orange and red stripe on their car, no traces of their origin, just style that people want. You may wonder what the hell I'm talking about, but I'm trying to say that there is NO traces of nationality in a car, just style and everything inside it. They don't have to brag 'made in Germany/Japan', they just have the effort to make their products as good as possible, at the lowest cost with the highest quality and to top it all, safety at its best. Why can't Proton be like them, which is to ignore the "made in XX" theory?

• tokmoh on Dec 24, 2005 at 1:30 am

correction: not orange, but yellow as the colour in the Germany flag

my mistake, sorry.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 25, 2005 at 7:10 pm

I wonder why Proton care so much about national pride, where’s the fire? Who else cares about national pride, the Japanese? I don’t see toyota in all white with a red spot in the middle as their std colour of their car, or

tokmoh said,

December 23, 2005 @ 5:27 pm

Mercedes with black, orange and red stripe on their car, no traces of their origin, just style that people want. You may wonder what the hell I’m talking about, but I’m trying to say that there is NO traces of nationality in a car, just style and everything inside it. They don’t have to brag ‘made in Germany/Japan’, they just have the effort to make their products as good as possible, at the lowest cost with the highest quality and to top it all, safety at its best. Why can’t Proton be like them, which is to ignore the “made in XX” theory?

nicely said… when ur car is good and fulfils ppl's needs, AUTOMATICALLY they'll remember the car's country of origin. but to produce sub-par cars and expect ppl to treat it like one of the best car around wont augur too well with the general public, and no matter how u want to promote it as a national products, if it sux, it sux, and worse, drags ur country's name down as well…

• Confirmed from me… It's going to be a bit bigger than old kancil… lol…. But as you already now… I'm pretty sure that's not from Perodua design itself… But it looks nicer…. Well if they can put power steering and a bit nicer engines and drive shafts. and also absorber…. well probably it's ok for a 40k…

• Roti Canai on Jan 07, 2006 at 12:32 am

What ever it is , the price should be reasonable . K-car below 1000cc should be sold below 20K …..

• haniff on Jan 07, 2006 at 9:49 pm

If it's just a rebadged, why do they need to do road test?

• kasha (Member) on Apr 25, 2006 at 12:42 am

confirmed as kancil replacement-myfren at p2 told me so..yes,the same as Mira..the name not sure..but at 1 forum,they speculate it would be kedidi..i hope not.shd be around 35-40K since sutera around 38K

• jtshin (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Hmmm…. Kancil so big? how can ppl afford to buy such big kancil? hmmm… If its tat big I think it should be more expensive than the model now… just like others said… I think it looks like Ty Opa from the back… It must be a perodua n not Naza… Kancil or Kelisa RM but not Kenari RM. or maybe even a new range… but possibility not high… anyway… its my opinion…

Kasha, Kedidi? hahahahahaha…. Might as well Keladi?!? hahahaha…

• lunchai (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:53 am

wow!!~~ y this car looks so ugly? is it our car cant update a bit? its out of our urban style lah..

• terikujik (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 11:34 pm

oh no .it like daihatsu model.

common engineer make it by your own lah.

if cannot build engine,body pun ok lah.

always frust with perodua,very simple design.

• hamdanii (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 6:48 am

nice or ugly? huh

• saffiya (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 10:19 pm

1.kancil is purposely sold for their own target people, ladies, or second car.Dan sesiapa yang membeli sekiranya nak harga yang murah,sbb tu kena tgk spec pula.Kalau nak bawa laju atau long jpurney distances, tak bolehlah pakai kancil,

2.[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

kalau nak komplen tmnet, perlu kena belajar Telecommunications engineering….

kalau nak komplen ayam kfc tak sedap, pi belajar buat ayam goreng dulu…

kalau nak komplen handphone baru yang u beli tu ada problem sikit, pi belajar Electronics Engineering…

kalau nak komplen baju Adidas tu jahit tak cantik, ha, pi belajar jahit baju sendiri…

Saya setuju…jangan main cakap semberono tanpa ada pengetahuan dalam bidang berkenaan.

3.FYI,P2 bukan semata-mata rebadge shj,pasang tu mmg kat sini.Sbb tu untuk buat satu-satu line tu, costnya bukan sedikit.Kerana itulah masih memerlukan tunjuk ajar dari orang-orang berpengelaman-Daihatsu.Kalau main buat tanpa ada mentor, macamana mahu hidup dalam dunia competition.Dari segi mentor pula (Daihatsu) takkanlah nak main ajar macam tu aje tanpa ada keuntungan dipihak dia,sbb itulah kalau diperhatikan, kekadang dalam paper ada nama Datuk-datuk Jepun yang bagi kenyataan. Sbb sebenarnya Daihatsu ada share dalam P2. itulah yang dinamakan win-win situation.

Kepakaran, teknologi dan ilmu-ilmu tu bukan senang nak dikutip kalau tiadanya tunjuk ajar dari orang lain,practicalnya tak sama macam teori belajar di universiti.

Just a bit share with all of u