Proton Waja Facelift

waja_facelift.jpg

Spotted, a Proton Waja facelift undergoing road tests. We have a new alloy rim design, and new tail lights. Photo sent in by reader Daniel.

UPDATE: More details and photos of the new facelifted Proton Waja after the jump. Thanks to reader Stephen for the new photos.

wajafacelift1.jpg
This is the new facelifted 2006 Proton Waja Campro.

wajafacelift2.jpg
You get a new new honeycomb grille and new headlamps. I can’t say I like the new headlamp design too much. Looks very Brothers. Where’s the designer who did the nice Gen2, Savvy and Satria Neo headlamps?

wajafacelift3.jpg
Rear “thermometer” taillamps. They also look like crop circles to me. Kind of like ET landed his UFO on the taillamps.

wajafacelift4.jpg
The Waja lettering has been moved above the numberplate.

wajafacelift5.jpg
New alloy wheels.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• laser_ampang (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:07 am

W.T.F?????????????????????????

• eric (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:20 am

omg. it's so FUGLYYYYYY…

wtf is up with those tail lights?? and i don't really ermm.. agree that this shd even be called a face lift.. it's just a changing of the lights.. hopefully it won't make production.. and hopefully the front will be better off..

this lowers things again after the good launch of the satria neo.

• stevarac (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:21 am

WHAT FACE LIFT #@*#$%@ !!! ???

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:22 am

the rear lights look cool but not much difference tho based on this pic.. i really hope a whole new face rather than some minor facelift but then maybe it's a little time consuming so this might be just to keeep the market alive before a longer pause for the real waja replacement. I think the only thing we can comment here is the taillight and for me it is nicely suited. Got the new proton models dna in it..

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:27 am

Ive seens that ass before, only in Proton edar at Taman Tun Dr.Ismail. But the front is almost exactly the same as the normal waja, only a little bigger mouth – the air intake. Other than that I really think its the an exact waja, even the interior.

http://stephenstreets.blogspot.com

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:28 am

Oh no… wat kinda lights are those… Dont like the lines there… doesn't suit the lights… looks like motorola phones' keypad.. the wheel looks quite similar as the current ones… Waja written above the plate area… just havent seen the front… expecting more spyshots coming up… Hoping the front lights doesn't have strange lines like the back lights..

• stevarac (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:30 am

wisdom_bin said,

June 19, 2006 @ 11:22 pm

the rear lights look cool but not much difference ???

Contradicting comments ? Kind of magic what a few stripe and circle

can cool something. ha ha ha,

• borgning (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:30 am

I think the tail lights are ugly. Should have done something like the current model Perdana (or Civic) with twin roundish brake lights. Just not classy at all when WAJA was supposed to be 'Asia's answer to BMW'.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:37 am

Damn Ugly. No better than the current version.

• demio121 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:39 am

those of us who visited KLIM06 and paid any attention to the Proton booth will notice this facelift model. Nothing much to shout about. As usual, Proton facelift is about new light and interior trim. The headlight is, to my opinion is ugly. Looks more like some accesories you buy from Brothers. There is a honeycomb mesh on the fromt bumper.

I saw a group of this new Waja racing each other to Glenmaries last Friday.

Rather than spending so much money updating the Iswara LMST, why don't Proton save the money and give Waja a proper facelift???

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:47 am

hi there !!i m new to this blog/ forum… i been just an observer for the past year and now iam registered. must say u do a fantastic job in updating. i look forward all the time when i come back form work.

on the face lifted waja.. i saw this model during the KLIMS at civic and was not happy with the stuff they changed. the light at the back should have 2 rounds circle with LED. not a termometer looking. the name sticker should have not been in the center. the interior much better and the old one. it look grand inside.they did a blonder with the front headlights too. what wrong with the design guys at proton? they should do their homework properly.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:48 am

mutant waja~LoL!!!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:51 am

hi…. iam new.. the new waja suxx… thanksss

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:53 am

is it really waja facelift? how i see tis car oso the same………….

Cheers!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:54 am

I saw this car when I went to showroom to see Satria Neo but not paid attention because though someone done it on their own. Anyway I don't like the design, better stick to original!

• OvaBoost (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:55 am

More like a cacat Waja to me… wotsup wit that tail light man?

There's nothing wrong if you wannabe different… but this is kinda weird la…

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:55 am

i hate the new tail lights. the previous waja facelift was more good-looking than this one.

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:56 am

Ah. Thermometer taillamps is a good way to describe the new taillamps.

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:16 am

stevarac, whats ur problem with MY oppinion? its subjective so you dont have to joke with someone's oppinion. And some explanation, the rear light seems cool for ME..but the whole waja design havent changed..so, lets just stick 2 d car and dont have to joke around with other's oppinion..i respect that all of u r saying it's damn ugly..so, deal with it..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:18 am

OMFG …. don't play this game again please Proton….. facelift?

• i'm run (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:21 am

The headlights shape remains the same.. only the things inside it change.. Very ugly to me…. click the below link to see the front image of the car.

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/3799/waja8ed.j…

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:31 am

Oh I can't wait for this to hit the road. One of the ugliest, if not the ugliest tail light I've ever seen so far I think.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:32 am

i dont get it… why would they launch the campro few months back with the old face and suddenly u have a new face waja with campro engine.. are they giving us option to choose the face models??? the marketing guys are smart if they do it. i think they want brother is go bungkus. lol… said and done..they should do their homework properly next time…..

• acbc (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:46 am

Yucks! ET tail lights! Puke! Vomit!

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:57 am

Just some lights, wheel and front grille? For me, this is not even a facelift. Might as well sell the lights, alloy wheesl and grill individually.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:01 am

I really thought Neo will be the turning point for p1. Now they come up with this facelist is just really dumb-foundedly ridiculous. first the waja, then the chancellor then the waja campro now the facelift? gimme a break man. geez as if all p1 car's shelf life is 20 years man.

another thing y does it need to go for road test? the car has not changed one bit but the exterior. even that deserves a road test? I think p1 is using this method of spy shots n all to make ppl think "gosh it's secret, it's gonna be cool". cmonlah dun be a copy cat just because other makers are doing it. I think they deliberately put the secret cars on the road for road test so that we would be able to see them in spyshots.

Im really really sad to think that we are facing all this crap. Im just so dissapointed.

• king (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:23 am

looks uglier due to p1's poor planning as usual…..they should have made a facelift when they launched the waja campro. but i think some other manufactures are guilty of this type of conjob-facelift too as well.

• djyakuza (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:32 am

actually proton is already selling this car as most of u would hv seen when we went to check out the Neo. the rims are so similar to vios and so boring. they cud hav left it with their older double spoke design. and the back lights are damn ah beng.

interior i think only difference is the middle armrest. the speedo and the aircont wents were changed in the earlier campro model.

good thing is tht if proton dont intro a really new WAJA is tht mine wouldn't look very old then.. hehe..

• DAN (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:34 am

stupid idiot where come KAMPONG thingking cant bring up this toy car…is like toY car from Chou kit street come off .

the back side talll… lam is like ?…what is this???.

i think simply pick any 1 at street can do , my be better design then this toY car. i think this all come from tanjung rambutan . Malaysia got no any better person anymore i think????. ha…hhaa….

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:10 am

the termometer taillight should be look nice at night huh?!?….it was kinda weird strategic to come out with Waja facelift twice a year, maybe the previous one was internal facelift (engine, airconts vents…), while this one was exterior facelift….I saw one in Proton Edar showroom, near Giant USJ1…with a glance only and disappointed feeling..

• afhstingray (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:21 am

i think they want that dumb looking circle to vaguely resemble the gen.2's rear circles…..note that the new satria neo has a similar circle motif as well..

gosh i certainly prefer the older design though..

i really really like the waja's design, its spacious, good looking , etc….if ONLY they would make the interior feel like honda/toyota/ford/vauxhall/ or EVEN Hyundai……and improve the safety, it would be in my top 10 list of sweet cars. Oh and they need a 2.0 model for highway cruising

the front looks okay, but i agree..the new rear lights look retarded….

new rims….okay…..i'd rate them about the same as the old ones, at least thers no stupid cap for idiots to steal!!!!!!

i havent seen the interior so i cant comment on tht

• philippecr (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:32 am

i saw this "new" Waja at the KLmotorshow. nothing really attracted to me. still the same old Campro Waja with much uglier lights with lether seats.

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:50 am

Credit should be given when it's due…like the Neo, which looks like a good product from Proton. Unfortunately, the facelifted Waja is damn disapointing. Especially after hearing internal rumors circulating from Proton that it would look better. Probably it would look good in real life…but still some of you guys have seen this car in the flesh, and yet you still say it's ugly. As for me, apart from the lamps, I'm struggling to find any other significant changes to call it a face lift. The chancellor and facelifted Waja were projects that originates from TM's time in Proton. The current management probably decided to might as well keep these projects going since money has already been invested. Probably wasn't such a good idea…well, only time will tell.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:04 am

Looks even cheaper than the older Waja. I thought the model before the Waja Campro was pretty ok looking. Rims were much better than this as well kinda reminded me of the Skyline GT-R's rims (not exactly but was good to look at).

Proton really needs to knock the desginer on the head. What were they thinking. The front lights are really ah beng, the rear lamps are just so wrong and the rims look like hubcaps. If you ask me, I think Proton is cheapening down on the Waja parts to concentrate on the production of the Gen 2, Savvy and Satria Neo.

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:02 pm

What is this? Is this some kind of a joke? The "G Concept" (or whatever the name is) guys in Sunway made better looking Waja than this one. This new facelift is so fugly!

• revver (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:19 pm

wargh hah hahahaha!!! alien inspired tail lamp. i think the guys in rnd r having paranoia. puke!

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:19 pm

paul, this waja has been in the showrooms for a couple of weeks… well i saw it in the showroom near my house. the rear lights look neat, trying to bridge the gap with the crop-circle GEN.2 lights i suppose. a lil odd but quite original. the front gets circular lights and honeycomb grille. interior pretty much campro waja… the "waja" leterring on the boot looks cacat. I'd rather hav the proton logo ther. where's d family resemblance if they suddenly remove the rear logo dat they've placed at the rear since the waja, juara, arena, GEN.2, savvy rite? :p

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:20 pm

ohya, if u touch the rear lamps, u'd notice dat it bulges out a lil… as in it's not flat, like the satria neo XD

• half freeze (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:37 pm

what daa ! Its look ugly and nothing improvement for the facelift..just a cosmetic make up. Protong..why..why

• Fairman (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:41 pm

Waja facelift ? a 5 years model just do a facelift ?? if base on this way, then we have wait more than 5 years for new replacment model lah ??? replace new lamp and call it facelift model ???? how about interior design, performance, fuel consumption, and quality ????

Anyway, better than do nothing lah !!! at least potong is trying to improve their product , but i dont like taillamp , looks very strange and ugly….

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Both headlights and taillamp should not have been facelifted as the new design sucks. However, I suspect that the new design of the taillamp is cheaper to produced compared to the previous model as it does not have a bracket holding all the bulbs together. As for the headlight, they should save the money instead as the difference could hardly be notice at a glance.

But the improved central armrest is a welcome feature as it is functional. The previous improvement on the central air-cond vent and additional immobilizer are also improvements worth mentioning. The other exterior enhancement such as the relocated Waja wording, new design rims and the new honeycomb grill is okay.

• rosdi (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Please kill the person who did this facelift. I hape Syed Zainal is sane enough not to approve it.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:58 pm

what face-Life

BUANG LONGKANG lah,

90s cars!!!

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:08 pm

I think they change the supplier of lights gua… then change the design by the way… the front lights material looks real cheap… lets hope the lights' price will be lowered with tat kind of design… the rear lights, from the above picture, if look closely, its still nice, but from the first picture there, it looks real bad.. I prefer the Waja word be in original place… This is call minor facelift only and it looks worse after it. Vios looks better after facelift with its new rims n bumper n grill design… The rims… change it if don't like la… just the Waja word cannot change…

• nuzzary (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:09 pm

its actually WORST big time than the original.. Its not Facelift.. better call it FACEDOWN..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Isn't this a bit of an old news already? This facelift Waja is already available in showrooms.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Any facelift in Proton's range is welcomed but it should be with proper planning I suppose.. and 'facelift' is really a definition to understand thoroughly. I say :

Rear taillamp – that 'termometer' design doesnt fit the overall square shape, it's just so wrong.

Waja lettering above number plate – It should stay at the original place as that corner is left empty.

New honeycomb grille – Hmm.. ok but hardly noticable. They should also do something to the upper grill like in 'City'.

New headlamps – Ok, but hardly noticable. I look forward to a re-shape of the overall look like in 'Vios'.

Interior wise, Proton can do whatever they want.

I suppose Proton have to work harder.

Cheers!

• raverus (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:27 pm

clap clap clap…..what a brilliant idea…….as usual; not impressive.

• biggie (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:30 pm

i think this is the last few facelifts, the new waja codenamed WRM has june gone through final prototype, and to be releleased in January. Soon you will have more of its spyshots. Hopefully Kleeman version of Neo also available around this time.

There also a limited run (1000 units) of modified Waja. This is not done by R3 though.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:32 pm

ONE WORD, "DISAPPOINTED"

Waja looks odd when it was lauched, now it becomes odder & uglier..

I think Proton should fire the design team for this so-called facelifted Waja, i don't see much different, 'BAD DESIGN'

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:38 pm

oh pls. I maybe no engineer but i know a couple of stuffs about automotive industry. P1 sucks BIG TIME in this project! one simple question to ask those guys which produce this freaking car. "Do u want to buy this car?" Thats what my mentor always asked me whenever a new product comes out. Waja was on the market for 5-6 years, imported to various countries, sales figure, u figure. But on malaysian road, Waja was a car force to buy, not a choice given in the sense of price and size-wise. Q2, Waja was running so long, the money to produce the mold for its interior and exterior already been a big PROFIT for both P1 and its vendor. WHAT DO U WANT SOMEMORE? When will ur new WAJA-RM coming out? Look at SATRIA-NEO… took how long?

I think this WAJA has lost in the market. This car can now only complete with VIOS, CITY (not even close), ACCENT (more like it), ALADO A160…. etc etc.

The new WAJA minimum spec! This is a Dummy guide for P1 RND "Engineers":

1.New set of bumpers.

2.Front headlamps with signal light built in.

3.Rear lamps, with LED.

4.Side mirrors with signal lamp.

5.Side rocker panel(skirts)

6.New designed front hood and grill.

7.NO JRD/BRIGHT RIMS sport rims!

8.The whole front dashboard, central console, meter cluster and gear knob.

9.The bloody MINI chairs that fits only small "Smurf".

10.AIRBAGS!

11.DESIGN WISE – Luxury SPORT (focus international) ! Dun make the same mistake like PERDANA V6!

• go_go (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:41 pm

oh come on……proton…. dunno whether they has no eyes to see or no brain to think….

• stewpid (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:58 pm

i like the previous design weh…

why don't they design a new door handle, new glovebox??

the tail lights should use LED like the new city, then can match with 'thermometer' design.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:01 pm

Hahahaha, luckily no mid exhaust, BIG relief~~ -_-"

• whodz (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:08 pm

They like wasting money by designing this crap version over and over…

… at last they say, they are allocated with minimum R&D and can't do no more design …

.. They think they are in car industry they are like merce or BMW? Dont' compare this developing country with other developed country ..

.. STOP BRIBERY AND CORRUPTIONS, THEY WILL ONLY KILL US ALL! ..

• chun202 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:37 pm

i think the new tail lights more nicer when the signal is blinking. hopefully Proton will do minor interior facelift for the Waja.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:38 pm

STOP BRIBERY AND CORRUPTIONS, THEY WILL ONLY KILL US ALL! ..

this thing is going to kill us but they made us suffer long time already…..

• KY (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:43 pm

saw this at the autoshow.. teruknya

• whatsoever (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:44 pm

facelift…. speechless….

• indigo (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:44 pm

I tot this has been some already reviewed bfore SRM was launched. Ugly

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:55 pm

Days of glory (G support):

Saga = Lancer, 23 yrs old

Wira = Lancer, 15 yrs old

satria = colt/mirage, 15 yrs old

Waja = Carisma, 8 yrs old maybe?

Perdana = Galant Eterna, 14 yrs old

Putra = lancer coupe, could be 15 yrs old too (by the way what happen to this car? I kinda like it)

Days of thunder (G partial support):

Juara = Kinda hard one

Savvy = 90's Clio maybe?

Gen 2 = 90's Megane maybe?

Neo = Shortenned platform of Megane maybe?

Arena = Truck version of wira/lancer

Waja campro = campro version of waja

Chancellor = extended version of Waja.

Days of dreaming (will G still support?):

Hybrid cars

Sports cars

SUV's

GOOD LUCK P1

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:57 pm

Forgot one more:

Tiara = 90's Citroen AX

• xin731 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:41 pm

OLDER ONE IS MORE BEAUTIFUL

specially the rear lamp very &*%^$%#$!$@!

older one owner look at here, u just change all the lamp

and place a " WAJA" words there, then u show ur

friends ur new facelifted Proton Waja!!!

Dont forget to get the new rims!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Good luck PROTON!!!!!!!!!!

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:42 pm

"Biggie: i think this is the last few facelifts, the new waja codenamed WRM has june gone through final prototype, and to be releleased in January. Soon you will have more of its spyshots. Hopefully Kleeman version of Neo also available around this time.

There also a limited run (1000 units) of modified Waja. This is not done by R3 though."

Is that so? If P1 still selling 1983 Lancer turned Saga, highly doubt it is going to replace Waja after only selling it for 5 year, the production cost of Waja is just not viable for such a luxury. Perhaps its a MK2 or new bodyworks. Hope you can prove your claims. This talks about Kleeman, i highly doubt its going to happen. Why? Can anyone connect P1 with Kleeman? If Proton own Lotus and have R3 as a in-house tuner, why would they pay more to sell a product? perhaps its using Kleeman kit or just a concept. Cause Brabus did some cosmetics on both Rexton and Santa Fe, but its not for sale yet, just for press and motorshows preview to gather market interest and exposure. It may as well be a marketing excercise. Obsevrve Proton Neo Desire and Symphony.

Back to the topic, yes the not-so-desirable Waja Campro, I refuse to call it a Waja Facelift as there is nothing to shout, moreover even Proton showroom sales person dont call it a facelift, so there is some mis-information here. This is just another enhancement excersice. Before we burn Waja to the ground, let us remind ourselves that P2 have dont this to kelisa like a dozen times. A good job or not, besides the point, but P1 is trying. The new MD is trying, perhaps we all should take a closer look to this FUGLY (hahaha! love this word) Waja before we all give the pounding in the last 60 commnets. Design wise, yes no doubt its a step back from NEO, but quality wise, I beg to differ. Im a strong believer of dont drive a P1, live longer and less stress. However I have recently sat in one of the Fugly lil thing, too my suprise, things changed lot for the interior, touch, smell and feel is all hitting the right spots, or perhaps its just the leather seats? Like most of you, I have sat, drove and cursed a Waja since its launch as the "Asia BMW" (LOL, thank god he is gone), but Waja who took on the role as the middle child of Proton (noted middle child syndrome) was indeed a awkward item in P1 showroom. Gen-2, Savvy and Neo is all of the new design direction. Before that… well, what design. Waja is an interim, a turning point, a hybrid, almost the unsung hero. Without Waja, we would still be driving Wira – Limited Edition Version.105.

So, would I buy the new "facelift" Waja or any of its current variants? Hell no! Im happy with my beloved Avanza, nippy kancil 850 ez and my gf's cranky '99 Wira. Might consider Neo but rather wait for its MK2. But lets pay tribute and its due credit to Waja, the fact it took them 5 years to get things right compare to Wira (almost a decade). But the design team and our new MD need to take a crash course in product design at the nearest design college, specializing in rear tail-lights. Cheers!

• goingberserk (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:46 pm

Still stuck with the old mentality. The only reason P1 comes out with the *&^^%$$#!!! so-called "F@@K LIFT" is probably to clear old stocks. There's plenty of unsold stocks of Waja. What needs to be done is just to replace the rear-ass lights and the front 'beng' lights, rims, and the honeycomb grill to the existing waja stocks. Walah !! U get a new "F@@K LIFT" waja.

It is just a gimmick to get the rakyat to buy the surplus stocks which are currently laying rotten somewhere in Bolehland.. WTF !

• blazerSST (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:46 pm

Hahah don't think it's road tests lah, it's delivery to dealer or buyer, the car can be bought anytime now. What is there left to test on the Waja.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:04 pm

I think this kinda facelift will further slow down Waja sales. Waja is "pakcik/makcik" car and now incorporate "thermometer" element in taillight – don't know what message it want to bring to potential or targeted customer?

Agreed with Driven2020 that almost all P1 car is not "new" in true sense, but P1 have the "bad habit" to claim everything is new (model) when launch any model even with facelift. Like Savvy engine, used in Clio I for so many years but after fit into Savvy claim as "new"! That why I have the benefit of doubt when P1 claim Satria Neo is new chassis with few hundred million investment but when check with P1 website on R & D investment section, the figure declared is "peanut"! A self contradictory statement.

Anyway, I have the best "Ah Beng" mechanic in Chan Sow Lin and Sg. Besi area who help me to fix recond Accord absorber in my Waja, and still working well. He have over 20 years of experience, down the road, when Satria Neo on the road and if can find in Kereta Potong yard, perhaps check with him if old Satria door can fix nicely with Satria Neo, just like Chevy Spark door can fix nicely to Chery QQ small compact car. Then my "naked eye" assesment can confirm whether it is new chassis or used back old Satria chassis!

• Whopper (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:12 pm

Wow, a small redesign of a tail lights, front head lights, new set of rims design and you all go berserk/bonkers.

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:30 pm

Joe Ooi: What is with your Area 51 theory that the Neo is using the old Colt chassis? You seem to refuse to acknowledge that the figures stated under Product Development could actually mean it was used for Product Development!

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:45 pm

V_NoZ said,

on the face lifted waja.. i saw this model during the KLIMS at civic and was not happy with the stuff they changed. the light at the back should have 2 rounds circle with LED. not a termometer looking. the name sticker should have not been in the center. the interior much better and the old one. it look grand inside.they did a blonder with the front headlights too.

I think i saw some Waja taillamp as described above on-the-road, 2 round circle with LED light. I think P1 got to "measure" how much the heat generated by ppl here if they really facelift it to "thermometer"… :p

Extremeeeee Ugly!!!

• king (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:48 pm

waimak,

what reshape is there in vios facelift? 4 boxes drawn on each tail lamp?

• king (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:13 pm

going berserk,

i agree with you….i don't know how many thousands or ten thousands of 2005 year model waja still lying around in p1 garage.this is probably a gimmick to clear stocks. maybe they send the old stock back to the factory to refit these lights and consider them 2006 models???

p2 has done the same gimmick with the kelisa imago as well when myvi ate up their own market.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:17 pm

joe ooi, i hope you didnt recall "whistle blower" into duty again to provide you with your latest info, regarding proton R&D spend, as well as your theories on whats new and whats not.

where do you get your ideas that the neo uses the same chassis as the old satria?

Funny thing is, i just checked out www.proton.com. no where in the entire website could i find the word "peanut". Why don't you put a URL that makes a reference to what you're talking about?

I found this here. http://www.proton.com/about_proton/facts_figures/…

this is money spent on R&D facilities, not even the cost of doing R&D with them. 98/99=36million, 99/00=61million, 00/01=50million..etc.

Product spending = this is what relates to actually spending on R&D..etc. to create new cars. 98/99=593 million, 99/00=400 million, 00/01=627million, 01/02=526million, 02/03=1.2billion.

• SpongeBob (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:21 pm

face lift…..again…..if there is a skin on a car, there is no more sckin to have facelift.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:22 pm

to be fair..thrs no any advertisment or a new broucher that says there is a new 'facelift '…its jus sting that so minor that its unoticed n i tink p1 know dat dats y it didnt make any fus abt it..althought this car was shown at the recent KL Auto Show..bt it was very 'low profile'….in this case..the word 'facelift' is very overstated…so everybody relax…do i need to remind u the so called 'facelifted' kelisa that even the headlamp design was da same…only car color changed during daylight…if a car spray is to be called a 'facelif'..thn this waja should be a brand new car build from scratch! ayooo!

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:26 pm

e-nabill: perhaps we can call it a minor facelift then. or, enhancement?

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Yeah, we cannot call this a face lift.. we can say "rear & front light changes"… in fact, poton quite innovative in rear light design, for instance gen2 rear light is one of a kind.. may be others will follow the trend…. the new waja's rear light oso quite unique.. thats why most of u say its ugly.. but i wonder why savvy's rear light is not so innovative….

• Sharfox (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:40 pm

Now I read the news. I remember seeing this FL Waja last 2 weeks on the road in Kuala Terengganu. At 1st, I tot the guy just get it done at Brother's. Now I know. But guys, it's just a facelift… A FACELIFT is not a replacement model. Same goes to VIOS… Till now, I dun see any FACE has been LIFT accept for the taillaps (the one with 3 stripes) and that's all!!. Fact is still fact… those taillapms really the turnoff.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:43 pm

y not call it revision

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Well Sharfox, Vios's front headlights' shape got change a bit anf the bumper design and air intake hole got some minor changes, not only the rear lights… and rims as well…

I somehow agree with motorhead as he said that the lights are unique and that's why most of ppl say ugly… mana tau later some car makers out there learn this… like Altezza rear lights being copied by others…

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:01 pm

This new Waja Campro P2 also in the current Motor Trader mag….

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:06 pm

Sigh… Changing front and tail lamp considered as face lift?

Then, those who changed their tail lamp to "Altezza" type also considering face lifted their car??

rofl…………

*No offence here to any1 that had changed their tail lamp as mentioned above.. :p

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:08 pm

Paul Tan & honda_driver – noted your comments but the above comment by me is no longer applicable as there is reliable info provided in Satria Neo posting by insiderz which confirm the chassis is new. Happy to get this info eventhough I have other "reasoning".

• szw (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:15 pm

wat 4 ?

da older waja looks better .

• ar (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:18 pm

oooo

Seen one in kelantan. a lady owner.

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:22 pm

When I first heard about the Waja facelift, it was called GX MC 2 and sounds like it was sick. I had heard of the term CC which means "Cosmetic Change" for other model but not MC . Later, I found out that MC stands for "Minor Cosmetic Change".

• sewell (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:28 pm

i think this is the improvement from proton. why malaysian always wanted to complain the design from proton??? does Gen2, waja, savvy and satria neo look that bad??? as what i can see is the quality of the interior parts does not meet the standard only. do BMW 3-series latest version nicer than the previous version??? toyota yaris is it the design look that best??? Come ON ! support buatan malaysia. i think they are really something best to improve !

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Ooh, I see that releasing the nice car that is Satria Neo, Proton is back at it again; making an ugly car even uglier.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:42 pm

oh no~ another low quality facelift again. our ahbengs can modify these cars better than Potong.

• p_nut (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Looks like it's made in china now.. hehe

• waimak (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:57 pm

King,

I meant the headlight, which is slightly narrower.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:19 pm

well, go hv a look at raptorclans's site, got KLIMS photos including this waja with rear lights on, it seems nice when the lights on… http://raptorclans.multiply.com/photos/album/45

• xin731 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:59 pm

OLDER WAJA OWNER LOOK AT HERE!!!

u can own a new facelift proton waja by change

a new rear and front head lamp, then place a waja

phase below the third braking light only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dont forget search a new rims oh……

WARNING:

if u think the new one more beautiful than the older one,,,,,

JUST DO IT

present by,

NIKE.

• xin731 (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 12:12 am

GOOD GOOD

Our MALAYSIAN ahbengs really can modify WAJA

better than ""potong""

''engtaokia'' good comment!

• xin731 (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 12:16 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• insiderz (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 12:41 am

This is just a cosmetic change (cc) to excite the market (I dun know why the marketing dept always use the phrase – I think it is pretty dumb… excite the market!!!). Facelift of Waja complete with new front bumper (a spark of similarity to Gen2) is on the way end of the year plus Waja Replacement under development. But still I expect more bashing for the facelift model.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 1:49 am

insiderz – My opinion for cosmatic change is "major changes" to bumber shape, head or tail light shape changes, etc. But in this case, it should be "replacement" of "new pattern" tail light!

• nuzzary (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 2:55 am

i think i've seen this waja before.. is it really the new facelift?

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 3:32 am

Proton might be using codenames like Minor Change 2 or Minor Cosmetic Change 2 but sadly, the fact is that consumers will still refer it as a Cosmetic Change or a facelift. Different people can have different definition of cosmetic change.

• chris (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 4:08 am

yucks~!!!

• stevarac (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 4:23 am

wisdom_bin said,

June 20, 2006 @ 12:16 am

stevarac, whats ur problem with MY oppinion? its subjective so you dont have to joke with someone’s oppinion.

—————————————————————-Dear wisdom , lighten up. I just thought yours' was a funny comment, thats

all. Pls don't get touchy. I meant no offence.

As you said, back to the car , wtf facelift , one word – idiotic.

Someone in P1 need to to improve his wisdom – no pun intended .

Cheers !!

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 4:48 am

Wahlao…..

Who design it.

New facelift should be better but this is ……..no comment.

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 5:24 am

Facelift lol.

Facedrop.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 7:28 am

haha… my photo gallery kena promote :D

• afhstingray (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 11:02 am

the original waja looked classy…

this one looks like some cheap ah beng messed with it…….

keep the old lights!!!! but add the honeycomb grill…

sweet….

oh and the round air conditioning vents in the middle look a bit cacat…i prefer the first version one

• kenfresh (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 11:06 am

It's so hard to design something that is ugly in every single way.

But our Proton did it!

Congratulations!!

K

ps: How can the same people who design the NEO chuck out rubbish like this?

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 5:18 pm

afhstingray said,

June 21, 2006 @ 3:02 am

oh and the round air conditioning vents in the middle look a bit cacat…i prefer the first version one

Tracks :- I agree with you that the air-cond vents looks kinda odd compared to the whole facia. But atleast they serve a functional purpose of directing air to left side something which the original air-vents failed to do.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Raptorclans, u really got a lot of pics of KLIMS. Loading long time even though with ADSL. hehe… but that gallery takes over the absent of the KLIMS photos on this forum here…

Anyway, beauty falls in the eye of the beholder… maybe some ppl will think the waja's changes look better than the old ones… if don't like it… u can always change it with aftermarket products.. Saw some aftermarket lights for waja which look good…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 12:06 am

jtshin,

yeah… a lil too many photos… :p

cos they were taken by me n my bro, so we had no idea which cars had already been shot. haha…(sorrry off-topic)

yeah there were lots of aftermarket lights, and those angel eyes for the front headlamps are cool…

• i'm run (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 2:16 am

Guys.. read this… it is not a new facelift waja.. it is the latest enhancement of the Waja, which will appear in all Proton showrooms soon.

In addition to its 110-horsepower 1.6-litre CamPro engine, the upgrading includes newly designed headlamps and tail lights, 'honeycomb' front grille, rear garnish with "WAJA" lettering, alloy rims, interior design, leather seats and double-compartment center console with armrest & cup holder. Anti-lock braking system (ABS) and dual airbags will be made available for selected variants.

The price for the enhanced Waja starts from RM57,991 (for manual transmission) and RM61,225 (for automatic transmission).

• i'm run (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 3:15 am

So, basicly proton were trying to upgrade the Waja with air bags and ABS. Then, they realise why not change the headlamps and the tail lights also and other things, such as the grille?? So, in addition they change the grille, the headlights and the tail lights. But of couse they done a terrible job designing it. I think the after market headlamps and the tail lights are better than the new headlamps/tail lights.

• denarii (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 3:51 am

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This is the waja facelift.

well i thought they cud do better!!!!!!!!!

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 5:27 am

Well I bet the RM57991 manual and RM61225 auto are not fitted with ABS n airbags… cos it says price start from… but anyway, how about the reinforcement of the body?? nah… no upgrades right? its still the same waja with some minor changes… and Toyota did the same thing as well… altis, vios, unser, camry… I think soon the Avanza will be doing a facelift… At least Proton make some changes to the car, not like before the wira, selling for 10yrs same… aiks…

• nuggyn (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 5:57 am

ALL I CAN SAY ABOUT THE NEW REAR LIGHTS IS…..

HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH!!!!!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 6:02 am

i guess the good designer all put for Satria Neo… Satria Neo MUST be proton's best ever car.so all resources concentrate on Neo and the rest is second… that's the result!! ha ha ha.. good decision… proton boleh!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 9:01 am

i'm run said,

June 21, 2006 @ 6:16 pm

Guys.. read this… it is not a new facelift waja.. it is the latest enhancement of the Waja, which will appear in all Proton showrooms soon.

hhmmm…i dunno izit true or not…i think this is the facelifted waja…not a replacement model…term enhancement and facelifted are the same…rite???we call it as a facelifted model…like other carmakers…eg..merc e class…got facelifted model this year in year 2006…not a replacement model…jz my opinion coz already saw many times b4 in the tv or mag when they come out with a enhancement model…like ure saying…they will call it as a facelifted model…it is different for the term replacement..like proton had now…a replacement model for proton satria which is satria neo…btw…jz my thought…

• automotusvomitus (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 10:09 am

True, the GEN2 lights are unique. Like Altezza lights on an Altezza look cool, but it sure ain't look cool when copied into a Saga!! P1 no brains for putting the thermo lights on the Waja!

• KingKong (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 2:15 pm

Proton's designer getting better day by day.

now they designed "CACAT WAJA".. good job Proton designer.

Proton's designer very creative experienced!!! wow!!!

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 4:54 pm

jtshin said,

June 21, 2006 @ 9:27 pm

At least Proton make some changes to the car, not like before the wira, selling for 10yrs same… aiks…

Tracks : The Proton Wira had a very minor first facelift before back in 1996 whereby the taillamps was changed and for the second minor facelift the front bumper & steering wheel was also changed in 2004. Ofcourse these changes are so minor that many did not realize it. Same goes with the Satria whereby the taillamps, rear hatch and rear bumper was also changed but I am not certain when but probably back in 1997. The second facelift is similar to Wira.

One more thing, the standard Waja indeed does not comes with ABS & Airbags.

• chang (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 7:09 pm

nothing to say…. T_T

• yummy (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Hey, look carefully. The taillamps look like male p***s picture. Better change.

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 7:54 pm

Oh yeah.. Its ugly… The tail lamps are ok to me. But the WAJA lettering above the number plate is damn ugly.. Ewww…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 11:59 pm

damn uglyla this car…rubbish dsg…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 10:06 am

facelift…..but still looks like the same old crap. oh wait……it is the same old crap. its obvious that this marketing tactic is working very well for proton. just keeps selling.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 5:30 pm

this is the special of Proton to show their appreciation to "rakyats" whom supporting them with a full heart for the last 20 years ++.

while other company facelifted their cars Prton in other way "FACEDOWN" showing of lack of confident to face the real world of motor industry.

this is a "SUICIDE" move, they are closing down so no need to highlight anything just think deeply is this the car you want to buy….peace everyone

p/s CamPro engine fuel consumption too high.

• vobs (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 8:22 pm

Proton! Proton! SIGH! how come u guys always approve such designs? is the designer abang adik to the top management? luckily u guys already drill it to msian's head that PROTON CARS ARE CHEAP! which indeed not so……or else susah and jadi laughing stock in countries like UK, US and JAPAN

Please explain as we all do not understand why why why

• mtay (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 1:58 am

All I can say is…

"IF SOMEONE CAN TAKE AN EVO AND MAKE IT LOOK LIKE A WAJA, PROTON, WITH THEIR MILLIONS IN R&D BUDGET, SURE AS HECK OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO DO THE REVERSE!!!"

I'm sure most of you in reading this blog know which car I'm referring to.

• mtay (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 2:01 am

Isamu said,

June 20, 2006 @ 7:32 pm

Proton might be using codenames like Minor Change 2 or Minor Cosmetic Change 2 but sadly, the fact is that consumers will still refer it as a Cosmetic Change or a facelift. Different people can have different definition of cosmetic change.

Isamu,

They should codename this: "Major failure in common sense 3". 3 because they've already had AT LEAST two major failures in common sense. The Arena, and that whats-its-name.. the boxy car.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 6:14 am

huahuahuahuahuahuahuahuahua…funnyla mtay…

• TheMachine (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 7:04 am

Huh ? Facelift ….. change the lights, alloy wheels and grille.

Just send it to any Brother's or Ah Chong Motor also can la …… facelift duh.

Biggest joke la ……….. like that also must undergo road test. HAHAHA

But Satria Neo seems a right step for Proton albeit a small step …….

• alqassa (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 6:48 pm

what a facelift for WAJA…poor PROTON…let me design your cars for you…

• quest (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:01 pm

WOW!!!

What a facelift!!

Why do they even bother? They should reconstruct a new shape out of Waja.

Waja's got a GOOD PLATFORM, shape is OK, but interior finishing is pathetic. Of course not mention sub-quality of door handles, power windows, lower arm bars, steering column gear.. whatever, and a host of other "STANDARD" defects- given the "leh, ini STANDARD LA" statement by Proton service centers everytime we highlight a problem. Despite all the above, Waja's got a good chassis that provides good handling and room for imporvement (if they really interested) and potentially more head and leg space if they change the egronomics of Waja's interior.

But what I see in this version of face lift is REALLY JUST CHEAP COSMETICS. If I run Proton, I'd have a radical change in shape based on this good platform. You may say Proton don't have the resources like Toyota (as we know Toyota would've develop the same platform into totally different shape), but sometimes, you just have to be radical (And I don't mean coming out with something like SAVVI).

I don't know, I know I'm inviting many hostile response, but I think what I expressed is constructive.

• Luke Ashwin (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:30 pm

termometer design is so last 26 years ago… so 80's that is.. =*

• Alantris (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 3:15 am

Hi, new here, actually we can see some of these waja on the road already, however, only Proton Staff can purchase it through the staff purchase program.

It is selling at much higher price than normal Waja as a fren of mine's husband bought the car. He works for Proton. From the words of mouth, the reason this waja actually did go through road test are not really to create a hype or so. It was rumored that this is the car which will come with the 1.6 Campro with the CPS and VIMS. How true is that i dont know. But if it is true, the car should be around 147bhp. Come to think of it, why would they do a facelift on Waja for no reason especially after launching the waja Campro.

Dont know for sure, let's just wait for the launch, if the CPS and VIMS is launched together with this Waja, its a good thing. The Campro CPS and VIMS have been in RnD for a very long time.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:36 am

couldnt be more agree with quest,

good platform with bad look if they put a modern design up front, the rear would still look outdated i think…it just better let the minor changes do the work before the new one rolls out…reuse the platform, its a nice one…near 200kph and nothing bothers me and my fren on the way to the KLIA…event his father did not notice anyhting at the back while reading his newspaper…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:50 pm

the platform is good, no doubt, but the cosmetic and the finishing is bad, to say the least. i'm not that creative in designing, so that's y i don't work for car company ;-)

just trying to imagine if waja have the CPS cap. with more power than current perdana, perhaps the price wold be much higher to to provide better safety (ABS, EBD, bigger rim, disc, stronger body etc.). max speed would be much better. but still, honda v-tec engine is still the best in valve timing. toyota is close, but not close enough. my 2 cents though…

• vernieman (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:30 pm

Making a cosmetically-challenged even uglier isn't my idea of a facelift. I saw one of these babies on the road yesterday. Eww.

I think the Waja needs a whole new look, not just a change of headlamps + lights and badging. Nothing wrong with the platform per se, and to be fair, Proton has improved the Waja a great deal since its introduction. Still plenty to go, especially where build quality and interior finish is concerned. The Savvy and SNeo beats it hands down here.

I say forget the little aesthetic changes (which really DOES NOT enhance the looks in any way) and bring consumers a REAL facelift.

• Ralliace (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 1:17 am

YUCKS!!!

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 9:12 pm

quite o.k for me

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:37 pm

YUCK! YUCK! YUCK! Were the engineers stoned or drunk when they designed the light clusters? Or were they possessed by demons/spirits? Or have they been brainwashed by aliens? Surely the Waja needs a thorough facelift but not as shown in these photos! And the car sits way too high above the ground to look upmarket…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 11:04 pm

Dont worry guys, next year(why so long eh?) Proton will come out with a super-good-looking all-new Waja that will look like an Audi. Imagine an A4 but with Proton 'wau' grille and headlamps. Cun, isn't it?

Word is, the current Proton designer loves Audis more than his gf so he tends to follow the design theme of Walter da Silva(Audi design boss).

Wait for it….

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 11:05 pm

BTW, the rear lamps tiru the Ford Mondeo's(go check it out yourself)

• scott81 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:57 am

one sentence is sufficient to describe it ..a junk car designed by a group of junk! i have never seen such a ugly car! never seen before and in the future, unless proton intend to design it again. Good job proton!At least u r qualified to chase the award of ugliest design of the year. Congrat and syabas! Facelift? Face-disfigured indeed.

• scott81 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:58 am

tolong tolong lar proton.please don't mempersiasuikan our face, malaysian. just destroy this design please dun let it come out in the market..

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 8:58 pm

giler lawa..

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 9:00 pm

yup,like ford mondeo.

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 12:27 am

guys,da new waja seems to be a lot on da road now..ppl can still accept la tu..

• owner91 (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:32 am

The new tail lights look really ugly. I still prefer the current one. However, do like the new alloy rims.

• chrymnd (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:58 pm

hmm..can somebody tell me how to use the car d bluetooth???