Cheeky Audi Advertisement

audi_logo.gifHere’s another cheeky advertisement from Audi, which incorporates 4 other brands in it – Mercedes Benz, Volvo, BMW and Alfa Romeo. Thanks to tango5 in the previous ad post comments.

Video: Audi Advertisement

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bill (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:21 am

great ad … kudos to their marketing and branding team!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:41 am

very creative ad! i wish BMW could do something like that!

• szw (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:45 am

dure dis ad is not allow on air wan .

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:54 am

haha.. creative seyh~ i hope proton can do also.. wahaha!!

>.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:31 am

Great idea, 4 in 1 quality advertisement!

If P1 adopt similar approach, then have to hange 1) Power window, 2) Absorber, 3) Door handle & 4) Ahem ….. malu nak cakap lah, banyak sangat ….. tak cukup tempat – "All in 1" problems advertisement.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:36 am

Looka like they are still pawning each other.

First, all the things mentioned there are what the car manufacturers excel. I don't think An audi will ever be as good looking as an alfa, nor as safe as the volvo, nor as sportiness as a BMW…

• DtG (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:47 am

fantastic ad!!! damn creative. it actually compliments and mocks the other 4 car companies at the same time! haha

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:48 am

p1 advertisement would be why you should buy the other company's car if you want design, comfort, sportiness and safety . . . LOL

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 6:31 am

Simple, creative, cost saving… nice ad there…

• terence2079 (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 6:59 am

actually i think proton no need advertising at all. i think no one really buy a proton car because he/she is influenced by the ad. my 2 cents.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:02 am

WOW! where do thy come up with those creative minds man!..btw..in some countries its very strict in NOT to bash ur competitors name while promoting urs…

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:34 am

yes, true, in US you can bash anyone even the president. Malaysia is quite senile…

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 8:44 am

Very simple, creative and straight to the point. This is a very good commercial from Audi. It's a very long way to go before we get to see something like this on our TV. Even Adlin Aman Ramli got bashed in the parliment for displaying true Malaysian attitude. You want to mock your main rivals on TV? Say, what would Naza's Bestari 206 ads will be against Proton's Neo? Or Proton's Savvy against Perodua's Myvi? Uh-oh….

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 11:45 am

hey ,…i know its tottaly off topic one again but can u guys suggest if installin a muffler exhaust system if any good…i want a sporty sound for my mazda6 and i need advice..what type of exhaust should i install and how much would it cost…it be great help if u guys can tell me a good shop too ..my budget within 500 …

• suanie (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:01 pm

fuwah pwned!!

I didn't get the impression that it was mean, more like a tongue-in-cheek ad. Like, they are four friends, then trying to outdo each other, in a competitive yet friendly way, cheeky yes but not catty.

more more more!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 3:15 pm

simple but nice advert…i like it…any respone frm all car makers mentioned in the advert???hehhek…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:23 pm

the other car makers should be no problem since Audi already said they have sportiness, safety etc, but just Audi have all in one car…

P1 dont need all these la, they just need to demostrate how to chop a watermelon with the power windows, people will be impressed…

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:29 pm

Simple yet very creative. Wonder what the others would do next?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 6:25 pm

VORSPRUNG DURCH TECHNIK !!!

• december (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Aah this has been around for quite sometime already Paul, i saw this like 3 years back. Its a simple but effective Ad.

Screw BMW posers. Audi for life. (im such a child sometimes, bleh)

• pirate (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:03 pm

Simple, cheeky yet impressionable ad. So, Audi = a sum of all others?

Enchanting!

Didn't Audi once belonged to an alliance of Audi-BMW-Merc-VW?

(subsequently they broke up and had gone separate ways)

How the four conjoined-rings emblem was coined together…

Any idea, Paul?

• pirate (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Of course in this case, Volvo and Alfa Romeo are 'adopted' recently…

Haha!

• bolo (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 9:08 pm

Didn’t Audi once belonged to an alliance of Audi-BMW-Merc-VW?

(subsequently they broke up and had gone separate ways)

How the four conjoined-rings emblem was coined together…

—————————————————

The four ring emblem used to represent Auto Union. An amalgamation of Audi, DKW, Horch and Wanderer. Now the four ring is simply attributed to the Audi marque.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 10:07 pm

lord of the rings??? they should have audi TT in the next sequeal of LOTR…

lol

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 10:20 pm

What I notice is just a superficial ad! Doesn’t mentions about the technology and heritage. Does showing the rings mean Advance thru technology? Good thing is Audi recognize what other car makers are extremely good at. I guess nobody can be good at everything rite?

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 11:34 pm

Yeah Bolo's right. Though Daimler Benz did own Audi for a period of 6 years, Auto Union came way before then.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 11:36 pm

Yeah VNoZ try telling that to the Germans and they will give you detail breakdown on why they are superior based on various algorithms including fast fourier transforms, but they will skip a few mathematical steps and assume you know it. In the end they will come out with a simplified formula and attribute all this to the German beer.

Ein bitz bitte?

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 11:40 pm

lol bob. German tech fetish *thumbs*

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:32 am

Tip the scales Audi! You, the marketing manager, rocks!

VIVA LA VORSPRUNG DURCH TECHNIK!!!

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 12:07 am

WTF maxtek ni..audi cannot be as sporty as bmw la..bmw has it's own level n acievement..same goes to audi

anyway,awesome ad..lol..

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 7:24 am

yes .. agreee!!

• albert_gwm (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Ad yang membosankan!!!

• thow (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 7:17 am

lol…..nice and creative advertisement…………

• Good idea! A short but Impressive!

• Asma Chang on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:08 pm

A great ad..but isn't it against the ethics to name your competitors in your ad? I mean,can't the other four file a lawsuit for this?