MAA wants car scrapping policy!

small_maa_logo.jpgThe automotive market has been growing for the past 8 years, but has slowed down this year. Reasons for this slowdown was quoted to be more stringent hire purchase requirements and the rising fuel costs. The new NAP also brought resale value of old cars down, discouraging sales because owners prefer to keep their old cars rather than sell them at a low price and buy a new car.

As you all know, I watch the local media everyday to monitor new developments in the car industry. Both you and I have read news that hint of an upcoming possible vehicle scrapping policy. I’ve wanted to write about it for quite some time now, but posts like this take time to think out and I did not have the time. But reading this, I cannot wait anymore.

This is the MAA’s solution to boost vehicle sales in Malaysia, to ensure further growth:

• Scrap used vehicles over a certain age
  • Less stringent financing
  • Export used cars
  • Incentives
  • Tax rebates

What incentives are we talking about? MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad hopes that the 2007 Budget would provide some measures to improve sales such as introducing a policy to scrap used vehicles and less stringent financing facilities. The Federation of Motor and Credit Companies Association of Malaysia has proposed to the government to offer a RM5,000 voucher to car owners who scrap their cars voluntarily. This voucher cannot be exchanged for cash, but can only be used to purchase a NEW vehicle. Cars more than 10 years old should also be scrapped.

Another proposal would be to export vehicles over 10 years old overseas. A tax refund of the original vehicle excise and import duty could be given as an incentive, in addition to the body value of the car when exported. There could also be a tax rebate to purchase a new car, specifically locally assembled and national cars.

I have a friend who constantly complains daily about how expensive it is to even afford a car like a Perodua Kelisa. Look around you. There are plenty of old cars on the road running well. My father drove a 1984 Nissan Sunny 130Y his whole life, and I am still using it now. My Proton Satria was involved in an accident which deemed it a total loss, and scrap value was only a little more than RM1,000. Together with the RM5,000 voucher that MAA proposed, I’d rather continue driving my 22 year old Nissan Sunny than get a measely RM6,000 to so-called help me buy a new car.

Where is the choice? There are people like me who prefer buying a second hand car so much more than a first hand car. I do not feel any need the smell of a new car. Why not let someone else take care of the depreciation? My Proton Satria was already 9 years old when I acquired it, and earning low wages I had to take a 5 year loan for it. Which means by the time I finished paying the loan, it would already be 14 years old!

What about older folks who are retired and still go around in their old Toyota Corollas? Having retired, I don’t think they can afford replacing their old reliable run-about with a new car. And what about sentimental value? And classics?

How do you scrap cars when it’s so hard to own cars here in the first place. You already toil to pay off a car loan in ridiculous lengths of 7 to 9 years. If cars had to be scrapped at the 10th year of age, the depreciation rate of cars would also go at a very much accelerated rate, approaching almost no value at the 10th year. What if you total you car half way thorugh the loan repayment. The insurance company would reimburse you based on current value. How are you supposed to repay the huge amount of money you still owe the bank?

This is not stimulating the market, it’s more of creating a captive market for new cars. And captive markets are always bad. Outrageous. We are not all rolling in cash okay? Don’t force your new cars down our throats!

How do you think this current glut in the new car and 2nd hand car market should be solved?

Car Scrapping Policy – 15 years? (31/08/2006)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stewpid (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:17 am

seems they cant' cari makan loh.. need to scarp old cars… seems its started being singapore already. cars more than prefered years need to pay some royalty to keep it…

• Paul Tan on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:18 am

singapore has a good public transport system, so its ok there. people dont NEED cars. here people NEED cars.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:19 am

Totally agree with your stand, Paul!

Imagine my Merc being scrapped for RM5000 at 10th year of age…

Farkin' outrageous!

What will happen to resale value of cars at say 5-6…7th year when most of us complete our HP payments? Very low residue I dare say.

Yup! Creating a captive market for new cars is downright selfish, arrogant, myopic and outrightly abusive to the consumers, on MAA's part and all those self-centred automotive credit companies and used cars associations!!!

Bloody hell.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:23 am

Once this scrapping policy is implemented, what do you think will happen to ALL used car values huh?

I guessed most us would then buy new cars less than RM50k-60k, and again which manufacturers will benefit most?

• harsher (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:26 am

she think every malaysian is rich like her and other datuks and datins meh? no brain 1 la this people…

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:30 am

As it says in the article, they intend to stop the 'vicious cycle' by implementing these steps. I, like you Paul, don't think that this is a good idea. So what do you think should be done instead? It's all about being pro-active, and not just complaining when things are shoved down our throats. I know there are only so much, we, the people on the ground here in Malaysia, can do. But still, this shouldn't stop us from trying to provide ideas on how things can be changed for the better.

If you ask me, the main problem of this vicious cycle is the 'value' of the second hand cars. When someone wants to buy a new car, they have to first get rid of their current car. But if the value of the car is so low that they have to 'top up' a certain amount of money to pay to the banks to pay off the remainder of their loans, then definitely this would put off these people from changing their cars. So who actually sets the value of the second hand cars? Is it the market? Is it the banks? If the value of these cars are slightly stabilised, then it might help to stop the vicious cycle. I might be sounding slightly naive here but a solution to the problem can be achieved if the 'additional budget' asked by the MAA is instead done to help the market stabilise used car prices. What do you think?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:32 am

this all happen because "oldman" start the stupid Proton project la.Because of Proton everybody also suffer….

p/s a very bitter pill to swallow.

• Paul Tan on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:32 am

I don't know yet. The market seems to be in a stalemate condition here.

• v0ices (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:36 am

It's a good plan actually… in about 20 more years!

Again they are thinking too far ahead of themselves and trying to suggest something that is not suitable for Malaysia at this time. Singapore and Japan has this plan but their buying and spending power is so much better. Plus not to mention their public transport is light years better than ours.

They should really listen to the majority of Malaysians and not just those handful of people who drives "half-million bungalows" around and could afford Honda Jazz for their just-grad-from-highschool kids. Most of us can just barely buy a car … which is almost a must since the public transport is so unreliable

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:39 am

Our new cars are priced too high (and spec-ed lower) by any international standards.

So how to re-export overseas?

Another farkin' joke!

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:40 am

Guys, be pro-active…how do you think it should be done…not just laughing at the ideas by MAA

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:52 am

export as scrap metal can la…

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:53 am

I think the only way to stimulate the auto industry on a sustainable basis is to lower the outrageous duties for cars and make them more affordable. Right now prices are a strain on middle class families and require very long term loans which are itself self-defeating for the auto industry by trapping people in their loans and reducing demand from upgraders.

As for a scrapping policy on cars, what will that do to the value of used cars? With used car prices bashed down even lower, how will that help people to buy new cars?

The root of the problem is that new car prices are too high and the problem must be tackled at the root, not shortsighted measures to compensate for the real problem such as long loans, easy credit and scrapping cars which are ultimately self-defeating.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:57 am

No scapping. Period.

The automotive market is undergoing correction now. All sectors experience that.

You can't put 550,000 vehicles on the road every year by scare "price-increase-soon" tactics and cheap interest rates all the time.

Bolehland has the highest per capita car ownership already. With a population of just 22million+ (or slightly more), how are we to sustain that kind of automotive sales volume annually?

Scrapping is NOT the magical answer to this.

• acbc (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:26 am

If G allow us to import JDM-spec car with equal value (in their home country) then they can scrap the old cars. Right now, the taxes alone are too damn high!

• karheng (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:27 am

Yea…Ok..scrap cars…but first, take away the duties which are involved. Price them protons at Rm 15-30K, Hondas 30-40K, and BMWs 60-70k., Then let's consider the scrapping. Otherwise, it'll get a whole lot of rebuttal. I'm not selling my 15 year old beemer. It works better than many other cars on the road, I'm confident of that.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:40 am

My 18 year old car is still running strong. It has functioning power windows, electronic fuel injection, air conditioning, starts perfectly every time, idles perfectly, has a perfect braking system (all new parts from a higher grade model) and has a quiet exhaust. I've spent a LOT on maintenance, and I only buy original parts or aftermarket parts which are even better than original, so much so that the car is probably worth (to me), 3 times it's market value. If they scrap it I only get 6k? I paid more than that recently for a new powertrain!!

The only reasonable cure in my mind, well not cure but ways to help the situation is to:

a) Make cars cheaper. Reduction of taxes. Surely there are other ways of getting revenue.

b) Improve public transport

c) Crack down on reckless drivers (people who change lanes without signalling, etc.) so that people on two-wheelers will have a chance to ride to work and arrive safely. Not everyone can afford cars! Look at Malaysia's income distribution.

There's no easy way out of the situation. I'm sure someone out there can think of a better way than just "SCRAP OLD CARS"!!

• jawa5281 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:47 am

How about this?

1. Immediately abolish all taxes/AP on new car

(P1/P2 will suffer, so are 2nd hand car dealer)

2. probably 70,000 people will be directly affected

(cannot cari makan, but they won't die)

(G may subisidy to all these people)

3. Younger generation without car will still need to buy car

(Waja = RM40k, HONDA civic 2.0s = RM80k)

4. People with car will wait until loan is fully serviced

5. Economy will grow

6. We'll be very much like Thailand in the next 3-5 years.

(investors are coming back)

(2nd hand car dealer can once again be happy)

7. Life goes on..

24 millions (-70,000) people will be happy, that's democracy! This could be analogous to the movie "HERO" where Jet Li acted as rebel in disguise in pursuit of his revenge to kill the Emperor. He didn''t do it because of the Emperor explained the reason of killing thousands of people to unite billions of China.

• sewell (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:58 am

i don't think malaysia will be able to impose the scrap car or re-export. we are not so advance like japan and singapore. we all work like hell to pay for the car loan for 7-9 years. after the car loan finish there are still house loan waiting us to pay….. scrap value at 5000 also not enough for the car first payment….. forget about it lar…MAA

• J (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:01 am

I don't think scrapping cars at this stage is a good idea. Perhaps in year 2010 to start implement. Car 20 years old and above to be scrapped as it is not efficient causing environmental cleaniness. A lot of old cars breakdown on the road causing traffic blockage.

To carry out this policy comfortably, the G need to provide the Rakyat "disposible" car where the price level is low. Now you can see that people are treating their Honda Civic like a treasure of their lifetime. How do you expect them to scrap their cars ? :)

• raz_R (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:01 am

scrap the car? ok im fine with it, as long as i can replace my current old wira with a 30-40k NEW honda civic or altis, then i dont mind doing that

and haha, i pity those people who work their ass off, just barely had enough money to buy a proton/perodua, with a 9year loan, and watching their own car got scraped off at the 10th year

maresia is run by people with 'morality'

note: Electricity comes from electrons; morality comes from moro… err

• moo_t (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:03 am

I can't wait them to materialise the scraping. Actually it is good for Malaysia in long term : less car on the road and less road to destroy our environment.

Let's bet what is the consequences to the economy :

2nd car dealer : At least 20,000 jobs will be affected. Uh-huh

Normal Car dealer : confusing consumer will make the sales plunge. Uh-huh

Bank : thrive by leeching the automobile HP(hired-purchase). Another plunge since nobody going to buy car in mid-term. Uh-huh. And to avoid 2nd hand car loan, they bank will increase the interest, and make the 2nd hand car market plunge futher. Uh-huh.

Insurance company : Very happy, since they can leech customer more, by depreciate the car value faster than current. But sales will plunge in long term, so Uh Huh.

Consumer : People who own an old car will try to sell it ASAP. Due to supply demand theory, just imagine the havoc. In addition, people will hold their purchase before the water settle (policy adjustment/scrapping). More people will retain/resort the Kapcai instead.

Mat cermalang(rebrand from rempit) : Great, more people join the race.

And my conclusions :

Anyone think Malaysian can easily absorb the scrapping policies similar to the cartel nasional car taxes, they will be dead wrong.

In mid term and long term : Panic(kiasu) Malaysian will seek channel to sell their car ASAP while new buyer will skeptic to buy one. It will create a huge confusion that might lead to collapse of the local automobile industry.

• Isamu (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:17 am

Car scrapping is a good idea BUT only if it is VOLUNTARY.

Scenario 1: Maintain status-quo. The industry will become stagnant.

Scenario 2: If the govt reduces the prices of new cars, the price of used-cars will also drop accordingly as they are strongly correlated. Will the glut continue? Yes.

Scenario 3: If the govt reduces the prices of new cars, the price of used-cars will also drop accordingly as they are strongly correlated. BUT if price of used-cars do not drop too much, the price-differences will not be too great. More people will trade in their used-cars and buy new cars BUT at some point, I think the glut will continue as the number of used-cars that flood the market will increase due to more trade-ins. Where do the used-cars go?

At the end of the day, where will all the used-cars go? I don't see any immediate countermeasure in place but for the long term, maybe what we need is some baby-booms. This will enlarge the market significantly in 20 years time.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:35 am

They probably think that this system would work here as it did in Japan. Problem is the value of a car in Japan is more than a house because of natural disasters therefor it is ok. Here, the value depreciates so badly plus the wages here are absurd.

I think the only reason they are doing this is to prompt people to refresh their cars so Malaysia would look very modern without old cars being on the road and also to boost the car industry "indirectly" in their favour after 10 years.

I wonder how people with classic cars can stand up to this new ruling if it was implemented.

• exdua (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:46 am

If there were to be a scrapping policy, should'nt it be based on condition rather than age? I'm sure a 15 year old well maintained honda is better than a 10 year old poorly maintained proton.

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:50 am

too much old cars in m'sian market

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:54 am

Last checked, this wasn't April 1st….

Already pointed by any sane blogger, its a bad bad idea because we lack any (if not all) of the prerequisites for this sort of policy to work.

1) Good public transportation (COUNTRY WIDE)

2) Low car prices

3) Higher PDI

I seriously pity those that buy a Kancil and spend 9 years paying it off. How about retiries with no income?

Rafidah is talking out of her A55 again.

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 3:08 am

hope the governement makes d right choice 2 benefit the rakyat. agree tat its so hard to get a car here. to get a decently specifically spec car is very hard. airbags, side airbags, traction control are like 'premium' accesorries here. true.. how bout classics? ther r so many classic cars fans out thr. even me, although i dont hav 1. and who on earth wil 'scrap' their classic cars? again, wat r 2day's cars without classics?

its my 1st comment ere. peace. ciao.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:10 am

boost sales by giving free trade and no tax

• handsfree (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:23 am

i fully support for such ideal of sracpping older car to give way to newer car… this can reduce our air polution.. and bette car.. tend to break down.. so no traffice jam……. also.. this will bring our nation economy into a higer level…

no bad. finally our G is trying to study other goods poins n apllly into our home.. but still need to do some modification….

to me. the 1st transport to scrap is those old lorry n old bus.. this is the trouble maker… also.. these belong to company who are much more effortable to buy newer bus n lorry….

so much of saying…. RM5 … not enuff..

MAA need to do some details study.. as the capacity goes up.. the rebate goes up.. or depend on car made.. german car must give face lah…. goes up…. as for korean.. car.. still need to adjust… for national car… let see wat they do…

hehe… time to clean to road…..

• man2 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:56 am

From my thinking, it is a good step (scrap a car) to reduce a car price…

We can look out after the implementation of this step…..

But this step must be followed by the good improvement in public transportation as bus, train, taxi.

So, It will be challenge to the manufacture of car to sell the car at higher price. and because of the buyer will be more, maybe the manufacture will walk together to find the way in attract a customer……it happen now in area of telecomunnication……maxis, digi and celcom….so….they come out with a new product with lower price….hopefully.

just only my thinking in this

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:09 am

alo brother,

do u think the governent REALLY GIVE A DAMN or care about our environment? look at the raping of the forest in sabah…look at the terrenganu turtles…look at the rivers…look at the DE-GAZZETTED forest reserves by greedy councillors…

the whole scrap the car idea IS NOTHING BUT A COVER BUT TO HELP PROTON..

open your eyes lah (except for close one eye)

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:12 am

My father's 1996 Alfa Rome 146 can't even sell for rm14k though….why the hell they want to scrap it?

Handsfree,

your comment is very childish and it's craps…..New car farking expensive,what else can you do other than driving sick old car?????!!!

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:13 am

old cars doesnt meant will always break down …

do u have any idea how many new or quite new proton cars that i had seen broken down along the federal highway EACH TIME I WENT OUT?

and we r only talking about the federal highway, few times per month that i pass by

have u seen the proton gen2 that BURST INTO FLAMES in the star paper?

wake up open your close one eyelah brotha

• jcws_87 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:16 am

The idea of scrapping old car is good but the G's have to do some changes…what i like to suggest is if this policy will go ahead…then the G's should abolish all exices taxes, import taxes/AP on new car and then those who car's owners who scrap their cars voluntarily should be pay Incentives as like this : the G's should give the car owner special rebate of 90% for purchasing national car, 70 -75% for CKD cars and 50% on CBU cars…for senior citizen, the G's should give new cars for free to them & incentives of cash rebate…result is every one is happy & love the G's (except for 2nd hand car dealers)…anyway, we should sarcified something for something

• ck (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:21 am

Scrapping sounds more like a scrap idea.

What about this??

1. Lower the price of car. Increase the interest to purchase a new car.

2. Reduce the interest to buy a 2nd car.

3. Car that is more than 10 years should be checked on yearly basis to ensure that it is still operational. (I just hate the black smoke…. white one even worse)

4. Gives more deduction in NCB to responsible owner. 55% where got enough for careful driver like me :)

5. Lower road tax for older car. (People would consider 2nd car).

6. Voluntary scrapping with a minimum value.

We needs the cars to survive in Malaysia. Unless u are working in a clerical/admin. areas, or stuck in the office 8 hours…. who needs a car.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:36 am

Who is the proponent of MAA and represent who in auto industry? MAA proposal is more on how to generate more biz to auto maker rather than concern with the welfare of the consumers. NAP already heavyly taxe-base auto policy rather than consumer which compel consumer to pay high taxe. And now want to propose another policy compel consumer to bear high depreciation on high price product? So if implemented, perhaps 50% or more of the average income Malaysian have to spend on car! "Good idea", applause, applause ……. ! to this greeeeeeedyyyyyyyyy monster.

Do you think they propose this policy out of concern on safety, environment, consumer's interest?????????????

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:56 am

ahahaha.. another way of forcing Proton down our throats!

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:03 am

MAA didn't realize we're in Malaysia, a third world country. MAA thinks we're like Japan or Singapore where ppl can afford cars more cheaper… They got good public transport systems while we don't hv any good ones. All various problems around. My place here in Sarawak, can say public transport is so poor… even roads are poor condition. Salary wise, my place here, u get a bachelor degree with RM1000 to RM1500 pay only. how to get a better car so easily? even a Kancil we hv to think twice as to pay HP is not easy with such ridiculously high car price with ridiculous interests by the banks. Public transport? I rather ride my bike as its more economical… RM5 to RM6 for 5 days while 1 trip bus fare cost me nealy RM1.5 already. salary? can the boss pay me higher? if can, why not. cars? scrapping off? looking at my town here, cars more than 10 yrs of age are plenty on the road with good condition. cos ppl can't afford cars with such ridiculously high prices. If all ppl are earning RM5000 a month, the scrapping policy can be implemented. or else, lower the Waja to RM2k, Vios to RM4k, then it might work. If this stupid policy is implemented, I think my town here will be full of motorbikes. only the rich ppl can drive.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:16 am

Scrapping Policy in Japan and Singapore, and in Malaysia??????

According to CIA – The World Factbook estimate, they have high GDP (PPP), Singapore = USD 28,100.00, Japan = USD 31,500.00 and for Malaysia = USD 12,100.00. Therefore, Singapore have approx 2.3 time and Japan 2.6 time. So they have high disposal income with good public transportation system that make this policy work. Japs and Sing G give their people a choice. What choice do we have?

They have well develop public transportation system like Shinkansen (Japs), good highway network, MRT Sing), etc, etc, to serve the public movement from one place to another. How good our public transport?

They implement this policy (Sing) to control car population and for Japs, they acquire new car with selling price is very low for good quality car that still have high recond value when export to 3rd country. And in the case of export to Malaysia, the recond like Toyota Harrier 4 or 5 year old can sell at higher price than original price (new) in Japan. This make it feasible for Japan to export 2nd hand car.

How this policy work in Malaysia, first at what price to sell P1 secondhand car? And which country want P1 secondhand car?

The only feasible to implement this policy is MAA to propose abolish NAP to stimulate sales of new car. If implemented, then China rebadge Sutera can sell at RM 15K, Savvy RM20K, Waja RM 35K, Lancer RM 40K, Corrola RM 50K, Civic, RM 55K, etc, etc. Then automatically most if not all of the cars, especially more than 10 year will disappear from our road.

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:24 am

no can lah brotha..

can u imagine PAYING THE CAR INSTALLMENT EVERY MONTH for the rest of your life? (replace new car and pay a new installment after 10 years)

how can the government PROTECT A SINGLE VENDOR LIKE PROTON (and make few people rich- saya tak akan biarkan proton tersungkur) BUT TROUBLE MILLIONS OF RAKYAT?

what about those low-income earners and those in kampung or rural areas?

no brain lah this governemnt

i am a BN loyalist but next GE will vote for any party as long as not BN (yes, even PAS)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:46 am

So NAP tax suck, MAA srapping slurp ………..! All RM possible from "poor & ugly" yet "dirt cheap" life on the road Malaysian motorist.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:46 am

First, it is stupid policy for scrapping 10 yrs old cars. I think it should be "Voluntary", and gov should reduce the price of the car, let the market decide the value of old and used car. This policy only works for countries has higher income, lower car price. Whatever, it will not works for us in current stage.

• viceice (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:49 am

This is pointless. The solution has been out there for AGES, it's been said so many times I'm already sick of saying it again.

SCRAP THE F*KING NEP, abolish excise and import duty on Cars and make up for it by abolishing the petrol subsidy and leaving a 5% sales tax.

This by itself will have 5 immediate benefits. It will make 1) buying a car cheaper. It will also make people actually think about their trips and burn less petrol, helping our 2)enviorment and our 3)petrol dependance at the same time. At the same time with the reduced price of cars, there will be 4)more money in the economy and less of it in the hands of greedy banks and finance companies. Finally, with the NEP gone 5)the lot of the bumis will be improved when they finally have to be productive to survive like the rest of us.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:01 am

expected. the tax policies on imported cars caused the problem. now people who get sick of problems created by buying.owning proton cars just want to get something better for themselves (new car or keep old reliable cars) also cant are fighting back by not buying proton. and they introduce this. they are trying to get you thinking that its actually about used cars and also not proton/gman related but i feel its actually more about forcing us to buy the cheapest car (to minimize loss). and in msia….which car is the cheapest? yup you guessed it.

which country in SEA country or the world wants our 10 year old junk????? its not like we're all driving skylines, porsches, bmw's,benz or ferrari's at china car prices? majority of us are gonna be forced to end up buying proton and who in the world wants second hand proton cars when even the brand new and dirt cheap protons they have there, none of them want to buy.

they'd rather have their own high quality second hand market or buy a new car than buy junk. why jeopardize thier own second hand market to buy our rubbish.

in the end…its all forcing us to buy proton. thats what i think.

cheaper cars for the msian public? thanks proton. when i mean proton i dont mean the people working for it or doing fair business with it.

we already take 10 years to pay off a proton. after paying up/maintaining the car for 10 years ,it vanishes and you get a measly rm5000. cant even buy a decent tv with that!!! on top of that you are forced to fork out another rm50K (for a cheap and lousy car that you'd have to maintain and fork out some more to fix unfixable problems) and dive furthur into debt when in another 10 years taht car also vanishes.

the only way to solve it, is to abandon proton. without proton, we can focus more on important things. full stop. at least this way you wont burden the whole nation (poor or rich). MAA's way will destroy the 2nd hand car market and pull down the well being and livelihood of just about everybody.

what about people who save and work hard to buy an expensive car taht is 9 years old. erase all thier hard work, time and money in the matter of seconds to measly rm5000 credit towards a proton or china car? outrageous!!! taht way there's no incentive to work hard and everybody gets lazy. and you can imagine the problem that generates

what happen to car lovers and collectors? and for us who view cars more than simple a means of transport. as a token of hard work and success. cars will always lose value as time goes by but it should be also something you can keep (beyond 10 years….like anything else except nuclear waste or you own faeces), not forced to throw away or hide away in a garage. its not that most of us can afford luxury yatches, wally boats , helicopters, submarines or private planes and as well as that ferrari parked outside our own privately owned luxury mansion in Aspen and go skiing in our backyard.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:19 am

We're Independent from Colonial force.But we're not independent in terms of Automotive aspect thanks to Proton our national 'pride'….

Selamat Hari Merdeka kononnya…………

IF Pak Lah really table this Scrapping Policy for budget 2007 in the parliament……I think the whole country will become chaotic…..Shameful to let people know that our country 'will' has such consequences due to PROTON….

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:21 am

Wat ???

Do u think our Malaysian very rich meh!!!

We all already suffer from buying not cheap national car for pass 10 years!!

Now they say our 10 years old car must go for scrapping…

We hardly work to pay our car for almost 10 years…then later on it will become a scrap!! Take my soul lah!!

We spend almost half of our salary just only for the car!!

If our salary RM10K per month nevermind lah!!

how many of u there has income more than rm10k per month!!!

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:39 am

I already count on my family's cars…

Almost 90% of their cars have to go for scrap!!

myself use 90's Saga, Girlfriend 2000 kenari, Brother use 90's Toyota, Eldest sister 94's Civic n her husband 96's recon Toyota, Younger Sis 2004 Kenari, n other other relatives also hav old cars….

Pls…. think again MAA….

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:47 am

damn… i wont be able to find my dream car on the roads anymore..!

a old 1986 6 series! think agian MAA…. u r killing everybody passion to own classic cars..

• Jay (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:34 am

Hey guys ! does she knows what she's talking about ? What's the problem with old car, her explanation seems pointless, i think they have no other way to find a solution other than scraping older cars ! Ridiculous.

I still prefer old cars, solid & rigid, easier to maintain and you don't really get too many RX 7s, Skyline, NSX, GTO, INspire, etc on the road…this are awesome vehicle, and they want to scrap them ! Are the nuts ?

I don't give a dam ! i love my wira. I'm not going to sell it for a long time. Do they think money is growing from the tree or she's paying our salary ? Comonlah MAA be professional.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:52 am

Be prepare to say goodbye to:

MITS EVOI,II,III

Mazda RX-7 FC, FD

Nissan 180SX, S13, S14, R32, R33

Honda EG6, CB6, DC2

TYT AE86, AE101, JZA70, ST205, SW20

VW Beetle,

Mini Cooper,

Etc….

"R.I.P"

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:50 am

its all about forcing us to buy proton lah

do u think the goverment give a damn about old cars "polluitng" the environment?

they did nothing about the haze, turtles in terrenganu, de-gazzetted forest to build more houses so can eat more money from the greedy developers

• suanie (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:35 am

i dono leh, i dono enough to give analysis, let alone provide a viable solution.

i suppose singapore can do it, they go almost everywhere it's freely assessible via public transport.. malaysia does not only comprise of KL/PJ — even then the public transport not so effective for many ppl — what about petani/peladang kecil who use old beat up cars and trucks to eke a living?

oh yah i am not supposed to be analysing

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:03 am

A total BULLS***!! If the government implement this policy, near half of the vehicles on our soil must be scrapped. In the end, the rich will look richer as these are the only group of people who can afford to by new cars. The poors? There's no way this policy will help our economy to move forward along with the globalisation. Who wants to scrap their 10 years old Harrier/S-Class/Beemers for a puny voucher? This is ridiculous! (Err…are they trying to bring back the DEAD? Read: PERWAJA).

I'm sure there are a lot of other way to help boost the sales nationwide. I do agree with some of the suggestions by our fellow commentors here. Our government really should abolish the NAP. They should be able to re-source their income. The current government think-tank seems to be losing their economic direction. Everything seems to be moving backwards. Where are we going actually?

Besides, I've just spent over RM10k for my 26 years old Toyota Starlet to bring it back into its prestine condition. New (used la) engine (1997), new bodywork, new brake system, new interior. They want me to scrap it?

OVER-MY-DEAD-BODY!!!

• kenfresh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:49 am

haiyah!

When this is implemented, it scrapes your buying power.

When you have lower buying power, more people will end up buying national car instead.

simple yet effective plan to boost up national car sales.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:29 pm

1. Before and during buying car: NAP – Protect P1 and consumer have to buy high price, low quality yet unsafe car that put Malaysian life "dirt cheap" on the road.

2. During lifecycle of car: G formulate and implement LOAN policy which easy to get, low interest and relatively long repayment period (up to 9 year) to let more people to afford cars that have to bear NAP tax.

3. Now this MAA want to propose Scrapping policy – to cut short life span of the car? Pay a measly RM 5,000 and, then later on lobby for sole agent (monopoly) to export the secondhand car, just like PJ billboard monopoly?

Walaueh …… good lol count on how to suck every single sen from the consumer from before, during and after the car life span! So implement scrapping policy and cap the scrapping after year 8 like Singapore? So, those who get 9 year loan still have to service car loan on 9th year but the car is already scrap? "Bravo, bravo ………" to MAA, good biz lobbying? Don't know will use which Datok2, Tan Sri2 to lobby for it lah ……….

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:33 pm

now they want to scrap your car becoz they want to sell more,next they want to scrap your house so they can build condo and after that they want to scrap you becoz you are old and inefficient,for an oldman like me who drive around antiq cars,not that i dun want to buy new but retired oredi no income,no loan lah,stay in oldhouse which they they going to evict me for condo project,lost my job b4 retired age due to no computer skill as i was told.spend my entired life painfully slow from scratch building up what i had today,may be little but i am contended,now!i had run out of tears to cry,but you guys must remember,one day,you get old too.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:47 pm

in us,you earn 3k a month,the new orinary car price around 15k,very good car oredi,2nd hand few hundred can drive one out immediately once you sign all papers,in malaysia,you earn 3k,waja is 60k,by compairing this you get a clear picture of how tough is it for malaysian to own and drive a car.3k to 15k,thats is 5 montrh income,3k to 60k,20 month incomes,4 times higher then us if we compair the cars price vs income,so if you insists of scraping our old cars,if singapore 8 years,malaysia should be at least 25 years old car.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:09 pm

if you are rich,dun say 8 years,every year scrap one car also no problems,but for majority of us ,especially those folks staying in rural areas,kampung ,new village,east coasts,owning and buying a car,is a life time struggle ,saving and commitment,you will notice if you make a trip to east coast kampung,where has all the SELANGOR AND WILAYAH old cars gone to? have you ever wonder?in east coast lah,this poor soul may taken their many many years of saving in order to buy a long used proton for 8k,immediately drive home,and you guys in maa announces in tv you want to scrap their cars? sitting highup and staying in pantai hills or kenny hills may view KL beautifully,and start to hallucilate the whole malaysia should look like this,we are a democratic country,decision by majority,i am very sure,if this issue will to put to nation citizen voting,results will be,maa 1 vote,citizen 24 million 9hundred 99 thousands 9hundreds and 99 votes against.i rest my case.

• acidbeast (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:11 pm

No problem ma. All malaysians should be very adept at fortune telling so can make a lot of $$$. Let me tell u what i see in my crystal ball…..

Some smartass official will comment that cars in m'sia is still cheaper than a lot of countries. Just like when comparing prices of anything, our unfortunate neighbour Singapore will get dragged in. A Nissan Sentra in Sg will cost ard SGD 46k (approx RM106k). In Msia its sub 100k. So still cheaper what. Problem is, those smartasses often forget that we don't live under coconut trees anymore. They bank their hope that no one in this country would have enough functioning brain cells to know that an average blue collar worker in msia earns RM2k a mth but the same joe blow in Sg earns >SGD2k a month…and not SGD 1k.

My crystal ball also tells me these collection of smartasses don't talk to each other much. They also don't read the news because its bad for their soul apparently. So maybe they need a reminder that this brilliant car scrapping somewhat contradicts the recent hanky panky involving a certain richer state government. If the state govt needs alms to build pedestrian bridges, how can the people afford new cars?

It'll be interesting to see what kind of budget these nimwits will be tabling in a month. I think its about time i drag my lazy ass off the couch and perform the most basic democratic function…..register as a voter for the next election & vote. In the meantime, i suppose we hope la……..what else?

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Painful sutuation: most finance companies offers 9 year loans and by the 10th year you scrap your car for RM5k. What a load of bullocks!

I guess this lady Datuk should listen to herself talk. Typical of them, talk first then think!

• alittlesmarter (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Another barely disguised 'get rich quick' scheme…wonder what the whole point of them shoving down 'Pendidikan Moral' our throats?

In my opinion this is a very short sighted 'idea'. What would happen if you imposed such a policy on our nation?

The average police officers wage is ~RM800-2000 per month. Since car prices are artificially high, and already barely affordable – what do you think the outcome will be when a compulsory scrap program will be in place? Do you think that:

(a) Every other person in Malaysia will be happy, corruption will be reduced, domestic consumption will increase, inflation will stabilize

(b) A few 'connected' people in the auto industry (mind you the workers are poorly paid too) will get filthy rich quick, inflation will go up the wall, corruption will rise(since its the only real way for most people to keep their 7-9 year loaned cars)

(c) Nothing changes?

All I can say is – if I were the average citizen(goverment officer) in Malaysia – stuck with a 9 year car loan, about to be forced to scrap my car, with a salary that barely covers the cost of living, that 'rasuah' looks increasingly like my only option.

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:29 pm

yup, it's all about proton…proton needs to be protected for the rest of our life….proton will continuously supply us with their overpriced and no-value-after-5-year cars (why wait for 10 years? a mamak's LCD TV will cost more than a proton by then)….proton wants to see every single road in malaysia congested with their cars….

dun really understand why the government cant even see the real reason of a stagnant car market here….

number one: proton and other 'national cars' need to be protected, which will lead to,

number two: an increase in the tariff and non-tariff barriers of any imported cars, be them as CKDs or CBUs,

number three: which has effectively sent the prices of these cars skyrocketing to the high heaven,

number four: proton cars are priced SLIGHTLY lower than the imported ones, so that it wont affect their already HUGE margin of profits (plastic made dashboard, non functioning power window, no ABS or airbags etc —>priced for rm 70000….good lord, they really know how to make money),

number five: NORMAL people of Bolehland have little money to be spent on cars, hencemthey have to resort to their old proton or non proton cars,

number six: therefore, nobody wants to buy new cars….

as simple as that….even an average joe can see what's extremely wrong with our automative industry….

all in all, the solution to this no-need-an-einstein-problem is quite obvious, dont u think?

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:32 pm

just abolish all taxes..!!!

then sales sure up 1,000,000,000 % ..!!!!

easy ;)

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Ermm.. I ve mentioned b4 about this scrap policy.. this is the worst i ve expected… they musti cari jalan cutting our throat!!… scrap policy??.. yeah rite, but scrap NAP 1st!!!!… no way they can do it in this short period, but since someone stupid has mentioned it, it may become reality someday!!!.. I never like Datuk Aisyah in the 1st place!!.. always talk craps.. slalu cakap our auto industry doin fine, so why need scarp policy???.. cakap selalu bohong!! inilah cakap org politik!!.. cakap tak serupa bikin!! Geram betul!!…

ps: Hati saya cukup sakit, better I stop now..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:13 pm

no brain lah this governemnt

i am a BN loyalist but next GE will vote for any party as long as not BN (yes, even PAS)

me too, if the people have too much power they will abuse it, and people will suffer no check and balance.

a landslide victory by BN means tsunami,earthquake, natural disaster too rakyat…only 3 months left for RM1.92 per liter fuel….OMG

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:32 pm

Hmmm….looks like another scheme to boost sales of national cars.

In order for the Government to implement car scrapping policy, it needs to really improve the current public transportation system not only in KL but throughout Malaysia including Sabah and Sarawak. A difficult and enormous task to tackle that I agree, but for a car scrapping policy to work, an efficient, effective, practical and affordable public transportation system must put in place first. If you can't do that, just bring down the prices of all cars so that it would be very cheap for motorists to own and scrap it after X number of years.

• bikerwannabe (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:50 pm

Sorry, but if I read the article correctly, it is the Federation of Motor and Credit Companies Association of Malaysia that propose the car scraping policy. The article quoted its president, Datuk Tony Khor.

Nevertheless, I do agree with most of the comments above. Its not a bad idea, but not in Malaysia, at least not at this time. My >10year old BMW has better technology, better performance, better built quality than any new P1 or P2 cars. Period. To trade it in for RM5,000?? You've gotta be kidding.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:50 pm

Why do Jackasses like these always came up with these stupid ideas? Oh, it's so easy to regard all cars into a "10 Year Old" gap. I don't believe my Audi A4 1.8T which is a 97 make, wouldn't beat a 2006 Waja Campro all round. They gonna scrap a car which is better than a 2006 Malaysian made? Might as well scrap that as well. And oh, all Audis had galvanised steel which is warrant 12 years by Audi and at least would last a good 18-20 years before rusting !

I think all we had to do to stop all these nonscence is to not vote for UMNO / MCA / MIC. The government is rotting here, they've been in place too long. Sorry for Abdullah, but i do think he's good, just that there were too much of Mahathir's shit and his old konco konco were still around. We want a new government, oh sorry, Khairi's out…. he's an extremist.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:03 pm

Ohh.. forgot to add…

with scrap policy, car dealers oso boleh tutup kedai, most of their cars up to 7 years old, re-con AP holders oso boleh tutup kedai, any cars bisness relate with re-con, used, imported mesti kena punya.. I warn Datuk AishahMAA.. keep ur stink mouth shut!!… I oredi willing to pay quite sum of money for my new toyota (ED tax & all the stupid taxes).. don't take my right to use my car as long as I want!!!.. I will protest!!.. don't u (gov) ever think about it.. don't burden the people with more stupid policies!!!

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:09 pm

NOBODY IS GOING TO SCRAP MY WIRA! @#$%

This is my property, why they want to scrap my property? Just because the national car makers losing sales?? WTF the logic is this?

If have to check car every year after 10th years, extra lubang for the authority to cari makan. If have to do ANYTHING ELSE other then paying roadtax after 10th years = rakyat will loss more, more will makan kopi.

Car scrapping business = extra income for the big auto crocodiles.

Car scrapping business = big huge gigantic delicious piece of scrapping metal pie for the cronies.

Car scrapping business = forcing down a bigger piece of junk metal into rakyat throat and making them poorer.

Car scrapping business = rakyat have to pay installment for life! aka pay cronies, pay AP kings, pay tax, pay for nothing!

Car scrapping business = more people unable to affort car!

Car scrapping business = immediately kill the 2nd car market.

Export old car = even new car also nobody buy, old car got people buy? Insulting both the inteligence of rakyat and foreigner.

Export old car = export the cars so they can be scrapped in oversea?

Export old car = to foreign museum?

Export old car = better export scrap metal.

Export old car = to foreign vehicle crash test center?

Export old car = to foreign monster truck competition.

Export old car = rakyat forced to drive outdated junk but remember, people out there have CHOICES.

RM5,000 voucher = even a begger can earn more then that.

RM5,000 voucher = insulting rakyat inteligence and value.

RM5,000 voucher = because we f##king don't have any choice, something is better then nothing.

RM5,000 voucher = rediculous amount of subsidy that is not even enough to pay for the high bank loan interest.

RM5,000 voucher = and not allow to exchange for cash means we must continue paying car installment until we no longer breathing.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Both these FAT women are a bane to an open, progressive, competitive and consumers-friendly automotive industry.

Let's just wait for the upcoming 'Bajet 2007' reading…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Lets look at the 'bright' side how we can make use of this 'brilliant' policy:

– 2nd car value will be sunk to bottom at the mid term and onward.

– new cars price will be rocketed due to higher demand

– people will be unable to affort new cars

– people will try to make use of RM5,000 vouchers

I can buy a 7 years old 2nd hand car with minimal(with a few months to 3 years loan) debt. Not bad. At least I can drive it for 3 years, and then will get a 5k voucher and buy another 7 years old 2nd hand car. I can even profit with this policy.

And say "NO" to new cars!

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:39 pm

rexis,

well said!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Paul can u do some research and publish Malaysian income distribution? I think majority of households living under RM2500 per month!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:46 pm

A lot of industry people forget about the fundamentals. Some are just trying their best to abuse the real situation. 3 weeks ago Aishah says a drop of 6% is nothing to worried about. Now she's correcting herself. The 2nd hand car dealers want to sell our cars to Africa at a higher price.

No body wants to say that INFLATION is causing the slide in sales. Added to that is the fact that local finance instituition will be facing an open market with the liberalisation of the service sector. They have to get good paymasters. Bad credit reduces these companies bottom line. Plus the high cost of ownership. Take out the capital expendixture on a car and 1st on the list would be Petrol prices. That is the real reason for sales drop.

Scrapping does not deal with these two issues. But bank and finances will see that when credit growth is reduced and the time when foreign banks come in, they don't have enough capital (monetary AND speciality) to compete.

If the VOLUNTARY scrapping scheme is to provide just RM5k. Then, I would argue for a cheaper engine/brake swap then a new car. Cause a new car increases your financial burden.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:06 pm

Industry players trying their best to abuse the system, we common people dont know how to dig a better hole? Eventually the people will have to find the best solution to reduce our already heavy financial burden and the market will self adjust to the real situation.

The best solution be buying the cheapest 2nd hand car or buying a brand new motorbike! And WE WILL TRY OUR BEST to advoid anything expensive like NEW CARS.

c|:) pirate

• dawgHause (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:16 pm

this is a daft idea.

First of all Singapore does this kind of policy to keep their small auto market active. And because they live in such a small island, they have to keep the population of privately owned vehicles at a level.

Places like Europe enforce such laws because of their strict emissions and environmental regulations. Old cars' engines detioriate over time and so will the emissions increase.

Say if we were to implement the 'Singaporean' reason of space, come on, don't be stupid. Malaysia is hundred times larger than Singapore, ever wonder why they come to Malaysia, to speed and gamble. So the whole idea is to keep the local car market active for Proton. Which doesn't sound too bad because if we look from a European prespective.

The 'European' reason of environmental reason sounds fine, but Protons are using engine technology which is dated to the stone age, so in other words they are worse pollutants than a coal power plant. Which makes the whole policy a good idea after all, scrap protons.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:19 pm

dawgHause, I agreed on your points. Our national car technology is already so dated, there is nothing about environmental AND safety issue here, only purely business sense.

And if everyone using my method to buy cheap 2nd hand car with the RM5000 voucher, trust me, they will come out a "can only buy new car from appointed dealer with RM5k voucher" suggestion in no time.

• Game-R (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:11 pm

I've never believed those conspiracy stories about secret societies trying to shape a One World Governement, bent on controlling society and everything in their lives … until I found out about this "scheme".

Oh dear, what should we do?

I know!!

Lets sell our reliable and unique 20 year old classic cars away for a measely RM5,000!

Sell off our apartment and sleep on the streets!!

Live off a bank dept that would take 2 generations to pay off!!!

Then go to the Proton showroom and buy ourselves a new car (with 20 year old technology), which would most likely breakdown in a few months and continue to live the rest of our lives working like a dog to pay for its servicing!!!

HELLO !?!?!?!?

If there is a problem with the local car industry, then FIX THE INDUSTRY, not its consumers!!!

Why do you think people are so eager to drive antique 60 year old Volkswagens than get a Proton?

Why is there a massive car import industry?

Why do people drool at the thought of a EVO, STi, BMW or the Tri-Star logo … but not even blink when either a Proton or Perodua is offered to them?

About 3/4 of the population know the problem with the local car industry, but the idiotic 1/4 who couldn't even find their own bum with both hands, end up with the CEO titles!!

So like immature children, rather than take the blame for their own incompetence, they point their finger … AT US!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:12 pm

Grrrghhh… woa.. I am still burning… why they r so stupid one… there r 1001 other reasons why auto industry so slow.. ecomonic conditions, fuel price hike, interest rates, strict loan approval,outdated models, NAP, increasing cost of living, decreasing FDI, decreasing tax collection, high NPL, global instability, wars,bla-bla… why they think with this policy things could be better?? boleh bikin the world a better place to live? can improve our country's economy as a whole? Kiss my a##….

if they fail to understand this, then the gov sure will fail in many other issues in the future oso.. if the insist doin so, for auto fans out there.. all hell will brake loose… this one I gurantee….

ps: May be they are just playing stupid, to be damn greedy!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:21 pm

Game-R.. agreed with u, but Datuk Aishah is a she (lady)… and she should step down as MAA's president after making this stupid proposal, since playing retarded is so unacceptable… (for me la…)

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:25 pm

That suggestion from MAA is pointless. If we are probing into the detail of the Singapore scenario, we can have a better view how this system can work over there but a bit difficult here.

We have to separate the value from the selling price into two categories: COE value and car value; so that is easier to calculate the depreciating value over time. In Malaysia case we replace the COE value as duty value. Duty value is very simple to calculate so I discuss it first. We can use the straight line approach to calculate it. The duty value should have ten years life span and is depreciating 10 % each year. If over 10 years then its life span expired and no value after all. The car value is also simple to calculate, just let the market to decide, which include international market value as well. If the local market can’t offer a better value then export it as if we can get better value after all and won’t let the local used car dealers to control the price.

I just use Honda Jazz as an example to illustrate my point.

Selling price in Malaysia is RM100454

Selling Price in Langkawi is RM65573

The selling price in Langkawi should be our car value. The different of RM34881 should be considered as our duty value. The duty value should inclusive of all kind of taxes and AP.

The duty value should depreciate at Rm3488 each year. So if u sold your car after 5 years, you should get the refund of RM 17440 from the duty value side. You can either use the money to pay for your loan settlement or down payment for new car. It even not includes the money from the car value side after you sold your car. I hope all of you can see my point over here.

Of course every system also had side effects whether is pros or cons. Here are some points which I think we should be considered. This system will only favor those with HIGH disposable income. Some in the forum have point out that we can’t keep carry on paying installment for our car no matter is in favor or not favor to do so. We need to save our money for other obligation we have. Only car with INTERNATIONAL market can be favor from this system. I don’t think international buyers are keen to buy local brand. This system only favors import and not doing any help to our local brand. Implementing it without any distortion and corruption is another issue. That’s why this system only applicable to CERTAIN country and may not be suitable to MALAYSIA.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:58 pm

yeah ckengyo, u are correct, the system is not applicable here, in NAPland… furthermore if follow the international market, p1 dah lama mampos!!!.. this is the problem, the gov still want NAP, & now want scrap policy??.. that is too much!!!.. melampau ni… like malays saying, "Dah bagi betis, nak peha pula!!!" Grrrghh… geram nih, I may turn into Incredible Hulk…

ps: Here my suggestion, no scrap policy, but can open more car junk yard bisnes, & give incentives (for instance min RM1500 / car) to those who wants to scrap their cars voluntarily, so people can scrap cars, like tiara…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:59 pm

I meant cash incentives…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:34 pm

DONT FORCE ME TO SCRAP MY CAR, enuf said.

• mithos (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:43 pm

I think it would be political suicide to force-scrap vehicles more than 10 yrs old. There's tons of them on the road and not everyone can afford

new cars these days. It'll probably be a voluntary thing but I don't see what 5K will help for. Maybe they should let ppl buy motorbikes with it instead. They're "national vehicles" too right :)

I'm sick and tired of ppl like MAA going around lobbying for rules that benefit their members. It's about time consumers like us have some kind of association representing the hard-working and tax-paying rakyat. Yea, we have so-called "wakil rakyat's" but I've given up on our politicians doing anything to help us out. They only turun padang when elections are around the corner.

Paul, bloggers like you and Chips should take the lead in some kind of consumer rights movement looking out for the Malaysian car buyers. What says you?

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:57 pm

it will never happen.. i'm pretty sure it will be voluntary.

• quest (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:01 pm

I have a 12 year old Mitsubishi Galant which in in great condition. Gives me pleasure everytime I drive it. Heck, scrap it for 5K? BS!!

So we have to end up buying more P1s from them. Heck, my power windows still work like new. Try that in a P1.

• familyman (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:11 pm

Datuk Aishah Ahmad… is she even living in m'sia.? Stupid lah, people here don't work to buy car. We buy car so that we can go work.

What crap coming out of her! i'm taking a 9 years loan, then on the 10th year scrap my car!!

Maybe the scrap policy should apply to only those with Datuk title instead!

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:17 pm

if this 'scrapping' policy were really going to take place, i wonder how would the enforcement be implemented….is the government really going to search everyone's backyard trying to find a 10 year-old car to be disposed?

malaysia is soooooooooo famous for its lack of/ weak enforcement….adding another law in malaysia is just reinforced the notion that laws are meant to be broken here…

by having this kind of scrapping regulations, the government has left itself open to mockery and ridicule. dont u agree?

perhaps later karam singh walia will have to get his hands dirty again by going from house to house searching for those 'ignorant who are pretty much reluctant to scrap their 10-year-old junk'.

but then again, if we somehow got caught for ''possessing an illegal buruk oledi car'', we can always ask the officer to ''tutup sebelah mata'', can't we?

it's soo obvious the reason behind the current sluggish automative market, but for some obvious reasons too, they keep on deterring themselves from addressing it.

maybe when those policy makers up there are forced out of their fancy, posh cars (and be substituted by proton cars), then only they will understand our outcry here.

• handsfree (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:43 pm

hi guys…

look like alot of ppl here are supporting the idea of scarpping car…

also alot of us is worries about our old car…… blah blah..

in general.. we malaysia can do our own matter of scrapping car….

if japan n singapore can do it.. y cant we… since malaysia alway say BOLEH…..

i suggest public transport MUST LEAD 1ST…..

ANYWAY… FOR THOSE WHO STAY IN KL OR JB OR PENANG… …. WHO ENJOY TRAFFIC JAM.. OR WHO ENJOY BEEN BLOCK BY OLDER N SLOW CAR…

ANY ONE.. WANNA GOT ANY COMMENTS…

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:43 pm

Sigh, I will risk getting my post edited or deleted again. There's obviously only one thing you can do. It comes about every 4 years approximately*.

* It's not the World Cup.

• Deodorant (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:44 pm

Random unrelated comment: I used to play an online game with Japanese people, and apparently they consider "JAP" rather rude, preferring "JP."

Random, half-related comment: I bought my Savvy for RM42,888 exactly a year ago. It's worth a whopping RM32,000 now. That's about RM900 per month in DEPRECIATION alone (25% per year).

• Deodorant (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Ugh, accidentally posted before finishing my comment.

Anyway, If I lose 25% of my car value per year, then by the 10th year it will be worth about RM2,500 … suddenly the RM5,000 voucher for scrapping the car doesn't seem THAT bad a deal!

:P

• goingberserk (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 12:46 am

Datuk Aishah Ahmad, Eat s@#@!!! lah

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 12:49 am

sorry 2 hear that Deodorant. but i think u r depreciating majority on the car price only.

my neo is Rm51800 H line (m). u known how much it cos in Langkawi. Rm 47200 from eon web side. so the tax is only 4600. over here the price still consider attractive if compare 2 non national. but in langkawi is different story.

a city vtec is only Rm52637. proton site dont even dare 2 disclose the price. n pm say he wont let p1 fail. the p1 doing so bad that it even stop p2 2 launch new model in 2006. analysis predict that, p2 new men promise 2 bring a new model every year & myvi is 2005 new model, the 2006 model should b kembara replacement model. if u look at the donor car u know how go it is. if p2 really launch the new model n i think p1 will do worth then that. i was waiting 4 the krm b4 i bought the neo, but after got the news that krm postpone so no choice. http://www.eon.com.my/images/default/articles/114…

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:37 am

Hummm No way goverment going to scarp my nissan 130Y, even is already 15year old, is the most reliable i ever driven, i had it with me for 7 yr only break down once cos i forget to put the water. Even more reliable then P1 car all model, consumption 400KM + one tank, rememeber this is OOOoooLD car, much much better then any P1 .

Goverment should lower the price of car ( by reducing duty ) imagine on average u save RM 40-50K for a sub 100K car. Then u i dun mind goverment abolish pertol subsidy also, Imagine 40-50K petrol -even at RM 3 a liter still can used fill up my tank for decade or moreee

• dawgHause (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 2:49 am

yea man dav.kk the 130Y as annoying as it is as a driver's car it can sure outlast the human race. Loved that car, a lot more economical and safer than a Proton. Its such a sad thing, especially since my dad has a collection of classic mercerdes from the 70s. I would sure beat the living **** of the government if they think they can nick those cars for a measely 5k. I wonder if they will nick the Sultan's classic 600 Pulman.

Come on Malaysia, grow a brain, pay your common sense bill. A giant corporation like Proton can brag all they want about owning Lotus, and go whining to the government and hide between their legs when they find a new problem with the market. Whats this all about, stop being a whining litte *****, and stop thinking that you have big cahones Proton, and buck up.

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:00 am

yep the nissan 130y is a reliable classic..my dad used to drive one, still see this model very often : )

mycarstolen, the problem is, NOT MANY RAKYAT has access to the internet and learn the dirty truth about the government…i want to puke when i read the star and NST and MALAYMAIL HEADLINES everyday, there ARE JUST LIKE AN ADVERTISMENT to praise the BN government!!

only the star dares to write something about the local corrupt MPBJ and MPSJ…

the local dailies all CLOSE ONE EYE to the scandals (SCOMI, khairy ecm-libra, close-one eye MP, 490 million sports complex, PROTON SCANDAL REPORT BY THE EDGE blablabla)

question, how r the government GOING TO ENFORCE THE LAW? u mean r they like GOING TO CHECK EVERY HOUSE FOR HIDDEN OLD CARS???????? and if the owner refused to hand over the car, the BANDARAYA is going to "shoot" or "hammer and smash" the car to pieces? (like the shooting of the 13 dogs)

this government is really a joke…honestly i had NEVER BOTHER to vote before, supports BN all my life but now i cannot wait for the next GE…

this present government IS REALLY A BIG JOKE…we r becoming the laughing stock of the whole world…incompetent people are put into the highest positions maybe thats why we always see such wastage everyday (latest- multimillion bailout of langkawi tour)

also speaking about "patriotic" proton wont even put an airbag into its cars, sure could had saved many lives..

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:06 am

lagi, suka suka buat policy baru, bikin olang rugi berjuta2…haiya talak otak semua..mr bean PUN KALAH LA

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:11 am

I think I am ok if the car scrapping policies says car over 20 years must scrap. If car is a collectible, the higher road tax or maybe keep the car in the garage. I have really seen real junks on the road.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:18 am

If really implement scrapping policy, then there must be examption.

Luxury car like Mercs, BMW, Volvo, Audi, Rollsroyce that belong to Datok2. Datin2, TanSri2, Tun, Sultan, VVIP, VIP etc will be exempted from this policy?

This is because x boleh sentuh VIP. Only scrap low class car belong to rakyat to compel them to buy new P1 car.

Money money money aways money, in the rich man place!

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:33 am

mr tong sam pah: you mentioned how the government will enforce scrapping. very easy. just dont allow cars over x years to renew their road tax.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:42 am

this will also force middle and middle upper class people to buy cars so the rich can get richer. they still can afford labos, ferraris, mercs, porsches coz the lower class pays for it they dont spend money on cars. and dont forget, they also have helicopters and private jets at disposal.

public transport, environmental issues should not be brought in. as having a car is a basic right of anybody and that includes lower economic classes who should be given chance of an affordable car.

dont forget other countries the people can afford to buy a good quality car or two outright with just one years pay (from working) after tax. thats totally different from msia. and dont compare msians with third world countries like congo

• altis_fan (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:16 am

Instead of scrapping old car, the policy maker should be scrapped. The price of new car is around 20X of local engineer monthly salaries. Compare to US, the car price is about 2X of their monthly Engineer salary, so no big deal to scrap old car there. Just for the sake to make sure car manufacturer can sell their car, and no thinking of rakyat jelata. This type of policy maker must be scraped !

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:48 am

altis_fan said,

The price of new car is around 20X of local engineer monthly salaries.

Then, the price of new car is around 200X of normal clerk monthly salaries.

And the price of new car is around 2000X of kampung folks monthly income loh!!.

We are 3rd world country. not like US or Japan!!

Whole rakyat malaysia will paying their installment for P1 & P2 for their whole life!!

Scrap their factory, scrap the no brain politicians 1st !! B'cause of these politicians, whole rakyat become burden & suffer until to dead…

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:49 pm

paul, since u'r one of the columnists in the new straits times, why dont u write something regarding this scrapping policy in your next post…it'd totally fruitless if we just bising2 here without the particular party noticing it….there r a couple of interesting ideas here to be brought forward really…it'd be a disaster if this policy is really going to take place…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:43 pm

Datuk Aishah,

With the support from people that will be affected from ur stupid proposal, here, in this blog, I curse u, I condemn u in this life and after life.. may u and ur family live and die in misery, if we all wud be burden with this policy.. if it becomes reality…

Amin….

ps: Paul, pls don't censor my pray.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:14 pm

Ahh? Paul is a columnist in NST? Which day can I read paul's post? Gotta try reading NSTP now :D

• Ricc (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:29 pm

Easy la.. wanna scrap old cars? Learn from Japan/Sin.. Improve the lousy public transpotation. Removed the bladdy taxes/duties/AP and etc etc that make new cars unaffordable. When the rakyats afford to buy new car, they're willing to scrap new car.. as simple as that.

Wut makes they think that we're willing to scrap our, said Toyota Corolla AE, which is 10 years old but condition is better than a 5 yrs old waja?

• weili (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 10:03 pm

Only 5K for any 10 years old car????Wat type of policy is that??Just ask those YB lah if they want to scrap their more that 500K's RR for 5K inorder to get them a so called NEW CAR????What a STUPID idea!!!!!

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Let all of US combine power hold our intention to sell or buy car for another 6 months, while we all agianst the scarrping policy…….market is based one demand and supply. We all unite to reduce the demand and force the market to normalise to what customer want and not what goverment and P1 want…

LET UNITE……THE POWER OF CONSUMER

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Yeah true.. but nanti dulu… relax-relax… that is what MAA wants, gov belum decide yet… I hope the gov not stupid enuf to approve it, our current NAP is good enuf for them oredi.. btw GE is around the corner.. big mistake la, even if it on our PM's mind.. but as for now we may take serious condemn or action to MAA, especially the damn president for bringing this out of question, stupid and nonsense proposal… not in Malaysia….

ps: if they ve scrap policy in indonesia, people riot oredi, go berserk, kill & burn… but msian are very polite, but don't try our limit….

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 11:05 pm

In Bolehland everything bolehlah because lawmakers all close one eye. And what car they all want to drive? Masterpiece also pandang suwey, (SLK only can open that "closed one eye") want to force us to scrap our cars for 5K? Ask Mrs 30% to scrap her own cars for 5K lah, or "close one eye" MP to scrap his Merces for 5K first.Leadership be example mah.

But as it is in Bolehlah land, we may have to wait for Hell to freeze over before that happens.

Want to hear some proactive remarks rather than truths about our Bolehland?

Okay whatabout selling Iswara for less than 20K ringgits? Impossible? Many of you may not know, our Iswara is sold in Irag (post saddam ear) for USD5K only. Minus all shipping, handling etc etc ect it MUST cost less than 20K back home in Bolehland! Or our Kelisa at cheaper that 33K ringgits? It's being sold in Uk for only GBP4842……

China cars, around MYR10k only for a family sedan.

So how much MAA Datin got paid to open her big fat mouth plus close both her eyes and ears?

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 11:16 pm

Dear Motorhead, so right in Bolehland people all Bolehlah,so submissive, so the lawmakers,Mrs 30% ministers, Close One Eye MPs all can cari good makan and drive around in SLKs, 7Series while we Bolehlah people forced to buy inferior,nasty,lousy protons which were made in a jungle clearing…..

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 11:25 pm

I think more 90% of the whole world still has no scrap policy, only a few have the policy due to some serious problems like serious pollution, small countries, highly develope or population & etc… and from what I know, there are no under developed countries have this policy yet, correct me if I am wrong.. and there are still many other developed countries don't have this policy…furthermore msia is still under population.. baru 26++ millions people… so what is the strong reason to have this damn policy? help our auto industry??… Kiss my a##!!!

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 12:07 am

IMO, this policy won't see the light of day. It is too extreme. The gov won't dare to implement it.

Bear in mind, we the people cannot close one eye anymore with all these stupid gov policies looming around. Do the right thing.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:26 am

yea you tell'em motorhead!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:15 pm

Yes, I will make complain as many as I can to NGOs and political parties & make sure they wouldn't dare even to ask about it.. not at least another 50 years.. more scrap business & facilities is ok, but not by force using scrap policy…

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:13 pm

I am goddamn sure this is a trick by Mrs 30% Minister and her Close One Eye Mp Buddies to help save P1,P2 whatever survive post AFTA 2010. Just think, to implement this policy will take a few years and after the first few years of little and futile protests, they(Mrs 30% Minister and her COE Mp Buddies) are sure that the submissive Bolehland people will just bend down over and take one right up their arse.

Then come 2010, when the scrap policy is in place,I am also godddamn sure another condition will be in place which is scrap your car for 5K ringgits rebate for only Proton and Perodua, but if you want to scrap your car and buy anything else you get the value of your car by timbang kati. I also guarandamntee you that when this policy is in place, P1,P2 will increase price by 5K ringgits minimum to offset the "undying" demand for our lousy,nasty,inferior,expensive but cheap quality cars manufactured in a jungle clearing.

So by this cleverly devised plan,P1,P2, Mrs 30% Minister and COE Mps can get richer and richer,whilst we get screwed and screwed.

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:18 pm

Oh yeah I also wonder how many % this MAA datin gets by proposing this dumbassed policy for the G. The G cant propose, people will (maybe only) protest. So they paid off or promised some % to some greedy unprofessional association head to propose to the G, then accept the proposal with the excuse that the proposal is from the Bolehland people and as the G is "ever listening" to the rakyat, the G shall accept with a heavy heart this dumbassed car scrapping proposal.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:18 pm

show that how far thosePPL will go in order to squeeze the consumer,average joe,kampung folks,wages earner,gornverment servants,army,polis,for $$$,in order to satisfy their personal greed and gain totally without consideration for others,SELFISH,INCONSIDERATE,IGNORNANCE are kind words oredi to discribe them,buy the way,that aishah oredi more then 8 years in MAA,its time to scrap her too!in accordance to her own policy!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:38 pm

UK got this damned policy ka?(saw Mr. Bean's cars still on the road), Msia is even bigger than UK.. what about Brunei (its a small country)? Thai? high population, India? China? Russia? France? US?

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 5:01 pm

still remember those year when DBKL trying to evict those illegal wooden houses build on kerajaan or TNB land,even with FRU,POLIS,AND DBKL personnel enforcing the eviction,a lot of poor soul tie themself to their house pillars and refuse to evict,if they want to scrap my car manatory,i will losk myself inside and refuse to come out even at the scrapyard hydraulic cracher coming down on me,car go,I go!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 7:59 pm

Malaysia Aut Industry Scenario: –

Pricing and selling stage – Put NAP in place to suck consumer.

Possesion and usage stage – Put in financial mechanism with long repayment period to make monthly installment lowest possible to attract consumer and lock in sale. Have to service the loan that include interest charges and the crappy tax.

Scrapping proposal – want to limit the lifaspan of the car on the road so that to create new and predictable demand for new car! See how good the mechanism put in place to suck every RM from the Rakyat for the full cycle of car ownership? For G, the scraping policy is design to seal the last "escape route" available to consumer in this auto industry.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 9:01 pm

oranglulu,

they dont ve to crush u with ur car but they'll refuse to renew ur roadtax, u still can keep ur car, but keep it at ur backyard la.. or keep driving it without roadtax, be a daredevil or keep paying summons…

ps:poor msians….

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 11:08 pm

ialah,motorhead,uncle too old to think of this,hehe,I dun had to die with my car lah,but no roadtax,park at home,still slow and painful dead,and uncle got no time,no energy,no money to fight back,at least with the blessing of Paultan,uncle can release a bit of tension over the net.thanks,paul,thanks motorhead.

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 3:42 am

I say, let us people have our own say what we want to do with our cars and not let Mrs 30% Minister and her Close One Eye Minister buddies to cheat fleece and con us. let P1 rot in hell for all I care,why should we be made to breast feed somebody elses 20 year old baby with our blood for? If it is not competitive let it die out. let the rule of nature take its place

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 8:34 pm

oranglulu,

Uncle, don worry, we will fight for u, all of us will.. still many young guns out there…

orangbalu.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:21 am

motorhead, our G now try to create two distinct strata of society: –

"POOR AND UGLY" VS "RICH AND FAMOUS"!

If this scrapping policy is implemented, then it will make the above more obvious!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:55 am

Yeah u rite bro.. call for Robin Hood!!!!

Anyone wants to be Robin Hood??

ps: me?.. Robin Motorhood, will fight car scrap policy with my foul mouth.. beware Datuk Aishah!!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:59 pm

stanleyshyeoh said,

August 23, 2006 @ 3:43 pm

Sigh, I will risk getting my post edited or deleted again. There’s obviously only one thing you can do. It comes about every 4 years approximately*.

* It’s not the World Cup.

well understood….

• ryanchong (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 9:13 am

Hm…Only a few months of car sales drop, and they start to have funny ideas on our hard earned money again. You will be surprised that these funny ideas came from rich people, most of them have high incomes and some even have the title of TanSri or Datuk. I am not sure about their intentions but they do sound like blood sucker to me. Prices of car in Malaysia is priced so high and our income is so low that until now they offer the loan repayment of 7-9 years… imagine, once you paid all your car loan, u need to scrap your car and get a new one, and then no one bother to improve our public transportation. I had been to Australia, Hong Kong, China, Singapore and stayed at Japan for 3 years. These countries have a very advance transportation system, some of the countries, their prices of cars are much much more cheaper then Malaysia and their income is much much more higher then us, and still, not all of these countries scrap 10 years car. I do hope that our top brass, before coming up any funny ideas to earn more from their own people, please at least goto observe other countries policies and understand why they implemented (and not) about certain policies. I understand all people wants to earn more, but please, at least come up with some logic explaination. Malaysians are not 100% idiot.

• they just need to make the cash for clunkers a annual thing three months out of the year and give dealerships the money for taking cars that are ten years or older and gas hogs like they did this year not cornering you in a market of just brand new cars that not everyone can afford, but also have preowned that are only 5 yrs old or so giving people the chance to trade it in after the ten year for the full rebate.

• kuen bin ku on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:19 pm

what to do the idoit gomen