Chery JV develops hydrogen fuel cell car

cheryqq450.jpg

Chery Automobile Co., Ltd, J&K Technologies Inc and Tsinghua University has developed a hydrogen fuel cell car which can reach a top speed of 80 km/h and like a traditional hydrogen fuel cell vehicle, emits no exhaust fumes other than water vapor.

The joint venture has announced that the car was developed entirely on their own, and China now has fully independent intellectual property rights to a fuel cell vehicle. But then again, considering Chery’s definition of intellectual property… hmm.

Think we’ll be seeing a fuel cell Chery QQ soon?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 4:05 pm

The issue is NOT whether a company has developed a Fuel Cell car but whether a company has made a Fuel Cell car ready for production.

Many Manufacturers have already had Fuel Cell prototypes such has Honda's FCX and the fuel cell powered Mercedes A Class many years ago.

How Cherry can claim to be the first auto manufacturer to "develop" a fuel cell car is beyond me.

Developing a fuel cell car is not something difficult. We had access to that technology 20 odd years. The major problem is not the vehicle. The problem lies with the fueling infrastructure. See any Hydrogen refilling stations around? Chances are if anything, the fuel cell would be powered by methonol instead of pure Hydrogen due to handling problems.

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Totally agree with 4G63T DSM that the problem with hydrogen fuel cell vehicles lies in the supply and availability of hydrogen. Just take an example of NGV vehicles in Malaysia, how many NGV equipped stations are there around? Besides that, supply of Hydrogen might be monopolized by certain parties again causing limited availability.

One more thing, just a word of caution to everyone. There are conmen out there trying to solicitates funds from its potential victims claiming to be able to develop some form of proprietary Hydrogen generation method used as fuel for fuel cell. So just be careful when you and your friends are approaches by anyone claiming to be able to generate hydrogen for fuel cells in a commercially viable manner.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 5:41 pm

not bad for china but they should not be too proud of their ahievement and make empty claims. after all, fuel cell vehicle are not of a new thing in the automotive world. many other manufacturers have had the same achievement regardless of independent or dependent.

however,my best wishes to them and hope they improve their design. even though i'm a chinese, their design is too much of a chinese look which i doubt would appeal to many.

• drM (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 6:13 pm

the look is hideous! improve the design. but I think Cherry is doing allright. the technology is good. wonder why we sell the Augusta for rm4..I am not playing the political card here, but I wish we had the time to throughly dig at the best motocycle design company's technology!

• megadisc (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 6:33 pm

another competitor for the small car market . .

i hope the quality lives up to its name !

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 7:50 pm

its basically a copy of the chevy spark. wonder how well designed it the crash structure of the car?

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 9:32 pm

Another product of the people who believe that the term "R&D" means "receive & duplicate".

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 9:35 pm

Hydrogen is also prone to igniting and exploding if in a collision that endangers the fuel tank. Just thing "Hindenburg".

Although hydrogen may be the next untapped resource for the automotive but they certainly have to adjudicate whether or not it would be safe for use on the roads.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 9:35 pm

Hydrogen is also prone to igniting and exploding if in a collision that endangers the fuel tank. Just thing "Hindenburg".

Although hydrogen may be the next untapped resource for the automotive industry, they certainly have to adjudicate whether or not it would be safe for use on the roads.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 10:23 pm

i wd hapily get a proper diesel than a hydrogen car…thse new diesels are incredible in terms of power.torque and FC…beside..i can refuel anytime at any station..hydrogen have to wait for it to be common sight only thn u wil see its own filling station…not practical for me…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 31, 2006 at 12:35 am

hynrogen or what so ever,

the very own we NG have in PAKA burnt to the air freely.

cm on ,MAKE USE of it, ….is it toooo hard and complicated,

(or someone just loosing money out of it?)

• DG (Member) on Oct 31, 2006 at 1:45 am

Although hydrogen is lauded as environmental – just to display my ignorance – I've got a few questions.

Lets say everyone is using Hydrogen. Will the inevitable hydrogen leaks associated with massive usage

* eventually react with oxygen possibly reducing levels of oxygen in the atmosphere?

* float into the upper atmosphere and have some effect on sunlight?

* drift off into space and so reduce net water supplies – given water electrolysis will be it’s source?

Also will hydrogen cars and tankers be potential bombs? Even with the best safety measures accidents happen, terrorists see potential, etc.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 31, 2006 at 3:51 am

that is one ugly car.

• szw (Member) on Oct 31, 2006 at 5:16 am

finish lor

• ysyslys (Member) on Nov 01, 2006 at 5:56 am

clean energy to drive the car like hydrogen would be powerfull sell point in coming day. hydrocarbon base (fosil fuel) energy is getting limited and harm to earth enviroment. No doubt that the current technology in producing hydrogen is ineffective,costly and may generate some pollution. But this is a real cycle of technology improvement. No earth or poison air mean no place for human living.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:19 am

At least they have started doing it. what is P and p2 doing?