BMW 7-series drift crash

7left.jpgWhat kind of joker drifts and does donuts in a BMW 7-series? Apparently it’s something common in Saudi Arabia. This time around though, this particular driver had a spot of bad luck. Video after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 3:28 pm

sweet

• Balajoe (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 4:04 pm

Crazy Arabs…not for crashing the 7 series but doing it with passengers at the back and front.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 4:06 pm

rich!

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Ohh… I tot the driver hit another car or he lost control and crash.

Looked like the "pilot" overshot the runway and made emergency landing!

gee..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:52 pm

Cars are dirt cheap in Arab nations, especially the UAE. A Merc C320 cost around RM60,000 only!

• Phisto (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Are cars that cheap there? Or are all this guys have oil sheikh as their fathers? They seemed to have no qualm drfting on cars we deemed so expensive.. heck i havent even seen an Arab dift video with any cars smaller than camry! lol

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:11 pm

They just have too much money and too much time at their deserts.

• michly (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:39 pm

country rich, people rich, things cheap.. 7 series to drift . mannn..

• indothai (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:44 pm

LOL !!! I wonder if the saftey system saved their lives.

Hope these guys do a new S-Class soon.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:03 pm

ya cars are cheap dats y…its not crazy i tink…cars here cost like hell n still ppl modify to xtreme cases..so imgain wat we all do if a 7series 740i costs abt rm120k ?? u know wat…i tink thats freakin' skillful wat the guy is doing in the video..its nt easy

• blazerSST (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Ok, imagine this, at the end of the video, the guy who crashed his 7 series would have earned enough to buy another 3 CASH. When they have personal fortunes in excess of USD 20 billion, they can't spend it fast enough.

• armandd (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:14 pm

oil money can buy u ANYTHING!

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Crazy rich arabs who don't have any other better thing to do….Why don't they just carry out suicide bombing in a BMW 7-Series?

• DtG (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:08 pm

At least we know 'some people' are USING the safety features of freakin expensive cars like the 7!

• whodz (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:21 pm

fookeatmin1989,

watch your mouth..

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 9:29 pm

gosh… maybe the car has too many safety features ABS EBD all those stuff so tat it cant drift nicely… seems to be too stable… wish im one of them coz they are so COOL!!! LONG LIVE THE MONEY!!! wish to see they can drift a Rolls Royce Phantom too and oh ya oh ya… how bout a limo? sure will one of kind motorsports in this world…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Haha…padan muka Pak Arab tu…lagi nak tunjuk kaya konon…ko tengok la esok lusa aku drift pakai lori tangki minyak…kita tengok siapa lagi terer…muahahaha… :D

• kacman (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 10:04 pm

arabs.. if only their cars' prices are like ours, sure won't do that one. i wonder wut happened to the drivers/pax

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 11:49 pm

Haha…nice…But wait a sec. Why didn't I see any used air bags there? I doubt they could walk away without serious injuries.These are what you called, crazy Arabs. Too much money and too much time on their hands. Imagine silver plated an Audi S8. Phew…

Last time I watched an Arab drifting a Camry on an outskirt city highway. Also with a bunch of friends. Luckily no incident.

• kruzer (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 2:27 am

Waiting to see them drift the Bentley Conti Arnage. That's another high powered car waiting for oil rich ppl to drift!

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 2:37 am

i guess when youre too rich u can show off how u like.

having a thirst to prove themselves in one way or another?.

• DAN (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 2:38 am

any thing malay sia can follow but 1 thing malay sia can't follow is blood sucker that never end for there own side, that kill there own countryman!

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:25 am

when did ppl tell them to drift wif a 7 series ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:36 am

This came out in Top Gear S3/4 but a different clip, the car was not totalled last time around

• KingKong (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 11:24 am

hang around in Dubai at night at this street like in Miami with exotic cars gather and racing. for them (Dubai youngster), drifting in 7-series is nothing because Dubai youngster use ferrari, porsche, & sometimes SLR.

• KingKong (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 11:28 am

anyway, cars in Saudi & UAE are cheap and very affordable.

Bnew BMW 7-series only as low as rm250k.

just imagine, here teen often use Evo9 to drift with price over rm260k.

for me, no big deal to use 7-series and not all can afford because widely teen in Saudi use Camry (rm50k) to drift around.

• Tracks (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:36 pm

Good thing that they had the money to buy one of the safest car to do drifting. Crashing like with some weaker bodyshell vehicle would be even more fatal. Not all Arabs are rich as the riches always go to the rich and never to the poor. Same goes to everywhere.

• BOYRACER (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:16 pm

At least we have to give the driver some credit.look at him doing complete 90 degrees for full 5 seconds.bloody hell,in a 7 series.amazing guy.but when you have a stretch of road with nothing but sand on both sides,you can drift as much as you like.try to do it here.with all the kerb,trees n not to mention longkang.if that was in m'sia he would have been injured seriously.

• KingKong (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 12:03 am

Paul,

the background sound is about 'life & death', its one of my favourite song.

so, the video just to show that people getting freaky and need to repent.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 5:42 pm

there is no skill involved la. the driver is just driving blindly, and pushing his luck. thats the whole reason why he crashed.

albagmane your observation is spot on. the traction control is working, which is why the car is behaving the way it is. rear wheel drive cars with no traction aids do not drift the way this 7 is doing.

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 7:44 pm

Black Gold does wonders……

• proton12vauto (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 12:08 pm

too rich to afford new car, but can't afford to help palestine & lebanon

• pekan (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 9:30 pm

those people can even drift a Boeing 777 and still gets away with it..

• vague (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 2:43 am

yalah.. i agree with protonv12auto… the money they trashed should be put into good use. this arabian sure berlagak macam si*l. They should help the poor… world is unfair.. like in malaysia…. the oil should belong to the PEOPLE. not the GOVERMENT. they should manage and the profit is to be given back to the rakyat. p*****k mak betul!!!

• Romaunt (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 10:57 am

vague,

I agree..

Why dont we vote out our current government in hope that the NEW government are more transparent and not only benefit very few..

Then, maybe we can drift the 7 series..

• rexis (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 8:28 pm

Imagin how many percent of the world cash flowing into arab..

• they r 2 good yrr wt eve they doo there r using there own properties