2007 BMW X5 4.8i and 3.0d Test Drive in Athens

The BMW X5 has enjoyed phenomenal success since its introduction in 1999, with exactly 616,867 units to be produced by the 22nd of December 2006, with 41% of orders bound for the truck-mad USA. Thats almost 100,000 units a year in a single model alone. BMW claims to have created the Sports Activity Vehicle segment with the X5, basically a SUV which doesn’t handle horribly! Sales every year have not dropped at all over the past 6 years, so in reality BMW doesn’t exactly need to replace the X5 so soon, but them Bavarian folks have done it anyway, with the new Bangle-fied E70 BMW X5. My report on the new 2007 BMW X5 after the jump. Click images for larger sizes.

Let’s have a look at how the BMW X5 has been Bangle-fied. Look at the video below, it shows you the comparison between the new X5 and the old X5 in a similar morphing action that BMW used for its 3 Coupe vs 3 Sedan comparison video. At first glance, the new BMW X5 actually looks smaller than the model it replaces, thanks to Chris Bangle’s design cues. On the front, you have wider kidney grilles, newly designed headlamps with the trademark corona rings that also integrated daytime running lights. The 2007 BMW X5 4.8i’s kidney grilles were silver while the 3.0d turbodiesel version had them in black. The mesh grille at the bumper follows the same color trim. The lower grille is flanked by two other openings, but they are only a design feature on the 4.8i, while the 3.0d has an opening on the left hand side to allow airflow for the turbodiesel’s intercooler. On the rear, both cars have stylish twin exhaust pipes integrated into the rear bumper, but the turbodiesel gets some metal round pipes while the V8 model gets some nicer chromed oval tips.

Video: Old X5 compared to New X5

One challenge that BMW designers faced when designing the new 2007 BMW X5 is how to make the car larger (187mm longer and 6.8cm wider) and integrate the two optional additional seats at the back without making the car look like a huge and boring van. The new X5 has a relatively short rear overhang, while as with all BMWs the front overhang is also extremely minimal. The rear overhang was also designed to hide the rear seats, so at first glance you won’t notice them. I suppose this is why I feel the new X5 looks smaller than the predecessor despite actually being bigger, it’s all the Bangle cues at work!

39_x5.jpg

On the interior, you step into a much bigger space than it’s predecessor. Often complaints have been made about the lack of interior space with the old X5, it’s amazing how it sold so well. The new E70 X5 solves that problem, there is ample room everywhere. However this isn’t exactly a people carrier that can fit 7 adults, the rear seats are only comfortable for children on long hauls, other than that expect to fit in 7 people only for short drives of about thirty minutes or so. There is 40mm more legroom in the middle row, which can accommodate a person of about 190cm tall. There is an optional 4 zone air conditioning system, two zones for the front and two zones for the rear. Also an option that will make the X5 a favourite with the children, there is an 8 inch LCD screen option for the rear that can play DVDs. This entertainment system comes with a remote control and wireless headphones. The cream leather seats with electric adjustments are very comfy, but pretty much expected from a luxury SAV like the BMW X5.

The entertainment system is built into the iDrive system. The iDrive system itself is improved. It now has favorite buttons which are touch sensitive, you just touch your finger on it and it shows you what it does – which can be selected from a choice of telephone numbers to call, radio stations to play, or navigation destinations for the satellite navigation system. If the button is the one you decide you want to choose, then just press. Much better than pressing the button to see what does and choosing an OK button somewhere. Good interface design. Another improvement is the iDrive knob actually gives you feedback when you’ve finished scrolling through the menu options, it resists being turned a little even though if you wanted you could force it to scroll. It’s iDrive’s way of saying you’ve scrolled to the end, there’s no point turning anymore! Back to the entertainment system itself, the standard system is a 7.2 system – 7 speakers and two sub woofers, while a premium 16 speaker system is optional.

BMW says this is the first SAV with a heads up display, which displays information like speed and navigation instructions projected in a typical BMW orange font on the windscreen. Makes life a little easier, not having to shift eyes to and fro the meter panel to check on your speed, as well as refer to the iDrive LCD screen in the middle of the dash for navigational instructions.

48_x5.jpg

The gear shift is the new Shift by Wire system, which is basically an adaptation of the shift stalk on the 7-series moved to the traditional location on the center console area between the seats. The shifter is a soft shifter, which means there are no actual gear positions for you to shift into, you just move the shifter up and down and left and right, similar to Alfa’s Selespeed shifter. Even the parking brake is activated by a button.

On to the new E70 chassis. Chassis rigidity has been improved, 15% higher now at 27,000Nm per degree. As a reference to show you how good this is, the old BMW M3 E30 race car fully equipped with a roll cage has 22,500Nm per degree chassis rigidity, that’s less than the new E70 2007 BMW X5! Drag coefficient is also better, it is now 0.33cd compared with the old X5’s 0.35cd. Translating the numbers onto the track, the new BMW X5 4.8 does the Nurburgring North track in 9 minutes, that’s 10 seconds faster than the old X5 4.8 time. Despite being larger than the old X5, the weight stays about the same thanks to weight reduction methods like an aluminium engine hood, cast aluminium front strut tower, magnesium carrier for instrument panel, and intelligent use of high strength steel. As with all BMW’s, weight distribution between the front and rear axle is 50:50.

The new E70 2007 BMW X5 is also the first BMW with both Active Steering and xDrive in the same car. BMW previously had packaging problems including the Active Steering module in an engine bay that had the xDrive 4WD system. Thus cars like the 335xi and the xDrive 5-series do not have Active Steering despite being very high trimmed. For those not acquainted with the Active Steering system, it basically increases the steering ratio at low speeds and does the opposite for high speeds. At highway speeds, a certain degree turn of the steering doesn’t turn the wheels much, this helps with maintaining car control at high speeds, while at low speeds a turn of the steering turns the car a lot more to assist with parking. The 2007 BMW X5’s xDrive is very advanced, it can split torque between the front and rear by 0:100, this means that power can either go fully to the front or back.

You really have to appreciate all the technology BMW has put into the car. During the first leg of the test drive session in the BMW X5 4.8i, while following two other X5s in front carrying other Malaysian journalists, I took a sharp corner pretty fast, and unlucky me had to have the road suddenly change from proper tar to cement right in the middle of the corner, so the car went really crazy sliding around for a few seconds. Understeer, oversteer, understeer one after the other, and tyres screetching like mad, but during all the drama a combination of xDrive, Active Steering, Adaptive Drive, and DSC was working hard at getting the car under control again, so with a few counter-steers of the steering the car (made precise with Active Steering, it actually detects situations that require countersteer and helps you countersteer just the right amount with precision!) was pointing the way I wanted it to go again. Honestly, the reason why I entered the corner very fast was because I thought the X5 4.8i could take it, and technically since I didn’t end up in a ditch, it could, sorting itself out the dramatic episode swiftly.

Did you notice the new term? BMW Adaptive Drive. That’s what BMW is calling its new optional system that manages pitch and roll of the car for a more comfortable drive. It actually uses a variable anti-roll bar system which has variable torque. Watch the video below to find out how Adaptive Drive works.

Video: BMW X5 Adaptive Drive

We tested both the 4.8 litre V8 petrol and the 3.0 litre turbodiesel single turbo model. My pick would have to be the 3.0d. It’s more fuel efficient, and the massive torque it provides is just so addictive, though you don’t get to enjoy much of it as the redline in every gear is hit very fast).

The 4.8 litre is more powerful and has a wider more usable powerband though, redlining at 7,000rpm. It absolutely demolished the roads of the Peninsular of Attica near Athens, Greece where the test drives were held. It sounds absolutely wonderful from the inside, and even more intoxicating from the outside! That V8 grumble is really unforgettable. The 4.8 litre V8 makes 350 hp and 475Nm available from a low 2750rpm while the turbodiesel does 232 hp and 520Nm of torque between 2000 and 2750rpm. But it is a little too willing to downshift, and lurches forward too suddenly with too much force too often, making the 3.0d seem more appealing. I’ve never thought I’d say a car was too powerful, heh!

The BMW X5 4.8i’s has a front double wishbone suspension system with electronic dampers. The wonders of engineering. It’s a different story with the 3.0d though, where the test car did not have Adaptive Drive, so body roll was excessive on the X5 3.0d and it didn’t really feel very confident at all around the corners. Perhaps it was because I was comparing it too much with the 4.8 which was equipped with Adaptive Drive. Not exactly what I would call car-like dynamics in the 3.0d, but the 4.8i holds true to that claim. I expected more out of the ride comfort from the X5 since it is one of the higher end BMWs, but I suppose the run-flat tyres were the culprit, taking away some comfort in exchange for the weight reduction and space savings of not having a spare tyre to keep in the car.

Video: BMW X5 Double Wishbone Front Suspension

The 6-speed automatic gearbox is ZF’s new unit that is said to be able to shift 50% faster than traditional torque converter gearboxes. I found the ratios pretty suitable for each engine, and the 4.8i’s gearbox was very very willing to downshift with every harder press of the throttle pedal the 3.0d was much more sedated and comfortable to drive.

x5idrivenav.jpg

The iDrive’s GPS system worked marvelously. We used it at the end of our test drive to find the quickest route back to the hotel, as the route book we were given contained paths that gave the most driving experience, not the shortest and fastest route. Despite being aliens in Athens, Greece, thanks to the navigation system we found ourselves back to the Grand Lagonassi Resort.

065_x5.jpg

On to utility, the boot carries a massive 620 litres of cargo. A majority of that 620 litres of cargo disappears when you raise up the 2 optional 6th and 7th seats from the boot floor though. The boot door opens in a split to form a roof and a seat, which could allow you a little socializing time sitting on the tailgate and having tea perhaps?

With 41% of the first generation’s demand coming form the US, it only makes sense that the new E70 BMW X5 is built at Spartanburg, South Carolina in the US. It will be coming to Malaysia in Q3 2007. Other engine options other than the 4.8i and 3.0d will be the 3.0i and the 3.5d. The 3.5d is expected to come much later as the engine is in short supply right now.

As with other BMW cars like the 5-series, BMW has succeeded in amazingly turning something that looks big, lumbering and clumsy into a great piece of engineering. One thing I’ve noticed about both the 5 and the X5 is that it doesn’t feel like you’re handling a big car from the inside.

For the moment while the 3.5d is still unavailable, give me the 3.0d model please, but the optional Adaptive Drive system is an absolute must. It’s a really amazing piece of technology that completely changes how the ride feels.

For more technical details, read my previous post on the E70 X5. Enjoy the rest of the photos, taken with a Nikon D80 and Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8. Click the photos for enlarged versions. If you want bigger sizes for wallpaper use, contact me.

[UPDATE: The new second generation E70 BMW X5 has been launched in Malaysia. Click here for prices and other details.]

Video: X5 drive by

50_x5.jpg

52_x5.jpg

061_x5.jpg

062_x5.jpg

62_x5.jpg

67_x5.jpg

071_x5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neurra (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 3:01 pm

why do i feel that a lot of hot chicks are gonna buy this car? the adaptive drive is bloody awesome.. wonder how it feels to be inside there.. surely a weird feeling at first

• karheng (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:16 pm

LoL Macha…panning…gotta put more work into it….nice car…..or…jeep…orr…SAV!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:42 pm

That's my Dream SUV!

BMW X5 is good looking at every corner from inside out.

GOOD JOB! to BMW designers and Engineers.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 6:04 pm

Excellent video on Adaptive Drive! I wonder how would it compare with Audi's Magnetic Dampers that was recently introduced on the new TT.

• Phisto (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Wow Paul you were invited to Greece for the event? WOW! Damn i am so envious! Do you get paid for doing this may i ask? :D

• Paul Tan on Nov 21, 2006 at 7:46 pm

leaving for kl now. will add more photos then, internet here not very fast.

phisto: if u get paid to write a review how can it be called a review anymore?

• renyeo (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 8:43 pm

I am intrigued by the miniscule brake button on top of the gear shift. What are the chances of accidental activation while on the move, Paul?

• rexis (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 8:49 pm

Hell, 520nm on a 3.0d turbo. Wow.

Not really understand what the video is talk about but sound really interesting :p

• laser_ampang (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 9:25 pm

its a damm beautiful SUV…..

But somehow, i think the older one is more muscular…

• armandd (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 10:24 pm

i think this new x5 looks much better than the old one. all the curves and lines seem to be just right. =)

• neurra (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 10:52 pm

i think the P parking button only works if ur car is stationary..

• drM (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 11:12 pm

I believe all these X5s, X3s are all on the par as the XC90s and that sort of vehicle. I mean, it is big but only can move 5 people at one time. It is a people carrier with the limit of 5 person each time of travelling.

There is just not enough leg room at the back and I am suprise if this SAV can have 3 grown up men at the back. Well, I am 5 11, and I dont think there is enough space for me at the back. unless I'll be the one driving =)

boot space is just fantastic. Big. The engine looks okay and it should be good enough to ferry the 2tonnes worth of metal. Everything apart from the rear legroom, this BMW X5 is awesome.

• layman (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 12:42 am

Fatal attraction.

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 12:44 am

rear end n side profile is nice. but i feel tat front end has rather softer design, compared 2 more matured x5 we hav now. gear shifter is nice. can i hav it on my proton? haha.. cheers.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 1:10 am

MISS the drivers oriented dashboard like the elarlier BMW car in late 80s

DOUBLE WISHBONE suspension, promiss a greater handling for this vulgar machine i guess

ULTIMATE driving machine, with ultimate fuel tank.

• DAN (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 2:14 am

nice of all!!

• king (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 5:03 am

agree with protonGL….really missed the driver oriented dashboard of earlier bimmers especially the E36 3-series. unfortunately many ppl dun appreciate that so they changed the design.

anyway….unlike the japs which usually only do cosmetic changes, this is a truly magnificent effort by BMW

• womencantdrive (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 6:11 am

wow paul such an extensive review. I really enjoyed the info overload (in a good way) and it was better than what you get in some auto magazines. Having been a BMW fan all my life but never really owned one, I trully love Bangles designs. I dunno why people criticised them but I love them from the very beginning, even the one series. Well I dont mind if liking his designs makes me quirky because i feel not liking them is not being able to see the designs cues for what they are.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 7:05 am

this is going to be very expansive….

• khimfoh (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 7:08 am

mystvearn said,

November 21, 2006 @ 11:05 pm

this is going to be very expansive….

————————-

Err…I think you meant 'expensive'. Yeah I agree with you that its gonna cost a bomb once it arrives in Malaysia.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 2:12 pm

adaptive drive is simply a WOW!, it a benchmark todays perfect ride.

…thats why BMW made ROLLS ROYCE.

(cant imagine suspension mantainence cost! should be really-really kaya lo)

• KY (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 5:44 pm

kalo warna hitam kan lebih cantik?

• pycazu (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 8:34 pm

Wow… I love Adaptive Drive System, absolutely awesome! This X5 really a piece of art of engineering, hope that i'll get to know more about it.

That's make lots of different between Japanese and Europe player. While most jpnese facelift or "new version" come with limited changes, but we can see most new version Germany car having much more improvement, thumb up!

• RM (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 8:46 pm

I don't know about you guys, this new X5 has got more of the old X3 than than old X5. Looks a little more "lembik" than outgoing model. It's still a looker though but me thinks on looks alone, the new Merc ML350 has got it licked.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:55 am

Congrats for your first international recognition by a car company. Dunno why BMW did it but a fresh face in the local automotive scene is welcomed.

I like that part where you claim the change of surface made you nearly ditch the car. Usually, you will be travelling in a close convoy. Did the others experience the same situation too or did you actually press the brake pedal at the apex of the turn?

And how do you rate this new X5 with the old version, the Touareg, the Cayenne, the ML350, the Range Rover 4.2L, the Range Rover Sport or the Q7? I mean if this is your first experience with a luxury SUV (or SAV as claimed by BMW), I am sure you will be impressed with its performance. But how is the new X5 compared to the others?

Fine the X5 can out corner a Proton Waja, but in reality (at least here in Malaysia), is R&H more important than comfort (in SUV context)?

And Active Steering really doesn't help when you oversteer the car as you do not how much input you need to countersteer. Active Steer actually blurs the input further, and often when drifting the car, you need a few laps to learn how sensitive it is at that speed. The variable ratio works in tandem with speed, not the direction of the car. Then again, the system makes sense in normal driving condition.

In the X5, you need to set your steering input early and do not shift its weight balance when executing the corner. The high CG can easily upsets it and surprise you. No matter how good it is, it is still an SUV and you have to respect that fact.

The iDrive Sat nav is basically the same as others (the digital map). I still think the GUI is complicated and you need to stop and set your destination. But then again, a computer geek might not have any problem with it.

Judging by the comments here, it shows that Malaysians will put looks at the top, price as second.

i am impressed with the Adaptive Drive system. Soon, all dampers will go magnetic.And soon, our car battery will be as big as a the engine itself as more and more electronic devices are used.

• Paul Tan on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:24 am

phew, let me answer one by one.

1. nope, i was the only idiot who was cornering too fast and the car went out of control.

2. no comments, have not driven any of those models yet.

3. perhaps to a certain degree when the suv is a bmw. and i think the r in r&h is the comfort element, in my dictionary.

4. active steering does provide countersteer assistance. google it up. example link:

"Don't confuse this with common variable-assist power steering, which merely makes the wheel feel lighter at slow speeds and firmer when going fast. The technology also links up with an electronic stability-control system for further advantage: If the car senses it's about to skid, an electric motor can automatically apply a subtle countersteer to stabilize the car."

http://money.cnn.com/2003/11/12/pf/autos/bestcars…

other links:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=active+s…

5. i agree with your comments on idrive, i wonder if theres is some way to allow easier viewing of the lcd screen. perhaps replace the twin meter panel cluster with a full lcd screen like the optional one in new mercedes benz s-class cars – then have the gps map appear on the lcd.

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/10/20/sharps-in-…

but i suppose bmw tried to help with the situation with the idrive favourite buttons – your frequently accessed destinations can be programmed into one of the 10 buttons.

• holy_cow (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:42 am

That's why lah, chrisbangle – you've designed some pretty lovely cars, but apparently you don't know much about the mechanicals… :-)

In any case, Paul may not have driven most of those cars but if we keep supporting him I'm sure he'll get the chance, and he deserves it.

Until then, at least he's man enough to admit when he made a mistake on the road, which is more than can be said for a lot of nutjobs out there…

• soporific (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 4:34 pm

i think BMW did it because there is distrust of mainstream media among the ranks of enthusiasts. motoring journos are getting a bad rep because of various shenanigans, and for any number of reasons, bloggers are seen as beacons of truth.

while this is a rather simplistic attitude from the public, corporates can't afford to ignore this.

as far as centre of gravity, didnt bmw claim to have lowered it in this x5?

i've tinkered with iDrive before, and anyone who's owned an ipod will have no problems getting used to it. seeing as ipods are far more ubiquitous than bmws, i dont think it's a bad gui at all. maybe old folks have a tough time getting the hang of it.

as for ditching the car, don't think paul was the only one who wrote about that. In CBT, the reviewer also said the same thing about the roads in greece and that the car skidded.

as it must've been their first experience with the car, such things are bound to happen on erratic roads. that the car recovered is testament either to car or driver.

• powerhaus (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 8:23 pm

dont know why BMW did it? Because they realise and know who can deliver.

• Johny.Rico (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:23 am

Great car.