F149 GT revealed to be new Ferrari California!

Ferrari F149 GT

Ferrari has unveiled the name of the F149, and as expected its called the Ferrari California. Along with the name announcement, the boys at Maranello have released three photos of the car with its top down, which reveals that it is a convertible. The rear three quarter review also gives us a little glimpse of the car’s interior. It is a Grand Tourer car, with the engine mounted at the front.

The engine under the hood is a 4.3 litre V8 engine making 460 PS at 7,500rpm, which is quite an impressive state of tune because as compared to BMW’s new V8 in the M3, the Ferrari engine produces a similiar horsepower to litre ratio but achieves the horsepower at about 1,000rpm lower. Other neat tricks Ferrari has used to extract the most power out of this engine include direct injection and a “flat crankshaft”.

I’m not completely sure what that is at the moment, but with some Googling I found out apparently a flat crankshaft in a V8 usually refers to a flat-plane crankshaft as opposed to a cross-plane crankshaft with throws spaced 180 degrees apart rather than a cross-plane’s 90 degree spaced throws. This results in a sound that is smoother and of a higher pitch than a typical V8 rumble.

This engine is mated to a 7-speed dual clutch transmission, the first production usage of a dual clutch gearbox in a Ferrari! No shift times have been revealed, but expect this to be known later when the full details about the car is released. What is revealed is the car’s 0 to 100km/h time, which is said to be under 4 seconds.

The Ferrari California also has Ferrari’s F1-Trac traction control system, tuned for a typical GT car’s driving conditions. The rear suspension uses a new multilink setup. Brakes are Brembos featuring carbon-ceramic discs as standard equipment. It is available with a convertible hard top only, with no current plans for a roofed coupe.

More details to be published as they are revealed, but for the moment check out the two more photos of the car after the jump. Check out the rear exhaust design in particular, they look like they took a page out of the Lexus IS-F’s book.

Ferrari F149 GT

Ferrari GT California: name for the new F149?
Ferrari puts up Ferrari F149 GT teaser site!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ilmondo (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:23 pm

absolutely adore the styling.. the line on the bodywork in the 1st pic reminds me a lil about Alfa GTV.. a lil TVR too.. exhaust tips seems a bit unoriginal.. but still.. its a Ferrari!

• jcws_87 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:23 pm

1st to comment…so sorry guys…to the topic,the new Ferrari F149/California look nice & cute (similar to the new Alfa Mito-looks) but i still love the F430 model as it look more a “big boy toy” (for my opinion lar).Anyway hope the best for Ferrari team….cheerz

• jcws_87 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:24 pm

Aiiii….so fast got ppl put in tat slot…anyway 2nd in place

• outspoken (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:42 pm

this is a “BABY FERRARI”.. it’s cute.. like the Fiat Mito..

• ilmondo (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:49 pm

jcws_87

well.. i didnt mean to.. lol..

outspoken

isnt it alfa mito??

its Italian.. n i’m so in luv again..

• jimbet (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:28 pm

This car is meant to be a grand tourer which explains on why they detune the 4.3L engine from 480hp as we see on F430 to 460hp. They do this to improve the torque curve.

A baby ferrari? It is priced more than that F430 spider.

Can’t wait for the video on how the folding metal roof in action!

• michishige (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:49 pm

is this the first time ferrari put name of place from US?
    before this it was the modena, maranello, monte carlo…. right?
    though i wonder daytona was referred to daytona beach or daytona speedway

there’s something wrong with the rear bumper design that makes the rear looks heavy~

the flow of the curves after the side grill all the way to the back gave it a muscular look. and i think the side view of the car looks perfect ! nevertheless i like the bottom part of the front bumper, with sharp side intakes and sleek looking (front diffuser)?

• cibengism (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:54 pm

omg, i can just sit there and admire it the whole day. every angle of the car just brings a diff character to the car. drool..

• csv (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:04 am

nice car.

curvy and fast.

like how i like my women.LOL.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:09 am

michishige said,

May 13, 2008 @ 11:49 pm

is this the first time ferrari put name of place from US?

An open top version of the Ferrari 550 Maranello was called Superamerica.

Paul Tan says: Even the name California has been used before on the Ferrari 250 California Spyder.

• jimbet (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:10 am

Michishige,

Yes there were few others.. Ferrari XXX America / XXX SuperAmerica

• viceice (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:27 am

Is it just me or does the front look alot like a meserati?

• v0ices (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:01 am

The US of A is Ferrari’s biggest market.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:02 am

nice n good…dats all i can say…

• shamel (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:17 am

ferrari people car, BLM Ferrari but still cool.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 2:22 am

Looks like they’ve accidently fitted a beige Satria Neo dashboard.

• azrai (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 6:46 am

Nice sexy body contour. Truly a revival of Dino. The grill look too Maserati though.

• normaluser (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:08 am

I prefer Ferrari’s trademark of 4 round rear lights instead of 2. The front looks quite Maserati-ish, and frog-ish. Kinda like a mini-Scagliati instead of mini-F430.

Just my opinion.

• charles27 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:13 am

look like softer design.
    think in black with some minor upgrade will look fantastic. :)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:29 am

Hey…. the exhaust arrangment looks like the Lexus IS-F!

• jamsbong (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 9:06 am

Ferrari V8 is always a ‘flat crankshaft’ V8. this type of V8 is very revvy and does not carry torque like a normal rumbling V8. Such design creates vibrations so the car is never really comfortable.

This is why most normal V8 (rumbling ones) have the 90 deg crankshaft as it bring perfect balance. Thus giving a very stable low frequency “hum” and is vibration free.

I like the design typical distinctive looks of a Ferrari.

• gattaca (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 10:14 am

Maybe proton can used Proton Damansara after this…hehehehe

• albagmane (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 11:23 am

nice… but i prefer to see it in coupe version… it oso gives me a feeling of the Alfa Romeo 8C Competizione…

• erichigc (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 11:42 am

can anyone advice on its pricing? thanks.
    i cant get it online….:P

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Niiiiiiiice… one of the best looking IMO…

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:15 pm

yeah …real looks like the TVR tuscon……interior oso looks like the F430 from wat i can see in the third pic….

jus curious…is this going to be the cheapest ferrari ? i mean cheaper than f430??

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 3:18 pm

omg!! nothing special at all…..

Alfa 8C and F430 are better………

• adlanar (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 5:25 pm

normaluser said,
    May 14, 2008 @ 8:08 am

I prefer Ferrari’s trademark of 4 round rear lights instead of 2. The front looks quite Maserati-ish, and frog-ish. Kinda like a mini-Scagliati instead of mini-F430.

Just my opinion.

————————————————————-

thats the whole point. California is a small GT, not a race/sports car as the Scagliati is a big GT. i agree with michishige, side profile is just perfect. not too sure about the retro looking front grille.

• crasher7 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm

It just really small as Ferrari claimed

• mystvearn (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:23 pm

It looks like a smaller version of the 612. Is it a hard top or soft top?

• crasher7 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 9:40 pm

mystvearn,
    is a hard top

• normaluser (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 9:47 pm

well, its not the size that I’m concerned about. Its the overall design language. I like the earlier design language of the F430 & Enzo (the protruding twin rear lights, sleek headlamps).

This one got a chrome grille which is so un-ferrari (like the 612 scaglietti). I can see that the direction that Ferrari is taking now is that the Front Engine ones (GT California/612 Scaglietti) are getting ‘Maserati-grille & retro headlamp’ look, while the Mid-Engine (F430/Enzo) ones are getting the Berlinetta modern ‘aero-downforce’ looks with protruding twin rearlights and twin large front air vents.

Well, everybody got their own opinions.

• arissa86 (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 10:11 am

erm.love it.but still not my type.love the red color of Ferarri but not the car.hehe…