Audi RS6 Sedan unveiled: details and photos

Audi RS6 Sedan

The boys at Ingolstadt have unveiled the sedan version of the Audi RS6. The estate version had already been revealed earlier. Like the estate, the RS6 sedan is powered by a direct injected twin turbocharged 5.0 litre V10 with dry sump lubrication producing 580 horsepower between 6,250rpm to 6,700rpm and 650Nm of torque from 1,500rpm to 6,250rpm thanks to its turbochargers’ 1.6 bar of boost.

The ridiculously wide torque curve ensures you experience the car’s peak torque of 650Nm over virtually every RPM point the engine could ever be in. Once the torque tapers down beyond the 6,250rpm point, you still experience all 580 peak horses all the way to the 6,700rpm redline. This is one truly breathtaking engine even on paper.

Look after the jump for more details of the RS6 Sedan.

Audi RS6 Sedan

0 to 100km/h takes 4.5 seconds and it goes on to a limited top speed of 250km/h. The limiter can be lifted to set free an additional 30km/h of speed. Power is transmitted to all four wheels via the quattro permanent all-wheel drive system through a 6-speed Tiptronic gearbox with short ratios and manual shifting via the lever or paddle shifts.

The Audi RS6 is fitted with Dynamic Ride Control, or DRC. The RS6 is a large sedan after all, and DRC helps reduce pitch and roll using mechanical means. Opposing pairs of shocks are connected diagonally via hydraulic lines and valves.

During a cornering maneuver, fluid flow to the damper being compressed by the outside front wheel increases, providing firmer support and reduced roll. The sport suspension plus option allows three different damper settings – sport, dynamic and comfort, controllable via the Audi MMI system.

Brakes are 390mm steel discs at the front with 6-piston aluminium calipers and 365mm with single piston calipers. With the standard brakes, wheels are 19 inchers with 255/40R19 tyres. If you upgrade to the optional 20 inch wheels, you will then be able to fit a ceramic disc brake kit, featuring 420mm ceramic discs at the front with 8-piston caipers, and 356mm ceramic discs at the rear. The ceramic brake kit are lighter by 12.2kg.

The RS6 was unveiled together with the facelifted A6 sedan, which also carries the RS6’s updated rear lamps. The Audi RS6 will be available in the market in mid-October 2008.

PHOTO GALLERY: Audi RS6 Sedan
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:46]

Audi RS6 Sedan Dimensions

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Deutsch ganz toll!

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Aaahhhh…the BEST have already come out! :-) To heck with the Tourer, just gimme this sedan to pounder all day! Yeeehaaaa…..

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:52 pm

Love the front seat by the way…similiar shape of the ones in the Golf R32! Very very comfort indeed….

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

I’ll pick this anytime over the M5…just look at the sheer power! Fuh!

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 3:25 pm

Looks like a very handsome car to me..it has that clean cut simple design which yet looks decent ,One of the best looking design form the back especially.

if had given a chance to choose the best looking between C-class & this car ,i would have a problem then.

• Cire (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 3:50 pm

RS6 is in the leagues of AMG-ed CLK55, and M5.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

torque said,

August 12, 2008 @ 2:58 pm

I’ll pick this anytime over the M5…just look at the sheer power! Fuh!

Love it too! But not got money lah! Ubah gaya hidup!
    Can see and dream only… Poor me!
    Er, mr. torque, you got a lot of money kah?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:52 pm

this car is awesome

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:57 pm

not my cup of tea.. but that’s just me.

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:43 pm

Msmar_453,

No! I don’t got lots of money nor I got the privilege to use the rakyat money for my pleasure. I do actually own a bussiness that when it eventually success one day…I’ll buy it of course! I know what the M5 got to offer but like I said, not IF but WHEN I got the money…I’ll pick this over the M5. I haven’t reach that stage of owning a super fast car but I do currently driving one fast car…a mere ZZT231(Celica). Trust me when I say this, owning a sports car that can go fast is…liberating!! :-) Currently saving some dough to put in a supercharger into it…

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:45 pm

*owning a super fast car yet…

• csv (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:29 pm

hell yeah, audi rocks.

this car can kick the M5 ass!

is this the same v10 in the R8?

real sleeper looks, hidding a monster underneath.

• phas3r (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 2:03 am

Cire said,

August 12, 2008 @ 3:50 pm

RS6 is in the leagues of AMG-ed CLK55, and M5.

should be E55 amg not clk

ALPINA BMW said,

August 12, 2008 @ 4:52 pm

this car is awesome

ALPINA BMW aka julianlee aka 17 year old kiddie do you have anything more constructive and more useful comments other than “this car is shit or this is useless or this is car superb”?

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:27 am

Looks ok nia
    But power outguns Gallardo LP560
    0-100kph in 4.5sec a bit of a letdown considering the power it posses
    This car must have weight 2 tonnes…
    Waiting for test drive reviews and see how is compares with M5 or Mercs

• torque (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 3:01 pm

Csv,

This engine isn’t the same like in the R8. The R8 had a 4.2 naturally aspirated V8 only. It only produced 420bhp but I forget about the torque delivery though. Anyway, you can always drop by Naza World near the federal highway there and see for yourself the R8 they have over there! Cheers.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 5:24 pm

my god!!! M5 has been threatened, haha….

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:27 am

I am falling in love…. Elegant coupled with monstrous power. For me. it is scary to press on the accelerator pedal. Too much torque and it will be hard to manage the car for daily uses. Looking at the figures, I think R26 can compete easily with the Gtr.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:01 pm

phas3r
    you shit don’t you have anything else to do , like getting a job so that you don’t have to drive your stupid proton and get a better car, you are a loser, fuck off, pauper.

• lamri ali on Jun 27, 2015 at 9:51 pm

best of the best