New Kia Forte sedan spotted in Shah Alam!

Naza Forte
Click for enlarged image

UPDATE: The Kia Forte has been launched in Malaysia. Follow the link for more details on specs and price.

Reader acesDSI spotted this Kia Forte with JPJ plates roaming the streets of Batu 3 Shah Alam heading towards Section 20 Shah Alam. It looks like the good-looking Kia Forte is going to be launched soon, and sources in Naza say it’s most likely to be offered in CKD locally assembled form.

Although we cannot really see the badge on the car because of the resolution of the photos, the photographer said the car had Naza badges on, so maybe what we’re going to get is a Naza Forte instead of a Kia Forte.

Naza Forte
Click for enlarged image

There are positive and negative points about that, firstly having a Naza badge on is likely to give the company more bargaining power with duties resulting in a lower price, which is ultimately beneficial for consumers if a simple badge swap (that could even be supplier by showrooms) will “fix” it. Secondly it will stop potential customers from waiting for Naza Kia to Naza-ize a Kia Forte in anticipation of further price drops.

If the Naza Forte is to become a proper bread and butter sedan for Naza Kia it has to replace the Spectra in the product range so expect it to come with a 1.6 litre engine, with larger engines reserved for the Kia Koup 2-door coupe which I tested in South Korea recently.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• henry on May 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

Naza should bring more KIA models with Naza-badged or without.

• ellism on May 14, 2009 at 6:19 pm

whoaa…

kia will sell dis beauty like a hot cakes..

juz put it at a right price..

malaysians will choose dis car instead of DUGONG

rear styling have cues from hyundai elantra

• Nice car… I wonder what the price is…

• helmi on May 14, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Is this beautiful design put the Naza badge, it will spoil everything. Naza has bad reputation here.

• Harry on May 14, 2009 at 6:26 pm

The car looks Very good indeed!..seems kinda big too

• perdanaeterna on May 14, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Wow, nice car. Hope it come with good price for malaysian.

• Hee tye on May 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

wow!!! beautiful and elegant. i heard this car low fuel consumption. i cant wait ro par this car in my porch. hell yeah!

• caddilac on May 14, 2009 at 6:35 pm

All the Forte need is a nice price tag… hopefully it will be priced at around 75k for the 1.6X model and hope that it can give the overpriced-City and the cheap-Vios some hit!

• if it 1.6 .. pls make it higher from waja/persona SE but cheaper from sitis or dugongs…. if it 2.0, make it cheaper than cibik..

• jonlabi on May 14, 2009 at 6:44 pm

best design,come from the best designer.i hope naza bring forte koup for niche market.

• mayor81 on May 14, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Euro ride and handling, efficient engines – KIA is moving forward. Hope the price is right.

• farghmee on May 14, 2009 at 6:52 pm

fuh~ this is interesting :)

• sphiroth on May 14, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Saw this car at singapore last weeks… the red one looks really good.

• when is the lauching date for this baby?

• ngeh ngagagagagagangaaaaa awesome dude!

• Jinggo on May 14, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Wait for koup… tapi nie pun dah meleleh air liur……

• ellism on May 14, 2009 at 7:33 pm

ive seen it b4..

2 unit park at bangsar jalan telawi..

both comes in black colour with singapore registration number..

the interior super gorgeous..

modern look..

i prefer black colour..

• Haute Habits on May 14, 2009 at 7:35 pm

The Kia Forte has been launched in Singapore a few months back. It is priced at S$45,000 for the 1.6l entry model which is at a S$10,000 discount compared to the Honda City and Toyota Vios!

Certainly can expect it to be cheaper back in KL, and even more if Naza takes a go at this model. Very good reviews so far and its pretty sexy, with hints of Audi everywhere. Interior quality aint as good but the design is just plain fantastic! Watch that space!!

• ambipur on May 14, 2009 at 7:41 pm

kia has done well here. nice looking car.

just wondering, how come korean cars do not retain its aftersale value?

• ong chin aun on May 14, 2009 at 7:45 pm

At last the Kia Forte is seen in Malaysia Road. Well Naza bring CBU or CKD and assemble in Malaysia Plant if possible . As reported 1.6 litre prefer. and higer cc later . The ideal is with Manual trasmission as an option for lower cc beside auto. and the price affordable. A very stylist and nice design car

Good Luck.

ONG

• BlackJKX on May 14, 2009 at 7:46 pm

My little sister wanna buy new grnd livina manual last week.

I said,wait lah.There are kia forte coming soon.

Then we can swap car loh.She can take my car(not grnd livina lah..),1 year old.

Then i take kia forte.

Are this gonna happen?wait lah.

• Bebelon on May 14, 2009 at 7:51 pm

i doubt this car can sell well in Malaysia..look back our history..Hyundai Elantra 2.0 cost at 93K also not much people buying this car..how about this?

If priced 75k-85k, Malaysian will opt Honda and Toyota although smaller capacity…yet they have higher resell value…

For Singaporean, who cares? Whatever brand also with very low reselling value either Kia or Toyota, Mazda, Honda or Mit

• BlackJKX on May 14, 2009 at 7:51 pm

AF 159 also already here…

Hmmm.

• lowprofile on May 14, 2009 at 7:54 pm

aisay, don't care the badgelah. as long we know it is a kia is good enoughlah plus, the naza badge brings the price down mah! ;) the size of this car is about the size of the current elantra so it is going to be quite spacious :)

• barca on May 14, 2009 at 7:56 pm

OMG…..Kia Forte to be Naza-dized into Naza Forte…..

i foresee a mad rush for future owners to Kia-dized the car!

• green_engine on May 14, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Very nice car and high spec. (you can refer to kia web site). if RM80/k below vios, latio, city will facing big problem. When is the lauching date Paul???

• MegaMoe on May 14, 2009 at 7:56 pm

I actually saw one yesterday night at the multi-story car park in UM. Was with Malaysian plates actually. Was late so I did not snoop around the car.

• protonboyz on May 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm

sorry to say 1.6 is not sufficient , nah i not going to buy 2 door ,i will bring my parent s etc.

• green_engine on May 14, 2009 at 8:13 pm

[quote comment="238323"]sorry to say 1.6 is not sufficient , nah i not going to buy 2 door ,i will bring my parent s etc.[/quote]

Lu tak tengok photo ka bro. 4 door laaa.

• lazyf on May 14, 2009 at 8:14 pm

i saw dis car (exactly same like the pic above) parked near Masjid Alam Shah, Putrajaya last friday (8th May 2009). Its clearly stated on its emblem NAZA. So, dis will be NAZA Forte instead of KIA Forte. Overall it is a nice car!!!

• cyberkayu on May 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

wow is cuming 2msia~~

• GuessWho on May 14, 2009 at 8:35 pm

question – for a while it does look like the elantra from back, wondering whether same platform .. size wise – is it bigger than elantra or same size ??

• pulge on May 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Hmm, maybe I should wait for this one to come out. I was planning to get the Gen.2 CPS. This one is tempting!

• stephenstreets on May 14, 2009 at 8:43 pm

I can hear toyota and honda cringing alraedy!!

Go kia gooooo!!!

• Tengokaje.. on May 14, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Nice looking car.

Salam..

• are u sure is not a honda civic? XD

• 4G63T DSM on May 14, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Nice competition.

We all know that the Vios and City is overpriced for what it is.

Now hopefully this can give them a run for the money. I doubt this is going to be where close to the Spectra's price, but just matching the Vios and City's pricing would be interesting.

We'll have to wait and see if the Cruze will join the fight later. We will have a 3 way Korean fight between the Cruze, Forte and Elantra.

And since we are on the trail of Naza, anyone can confirm that Naza decided to de-content the Rondo for the 2009 models?

• flamed2 on May 14, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Bring on SOUL!

• knightdriver on May 14, 2009 at 9:35 pm

Nice looking car. Hope will have wallet friendly price tag as well.

• nice looking car…if they rebadge them to naza n lower the price, i wouldn't mind at all…..but with Q.C that is up to par…. 3 way fight kia,hyundai, chevy….nice….. do add on the city, vios and persona.

KIA soul…..nice….. then have a fight with hyundai,jazz n vitz(cannot recall wats it called in msia)……

anyone has any info wat price range will it be, under KIA n NAZA???? anyone wit sources do let us know…..i don mind waiting a while more for new car models……

any diesel?….hehehe…..would be fun.

• dcwhz83 on May 14, 2009 at 9:42 pm

hopefully got 1.6 and 1.8/2.0 also… and manual options for 1.6L…

• chanel on May 14, 2009 at 9:56 pm

i'm wonder can naza do a good job to the quality of this car….why???

i owned sutera before, this car gave me numerous prob. bear in mind that not because it comes from china hence the prob. i can't believe that i almost lost count of how many times that the throttle body get dirty easily, thus, the engine rev by itself, worst, it even had "auto cruise" u when on the road.

complain, complain complain, 1 time i got f*** up, the svc mgr told next time we have to charge u if ur throttle body need to be clean again (they spray something into it & wipe off) cz it's not under warranty coverage. after spray the revving prob no more, but less than 2k mileage driving the prob come back again…..p.s: like free "auto-cruise" features…..in other form of course…

2. does Kia picanto have any major prob before the rebadge???? i believe no except from fuel thirsty….so here come the naza suria (rebadge from picanto)….1 of my friend encounter the same technical prob as my sutera, the engine will rev by itself….almost identical engine/throttle prob…..wonder what had happened to him cz had not been meeting him since then.

i wonder maybe naza change the throttle to local build which does not up to the required standard….i have my sutera throttle body changed & the stupid prob still came back persistently…….btw….the sutera is history…..at least night mare over…..

• BoileR on May 14, 2009 at 10:02 pm

I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

but u can try, since RON95 in coming out..

-X-Sentra user

• BoileR on May 14, 2009 at 10:11 pm

[quote comment="238284"]Is this beautiful design put the Naza badge, it will spoil everything. Naza has bad reputation here.[/quote]

—-

So, u buy because of Badge/Emblem ?? u can buy the emblem less than RM50. so???

you's 25 times stupid than Naza emblem..

• Pls don't change the model name as well

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 10:29 pm

nice^^

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 10:30 pm

this is sweet…

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm

this is sweet , im really considering as my second car…

• David on May 14, 2009 at 10:44 pm

I just had a chat with a Kia salesman, and, according to the parent company, we shall see a July debut of the CKD Forte, and expect a price of at least 70k for the base 1.6 automatic, as well as a slight cannabalization of Vios-City sales. In my opinion, the Vios & City aren't that great. Cheap feeling materials, ridiculous prices speaks a lot for them.

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 10:45 pm

[quote comment="238351"]I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

kis sentra or nissan spectra?

• as long as they don't call it NAZA FORTE PANDAI or NAZA SPECTRA II FORTE then it should do alright….

• ReactiX on May 14, 2009 at 11:00 pm

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

PURE BASHER THAT KNOWS NOTHING!~

KIA SENTRA?? DONT MAKE PEOPLE LAUGH

• lowprofile on May 14, 2009 at 11:00 pm

[quote comment="238366"]as long as they don't call it NAZA FORTE PANDAI or NAZA SPECTRA II FORTE then it should do alright….[/quote]

hahahaha, good one bro!! i think they will just call it naza forte lah ;)

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Forte, from the French for "strength"….They can call it naza KUAT or naza GAGAH

• lowprofile on May 14, 2009 at 11:16 pm

[quote comment="238374"]Forte, from the French for "strength"….They can call it naza KUAT or naza GAGAH[/quote]

hahahahah! :)

• dcwhz83 on May 14, 2009 at 11:58 pm

[quote comment="238374"]Forte, from the French for "strength"….They can call it naza KUAT or naza GAGAH[/quote]

sorry la… if they rename it that way, it has lost its virginity… see the name alrdy no need to place booking… it will be laughing stock… imagine telling ppl i drive a 'GAGAH'…

• maybe Naza Power will do…

• The Forte facelift look same with Accord 2006 Euro version

• azrai on May 15, 2009 at 12:58 am

So Naza will be the right hand drive CKD plant in Gurun which is good for our economy. The putrajaya JPJ people test the car to be approved on the road. So is it 1.8 4 doors? i hope so. Don't really care about the badge as long it is price wise.

• gugusan melur on May 15, 2009 at 1:14 am

lawa ke keta ni?sama lemah dgn spectra je…underpowered

• [quote comment="238338"]Nice competition.

We all know that the Vios and City is overpriced for what it is.

Now hopefully this can give them a run for the money. I doubt this is going to be where close to the Spectra's price, but just matching the Vios and City's pricing would be interesting.

We'll have to wait and see if the Cruze will join the fight later. We will have a 3 way Korean fight between the Cruze, Forte and Elantra.

And since we are on the trail of Naza, anyone can confirm that Naza decided to de-content the Rondo for the 2009 models?[/quote]

Yes 2009 Rondos have lower specs than 2008 models.

• Alfa Juliet on May 15, 2009 at 1:25 am

[quote comment="238368"][quote comment="238351"]I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

KIA SENTRA?? DONT MAKE PEOPLE LAUGH[/quote]

I thought Malaysians are well-known for making "kereta potong"? Hehehe…

• Automotive_Critics on May 15, 2009 at 2:20 am

Side panel also like Vios. Rear end like Accord Euro. Front end like Civic. Wow what a hybrid design. So to P1 designer, don't waste money wandering in International Motorshow just for nothing.

• green_engine on May 15, 2009 at 2:39 am

Cast your mind back to the mid-1990s where there was a truly horrible little car called the Kia Sephia. It was about as bad as things got in the automotive world. Eventually, this forlorn model made way for the Spectra, which wasn't a bad little car but it wasn't very exciting.

The all-new 2010 Forte is Kia's replacement for the Spectra. Offered in LX, EX and SX trims, this car is destined to move the brand from the boring sector of the market to a place where it can legitimately challenge the likes of the Mazda3 and Honda Civic. That statement is not made in the midst of a technicolour dream, nor is it the product of an age-induced delusional moment. It is the new reality.

Size-wise, the Forte fits into the heart of the entry-level segment. Its long wheelbase (2,650 millimetres) and wide stance (1,775 mm) put plenty of space in the cabin. Even with the front seat all the way back, it is possible to sit in the rear seat, and there's enough room for three adults. The other bonus those exterior dimensions bring is above-average cargo capacity. At 14.6 cubic feet, the Forte's trunk makes the Toyota Corolla's (12.3 cu. ft.) and Civic's (12.0 cu. ft.) seem rather small.

The level of standard equipment is also well beyond what one has come to expect from entry-level transportation. The base LX ($15,695) features the usual power items — heated side mirrors, steering wheel-mounted audio controls and Bluetooth, this last item being very timely. The materials are of decent quality and the whole lot is logically laid out. The base car even comes with anti-lock brakes, six air bags and active head restraints.

Moving up to the EX adds larger 16-inch alloy wheels wearing P205/50 tires, manual air conditioning, steering wheel-mounted cruise control, heated front seats, a height-adjustable driver's seat, tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment and, most importantly, electronic stability control (ESC).

ESC is a bacon saver of the first order. The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration in the United States says it cuts fatalities resulting from a single-vehicle crash by 36% and deaths due to rollover by a staggering 70%. The beauty is that the EX is priced at $17,995.

The LX and EX arrive with a peppy 2.0-litre four-cylinder, one of the so-called World Engines co-developed by Chrysler, Mitsubishi and Hyundai (thus the Kia connection). This engine has absolutely nothing in common with Kia's current 2.0L four. To begin with, it pumps out 156 horsepower and 144 pound-feet of torque, well above the Spectra engine's so-so 138 hp and 132 lb-ft of torque. This extra grunt brings the right blend of performance and fuel economy (5.8 litres per 100 kilometres on the highway). The addition of continuously variable valve timing (CVVT) to the intake cam helps to spread the power over a broader range. When teamed with the five-speed manual box (a four-speed manumatic is optional), this engine spirits the Forte to 100 km/h in 10.5 seconds, which is right there with the segment leaders.

• sponge_bob on May 15, 2009 at 2:51 am

Everything is nice until it comes to my mind about how Naza going to name it ?

I dont mind if it is a Naza badge . Naza Forte is an okay name . But if they name it something like Naza Bestari / Sutera / Citra , I would like to think twice . Personally I felt like an insult to the car itself and the name is so so kampung-ish .

This is a personal view . No offense to others .

• lowprofile on May 15, 2009 at 3:11 am

[quote comment="238442"]Everything is nice until it comes to my mind about how Naza going to name it ?

I dont mind if it is a Naza badge . Naza Forte is an okay name . But if they name it something like Naza Bestari / Sutera / Citra , I would like to think twice . Personally I felt like an insult to the car itself and the name is so so kampung-ish .

This is a personal view . No offense to others .[/quote]

bro,

blame the govt for forcing car manufacturers to give their cars silly 'local' names ;) this is to lower taxes – it's simple. u want lower taxes so that the public can buy your cars instead of the locally manufactured stuff, give it a silly name!

• YES!!!! My dream car!!! If it's cheap then i am looking forward to have a look at them….

• lazyf on May 15, 2009 at 4:16 am

[quote comment="238442"]Everything is nice until it comes to my mind about how Naza going to name it ?

This is a personal view . No offense to others .[/quote]

i saw dis car last friday at Putrajaya…its clearly stated NAZA Forte…hehehe

• xzibit on May 15, 2009 at 4:28 am

awesome car … i think its naza .. but might not be naza forte … might hav same malaysian twist for its name ,,, hahahahah ,,, nice model to knock down civic

• [quote comment="238408"]lawa ke keta ni?sama lemah dgn spectra je…underpowered[/quote]

bai, baca review 1.6l kt internet dulu..

kalo mat salleh yg lebih tinggi n berat blh cakap ok ok, xkan msia plak ckp x ok..

then again, we all know how 'good" NAZA customer service is…

ppl do buy brand when it come to car…

so test drive it 1st…

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 4:57 am

If this is below 7oK, sure it will be selling like cats and dogs.

• claxxion on May 15, 2009 at 5:07 am

This is getting interesting.. Next we shall wait for the Soul..

• msian on May 15, 2009 at 5:19 am

niceeeee……:)…..

• Rulered on May 15, 2009 at 5:50 am

1.6litres, compared to the Iswara infront this car looks massive indeed.

Wonder how the engine handles like? Otherwise the design is quite handsome. Korean likes to take exterior cues from American makes.

• eeer from the pic i feel like no soul. But lets wait until it hit the showroom. Yes spectra drink fuel like hell but we cant judge tis forte by tat. Test drive dulu and fell it…..fell the depreciation, feel the soul, feel the dynamic….etc

• hvannees on May 15, 2009 at 6:20 am

this model maybe will come like another korean.. so.. prepare for japan model.. huhu.. malaysian mentality.. hard to change.. but if I had money… berbaloi go to japan than korea..

• protonboyz on May 15, 2009 at 6:20 am

[quote comment="238325"][quote comment="238323"]sorry to say 1.6 is not sufficient , nah i not going to buy 2 door ,i will bring my parent s etc.[/quote]

Lu tak tengok photo ka bro. 4 door laaa.[/quote]

ADA 2 N 4 DOOR , COUPE U TAU MAKSUK APA , 2 PINTA, ENGINE LEBIH BESAR U TENGOK SENDIRI , X TENGOK JGN AJAR ORG

• BoileR on May 15, 2009 at 8:01 am

[quote comment="238368"][quote comment="238351"]I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

————

It is just my idea to test the forum..whoa.. 70 plus replied… haha .. it is actually Kia Spectra 1.6 (A) …haha.. now i know someone alert about it.. haha.. good job..

last time someone also mention Satria Neo same with this and this… just to make a big joke… hehehe..

thanks for wasting your time to argue my comments:) Spectra really suck, FC like HELL..

• kruzer (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 8:10 am

[quote comment="238384"][quote comment="238374"]Forte, from the French for "strength"….They can call it naza KUAT or naza GAGAH[/quote]

sorry la… if they rename it that way, it has lost its virginity… see the name alrdy no need to place booking… it will be laughing stock… imagine telling ppl i drive a 'GAGAH'…[/quote]

At lead "Gagah" is better than Naza Gajah! :)

• kruzer (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 8:14 am

[quote comment="238384"][quote comment="238374"]Forte, from the French for "strength"….They can call it naza KUAT or naza GAGAH[/quote]

sorry la… if they rename it that way, it has lost its virginity… see the name alrdy no need to place booking… it will be laughing stock… imagine telling ppl i drive a 'GAGAH'…[/quote]

At least "Gagah" is better than Naza Gajah! :)

• alansmithz (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 9:11 am

[quote comment="238508"][quote comment="238368"][quote comment="238351"]I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

————

It is just my idea to test the forum..whoa.. 70 plus replied… haha .. it is actually Kia Spectra 1.6 (A) …haha.. now i know someone alert about it.. haha.. good job..

last time someone also mention Satria Neo same with this and this… just to make a big joke… hehehe..

thanks for wasting your time to argue my comments:) Spectra really suck, FC like HELL..[/quote]

You have been living in a time capsule since u bought your KIA Spectra????????

Do u know how many new model have KIA put out since your Spectra?????

I am really tired finding ignorant idiot like u in this forum. Eventhough u live in Malaysia, u should know better there is only one Protong in this world. Even the chinese carmaker can have more initiative & imagination. Our Protong is the one in a million in this world , u know??

Anyway, your joke is not funny. U are funnier:)

• alansmithz (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 9:14 am

After looking at the Forte Koup, I think the Koup front design is more garang. I hope Naza will give Naza Forte an option to upgrade the front bumper to the Forte Koup one:) I heard the size & shape is totally new/different, so that may not be possible……..

• [quote comment="238365"][quote comment="238351"]I used KIA Sentra last 2 years… sold already

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

kis sentra or nissan spectra?[/quote]

Must be a Kia picanto half cut engine joined to nissan sentra body thats why FC sucks.

• Maibatsu Thunder on May 15, 2009 at 4:32 pm

It's a good car and my wishful thinking is that it's 75-85k. Are the people who want a Kia badge prepared to pay over 95k for it? The Forte is a full-sized C-Segment car priced very close to Mazda3, Civic and Corolla in North America. In Malaysia it does not enjoy CEPT Zero Import Duty or 100% Excise Duty Exemption (ASEAN parts = Local Parts) as Honda Civic (CKD originating from Thailand) does. Be realistic.

• unknown on May 15, 2009 at 4:41 pm

kia is ok but the service centre and the distributor………sucks big. after more than 2 yrs, no one even contact me for the warranty replacement. few warranty claims till i given up on this……planning to buy kia? think twice……more if possible………KIA SUCKS!!!

• normal_user on May 15, 2009 at 5:18 pm

This car should replace the old Spectra, the bread & butter car for Naza. It would be nice if Naza can price it lower than RM70K… If Naza is able to do that, bravo!

I don't think it will sell well if priced above RM75K due to most Malaysians mentality & negative perception on Korean cars besides too close to the City & Vios territory. By the way, the wheels look like they're 17 inchers. The wheels fit the wheel arches nicely, and it has the looks that can match the Lancer GT! If only there are optional bodykits to complement the solid looks.

• Maibatsu Thunder on May 15, 2009 at 5:40 pm

It's much more expensive (double the price I think) of the 2001 CKD Spectra, that's why it's called FORTE and not Spectra. It's a much higher end C-Segment designed to fight Corolla, Civic and Mazda3 in North America. Sadly, Kia is more expensive worldwide, but in Malaysia it is perceived as being a 'must-be-cheap' brand.

• my next target car… now im enjoyed using my inokom getz 1.4, solid car, good handling, good sound insulation n good fuel consumption (mine manual tran) waaaayyyyy better than myvi except of course 'resale value'… Now im fall in love with korean car…

• only ppl that don't know better will compare this car with vios / city . all over the world its the same class as altis / civic / lancer . and more spacious than most jap c-segment cars too.

I think for Naza to succeed, they need to have a huge price range covering from a basic model 1.6L at 68k up to full spec 1.8L or 2.0L at 88k / 98k. Can cater to larger group of cunsumers. Sounds familar? Already a proven formula in malaysia.

neg7,

i'm sure your car depreciated faster than myvi, but the myvi buyer lost more money in terms of much higher interest rate to bank and higher fuel consumption. so in the end about the same lo. But you get a more solid and safer car.

• jonlabi on May 15, 2009 at 7:58 pm

I pity all malaysians who has booked a new vios and city; they must be banging their heads when they see this car. The forte is the replacement for the spectra 5, so the price IMO i think is going to be similar (around 65-75k range). So a 1.6 car as big as the civic, beautiful, stylish, 17inch wheels… i dont think anyone will see the vios and city as attractive as before when they have seen the forte.

• Maibatsu Thunder on May 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Plus the Forte SX has in-dash 6CD, 6-speakers, 17" wheels, Electronic Stability Program, ABS, TRC, etc. The Gamma 1.6L pumps out about 124PS I think. Quite good. Bookings are REALLY HOT in Singapore.

• [quote comment="238629"]only ppl that don't know better will compare this car with vios / city . all over the world its the same class as altis / civic / lancer . and more spacious than most jap c-segment cars too.

I think for Naza to succeed, they need to have a huge price range covering from a basic model 1.6L at 68k up to full spec 1.8L or 2.0L at 88k / 98k. Can cater to larger group of cunsumers. Sounds familar? Already a proven formula in malaysia.

neg7,

i'm sure your car depreciated faster than myvi, but the myvi buyer lost more money in terms of much higher interest rate to bank and higher fuel consumption. so in the end about the same lo. But you get a more solid and safer car.[/quote]

absolutely… mine only 2.75% per annum n myvi if not mistaken 3.99% if take 9 years.. When i told my friends that i pay lower per month then his milo tin myvi, he feel regret for buying myvi n after touch my getz n belek2 he 'terus sumpah' his milo tin myvi, lol… (my getz a bit expensive than my friend myvi se but he pays 580 per month n my car is 538 per month, both of us paid same downpayment)…

• Maibatsu Thunder on May 16, 2009 at 1:01 am

Safetywise it's got 63%+ high tensile steel, contributing towards making it 5-Star NCAP in terms of safety.

• EricG on May 16, 2009 at 8:54 am

[quote comment="238636"]I pity all malaysians who has booked a new vios and city; they must be banging their heads when they see this car. The forte is the replacement for the spectra 5, so the price IMO i think is going to be similar (around 65-75k range). So a 1.6 car as big as the civic, beautiful, stylish, 17inch wheels… i dont think anyone will see the vios and city as attractive as before when they have seen the forte.[/quote]

this car might have the looks and those clean lines and everything. but the design is quite ordinary and the designer is playing safe with his design. not adventurous. just my humble opinion.

• My 2 cents worth opinion… I still seriously don't think this new car is going to sell well in the market. Even though price may be much cheaper than City or Vios, people will still go for Japanese car at all costs & causes! For sure, they won't bang their heads. Trust me… this pattern won't change for a long time to come! Anyway, I think Forte is a very nice car but I doubt it will do well here in M'sia.

Even though Naza is locally assembling this car here, most of the components will be from Korea. I still can recall changing the timing belt for Kia Spectra is at a whopping RM800 like BMW. Spare parts are very expensive!

So let us see how the car is going to do well here!

• mitlanevo on May 17, 2009 at 12:01 am

naza Tongkat Ali or naza Power Root, lol !!!!!!!!

• [quote comment="238636"]I pity all malaysians who has booked a new vios and city; they must be banging their heads when they see this car. The forte is the replacement for the spectra 5, so the price IMO i think is going to be similar (around 65-75k range). So a 1.6 car as big as the civic, beautiful, stylish, 17inch wheels… i dont think anyone will see the vios and city as attractive as before when they have seen the forte.[/quote]

———-

Spectra or Sentra? haha..

It is value for money? i have seen a lot KIA model used car unsold… and the Spectra really famous with HIGH FC…

• taboogen on May 17, 2009 at 2:40 pm

correct me if i'm wrong.. the front look like civic and rear like city

so you can have the both world…

• Ivantai on May 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

I think the front look like Elantra or Civic and the rear look like new Audi A4

• lowprofile on May 17, 2009 at 10:40 pm

yup, best of both worlds (europe and japan) at a 'malaysian friendly' price.

• nighttrain on May 17, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Have to compare this car with wajalancer first to decide which one I wanna buy.

• donno on May 18, 2009 at 11:21 pm

[quote comment="239106"]Have to compare this car with wajalancer first to decide which one I wanna buy.[/quote]

Comparing forte with wajalancerGT? Sure lah wajalancerGT!

But i have a few friends with the CBU lancers… and their build quality is seriously questionable for a great brand such as the mitsubushi…

What about the Forte? The US version of the forte uses the same engine as the LancerGT. Hmmm Forte EVO X anyone???

• LoveForte on May 20, 2009 at 2:30 am

Wow…check out Forte with bodykit
    http://www.ceratoforte.sg/general-discussion-for-…

• I saw one on my way home last night around 9:30pm on PLUS Highway northbound between Hospital Sungai Buloh to Rawang interchange. Got a decent look at it but I got to go home quick at that time. Nature calls :P

• john doe on May 24, 2009 at 2:31 am

the FC like HELL!!

-X-Sentra user[/quote]

Yo bro…. Your "Kia SENTRA" buy from kedai potong kereta is it? the front is KIA then the rear is SENTRA… HAHAHAaa

• Ducky on May 24, 2009 at 4:29 am

If 1.6, could that be the old KIA engine NAZA drop into this NEW KIA FORTE? This new car should come with the new KIA 2.0 engine. NAZA, please don't play cheat….

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2009 at 9:40 am

the kia forte comes with 1.6 internationally, the same engine currently in the kia spectra5.

• You mean the 1.6 Kia Forte has is using the current engine in Spectra5?

• dinkodink on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:55 am

the 1.6 is using gamma II engine, similar to hyundai avante… i've been driving the 2.0SX(M)… FC wise is gd…

for 2L is 13KM/L… normal driving 50%City:50%highway…

hope this helps

a value for money car in Singapore… selling like hotcakes…

• Leong WK on Aug 29, 2009 at 9:10 am

According to Paul Tan….. its using the current spectra 5 engine.

Is this engine good and reliable?

Is this a new technology engine?

Any current spectra 5 owner to comment on the Fuel consumption?

What is the rpm for cruising speed at 100km/h and 120km/h?

• DADIPENANG on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:45 am

When it going to luanch….cann't wait to change my car…

this one better or go for PEU….308VTI

• russiaguy (Member) on Sep 23, 2009 at 1:16 am

Is Forte going to be launched soon in Malaysia? This is definitely a smart-looking car, where I could see massively in Russia and also Singapore. By the way, some Naza-Kia sale representatives have already opened for enthusiastists to book the CBU version. I just hope that they will bring in 2.0 Theta II engine, it's a very responsive engine. Hope to see Forte on our shore soon!

• Myuzi on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:12 pm

will be launch soon.. come in with 1.6 litre and 2.0 litre..

expected price rm 75k for 1.6 litre.. 2.0 litre dun know..

just seen the car yesterday on naza new model conference..

will cancel my city to get this one.. haha..

• Hazri on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:38 pm

what about built-quality performed by NAZA so far?

it would be great if quality NAZA Forte similar with KIA Forte..but if lower, no point NAZA assemble Forte locally…i would rather to choose other brand.

• man! i must get one since look better than vios and city even civic. wonder when this machine will launch in malaysia. its true that this machine really hot in singapore?

• BURHAN on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:01 am

Forte estimated price are Forte 1.6 RM75,800 to RM81,800 & Forte 2.0 RM93,800.

Any information plz sms @ call me..

013-212 7794

• BURHAN on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:06 am

next month kia forte start launch..

• BURHAN on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:08 am

next month launch kia forte..

• ANuaR on Oct 19, 2009 at 12:39 am

Next month, November 2009 Kia Forte will be launch??

can't wait to test drive this car..will make a decision between Honda City or Toyota Vios TRD or Kia Forte..

• Myuzi on Oct 21, 2009 at 6:25 pm

estimate price dah ada..

1.6 low specs rm75k-rm77k

1.6 high specs rm81k-83k

2.0 specs rm93k-95k

ada inquiry leh call 012-3460826..

dah nak lauch maybe bulan depan..

this friday ada briefing on product..

• i saw this car at batu berendam melaka! Its palte is Singapore. very nice and attractive.Hope the price is fair.

• RauNa on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:23 am

mmt – What is the color of the Forte u saw bro?? 1.6 or 2.0?? with bodykit?? did u snap any pic?? can share with us the pic..

• Myuzi on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:50 pm

at last dapat tgk kereta secara dekat..

mmg cun, pricing still mcm stated before..

akan datang dalam 4 warna putih, hitam, kelabu dan merah..

lauch bulan depan.. klu nak tau lebih leh call 012-3460826..

• daniel on Oct 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

Nice looking car ,first i seen it in Brunei then Sigapore few months back.

Are we always backward?Just lauch this beauty ASAP.

• Myuzi on Nov 10, 2009 at 11:39 pm

24 NOVEMBER 2009 launch forte..

• kiddy (Member) on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:25 pm

wow…not bad car…definately better than the vios & city…..interior trim nice as well..and 5star crash test…very roomy

• MBX Boy on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:27 am

RauNa said,

October 23, 2009 @ 12:23 am

mmt – What is the color of the Forte u saw bro?? 1.6 or 2.0?? with bodykit?? did u snap any pic?? can share with us the pic..

—————————-
    If you excited pasal kereta ni, cuba tengok real pics kat site ni: http://www.ceratoforte.sg/

• KIA FORTE open for b on Nov 12, 2009 at 10:44 am

Kami adalah syarikat NAZA KIA dari cawangan KLANG & cawangan KEPONG yang buka 365 hari 9am-9pm setiap hari.

Senang untuk anda melawat KIA pada bila-bila masa selepas waktu kerja mahupun pada hari Ahad & public holiday! Kami adalah SPECIAL OUTLET!

Informasi:…………..

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009.

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Open for booking now! We are the only SPECIAL OUTLET in Malaysia which…

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily!

Pls come & visit us at:

No.48 & 50, Lorong Batu Nilam 4B,

Bandar Bukit Tinggi,

41200 Klang.

Hotline:03-3323 9948 (3 lines)

No.69 & 71, Jalan Rimbunan Raya 1,

Laman Rimbunan, Kepong,

52100 Kuala Lumpur

Hotline: 03-6252 9868 (2 lines)

ANY ENQUIRY pls call us. Happy to serve u. tq :)

• fortelover (Member) on Nov 13, 2009 at 4:39 am

counting days for the test drive !!

• fortelover (Member) on Nov 13, 2009 at 4:40 am

counting day for the test drive!

• H JESSEL on Nov 13, 2009 at 12:52 pm

Hi All ,

I have been driving the FORTE 2.0 EX fully loaded here in Canada for about 3 months now. It's a very nice and economical car to drive as a daily commute.I simply can't believe it cost so much in Malaysia. Here in Canada it only cost be CAN$22k. I actually traded my 2007 2.4 Camry for the Forte and never regretted it.

For me it's a little underpowered but then my other car is a 3.7 XL7 AWD.But as I said for a daily commute you will not regret getting FORTE.

• fortelover (Member) on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:23 am

Jessel, thanks for your sharing. how about the FC (km/L) ?

I'm looking forward to a 2.0SX, cos worry about the 1.6 may underpower for it's weight.

• H JESSEL on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:40 am

Hi Fortelover, The FC is excellent, I compared it with the Civic and Corolla (Altis in Malaysia) , Focus ..Forte performed better , it also has higher H/P stiffer suspensions and lots of goodies that comes with the fully loaded model so there is no way these other makes can even compare to Forte for the money value.

Yes , the 1.6 will be underpowered ..better to go for the 2.0 ..we also have the 2.4 here in Canada.But the 2.0 gives the best FC.

• simon on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:08 pm

well, 2.0 is theta II engine

• forteleavesyouspeech on Nov 16, 2009 at 1:12 am

if kia/naza forte 2.0 is really priced from rm93,000 onwards, buyers will think twice before buying honda city…

anyway,check out the teaser website:- http://www.leavesyouspeechless.com.my

• Nazaforte on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:40 pm

I already book this car yesterday….

• penangboy on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:14 am

Hope Naza don't spoiled it like Spectra this time.

• forteadmirer on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm

just saw them this morning at nkve. there are silver and red in colour with naza badge. at e rear stated forte on e left and sx on e right.

anybody could give detail spec 4 each variant. want to diff between 1.6 and 2.0.

anyway it is look good.

• budak baju merah gro on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:52 am

to all forte lover wanna knw about forte details n price just leave ur email we will foward asap. or may call us at 013 3446619 @ 019 2696964

• budak baju merah gro on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:53 am

forteadmirer just give me ur email i will foward to u

• Rondowner on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:19 am

After driving Rondo for 2 months and my 1st Korean car and i can say that my perceptions over Koreans had changed in terms of Quality,Build,Performance,Safety,Comfort and Economical ..

Am sure the Forte is going to be a hit when it launches next week and despite all the remarks i hear about High FC,Lousy resales value and i guess
    they are really serious in producing good car and i have no doubt about Korean cars in future..

With the Theta engine you will not regret the performance and my suggest is own one and feel the difference and go for the 2lit as the 1.6 might be lack of power base on kerb weight which is close to Exora but if u are tight in budget the 1.6 high spec sure is value for money against the Japs..

Gone were the days with 4 protons and i will say ENOUGH IS ENOUGH..
    Countdown to 2012 to change…

• WaitingforForte on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Dear all,

Has anyone anticipated the maintenance cost before for Forte? i.e replacing spare parts and stuffs?. Apparently, Korean spare parts are pretty expensive. How true is this?.

• forteadmirer on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:15 pm

bbmgc…waiting for the details….pls send to this mail [email protected]

• bbmgc. send to me 1.6ex n 1.6 sx. the different. [email protected]

• optima2008fan on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:23 pm

I owned Kia Optima 2008, the fuel consumption is highly efficient compare to my previous satria neo 1.6. The interior is very solid compare to perdana, and the interior space is bigger than toyota camry 2008. I'm really satisfied with Kia Optima 2008.. if I have more money, definitely I will buy this new Kia Forte.

Yes, previosly, the Naza Ria and Kia Spectra performance are very bad. high fuel consumption and Kia Spectra's timing belt always malfunction… That were the early babies of kia… and now they are always keep improving compare with the potong car…. kekekekkee.

• budak baju merah gro on Nov 23, 2009 at 1:25 am

optima2008fan

congs for ur new baby optima… well done man.. proud got cust like u… tq for supporting us kiamotors….

• optima2008fan on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:39 am

to budak baju merah group company..

you are welcome.. hence i'm really satisfied the customer service provided by Kia Service Centre at selayang.. can watching dvds, surfing internet and also has a massage chair.. Not like potong service centre…kekekeke

• Nisha on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Hi budak baju merah group company,

Could you please forward the maintenance service schedule and cost for Kia Forte 1.6 high spec?

Thanks very much

• bbmgc on Nov 25, 2009 at 12:40 am

hi nisha

at moment i dun hav dat copy. it too new. and we not yet deliver dat car. dun wori i will try to get copy for u asap

• SUriX on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:42 am

the official price 1.6Ex (base model) ——–rm75800

1.6Sx(Full spec)———–rm81800

2.0 sx(full spec)———–rm93800

the car have better spec with vios n city

• Astarguy on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:47 am

I'm gonna visit KIA showroom this week. This car looks awesome!

Very tempting to book. The price is very affordable.. I'd be glad if they have in dark blue..

Thumbs UP for KIA!

• Nicheadison on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Good job Kia! Throw away those overpriced Toyo and Hond and take this safer car!

• sharkfish on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:38 pm

design tak cukup bagus

• lavio on Dec 01, 2009 at 3:36 am

Just take a look this car near my house.. Very3 comfortable seat. Now i'm drive Latio sport and Vios. It's really can beat my two cars…I wanna trade-in one of my car….

• admund on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:34 am

is there a manual option?

• I really like this car.. I wanna go to KIA showroom this week… beautiful, gorgeous n more gagah than Vios or City… Pity to my fren who just get his new honda city last month…haha… but I need to look/compare with new Proton Wajalancer first…

• bbmgc on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:08 pm

to mr.s

if u really wanna view da just drop by or call me 013344 6619 arief

• bbmgc on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:11 pm

to lavio

if u wanna trade in ur current car plz call me arief 013 344 6619

• TheTitan on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Wooo haha

i got a test drive Forte 1.6sx yesterday,it's really a nice car with the latest tech and great functional such as push/start button really eazy to use like civic type R,nice touching,roomy and comfort and the important is we get all these with the low price indeed.

BUT.. i really disappoint with the pick-up lar,no confident to potong2 everywhere but i think got by the 2.0(but the roadtax too expensive for me), i still think how can i modified this if i'm the owner soon…

• KiaOptima2008Fan on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Go for KIA Forte 2.O .. you will not dissappointed. My current kia optima using Theta 1 engine, and really have the required pick up for potong2 di jalan raya..huhu…. Kia Forte 2.0 using Theta 2 engine, upgraded from the previous engine for Kia Optima 2008…

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Thinking to let go my 2005 city and get Forte 2.0. I still have 4 years installment to go for my city at RM890 a month. Now market price is around 56k. If I trade in then I will loan about 80k for this Forte.

Monthly will still repayment the same at about 900 except the loan become 9 years again.

My worry was after 5 years, if going to change a new car again. Will Forte 2nd hand value will give me 14k just like my city now?

Pls help to give comment if you are in the same situation as me.

Tks.

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Rate 1-10:

1) Color – 6

2) Exterior – 8

3) Interior – 5

4) Performance – 7

5) Safety – 7

6) Technology – 8

7) Features – 7

8) Maintenance – 5

Average: 53/8 = 6.625

• tony888 on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Love in 1st sight with the FORTE. Due to too much negative input from others regarding the cost of the maintanence. How is it possible to check out some of the common parts price? Just a step away from purchasing….

• i bet NAZA will put crap parts in this car that why they can make money ,they will say this car assemble in malaysia, that mean they can reduce price but they forgot to mention one thing replace cheaper parts aka crap. if im buying this car, im import it by myself. Actually they can order custom from kia which part they want example :- power stearing, if im not mistaken got 3 type – the most lauya one is hydraulic, my brother buy dis hydraulic type and put it in proton saga only cost Rm400 to Rm600, if malaysian to stupid to understand what is ABS they will remove this to LOL, most malasia businessman or women cannot be trusted at all .

• CARXPERT on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:40 pm

PEPOL NEVER STOP COMPLAINT…COMPLAINT AND COMPLAINT.

• ONLY TWO PLACE PEOPLE WILL NOT COMPLAINT WHATEVER ANYBODY DO …….. HELL AND HEAVEN. GO THERE IF YOU REALLY FRUSTRATED WITH PEOPLE COMPLAINT TO MUCH :P, I ALREADY BOOK A TICKET …SOON I WILL GO THERE TO :)

• zadgee on Aug 03, 2010 at 1:05 pm

I was taken in by the reviews and look of the forte and booked a unit from their puchong branch more than a week ago. Can’t comment on the car, but i can say that the service by Naza is LOUSY. High on promises but short on delivery.
    it’s been more than a week and the salesman still has not gotten the bank to contact me for my documents as promised. Have spoken to the salesman several times- all i get is the standard “mungkin bank busy” reply.
    Their hotline is no help and asked me to deal and follow-upwith the salesman directly instead of assisting to sort the matter out.

If this is how Naza’s pre-sale service is like, wonder how it’ll be once you have bought their product…