How to Buy a Used Car From a Private Seller in Malaysia

A step-by-step guide by the paultan.org Private Auto Financing team · Updated June 2026

Buying a used car directly from a private seller is usually cheaper than buying from a dealer — there's no dealer margin built into the price. The trade-off is that everything a dealer would normally handle becomes your responsibility: verifying the car, arranging financing, the Puspakom inspection, settling the seller's outstanding loan, and the JPJ ownership transfer.

Done correctly, a direct deal is safe and can save you thousands of ringgit. Done carelessly, it's where most used-car scams happen. Here's the full process, step by step.

Step 1: Verify the car and the seller

Before talking money, confirm three things:

Avoid "sambung bayar" deals. In a sambung bayar (continue-payment) arrangement, you take over the car and quietly continue the seller's monthly loan payments without transferring ownership. The car legally remains under the seller's name and the bank's claim — if the seller defaults elsewhere or the bank finds out, the car can be repossessed and you have little recourse. Always do a proper loan settlement and ownership transfer.

Step 2: Agree on a fair price

Research what the same model, year, and mileage sells for on the major used-car listing sites. Keep in mind that banks finance based on the car's market value, not the asking price — typically up to 90% of market value. If you agree to pay above market, the difference comes out of your own pocket on top of the usual down payment.

Step 3: Arrange financing (hire purchase loan)

Used car loans in Malaysia are hire purchase loans, available from most major banks for tenures of up to nine years. Two things matter most:

You can compare both methods with our used car loan repayment calculator.

For the application, banks typically ask for your NRIC, six months of payslips, and six months of EPF statements. Approval usually takes up to two weeks.

Step 4: Puspakom inspection

Every ownership transfer requires a Puspakom B5 inspection, which verifies the car's identity — chassis number, engine number, and that the vehicle matches its registration record. If the purchase is financed, a B7 inspection (for hire purchase endorsement) is required as well. Slots can be booked online, but expect to set aside time for the visit itself.

Step 5: Settle the seller's outstanding loan

If the seller still owes the bank money, the loan must be settled before ownership can transfer. The seller requests a settlement letter from their bank stating the exact redemption amount, the amount is paid to the bank (usually out of your purchase payment), and the bank releases its claim on the car. The remaining balance goes to the seller.

This is the step where buyers are most exposed: never hand the full purchase price to the seller and trust that they'll settle the loan themselves. Payment should go to the bank directly, or through a trusted intermediary who manages the settlement.

Step 6: Transfer ownership at JPJ

With the B5 inspection passed and the loan settled, the ownership transfer is registered with JPJ. You'll need to arrange your own insurance policy for the car (required for the road tax under your name), and both buyer and seller documentation must be in order. Once the transfer is registered, the geran is updated — the car is legally yours.

Costs to budget beyond the car price

Common pitfalls to avoid

Or let us handle all of it

We arrange the bank loan, Puspakom inspection, loan settlement, and JPJ transfer for private buyers and sellers — service fees from RM700.

Get Started Today

Read how it went for a Proton X70 buyer and a BMW 520i seller who used the service.

WhatsApp