New Honda Jazz on trailer spotted on KESAS!

Honda Jazz

Reader Sodi snapped a trailer transporting a few units of the new Honda Jazz on the KESAS Highway at about 12:50PM in the afternoon from Klang heading towards Shah Alam. The trailer is carrying white and blue painted units, so we know at least two of the colours being offered now.

Other details seen are the wing mirrors with signal indicators, and the alloy wheel design. It’s a shame the rear wheel did not manage to be included in the photo so we cannot see if the rear brakes are discs or drums.

The white Jazz looks quite good and is in line with the current trend of white being a popular colour for a car.

Look after the jump for two more shots of the trailer.

Honda Jazz

Honda Jazz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MrDDR (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 8:44 am

waaaa how much

• _xXx_ (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:15 am

Let’s guess…..105k

• ... (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:16 am

wow, it looks good in white

• _xXx_ (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:16 am

Siam mari?

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:22 am

I was in Kuching earlier of the week and saw this kind of trailer unloading the Honda Jazz 09 at Honda Kuching ( branch near the airport ). However, cannot take snapshot as my mobile phone cannot focus the picture as it was quite far.

From the looks of it ( as I saw 2 trailers moving in ) this car is gonna sell ! Maybe what I saw is the high end version.

Prices est for 1.5 maybe RM100-110K. Maynot exceed the Civic tho.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

Oh yes was invited for the launch…it is next Wed 20th Aug guys. See u there.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:01 pm

im glad we are getting those rims

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:04 pm

huhu..the vtec version might fetch around 100k-110k…owh whats the engine capacity? is it still 1.5? demm..1.5 for 110k..but then like xsaraloeb sed..this car gonna sell.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:15 pm

Why is this car so popular in Japan Malaysia and around the world?
    I don’t see the point

• jhuan (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Isaac, may be you can go test drive one and judge for yourself :)

I’m 35 now, yet still has a rush feeling of buying Jazz, be it new or previous version :)

• abtm (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 2:32 pm

planing a hijack guys?

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 3:02 pm

hijack?? jom! i join u abtm! hahaha…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 3:58 pm

its well built, very frugal ,spacious, cheapest way for people to get into a honda and is a girls car (makes it easy target for daddy buying the daughter a car and husband/bf’s buying thier wife/gf the car) and also popular with male overseas students. if youre in the market for a car in that price bracket, there isnt much choice to choose from from a value point of view. yaris doesnt cut it, mazda 2 makes a splash but drive one and there too much cost cutting in the name of marketing it as girl’s car and not really frugal for a modern light weight. rivals from ford, suzuki and vw are too small and take more petrol.

• carbon (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 4:38 pm

vw polo gti, rm109k promo price, 1.8l turbo engine + CBU from gemany. no fight? (only available in manual though)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 4:54 pm

maybe thats the reason carbon, only manual, nowadays most ppl are too lazy to drive a manual vehicle…

if i myself want buy a new car, i’ll get automatic version too…..

• isfufushah (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 5:51 pm

hey u guys,

i think i spot a SILVER or maybe GREY colour at pix #3 on the top row.
    ;-}

• pajeroio (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Hi all,
    Today just passby Honda dealer and accidently peeped the new Jazz. Surprise! It is White & Blue color. The Blue one is for test drive. Both color look nice to me. Interior is very futuristic too. But I think still not the highest spec compare to S’pore version. According to sales rep, total hv 2 specs, 1 with pedal shift n another w/o. Both r 1.5. The White n Blue spotted both c/w pedal. Total color offer r White, Blue, Black & Silver. Rear brake is disk if not mistake, not sure for the low spec. Price….. wait until 20th Aug.

• iskandar (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Honda Japan might have built a car that’s reliable and with high quality and technology.

Sadly, the Melaka assembly plant seem to enjoy tarnishing the Honda brand with their low assembly quality. After that, the Honda service centers all around the country destroy the credibility of Honda altogether with their bad attitude, very unprofessional service and cincai job.

But when this happen where do you turn to ? Nobody in Honda Malaysia will entertain you.

I know, I got a Honda City.

Malaysia Boleh !! (.. menjahanamkan apa2 saja).

p/s Love my Honda, and love to strangle the local Honda assembler and serviceman.

• dr_carz (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:31 pm

iskandar said,
    August 16, 2008 @ 7:18 pm

Honda Japan might have built a car that’s reliable and with high quality and technology.

Sadly, the Melaka assembly plant seem to enjoy tarnishing the Honda brand with their low assembly quality. After that, the Honda service centers all around the country destroy the credibility of Honda altogether with their bad attitude, very unprofessional service and cincai job.

But when this happen where do you turn to ? Nobody in Honda Malaysia will entertain you.

I know, I got a Honda City.

Malaysia Boleh !! (.. menjahanamkan apa2 saja).

p/s Love my Honda, and love to strangle the local Honda assembler and serviceman.

—————————————————————-

LUCKY ME I BOUGHT A SUZUKI

LOVE THE QUALITY SERVICE

ESPECIALLY THE CUTE AND SEXY CLERK IN THE AMPANG SERVICE CENTER

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 9:50 pm

jhuan said,

August 16, 2008 @ 2:29 pm

Maybe im just not into these small cc no butt cars.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Isaac, different people sure different taste mehh..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 11:34 pm

IsaacVky, just coz you wont buy it doesnt mean others wont, same goes for protons, and peroduas and some say porsches..

but the jazz doesnt sell well everywhere in the world.. most japanese cars, and that includes the mighty toyota, dont sell well in europe at all.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 11:36 pm

iskandar, like all car brands in malaysia, not all service centres are bad, some are really good. you should try other service centres.

• chanel (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 12:06 am

actually i already saw it 2 days ago, but unfortunately i don’t carry my digi-cam so can’t take any photo……cz, my office nearby the showroom & the factory to showroom is only ~50km away….the front light look very sexy…..

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 12:44 am

It might cost a lot for a car this size, but driving or simply taking a ride on Jazz is a pleasure. Nice touches everywhere and u can feel the quality and practicality of it.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:04 am

carbon said,

August 16, 2008 @ 4:38 pm

vw polo gti, rm109k promo price, 1.8l turbo engine + CBU from gemany. no fight? (only available in manual though)

———————–
    thats actually a good price. over here the polo gti sells about 10-15k rm above the jazz basic. i thought golf gtis and polo are from south africa or something.

nowadays its paddle shift. but if i was buying a mx5 or a honda euro with well sorted gear boxes and clutches….i would get manual. everything else would be semi auto. i personally think the jazz should be the entry level and price for a honda. even in msia.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:59 am

i do saw it too along LDP toward PJ couple of days ago. white ones are indeed very outstanding. i wonder does it comes with 1.3 as well.

now that jazz is goin to be launched by this month, that means 6 more months will come the new city! hopefully :)

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 10:02 am

Oh and its a popular car among chinese ah bengs = =’

• afroiq (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

i saw this car at singapore in june..it’s a nice looking car..and i cant see the interior..as it is dark..takkan nak intai..nanti people say i want to curi the pulak..

it will sell well in malaysia..truly good looking car..

• jcws_87 (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 12:50 pm

pajeroio said,
    August 16, 2008 @ 6:05 pm

Hi all,
    Today just passby Honda dealer and accidently peeped the new Jazz. Surprise! It is White & Blue color. The Blue one is for test drive. Both color look nice to me. Interior is very futuristic too. But I think still not the highest spec compare to S’pore version. According to sales rep, total hv 2 specs, 1 with pedal shift n another w/o. Both r 1.5. The White n Blue spotted both c/w pedal. Total color offer r White, Blue, Black & Silver. Rear brake is disk if not mistake, not sure for the low spec. Price….. wait until 20th Aug.

—————————————————————-
    To all out there also, Yes the new Jazz is launching very soon (20th Aug nationwide as what pajeroio said)..Yes there hv 2 specs (w pedal shift n w/o pedal shift) and both arte 1.5 litre engine only (those tat are hoping for 1.2,1.3…sorry to say, malaysia will not having those model). It comes with 4 colours. Front and rear are disc brake and comes with a 15″ n 16″ inch alloy wheel (15″ for w/o pedal shift n 16″ for w pedal shift like the spotted one). Prices is say to be about RM110++ but do come to any honda dealer to see for urself some of the techno the car offer (see the front side sill garnish n how to open the fuel lid) plus one last thing, it’s come with a 5 speed auto transmission

• rhoma (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:25 pm

i saw a singaporean jazz zooming along istana negara few days ago..it was in white..i think same as above pic..i have to say it’s a nice looking car from front and rear..looks big too..but cannot help seeing the front headlamp and remind me of the viva’s headlamp..really spoil

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:48 pm

we wont get the RS version???thats a pity..huhuhu

• mct (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:53 pm

110k ??
    110k for such tiny car ???
    you can get a much larger car then this with tat price nowaday
    jazz design is really nice but if really 110k ,it is not worth lah
    cvt are more expensive then 5 speed auto . why its way open fuel lid deserve to plus some extra $ on it ??? .
    hope it will ckd it and price well , such price is no reasonable for this type of car

• King Samurai (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:29 am

SA in Honda showrooms shown me their teaser leaflets for booking purpose. Got 2 version now with same 1.5L i-vtec engine, only the features are different. Low end quoted at 105k and the hi-end version at 110k. Hmmm..quite pricey..for small car thanks to bolehland tax regime for car imported from tomyumland…Wait for new city lah..CKD might be cheaper..By the way its not the right time to change car when the HP interest is sky high at this moment.Better wait and see..

• rizones (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:52 am

launching Aug 20 2008
    this coming wed” ….

• chowh (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:10 am

Interesting to compare prices in region – Singapore SGD68k (RM160k) for top of the range with sunroof but Japan CBU. Thailand BHT680k (RM72k) for same specs but Thai built.

Expected pricing here RM110k but I think it will be closer to RM105k. Still on the pricey side considering AFTA is supposed to bring the tax down to 5%. After all, the previous version from Thailand has been RM103k for 3 years but the tax has supposed to have been reduced progressively??

I suppose main dealers will always price according to what they think people are willing to paying relation to competitors products in the market place -. eg Honda Accord 2.0 is priced considerably higher than CRV 2.0 in Singapore but reverse true in Malaysia due to pricing of Camrys.

Any comments??

• USDfan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:28 pm

haiya…i saw this model at singapore…if u johorean..u can see this car on the road now…of course singapore plat ahh…them dpt buy this car lebih awal….sometime ..malaysian look like jakun person ahhh…always excited something yg orang da pakai lama…lpas tu yg da pakai lama tu jiran sendiri lak tu….haiyaaaa!

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:53 pm

110K for a Jazz 1.5 ??

or better to get Slyphy 2.0 for 110K ?
    or Lancer GT 2.0 for 110K ?

• droll (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 1:58 pm

just got sms from one SA. august 20th it will be in showrooms.

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:16 pm

RM105K and RM110K…. for a 1.5L mini MPV size CKD (even if its cbu..) built in Melaka? Is this OTR price?

What is the price for:
    1. Lancer 2.0GT? ANS: RM115,980 OTR. RM6K more
    2. Nissan Slyphy 2.0 (Comfort)? ANS: RM113,584 OTR. RM3.6K more
    3. …… civic 1.8… or … altis 1.8.. put in perspective, its over-price, again.

If image is important or want similar size car or design.. then loosely similar looking car like the Suzuki Swift, Toyota Yaris and 206 Bestari (to name a few) is cheaper. Heard there is a plan to CKD the new Peugeot 308 at <RM100K .. that might be next year at the earliest, i dunno… but that’s a saving of more than RM30K than the CBU 307 and to see a similar size CKD european car priced lower than CKD/asean jap is rare indeed. the first that i know of was the peugeot 407 ckd.

Me think Jazz is overpriced, as always. we shouldn’t be forced to pay a huge ‘premium’ just to be a little ‘stylo’.. Beside, Jazz might be the craze back then, as it is a revelation, so fresh people r attracted to it immediately. plus it was very different from the rest, but nowadays even the new Jazz would not be a revolutionary, a revelation and have high-impact as the first-gen Jazz. it might still able to ride on the craze wave again, but that wave is ‘bukan musim’ nowaday. absolutely not as big as before..

dimension-wise, Jazz is quite similar to Myvi! But double the price..

like king samurai advised, now is time of trouble, becareful what u yearn for..

• isfufushah (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Yeah, spotted it today too… Atas lori infront of U.H and probably on its way to Honda Showroom near Rothman Round-about at Section 13 Petaling Jaya.

Wah, the BLUE colour was like a blue sea colour kinda’ like a soft blue. The WHITE colour really interesting too…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:21 pm

So is this going to be the SOHC i-vtec? Good low end torque a bit breathless at the top? Good for town use. But would it conflict with an upcoming Honda City? What happened to the product placement? Honda doing a Toyota/Perodua? Aren’t we all confused already?

Any chance of slipping in a K20A in there?

• torque (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Big deal…I’ll just wait n see.

If there’s a Toyota die hard fan out there who’s willing to pay more 100k for Corolla Altis 1.8E Sporty with freaking old 4 speed auto (Super ECT…yeah rite!), you think there won’t be any Honda die hard fan who’s willing to pay 110k for a 1.5 cool stylo minivan? Sure got wan…different people got different taste mah! It’s their money…their choice la. King Samurai said it best, better wait and see since the HP loan interest is quite high right now.

I rather pick the Suzuki SX4 which cost around 91k and must come in white (saw it and love it). Plus, I got nearly 20k extra to spend. What? Fuel consumption? Haiya, i-DSI ke, i-VTEC ke…all depends on the driver la. Heavy foot, heavy fuel consumption la…light foot, you all know lah. Just wait till the launch lah…

Happy motoring everyone! :-)