Mitsubishi Mirage – recall for 1,869 units in Malaysia

mirage

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has announced a ‘field fix campaign’ for 1,869 Mitsubishi Mirage cars sold from November 6 last year to March 31, 2013, in which a preventive measure will be undertaken to replace the car’s front wheel speed sensor.

The recall exercise, initiated by Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) in Japan, seeks to address an issue in which imperfections found in the front wheel speed sensor could partially compromise the braking performance of the Mirage. No incidents have been reported in Malaysia, but the company says the exercise is necessary as a safety measure.

MMM says that every Mirage undergoing this campaign will be thoroughly checked and affected components replaced, with full cost to be borne by Mitsubishi Motors for the rectification.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Mitsubishi Mirage recall mainly express relief and approval for the proactive approach, with some praising Japanese automakers for responsible recalls. Several users share their own recall experiences, noting improvements in vehicle performance post-recall. There are criticisms of local brands like Proton and Perodua for allegedly being less forthcoming with recalls, with some comments implying bias or skepticism towards their practices. A few comments also criticize Mitsubishi and other brands for past issues or for not doing enough. Overall, the sentiment is positive toward manufacturers that execute recalls responsibly, viewing it as a sign of good customer care, while some express distrust and frustration with lesser recalcitrant brands.

• rally_fan on Apr 03, 2013 at 10:56 am

“the front wheel speed sensor could partially compromise the braking performance of the Mirage”

im guessing the ABS will be affected.

• So pls,not only VW DSG gt problems,Mit,Mazda and other got problems too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:42 am

Ha Ha Ha what a joke. Never trust Mitsubishi lah. For over 18 years they were giving us old outdated engines for our Proton working hand in hand with N government to cheat the rakyat. You still believe them now? Those days shock sendiri about Magma engines thinking they were the latest but in Japan, they were laughing at us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
        • frank on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:01 am

that’s story sudah basi la, long ago. now proton has rebadged lancer to inspira, using mivec engine, so what?
          not to mention proton has in-house engine cfe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • better buy myvi rather than this stupid junk.
      lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
      • Peyno on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:03 am

Buy myvi means support NAP n cronies.. Even poewer window switch n disc brake problem for many yaears which effect brake performance oso no recall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • rajahGlobal on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:04 am

nobody complaint also make recall exercise? this is good!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:13 am

If Toyota people complain then only recall…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
      • ah beng on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:29 am

if Proton people complain they reply “memang macam tu”….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 9
        • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Klu perodua dia kata.. Cannot be.. We aretoyota dna.. If toyota no recall.. Means we oso no recall

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 5
        • The problem is Proton never recall.
          And you have to understand, “memang macam tu” is the tagline of their service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 24
          • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Whatt??? Proton never recall??? Hahaha.. Joke of the day from perodua salesman.. Yg never recall cuma sekali recently tu perodua… Even toyota got recall.. Perodua never recall
            Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
          • When P2 or other manufacturers recalled, they advertise so that people get the message. Unlike Proton, still exploring the ways to recall discreetly. Takut sangat orang tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
          • bonbon on Apr 03, 2013 at 5:40 pm

proton pernah recall … (i wrote, “proton pernah recall”, not “proton is the best”,not “im proton sales man” , not “proton da great” please read carefully)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • Veneno on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:24 pm

u live under the rock..?? proton already did it on gen.2 and savvy model a couple of years ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 03, 2013 at 1:22 pm

If Volkswagen recall it’s called as service campaign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • Keleborg on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Good one. My drivers window problem already 2 years…and simple answer by them is….”mmg mcm tu”…you feel want to kick their backside

• Careful bro, later T&H fanboys will say that this car not even on road for 1 year already recall, not being QC properly before deliver and such BS.

But I endorse this kinds of recalls. Recall because you know there is a problem rather than recall because customer complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 101
        • I see jealousy in your statement.. poor guy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 10
          • I see a lot of butthurts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
          • I see a lot of hurted rears (aka b.hurt, I think the administrator didn’t allow my reply because I’ve used it obviously the last time)

Looking at the thumbdowns, damn, you guys are hardworking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • the guy who butthurt is u… owning a mitsu or a mazda, without having experience for owning a toyota or honda, keep anyhow barking there.. dun just always refer to websites or comments, owned it and talk bout it after that.. typical keyboard warrior.. poor guy.. stick with your beloved car is the best.. and for your info, Honda recall my wife’s City for some engine knocking issue, without having any accidents/lawsuits occur… they replace whole engine head (I was the one who send and monitoring while they do the service), even we did not experience any engine knocking… So, keep your mouth shut if u know nothing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
          • On the City issue, personal experience okay. It’s not spoiled but after the change, the engine is even more teruk before the change.

Don’t need to keep pressing thumbs up button on your post. I know how technology works.

I will not tell you the STFU because I enjoy a good debate and at the same time I do apologize for stepping over your T&H tail. Sorry bout that bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • Sorry that this time you might get the butt hurt.. it turns out otherwise.. FC was improved and engine vibration and noise is way better than before.. maybe your SC over there is way teruk.. i duno.. but in Sarawak, my friends who owned Honda all give thumbs up after servicing there.. at least, they call once from the branch here to ask you on how was your experience after servicing / replacing parts after 1 week.. Within a month we will receive another call from Honda KL, asking on any complain or unsatisfactory so far.. i think this is a good move.. for toyota, i duno.. my colleagues service waiting is about 1 month, and this is part of the reason that my wife choose city over vios…

• Green on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Toyota, each car is defferent at different country.

On the other side, Mirage, only have 1 sole Manufacture plant, which is thailand.
        In fact, the Thai-built Mirage, is export for Japan Domestic Market. Hence, any Mirage in Japan, found to be problems, Malaysia cars are affected.

Perodua also make recall. based on the data collected. Just like recently done on the New Myvi.

All Japaneses management based company, are good. They improve, day by day of increasing reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
        • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Perodua makes recall coz other manufacturers proton, toyota, bmw, honda also make recall..otherwise
          Prfthhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Japanese car makers are allright, nothing to hate them about. It’s just the local companies that owns the Japanese distributorship that sucks big time. It’s a rotten blend of cronyism and corruption that affected the Japanese car pricing.

• rally_fan on Apr 04, 2013 at 8:50 am

you guys just dont understand the reasons for recalls. in this case.. something effecting the brake system is considered a high risk safety item. car companies MUST recall, or face consequences. at the least, they might be fined etc.. at worst, someone could get hurt or killed. Just because a car company does a recall, it doesnt mean they “CARE” for you. they’re also protecting themselves. If your glovebox is loose, or your power window doesnt work.. no car company in the world will do a recall.. there is something else that handles that.. its called warranty.

• mohsin on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:39 am

wow!
    if others make recall, it’s superb action… kudos… good job!
    if Proton (Yes! I really “sengaja” mention it) , no good, low QC, bla bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Ala yg lelebih tu hanya perodua n entry level cheapo japs asean made owner n salesman je
      Prfthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Abg Long on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:53 am

thumbs down to Mitsubishi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 25
    • Green on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:47 pm

U should give thumbsdown to Manufacturer who dont do recall.

Recall, is something like a Software bugs-fixed update. it’s a costly activity. None of the company like to do it. But the japanese, are willing to fork out money to provide best to the customer. u should give respect to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • Sorry, not the japanese. The only 2 willingful japanese company that does this is Mazda and now Mitsubishi. The others did it because of lawsuit. Or else, why recall on small issue in Malaysia when lawsuits doesn’t really affect here? Can just wait until things happen liao then recall. THat would be even more cost effective because if they didn’t notice it, you wouldn’t need to recall at all.

Don’t put them into same boat please. They are not the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 77
      • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Company never do recall n very less recall… Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • cow stroller on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:04 pm

nice to see car makers take their own initiative to recall and fix problems in their car.

honorable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Perodua less recall
    Meaning perodua better than toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • Toyota got recall meh? Toyota car invincible. Engine and 4 speed box legendary reliability. Superman fly and langgar tiang oso won’t spoilt. Langgar tank, tank spoil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • kentji on Apr 03, 2013 at 2:27 pm

perodua wasn’t even care to recall

• nowadays, car are recalling like computer games first day patch. where is the quality? maybe things around us are getting too complicated to perfect during development cycle

• No recall doesn’t mean no problem. :)

Recall = get fixed free or at a discount rate.
      No recall = pay from you wallet lor.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 03, 2013 at 3:30 pm

“imperfection found”

good words. thumb :up:

• gOOsh on Apr 03, 2013 at 5:03 pm

alarr… this recall is part of marketing strategy arrr… konon2 reflect that this OEM “really” care of their cstomers…

• Guys, Proton did recall their cars. Gen2, Neo due to cruise control problem. Exora for car jack faulty and early batch of EB CFE due to VVT.

• Vince on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Being the car owner, this is actually the second recall adi. Just first recall didn’t effect all units but first batch arrived our sore…that makes 4 trips to SC include 1k and 10k service in just months.

• Peyno on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Proton and other makers do recall many times… Perodua???
    Look at compact car mirage.. No complaint oso recall.. Perodua rakyat complaint switch power window prob, disc brake problem.. Tin milo body.. Still dont wanna recall

• S.Roma on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:32 pm

For Proton,

i heard a service clerk said that Proton call it “Silent recall”

Cos a customer make a complaint about the power window for Preve that always make a swollen mark at the inside door every time the lower down the power window.

The power window is ok, but the material for the door trim is swollen every time she does that.

I heard again she said like there are 3 or 4 silent recall for Preve, but she didnt say particularly.

• Peyno on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:56 am

Not only preve.. Gen2, savvy pwrsona iso got recall.. N it was not silent recall.. Officially announced.. So?

• Ilikevw on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Every car brand has its weakness. If we start bashing, taking issues and picking on the weakness of every car brand (specifically VW’s DSG), nobody will be driving. Everybody will be taking LRT. But LRT too have weakness and issues. What now then? Bicycle? Walking? But bicycling and walking too have its weaknesses and issues. So now how??? Sleep at home? Or wait for teleportation to be invented?

• nh149 on Apr 04, 2013 at 1:50 am

All car manufacture not perfect even ferrari have their problem. In other hand, nobody perfect. But i always happy with my Nissan SC they take care well my beloved Sentra and Teana.

• nh149 on Apr 04, 2013 at 1:57 am

I dont think that p1 the worst manufacture bcoz my waja no even have problem with the power window for 11 its running well.tq p1 SC for servicing my car form 1k milage untill now approximtely 200k running well tq.

• Peyno on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:59 am

Yg cakap p1 worst tu perodua n cheapo entry level asean made car owner n salesman je…

• azrai on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:18 am

If it’s Toyota I’m sure the answer always this “This recall worldwide does not affect Malaysian market sold cars” What??

• samlok on Apr 06, 2013 at 6:59 am

So what a big deal, just send back the car and they will do the needful. And the car is good to go.

• Wow ! alreaday 1869 units sold. This car really give 21km/l fuel comsumption ? Any user feedback ?

• BraderPET on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Aktiviti voluntary recall sebelum menerima sebarang komplen dari pengguna sebenarnya satu tindakan selamat, terhormat dan prihatin kepada keselamatan/kepuasan pelanggan.

Dan… ia juga bukti keberanian mengakui kesilapan, bersikap gentleman, dan bukti kebertanggungjawaban, dan kesanggupan melakukan segala yang termampu demi pengguna.

• abg miskol on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:09 am

nasib baik they recall..not ‘miskol’

• Well my mirage was being recall after 2 mths on d road on march tis year to replace front wheel speed sensors… I found it very good n trust MMM did a good job, well d car is quiet fuel saving and also good to drive compare to myvi, and regarding to 21km/1l tat is depends on how u drive, if u drive it as a normal car it won’t save ur fuel, but if u watch the Japanese engineer video, u know how to handle this cutie… Wakakaka

• I’m here want to see comments about mirage because I’m going to buy it. Want to know either its ok or not. Regret to see all of you argue about proton perodua honda toyota in the entry. Feeling mehhhh.