Came across this one on Saturday when we arrived at The Curve after the Proton Saga SV launch. It’s a third-gen Ford Focus Sport hatchback, but kitted out with some extra dress-up bits. The running stripes were what caught the eye at first, but then Hafriz and Danny picked up on the – rather obvious – front splitter.
A walkabout revealed side skirts and a very pronounced rear diffuser, and the price list states that dressed up as such, with bodykit and decal stripes, the RS Sport Plus (it also says Sport RS at the top of the price list, so it’s anyone’s guess what the variant name is actually) goes for RM132,303 on-the-road with insurance.
Basically, the bodykit adds RM2,800 to proceedings, and the decals RM600. A point to note – the base pricing suggests that the add-ons are for the Sport + version, even though the display example at the Curve was a Sport without the +, the lack of bi-xenon headlamps denoting the variant.
What do you think? Does this particular dress-up route work for the Focus?
Why no ecoboost.. what BS is this RS.
Ford is beautiful except those ugly white stripes!
Pay 1000 more to remove.
it looks better without the white stripes. Ford Malaysia, we’re waiting for ford focus with new engine 1.0 and 1.6 ecoboost, not new bodykit
No Ecoboost, it’s just marketing gimmick.
BORINGGGG….
Oh no you’ve gone and put the RS moniker on a bodykitted Focus… *facepalm*
Sime Darby, you’re an embarrassment.
You need to blame BMW and Mercedes Benz who started this all with their AMG Sport package and M Sport package. And then you have TRD with illigitimate TRD Sportivo bodykit riding on TRD name.
Now everything thinks its ok to bastard use the performance division name by selling the name and adding on Sport, Sportivo, Sport Package to it.
Even JCW now has “appearance package”
How they will justify the RS name, sports is not that exaggerating actually..
They’ll justify the way BMW / Merz have been doing. If BMW can have ‘M Sport Package’ (the base car Series, with extra M bits here and there), and Merz can get away with ‘AMG Sport’ (again, same as BMW, base cars plus some AMG bits here and there), then why not RS Sport for Ford? As pointed out by bro Sportivo, even Toyota and Nissan is doing it (TRD Vios, TRD Prius C, Nismo Almera etc)
Heck, at least they don’t make super ‘longgok’ doppleganger versions like Proton / Perodua. These two make variants as if it needs to fill up Baskin Robbins taste catalogue.
Are the bodykits being tunnel tested like proton’s?
No, the blame should be put on the buying public who snap them up like hungry piranhas and put these eyesores on the road in the first place.
Why do people buy these things? They’re usually no better-looking than the standard cars (sometimes much worse) and offer no performance boost. UMW is the worst offender in my view. Seemingly every model bar the 86 has a “sporty” variant strung up with half its own weight in hideous fibreglass.
I also think the A-Class AMG Sport is the worst-looking Mercedes ever conceived. The standard model looks miles better. At least BMW’s M Sport and Audi’s S Line models aren’t so bad.
A strong no from me
The mid life facelift should be much better
Ford Focus has a very nice rear light design, but a red paint body can’t reveal the rear light design effectively. Hence for me the best colour for this car is WHITE.
No strip line please.
No, just no. Appearance all fine, but one does not simply use the holy RS name without the fire breathing performance.
By doing so they have watered down the RS moniker.
Great. Pay a few thousand ringgit more for a few pieces of plastic and stickers.
In fact it costs more than that. Notice the lack of bi-xenon headlamps, lack of front and side parking sensor (which could also mean no autopark as it could not work without the side sensors) and lack of headlamp washers.
oh ya.. and no active city stop without the front sensors.
the kit is nice… the decals not so much
Without EcoBoost and new grille and bumpers no RS wannabe. Disgusting RS moniker
Looks very sporty!!
went to check out the focus and there was no blue available. looks like ill wait for the new fiesta instead. my next car has to be a blue, hopefully a blue ford :P
ps. saw the focus st and straight away noticed no front parking sensor compared to the normal focus. don’t know what other small bits and pieces has been removed. 200K+ not worth imo
Just call it styling package. No need to call it RS, it will bring the real Focus RS a disgrace.
And why Sime Darby offer after market bodykit and not the official Ford ones? Focus and Fiesta Zetec in Europe have better looking bodykit than this one, which will justify the price. People can buy them from ah beng shop for RM300++ full set if this is the bodykit they offer.
I have a question. The ones without the ‘+’ are the ones with those blacked rimmed headlights and the ones with have the ‘+’ are the ones with all chrome headlights?
A disgrace to call it the RS.
What on earth is Sime thinking. Won’t be caught dead in one.
The Focus was a big disappointment for not having an ecoboost AND diesel engine. Was looking forward to having that parked at home.
Enough with cosmetic upgrade. Bring in TDCi model.
Yess…. agree … TDCi … TDCi ….. TDCI…..
come on..seems all of u got very high taste n appetite..stay in 5 star hotel but willing to pay budget hotel..?!THEN IF U WANT TO GET THE TDCi..??Ask the govt. first..why our diesel supply still Euro2 standard?? that machine suit Euro 5&6..!!SO Tipical
do your homework first …
the previous focus got TDCi..and run well with Euro2 and Malaysia Bolehland Biodiesel. No problem what so ever. And also 4X4 Ranger well use by TM and TNB ..
The new model FF still carry the same engine…
so what the problem… ??
What SDAC do, is only wait to make sales on petrol version first before open up diesel market FF.