Government to discuss possibility of imposing fuel tax if crude oil price continues to fall – Ahmad Maslan

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 003

The government will discuss the possibility of introducing a sales tax for RON95 petrol if global crude oil prices continued on a downward trend at a Fiscal Policy Committee meeting next Wednesday, said Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan in a report by Bernama.

He gave an example of charging a sales tax of RM0.58 per litre if the price of RON95 fell to RM1.72 per litre, which would bring the total price for the consumer up to the current price of RM2.30 per litre.

RM0.58 is a hefty 33.72% out of the RM1.72 example price given, but we don’t think a fixed 33.72% tax is what the minister meant. Although Bernama’s report doesn’t specify any formula in particular, we think the intention is to keep the RM2.30 price fixed, and just collect the difference as a tax.

This means if the market price is RM2.10, the difference between RM2.30 and RM2.10 which is RM0.20 would be collected as tax, instead of the same RM0.58 example.

The minister said the other choice would be for the government to simply reduce the price of RON95 down to RM1.72 per litre, but noted that it would mean the government would not be able to collect revenue for the country’s development.

According to the minister, the government paid RM23.5 billion in 2013 and RM21 billion in 2014 so far to petroleum companies for petrol subsidies, it needs to recoup the amount. A fuel tax would allow for this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express widespread frustration over the government's handling of fuel pricing and subsidies, criticizing the imposition of new taxes despite falling oil prices. Many believe Malaysia produces its own oil and is unfairly being charged more through taxes when global prices are low, viewing this as a form of economic exploitation and corruption. There is strong resentment toward policies perceived as benefiting cronies and the elite while the common rakyat bears the burden through higher costs and taxes. Several comments highlight the inconsistency of government claims about subsidies and revenue needs, accusing them of lying and mismanaging funds. Overall, sentiments are highly negative, with many calling for political change, and some using sarcastic or racial remarks to emphasize their discontent.

• wtf. u recouped that via the car tax. what more u want?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 585 Thumb down 4
    • Abu Sayur on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:26 pm

THANK YOU BN!! ALL HAIL THE MIGHTY BN!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 382 Thumb down 4
      • Ah long govt! on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:11 am

Where’s KMZ? Please show us your tunnel vision support for BN, We want to see how you defend this Sh*# idea! – . O’ how great P1 and the current govt is. How hard they continue to work for (rape) the people. We the “mis-guided” people just don’t understand how govt work……etc. So I really really wants to know HOW THIS CRAP! Idea work for us! When we are already informed that the high car tax is to pay for the fuel sub.!? And no more full sub or none at all for the REAL CITIZEN OF THIS LAND, people who pay taxes or not qualify to yet, that make this country work, tax money to pay all the civil servants., vs “those don’t want to” Because they can.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 6
        • Gangartia on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:04 am

At first Hybrid vehicles 100% taxes.
          Now this, is Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan making enemies with Rakyat?

Where and how he can suggest this kind of nonsense?

He taking monthly salary just to purpose this ridiculous idea?

Bolehland Automotive industry have no hope under this kind of people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 6
          • JB_KIA on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:07 pm

divert attention kot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:02 pm

All the BN Cybertroopers especially the chief Kzm seems to be so quiet and silent. What happened to them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Now petrol mahal, not many bandar people will go back to kampung to visit atuk and nenek. The gomen likes this. It likes broken families and it likes children in kuala lumpur to abandon their parents in the kampung and not see them.

How to see them when it is so costly to balik kampung?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
          • Wisdom on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:48 am

Comments below which relates this news to racial remark is plain stupid. Read on.

Get over with it. Its fuel, and we’re all raped. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • The Real Truth About Subsidi on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:36 am

This is firstly pure lies. There is no such thing as subsidy in the first place. What you produce, you cannot subsidise. We produce our own oil, so what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your back garden, you cannot go around telling people that you are “subsidising” the vegetables. Does not make sense. Unless you buy the vegetables from another person or country, then only you can tell people you are subsidising.

Government has been lying to people the past 20 years about this. You see, the Sultan of Brunei also produces oil from his country. But he cares for the rakyat first. So, he gives the rakyat very cheap petrol first. Then only, the remainer and balance, he exports it to the world at global prices.

Why our Malaysian government does not do this? Don’t care for the rakyat is it? And Malaysia’s oil reserves are 100X more than Brunei’s oil reserve. About 3 years ago, it was announced that Petronas struck the largest oil field in the world with enough reserves for the next 100 years. It was the biggest news of the century. But next day, it was covered up. Complete silence on it and a denial that it even happened. This is because UMNO reliased, better keep the cash cow Petronas discovery soley for the exclusive benefit of the UMNO members pockets.

So, now, the UMNO Ministers and UMNO members are milking Petronas big time. The UMNO members make 5% of the Malay population. Whilst the UMNO members are shopping in Harrods, dining in Selfrdges and having tea in Fortnum and Mason’s in London, the remaining 95% of the rakyat Malaysia who are Malays are told to tighten their belt and tanam jagung and kangkung to eat and survive.

The oil that Malaysia produces belong to every single Malaysian. It is our right. It belongs to use. Eventhough it belongs to use, we must somehow beg and plead to the government for the right to enjoy it and a cheap and lower price, something which all Bruneians enjoy as their birth right.

Even if the government is trying to steal our birthright and don’t want to give us cheap fuel, at least be honest enough to lower the prices of fuel when global prices have dropped to its lowest. There also, the UMNO members are trying to cheat us. Now, they say must impose a tax. It should be the luck of consumers if global prices have come down but now the government is taking that also from us.

Malaysia produces the sweetest grade fuel in the world. What this means is that, it is the purest and higest grade fuel in the world and most sought after and most expensive. So, is it true that, 30 years ago, the Malaysian government negligently contracted with the Western Governments to sell this sweetest crude at a fixed price the next 30 years ago, a fixed price which is far far lower than even US$0 a barrel?

Is this true?

Is the rumours true also that because of this contract, we are actually a net importer of very low grade fuel from Arab countries?

If it is true, why is the Malaysian government giving Malaysians very low grade fuel, super high in sulphur and emissions which will not only detroy our environment but also our lungs? Isn’t a government supposed to look after the country’s environment and health of its people?

Is the country becoming bankrupt? This what happens when corruption goes out of hand and is not small scale and the quantum is huge. For example, Taib alone is worth US$18 billion (RM60 billion). So you imagine. If one person alone can sapu about RM60 billion, what about the others in the corrupted gang? No wonder the country in bankrupt. Corruption is not small amount of a few million. The corrupted are so greedy, they all compete with each other to see who is the top most corrupted and all want that billion dollar mark and millions are just not enough of a mark.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 449 Thumb down 21
          • Dua Roda Tipu on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 336
          • antihipokrit on Nov 02, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 178
          • hakim on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:56 pm

your statement comparing malaysia to brunei is not acceptable.. a country with 34 million population with a country with a population less than 500k?

brunei produce 372k barrels of oil per day. malaysia? only 600k per day! and that’s the whole oil company in malaysia, not juz petronas alone.

u do the math. they have more oils stock than what they need, so they can earn more money by exporting and sell that other stocks. we malaysian need 10 times more than what we actually produce per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 97
          • blueghost on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:40 am

Please learn more about the oil & gas business first. I have no issue with people not agreeing to the petrol subsidies, but make sure that your arguments are facts based.

Malaysia do produce petroleum. However, we consume more that we can produce. Therefore, we are considered to be a net consumer and NOT a net producing country. This is the reason why we can’t just sell petrol at lower than market price.

With regards to high sulphur content. It does not matter if we process low quality high sulphur crude, or high quality low sulphur crude. After the refining process performed by ANY refineries in the world, using ANY type of crude, high or low quality, all the unnecessaries will be filtered. It means, the petrol that comes out from the refineries would have the same quality regardless of the crude that were processed in the first place.

In Malaysia, the petrol quality is considered low is due to the fact that government is only enforcing the usage of Euro II compliant petrol. Therefore, oil companies only sells petrol that have only been refined to EURO II specifications. It has nothing to do with the initial crude oil quality. Any refiner in the world can modify their process to suit the market’s requirement. In this case, in Malaysia, it is Euro II specifications. I hope this helps for the uninformed. TQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
          • For those leave comment saying that malaysia used more oil than its producing..please read up the facts..jgn malukan diri here..

• Akira on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:48 am

Menteri gred E

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 5
        • London Owned by Malaysians on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:44 am

When I was buying a property in London, I had to go to the Land Registry to sort out some matter. The guy at the counter told me, half of London is owned by Arabs and Hong Kong people and the other half is owned by Malaysians.

He was surprised and told me, it is mainly government servants from Malaysia buy multimillion pound West End London properties. He said some don’t just buy one or 2 but a few each.

I asked him whther it could be EPF as EPF has invested in London, he said he knew about EPF investing in London but these were individuals buying into London West End property.

I wonder how a government servant in Malaysia can buy a 1.5 million pound apartment in London (average price).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 6
          • Your story has a loophole. You are basically saying the Chinese from China don’t buy London properties and that is impossible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
          • Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:04 pm

No news from kzm. I think he just realised his buntot kena main kerajaan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
          • rally_fan (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:12 am

no surprise there.. it was reported in the news, last year that the highest investment in property comes from malaysians (whoever they are).

but this issue of taxing petrol to recoup “subsidies”?? Not able to collect revenue for developing the country?? come on la.. we are paying taxes.. companies pay taxes.. cars are taxed.. even local cars.. we also pay tax to use the roads.. and now there will be GST.. and still not enuf revenue??

• MARA is the Best! on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:10 am

When I was a student in London even better. Nearly all my Malaysian friends had their apartments in posh areas in London. And all of them were JPA and MARA scholars!!!!!

And they live like Lords, because every month MARA give them their stipend or allowance and their Datuk or Tan Sri father also give them their monthly money. So double prosperity bonus.

Cannot understand, how can Government or MARA give scholarships to those whose father is a Datuk and Tan Sri and who ALSO own posh apartments in London?

And those MARA students all bring cars back home. One MARA guy I knew brought back even 3 Mercedes back home. This was the time when students still could bring back cars.

Give, give lah at least the poor in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 57
          • Garfield (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I want to respond to “MARA is the Best!” writer above. This topic is about the unfair taxes, not about slandering a specific race. You can go ahead; name and shame any of the “lords” or government servants owning properties in London, but don’t generalize.

I was a JPA scholar and I lived from hand to mouth in the UK. The allowance I received was not even enough to pay for rent and food. I worked two part-time jobs to put food on my table. Yes, in some areas JPA provides enough but unfortunately the university I went to was classified as “outside London” even though it was merely 40 minutes drive and the last stop by London commuter train.

Yes I knew a few sons of “Lords” who lived humbly there; they don’t even make 5% of the MARA and JPA scholars and were there by merit. Most who self-financed may not even be noticed (the rich buggers don’t make quality leadership materials).

Singaporeans, yes they were rich. I was invited and rented a room owned by a Singaporean lawyer’s son, who happened to originate from my kampung when Singapore was still in Malaysia. I later learned that the invitation is so that I would tutor the not so bright son (from another race).

My point is, JPA gave me; a kampung boy; the chance at a shot in life. Me and my kampung friends were more notable in quantity and quality than the handful of “lords” son. I do agree some MARA students should not even be there. But if you didn’t know, they were given loans, not scholarships. If they don’t pay back, MARA publishes their names in papers. So don’t just slander. Noting that you only knew the 5% of Malaysian students tells me you were an outcast even in a foreign country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 19
          • Rahim on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Yes I saw that too. 3 Anak Dato in my University, all three had no brains. Could not even speak a word of English. After graduating also, they could not speak English. Don’t know how they passed.

By the way, their loans were such, if they got 2:2, they did not have to pay. 3rd class must pay

So Mr Garfield, I am sure you are one of the few genuine ones but majority got their loans and biasiswa by you know what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 48
          • Observer on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Hello Garfield, there was no race mentioned. Don’t know how to read? This the quality of JPA scholars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
          • aladeen on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Eh hello Mr ‘so-called’ Observer.

You dont know what is MARA ah?
            Mara only provide loan/scholarship for bumi’s.
            Obviously you need more training on observing.

Pity you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
          • MitB, Rahim & Observer are all moron RBAs at work. Stupid as always.

• Ori Same LOrrr on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:20 am

Otak RBA ni dah penuh dgn kuman babi. Tu yang bodoh memanjang tu.

• Henry on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:06 pm

His forte is propaganda. He should leave financial matters to someone else.

• Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Waiting for kzm to come here and say we are all stupid and the money is needed for pembangunan and repayment of the 700USB billion debt Malaysia has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • aladeen on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Eh hello Mr ‘so-called’ Observer.

You dont know what is MARA ah?
          Mara only provide loan/scholarship for bumi’s.
          Obviously you need more training on observing.

Pity you.

• MRT, TRX, LRT , 1MDB, BR1M on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:30 pm

So its confirmed… That Putrajaya’s is bankrupt.. becoz money gone to mega projects benefitting a few cronies like Gamuda and MMC.

Rakyat Malaysia gotta pay now for their lifestyle

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 7
      • RicoT on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:14 pm

And the search for MH370.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
        • Dua Roda Tipu on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Lives were lost. I don’t find your post at all amusing. Please have some common decency to respect those victims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 30
        • Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:12 pm

How is Putrajaya gonna pay the US700billion debt? kzm we need your wisdom and intellek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Old Beetle Man on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:31 pm

No objection from me but RM0.58 tax to be imposed on RM1.72 actual price is a bit too much as it is about 33.72%. It should be the same as GST rate i.e. 6% or about RM0.10 .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 296 Thumb down 7
    • What?! on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:12 pm

If Crude oil price drop. Petrol price no drop and still planning to impose tax ? Ini salah kan ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Huisko on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Malaysia is going to the dogs at this rate. Intellectually challenged ministers. This is what happens when you put a bunch of kampong folks to run the country. No semblance of basic economics when making decisions to run the country.

Honestly we can’t blame them. Want to blame also blame the rakyat for electing them. I was just taking a taxi ride the other day and the driver who was a Malay said BN is good because they protect Malays. Vote for BN because they are fair. I am a Chinese btw. This guy mentioned this point to me as a rant stating he is not a racist. I did not take offence but I felt if majority of Malaysians thought like him, our country is doomed. I didn’t bother arguing back because of an uneducated and backward mentality.

Back to my story, the point is BN still uses race based politics to distract us from issues like these. Once things like these get blown out of hand, I bet your ass one of the ministers are going to make a racially discriminatory remark and suddenly Malays forget that they too, like Chinese and Indians, are being fked over by the govt. They get so pumped up when the govt gives them incentives, money and the bullshit that they have Malay interests in mind. Note that I am not being discriminatory but this is the truth at least for kampong Malays or the older generation.

The new generation wants progress. We want Malaysia for Malaysians not for a select few that are filling up their pockets with our hard earned rights.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…This G really hopeless, so many kind of tax…chowcibai…puihhhhh..

• OMG…sohai policy…

• OMG…Bodoh and Nonsense (BN)…lol

• kinujin on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:12 pm

the hell…?!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Where is KZM? on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:13 pm

the hell will be in Malaysia soon. When GST comes in and petrol goes skyroketting up, we will be the next philippines

• Motorhead ori on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Harga kangkung no tax. Negara masih aman. Apa lagi rakyat mau??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Burong on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Remove fuel subsidy, remove car excite duty.

I think they don’t know that the people are trying very hard to survive the increasing cost and try to put more burdon to us as much as possible. Then when election is near only try to give back some, hoping we will forget the hard years.

It’s your choice on next elect.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 2
    • Win Er on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:26 am

If u remove those two, the country will collapse. Where else will they be able to suck your cash then?
      Plus no need to hope for next election as the votes will probably be rigged again as usual.
      It will be BN BN BN till the END.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Burong on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:46 am

As long as it benefits the general people, any works done by any party would be welcomed.

Else BN think this is their last sucking sweet period, then please try suck harder our hard earn money.

• I totally agree with removing fuel subsidy AND car tax. But I totally disagree with Pakatan wanting to make fuel even cheaper so that fuel smugglers can make even bigger profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

All kinds of excuses just to squeeze out the hard-earned money from the Rakyat…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 2
  • rockybalboa on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

GST followed by fuel tax, what MORE do you want?

“APA LAGI BN MAU????”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 3
    • thomasNOTmyname on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Tsunami BM!

• kington on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:09 am

BN wants you to buy Proton Hybrid, fill up their pockets for those who don’t fancy a Proton. GST will continue to ensure good cash collection for them. ARE WE ANY DIFFERENT FROM NORTH KOREA?

• Sammy Velluuuu on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Great move! Now the crude oil price is low, you wont see any effect.. When the global price rises, they will increase the price of the petrol without demolishing or decreasing the sales tax..

GST 6% : 1.70*6% = 0.10.. Of course RON95 no need GST lahh, GST 6% only, if we introduce sales tax, can charge about 33% of tax.. Who needs GST ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 2
  • What is he talking about?
    Global price up, they increase price.
    Now global price drop, still wanna increase price.

Our countery really ruled by lobang S. No hope.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrr on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Don’t talkok about “revenue for country’s development”! There is only cronies’ development, Proton RM1.6bil is just one of them.

Crude oil hike, Petrol price hike; crude oil drop, Petrol price also hike.

How much they gave out last year during GE, they want 10 times payback now. Pui…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 4
  • Abu Sayur on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Not only they reduce the subsidy, now they want to impose a sales tax on fuel. Thank you BN!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
  • Maseratits on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Implementing tax on petrol? AS IF OUR CAR PRICES WEREN’T EXPENSIVE ENOUGH ALREADY?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
  • Old Beetle Man on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:28 pm

No objection from me but RM0.58 tax to be imposed on RM1.72 actual price is a bit too much as it is about 33.72%. It should be the same as GST rate i.e. 6% or about RM0.10 .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • Kangkung on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:29 pm

LOL excise duty on cars and now THIS!! They truly want to milk every last drop of blood from the low and middle income group, congrats to all that kept them in power.

In my honest opinion, you can only have 1, either excise duty on cars OR tax on fuel, not both.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
  • ahamad on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Remove all fuel subsidies
    Have those below the taxable income tax limit apply to the inland revenue for their rebate by providing the particulars of their vehicles .the rtd can check authenticity the traffic can check for traffic offences and the relevant departments can check for other offences on completion of checking if clean can release rebate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:45 pm

wah…pocket money banyak banyak for politician BN

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • Obviously (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:48 pm

So they’ve decided to whack that hornet’s nest. The only positive thing I see here is that they bothered to tell us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:52 pm

sometimes , i jus wish that “those people” get Ebola not those poor africans….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 2
    • Baziran Nasional on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:58 am

If they got ebola, they’ll charge people more to cover their medical expenses which can go for months, especially if they’re bed-ridden. Better wish them die, at least we only have to pay once for their funeral.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • honest on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:52 pm

When the price drop,less subsidy wil be needed to control the price at an affordable price for malaysian
    so the government is already untong.
    What happen to our government now.who is the economic advisor or is there something wrong with global economy nowadays
    we better watch out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Purity on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Agreed, actually it’s the greed of the ruling coalition that will cost us big time. The only people that would actually fall for such a lame excuse from the government for fuel tax, would be the ones that suffer the most.

• spongewai on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:54 pm

when PM said “Apa Lagi Cina Mau?”

we strike back at them at what do they really want

tax tax tax, i hate tax

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Nxt PRU ask this qs again. We chinese will unleash hell to them. We are quiet even being discriminate for many years. Those dumb malays will think that we chinese bullied them but we merely protecting our rights and not asking more of bumiputera rights. They dont understand what is being treated fairly and what is demand for rights. Being treated fairly doesnt mean gives us bumi rights. Just dont call us names like ‘pendatang’ or discriminate us.

• renko on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Hahaha so this mean our petrol ron95 just costing rm1.72..so all the price that stated gov subsidize rm0.28 is all lie??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 2
  • ask him go rob bank la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • meng meng on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:09 am

They already rob all bank and kwsp.
      all your money. Later your milo tin also want korek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • rob rakyat easier …

• Pure bullshit, this is how smart our minister is. What we earn we need to pay them when they just goyang kaki. Another thing i hate also is the income tax CP500 bullshit!! That is also another pay in advanced base on your previous income. The G really think we get paid immediately once we finish our deal. We take 6-1yr to get paid!!! Thank you BN to make our life harder!! Feel free to take my life away too!!! Damn it!!

• Chong Yew on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:11 pm

WTH… from reducing, then removing subsidies and now to taxing fuel if the market price is too low?!??!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
    • waterman on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:37 am

this is really WTF…
      you are right.. at first they said subsidy us on petrol they don’t have money to subsidy… fine!!!!
      ok we don’t need your subsidy since you said so
      you should have save a HUGE amount of money when you don’t need to subsidy on fuel saying it’s the MOST TAX MONEY goes to according to them. so where’s my money gone? RM23.5 billion in 2013 and RM21 billion in 2014 <– you should be able to save RM20 billion next year and you want fuel tax now???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • darkermarker on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Now, the BN supporters must be feeling the “screw” up their as@….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • ae101 on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:25 pm

21bil in 2014? Im sure more than half already masuk bn machai. pui pui pui. worst ever gomen in the history. apa lanjaui development they talking? every year budget result mcam bangsat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • WinterAngeLs on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Rakyat are like Fruits
    Gov builds all kinds of juice extractor to squeeze the rakyat dry.

Better still, they might be planning for a meat grinder and drop the rakyat in it.

Malaysia boleh? More like Gov boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Brian on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Just yes or no. Subsidy or not subsidy. Why makes it so hard?

• transformer on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:52 pm

from my tiny brain of understanding, low crude oil price means lesser subsidy by Gov or no need subsidy at all. this mean those allocated subsidy monies can be channel to other area of development.

BUT WHY STILL NEED TO TAX RAKYAT WHEN GOV DON’T NEED SUBSIDY ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • transformer on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:55 pm

“The minister said the other choice would be for the government to simply reduce the price of RON95 down to RM1.72 per litre, but noted that it would mean the government would not be able to collect revenue for the country’s development.”

i just don’t understand by what kind of revenue Gov collect when pump price is Rm2.30(include so called subsidy Rm0.58) ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • PM Rosmah on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:01 am

Bila org bodoh jd menteri nk memperbodohkn org lain makin nmpk bodohnye…dah save cost xpyh tanggung subsidi lg mau untung letak service tax…

• philip on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:02 am

Anything coming from the mouth of Ahmad Maslan, is just so unpleasant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • haiyaaa bt apa ambik kisah. ini makhluk sudah nyanyuk. otak suduh luput tarikh. yg pergi undi pun sama2 mabuk. sama nyanyuk.

• This is sodomy!

• hail bn on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:25 am

Pls surrender your job if you can’t do it well and benefit the rakyat

• hantu on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:42 am

ini semua salah anwar ibrahim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
  • Ben yap on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:53 am

I don’t blame the government. I blame those who voted for them especially the sarawakians, sabahans and johoreans.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 14
    • AbuBakar on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Most Sabahans who voted for them are those with illegal documentations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Why should the East Malaysian replace one thief with another thief? So far, we are seeing Pakatan breaking one promise after another. For example, they promise no kidex but Azmin now saying Kidex can proceed.
      http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1213931

• kl fella on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:33 am

the same thief has been raping, robbing and sodomising your great grandfather, grandfather, father, mother, sister, brother, your son, daughter and now you say you still want to stay with the same thief that most likely will also rape, rob and sodomize your future grandchildren and their offsprings for another 50 years? what a joke! i rather go for something else and if it fails, let the rakyat decide again..

• The boss on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Totally agree. Don’t criticise before giving them a chance to prove themselves.

• The Boss on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:58 am

This is the most ridiculous piece of news ever.

It’s even worse than floating the fuel prices.

The Rakyat are being screwed big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • FireAce on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:10 am

A feint put out by the government to divide us, the rakyat?

Before this EVERYONE reject the so called 3 hierarchy (fully, partial, none) petrol subsidies because it’s so prone to abuse.
    Now we will have some people that support it. It’s either the 3 hierarchy subsides or everyone pay the elevated RON95 price (with tax). People will naturally support the “lesser evil” (3 hierarchy).

This is how BN play their politics all these years, Divide and Conquer. They used to play the “Racial” cards but people are tired of it and it’s losing it’s effectiveness. This round they make it “Income Based”. Gain the support of the lower income group (majority) by showing them that middle & high income group (minority) suffers more. (We all are secretly laugh when we see that expensive Ferrari that our neighbor driving having a flat tyre and stalled while we happily cruise away on our little kapcai, don’t we. Nothing is wrong here, it’s just human nature).
    While it’s not big deal when we secretly happy when a small misfortune happened to the rich. But once it’s pushed by human factors, it’s will spawned into great evil that no one can control. A group of people will start to think taking from the rich is no big deal anyway (“Nothing is wrong for me to rob that rich guy from his Ferrari, he got 5 more sitting in his house anyway”)

BN, you are playing with fire here!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Dear Datuk,
    Why don’t you volunteer yourself and department staff to take a pay, bonus and allowance cut whenever there’s a reduction in d family commitment, eg. any of your children begins work, insurances has matured, or any loan gets fully paid up.

This way it proves your sincerity of reserving resources for the country’s development and reduces the country’s expenses.

• Josh Ling on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:22 am

this is the most ridiculous statement i have ever heard coming out of BN people, even though they have made a lot of moronic statements many times. really??? why didn’t he just say malaysian fuel price will go up and not down, period?? what if the price goes down to RM1.50 per liter? so the government has to raise the sales tax to RM0.80 per liter to maintain the price at RM2.30 per liter, so that more development projects can go on??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Pissed off & frustrated on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:07 pm

what development? Only in kl ah? How about other states? Baik pulih jalan only arr? We still need to pay for toll using highway…

What development they are talking about? Hospital facilities? Not all states have good facilities? Housing? House pricing spike up like nobody business… Public transport? We still need to pay for tickets, and i heard the prices also would be revise later, of course increase!!

Can someone enlighten me which part of “development”?

• Bakhil BN.this is what happened when champenze gt many bananas Or less bananas to eat.next GE sure win with all phantom voters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • sick&tired on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:00 am

who else is going to pay for the corruption and wastage if not we the people!?

• alldisc on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:49 am

now rakyat has to cover petronas upon its lower earnings?? come on!!

• matltello on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:05 am

Dont talk about country development when the oil prices going down , when the prices are higher those day you all umno bn leader sapu the money spent all out never think the development now when your pocket going to be empty simply impose tax on everything sold in malaysia . By the end rayat 1 malaysia will suffer.

• Want_More Tax on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:13 am

This guy is very smart. He is really expert in Tax. We should dubbed him Mr. Koh Tax. hikhikhik

• torque on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:32 am

Bloody cut throat scum, worst than a pirate! Sudah sudah laahhh!!! Tak ingat Tuhan ke?! The people vote you bastards to take care of OUR money, hard earn Malaysian money…not spend it blindly like giving millions to PERMATA and others mega projects!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Nazeem on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:06 am

That PERMATA crap really gets on my nerves whenever I read about it. These are all ‘skim cepat kaya’ for these idiots. Buat keje tak pandai but when it comes to showing off on OUR hard-earned money, fuyoh!!! Really No.1 Ichiban. But still it baffles me with just a 47% vote, they are still able to stay in power up till now. When will those 47% wake up and make sure these goons and the parties they are in go defunct ? Kalau nak bodoh pun, ini bukan caranya.

• MintBerryCrunch on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:08 am

Not surprising. O&G is 20% of our revenue. We produce roughly the same amount that we consume, and undersell to our own consumers (a net loss as you could sell at a higher rate on the international market).

I still cant explain why fuel is RM4.20/litre for 91 RON in australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • 1btgnaik on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Please don’t be a smart ass. If you convert the fuel price dollar to rm of course it is RM4.20. If you are earning aussie dollars and living there it is just about AUD1.40 for RON91. That is friggin cheap considering the minimum wage there.

We also don’t undersell to our own consumers. Oil for the domestic market is imported low grade stuff and our local production is refined and sold outside of Malaysia since it is more lucrative.

Please check your facts clearly before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • MintBerryCrunch on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:55 pm

There are lots of misconceptions floating around this forum. Alot of people think that we are very oil rich. Petroleum production pretty much plateaued in ’05. We are nowhere near as oil rich per capita as the gulf states or brunei. We are also a NET IMPORTER of crude.

“We also dont undersell to our own consumers…” You have just explained why a drop in world prices can create a serious local budget shortfall.

The statistics dont lie.

Personally I believe in the free market. Let petrol prices float.

http://www.indexmundi.com/energy.aspx?country=my

http://www.statistics.gov.my/portal/download_Mining/files/Petroleum/petroleum_gas_asli2013.pdf

With regards to the Oz price disparity, perhaps I should have made clear: Price vs Affordability are two different things. I was commenting on price, not affordability (you cannot compare affordability a country with almost three times more Purchasing Power Parity)

• Celaka on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:54 am

Padan muka macai macai barang naik.

• Nazeem on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:00 am

Honestly, the ministers in banjingan negara should really quit their jobs because its very obvious that they do not know how to do their jobs. When the government is in trouble, who better to turn to none other than us, the commoners. Ahmad Maslan is one minister who is as stupid as it gets. Finance minister KONON!!!! Matematik pun tak pass. Phuiiih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:05 am

Menteri di malaysia semuanya level menteri pasola dari negara pasir berdengung

• Pkmk!

• ghostrider on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:47 am

Hahaha. . Now there’s no more subsidy dy.. we are paying more for petrol now.. now to justify. . They want to implement petrol tax??? Hahaha. . Most expensive cars in world here.. & now we are paying more for petrol????

Hahaha. .hahaha. .

WE ARE SOOOO FCUK UP…

• ghostrider on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:04 am

We are govern by clowns…

Hahaha….

• Perusahaan Otomobil Ketiga P3 on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:26 am

No need to buy P1 nor P2 already. All of them are either overpriced, underspec, tin milo, fuel drinker, not safe, no quality, third world design etc to buy. Worst yet with expensive car and expensive fuel price it’s time to consider to go back to the transportation of yesteryear, the kereta lembu! Now made by P3!

No need petrol!
    No need road tax!
    No need insurance!
    No need tires!
    No need engine oil or transmission oil!
    Environmentally friendly!
    Can ‘cut the grass’ in your garden!
    Can fertilized your grass in your garden!
    Priority parking in shopping malls and offices! (green vehicle)

• Pure bullshit, this is how smart our minister is. What we earn we need to pay them when they just goyang kaki. Another thing i hate also is the income tax CP500 bullshit!! That is also another pay in advanced base on your previous income. The G really think we get paid immediately once we finish our deal. We take 6-1yr to get paid!!! Thank you BN to make our life harder!! Feel free to take my life away too!!! Damn it!!

• tun mamak on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:33 pm

pembangkang mana tahu mentadbir negara. umno saja pandai mentadbir negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • I hope, really hope PM Najib read the comments here and elsewhere and feel the people’s pain. Discontent, anger and plain hatred is brewing against BN for broken promises and inept atitude of elected officials. There is always a threshold and limit for everything. BN has breached that threshold and will face the consequences in the next PRU. Fear tactics won’t work anymore at this juncture. This is the tipping point when you are not just burdening the Rakyat, but you are seen reaching in their pockets and stealing their hard earned income.

• you think they dont know?? they DONT CARE but control resource (collect wealth to few families) and squeeze all from rakyat and importing Bangla…god bless all.

• idiotBN on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:10 pm

they wont worry about this coz many kampong folks are well brain-washed by them since long time ago…and they will continue to vote for them no matter what

• ganni on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:40 am

agreed that they still in majority because of the kampong folks..but pls remember that most of them sudah tua…after this when the new generation takes place..BN will be doom in hell..sekarang pun sudah nampak ma..

• ThePolygon on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:32 am

UMNO General Assembly this month. Could it be this statement was made to sabotage Najib’s Administration to look bad. Well… strange things are beginning to happen.

• CHANGE on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:06 am

CHANGE!!! CHANGE!!! CHANGE!!! WAKE UP Rakyat…

• cendol (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:08 am

I just researched few countries overseas are good for retirement.
    At the rate Garment is going, more people will migrate out of this country.
    Wait a minute, that’s what they been telling us to do!!
    Migrate if you don’t like Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • shiro on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:19 am

terbaik….teruskan merompak selagi boleh….

• shiro on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:22 am

developement projek = sapu duit negara

• Aniki on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:29 am

Already collected tax from Petronas tax, still wanna think so many ways to collect tax from people, that’s so call government that taken care of their people…

• holy ****, in other words he plan to fixed the price (minimum price)?

so oil price down, we dont enjoy cheaper petrol?
    but when oil price up, we need to follow and pay higher price?

• Henry on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:41 am

Shylock always want his pound of flesh no matter what. A typical cuckoo idea from a half-past-six.

• if they want to “recoup” previous years subsidies – then don’t call it fuel subsidy – that’s a freaking loan

• rakyat on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:52 am

looks like the ministers dont even have think for the people’s life…

• tkhengong on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Every which way RON95 petrol price goes; up or down, we the rakyat loses. When the government has to subsidise, they up pump price under the pretext of reducing fuel subsidy. When fuel price decline, they propose to impose fuel tax. If the proposal to impose fuel tax is implemented, the government will have two streams of income; savings from fuel subsidy and the propose tax.

• kerajaan dah nak bankrap
      duit dah takda nak bayar hutang 589 billion

harga minyak dunia makin jatuh
      petronas tak untung banyak.
      duit masuk untuk kerajaan makin skit

so cara penyelesaian mintak kat rakyat
      kenakan tax untuk minyak

asalkan negara aman
      bersyukurlah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Acrix on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:12 pm

There will come a time when our economy will collapse on itself just like Greece, when the country runs out of money. All your KWSP and bank accounts are frozen and you can’t withdraw money, you lose your job as many companies are declared bankrupt, you lose your remaining money due to theft and crimes as everyone else is desperate to money. You have starving children and family members to feed but you have absolutely no money to even buy rice. At that point try telling the same sentence again about negara aman.
        Oh and the minister you support so much are the first to leave the country and live luxuriously for the rest of their lives as they have stolen billions from your country and left you to rot.

• rickyll (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:44 pm

WTF. The government is really bankrupt. The only way out is to slaughter the rakyat. Our so called ministers are all low in IQ and can only think of something that will benefit themselves and no one else. Those who voted BN must really take stock and do not be fooled again by a few ringgit of hand outs. Please don’t tell to get out of this country if I don’t like it here , think of something more innovative to prove that you are not a moron, my dear minister.

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:52 pm

There are good and bad aspects about this practice.
    But the most important thing is whatever money or savings earned must be utilised properly for developement of the nation and not to feed a small group of people.

BTW I was looking for certain names to comment. Has anybody notice those names? Are they UMNO cybertroopers?

• rickyll (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 5:47 pm

It’s pay back time. Whatever the rakyat received from the BN Government, they have to give back twice or thrice as much. BN is now in its honeymoon mode because GE is still more than 3 years away and it knows jolly well that the rakyat are very absent minded. Some goodies before the 14th GE are enough to sway the votes back to its fold.

• Aleuto punya menteri…

• ChiMoi on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Stop digging into our pockets Govt!

• Barang Naik on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:40 pm

SEEMS LIKE THIS GOVERNMENT IS NOT DOING ANYTHING FOR RAKYAT AND THEIR GAME TO HIKE WHEN DOWN..IS GOING TO BURY BY THEIR OWN HANDS

• as the name implies…BN…barang naik ^^ everything must goes up

• Barang Naik on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:46 pm

THIS IS WORST THAN SODOMY….

• Short story is, if you don’t vote, you are contributing to a part of this mess as well. A discarded vote is 1 lost vote of showing who is in power, that is the rakyat, not BN nor PKR.

So if you are a bystander in election (those who chose not to vote), congrats for showing that the government is more powerful than the people. GREAT SUCCESS!

• By turning out to vote, where the candidates are mostly from either BN or PR, you are contributing to their numbers, thus legitimizing their belief that they are being supported. They do not care why you vote as long as they have the numbers.

If you really want to show the so-called “rakyat’s power”, lets all of us don’t attend any political campaign, don’t vote, or only vote for the independent candidates. While somebody will end up being elected (I don’t think there is a minimum voter turnout law), neither BN nor PR can claim to be majority supported since only a small percentage of the legitimate voters elected them. It will be funny if somehow the total votes for the random independent candidates exceed these 2 parties.

That will never happen though, so you chose the one you believe will scr3w you less.

• Edward Lee on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Last time goverment subsidy us now come to out time to subsidy goverment. BN long life….

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutch_disease

• idiotBN on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:07 pm

wow…BN just want us to have expensive petrol..no matter what

• idiotBN on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:09 pm

gov corrupted as shit, of coz la money not enough..not trying drain it from the rakyat

• Just another guy on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Currently there is a table show the market price, subsidies, and final sales price in all station. Wonder will there have new table which have, market price, sales tax, final sale price…….

• Blaze (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:42 pm

…suddenly the usual “dont blame the gomen” commentators is very quiet. It will be interesting to hear their “side” of the story…

• Help Us on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Release our anger here will not help.

Please help to share and make all Rakyat to realize that Barang Naik mesti DITURUNKAN!!!

Please help ourselves!

• ridiculous! why post on sales tax when oil going down?! u guys are bunch of useless mind thinker politician dont how to decide! can u use just 0.05% of ur brain on what effect on oil price increase? what effect on poorer, besides u use mykad to give so called”subsidies”, but then do u know prices increase on others matters too? milk increase by 3mth(rm5), bread(loaf) increase to rm1 from rm0.80. and thats is just the beginning, eh not even gst started yet? huh! dont even know how u guys thinking, i am impossible to undersatnd that!

• azhar on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Will the government give a break down of the so-called RM21billion of subsidi for 2014? How much for petrol? Howmuch for diesel? And how much is for the heavily subsidized natural gas that is piped to all those IPPs that continue to charge TNB the full rates for their power produced? I seriously doubt that private transport is using so much fuel a year!! Where is the subsidi real leaks??

• YeapyEvo on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Not fair to Malaysians who have paid sales tax + import tax + excise duty on top of it still have to pay so much tax for petrol, blood sucking vampire gov! I myself have paid at least 40k in car tax for my current car , that amount can pump 40000/200 petrol expenses = 200 months of free petrol at market price.

• Korean Fan on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:17 pm

When the price of fuel is high, we shift the burden to consumer to share it with the rakyat.

When the price of fuel is low, we impose tax so we can make money from you.

This is what the pepatah melayu said, Berat Sama di pikul, ringan gua tambahkan beban kat lu dan gua biar lu angkat sorang-sorang.

Brilliant!

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I wish it is truely an act with unspoken good motive. Is Najib truely clever, planning at a higher level for the sake of us that most of us cannot see it? As I said, the motive must be good for the rakyats and the savings must be properly used for the whole nation.

• what a f^&*ing dirty lying government.

• kevin yip on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:01 pm

One concept I don’t understand. May be someone can share some of their thought.

When cruel oil price is high, government claimed they are “subsidizing” so public/rakyat can get lower prices.

Now, cruel oil price is coming down. If the government previous claimed was true, isn’t less subsidy money is need? This means government has already save money.

So, why impose the new tax? Confused!!

• The warfund is dried. Need new source ma.

• Vincent Cheng on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:36 am

Our G is thinking we all short memory like gold fish… they say diff thing all the time and 2nd statment will contradict with 1st statement.

THe only thing that they are consistant is, continue ask rakyat to suffer!

• noone on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:48 pm

wtf??!! kind of suck for us who need to travel quite a distance for work everyday.

• Car-Fans on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:13 pm

OMG! Now they dare to ‘suck’ at day time liao!!! Really SUCKERrrrrRRRRrrr…

• hadi75 on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:43 am

Let me get this straight…..if ron95 being sold at rm1.72, our menteri here said gov cannot collect any revenue so it needs to be maintain at current price so that gov can collect revenue……then he went on about the gov have to pay to oil companies rm21 billion in subsidies so far this year. If rm1.72 is the price at the pump, it means oil companies already make profits which in turn will be tax by the gov. So where is the logic of the gov cannot collect revenue if the fuel price is low??

• Actual price on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:33 am

Anyway what is the actual price of fuel now since crude oil price had fallen??? Why don’t we have a mechanism to tell consumers the actual price now… It’s not fair when prices fall and no revision is made but when prices increase immediate revision is done.

The price u pay for a mediocre governance ….

• WTF2014 on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:39 am

If the crude oil price drops, govt don’t need to subsidise the oil anymore. When there is no subsidise, govt can save more than 20 Billions per year! Why still want to tax rakyat???

Apa lagi BN mau???

• pity the fools on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

now the people subsidize the government, please put the numbers at each pump station..

• kolejeon on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:57 am

Dear Minister,
    Adjusting fuel price is very sensitive to the Rakyat. Please improve govt spending first before transferring burden to the public. We want to see improvement in Auditors General Report.

• Angry Hong on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:09 am

Govt putting worms into it’s own ass. World crude oil prices goes up (suppose to be a blessing for Malaysia), but instead BN says they are going bankrupt due to subsidies and thus increase our petrol prices. Now prices gone down so much, they say they cannot collect revenue to develop the nation and impose fuel tax.
    Malaysians are really a whole lot of idiots being too kind hearted although faced with a govt who blatantly lie to us and perform broad daylight robbery on the rakyat.

• The boss on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Basically you’re being screwed left right up and down whichever way u go

• Martha on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:23 am

The morons from BN only know how to f**k the rakyat!
    Every which way you lose with them!

I hope the public will come to their senses soon…

• zaizaizai on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:35 am

Interesting read
    http://paultan.org/2009/02/15/how-fuel-prices-are-calculated-in-malaysia/

• jabberbaw on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:45 am

This bloke ain’t making any sense. First they say no GST on RON95, now a fuel sales tax? Get out of here man.

• kemosabe on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:54 am

Generally the comments here are what the gov is already doing to the citizens : which is doing business with the citizens.
    A gov is a provider, not a business entity.
    When you have lawmakers or policy makers doing business, it’ll always be a winning situation for them, and the consumers will always be the losers.
    So such the fuel tax comment is not surprising at all. The gov needs it for their deeds masked as development funds for the country. But you all have to ask yourself, what sort of development has the people enjoyed thus far?
    This in its bigger picture is about staying in power. The can’t convince people at the voting station, so the next best thing it to eliminate them and make them depend on the gov for handouts.
    You don’t bite the hand that feeds you.
    This is the improved version of countries where the rich are very rich, and the poor are very poor. We are heading for this destiny.

• Joker on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:41 am

whoever suggest this can GTFO…

• applegreen on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:45 am

BN serupa macam penyamun dalam cerita P.Ramlee. Lyrics : “Kamilah penyamun dalam ini negeri, Kerja merompak mencilok dan mencuri…”-curi harta rakyat

• OrangMinyak on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:45 am

Now that oil prices coming down to or even lower than our petrol price its time to abolish the subsidy let the petrol stations fight among themselves for customer, free market is the best. We will get the best products with the best prices. And save all those projects to monitor petrol subsidy !

• Selipar on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Think carefully…is there even fuel subsidy? When comparing 95 and 97 price..always cant justify this. So ill say..subsidy is an excuse to rob from the poor..and and fuel without subsidy to rob more from the rich!

• penatnaklayanlagidah on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:10 pm

juz remove the fuel subsidies already lah… our ppl are too comfortable.. dah terlalu dimanjakan.. lagipun, xde lg la isu org luar makan subsidi negara… done. ppl will drive slower to save fuel. can save more life. abes citer.

• Huat huat on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Insider news – Datasonic Group Berhad will be awarded with the government contract.

• By right, the price of RON97 should drop right? Thus making it much cheaper than RON95 if according to the Deputy Finance Minister. GST is only kicking in next year. Why revision for RON97 still haven take place? Scared that your own words are backfiring now?

• Steve on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:00 pm

This is so called…. Rakyat Subsidi Kerajaan!!
    Harga sebenar = RM1.72
    Subsidi kepada kerajaan = RM0.58
    Harga Jualan = RM2.30
    should paste this on every petrol pump!!

• MaxTeh on Nov 05, 2014 at 9:36 am

This is outright ridiculous because although the government is subsidizing fuel, they are reaping in the exports as PETRONAS is government owned. Consumers are the ones forking out the cost of the fuel while government on the whole makes money from oil. Now that oil prices have fallen, they want to make EVEN MORE MONEY?? Their subsidies would be much less going forward as the price of oil falls. I am guessing they overbudgeted for all the crony projects so they have NO TURNING BACK…especially the GST..