BMW M2 Coupe officially unveiled – 370 hp, 465 Nm

bmw-m2-exterior-14

We’ve known this one was coming for quite some time now – the BMW M2 Coupe is now official, displacing the M235i from the top of the 2 Series coupe range.

The M2 Coupe is powered by a 3.0 litre closed deck single turbo direct injection six-cylinder engine producing 370 hp and 465 Nm of torque (overboost to 500 Nm available), and can be had with either a six-speed manual or a seven-speed M DCT dual clutch gearbox.

As you would have noticed already from the single turbo count, this isn’t the same engine as the one found in the M3 and M4. But BMW has given it some features from the M3/M4 engine to differentiate it from the regular 3.0 litre in cars like the M235i. Components like pistons with their top ring optimised for the use of grey-cast iron liners and crankshaft main bearing shells are sourced from the BMW M3/M4 engine.

bmw-m2-engine-2

An additional oil sump cover helps to limit the movement of oil under powerful acceleration. An extra oil suction pump sends the oil back to the rear part of the oil sump when the driver brakes heavily. A suction system is employed for the oil supply to the turbocharger under higher vehicle acceleration. This is all to ensure that the oil supply to the engine remains secure at all times.

The M2 can hit the 100 km/h mark in just 4.3 seconds with the M DCT since it shift faster than any human ever could and also has a Launch Control feature. Shift yourself with the six-speed manual gearbox and you’ll get there in 4.5 seconds. The car has a top speed of 250 km/h, but you can unlock an additional 20 km/h with the M Driver’s Package. Both figures are electronically limited.

But the focus here isn’t quite 100 km/h sprints or top speed tests – the M2 is all about the driving experience and BMW’s press release specifically mentions that the M2 has been “track ability tested” on the Nurburgring Nordschleife circuit. We definitely saw prototypes on the car on test there a few times in the spyshots we’ve published previously. BMW calls this the descendent of cars like the 1 Series M Coupe, E30 M3 and the classic BMW 2002 turbo.

bmw-m2-exterior-12

BMW M’s latest car features a lot of hallmark M features like quad tailpipes (with an electronically-countrolled exhaust flap system) and wider fenders to accommodate the increased track, but curiously it is missing the bespoke wing mirrors that all M cars get. On the inside you get lots of Alcantara finishing, sports seats, an M Sports steering wheel and an M shift lever. The car also gets an Active M Differential (0 to 100 percent locking), M compound brakes and M Dynamic Mode.

The default wheels are 19 inch forged alloys with mixed-size Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyres – 245/35ZR19 at the front and 265/35ZR19 at the rear. The chassis gets lightweight aluminium front and rear axles, aluminium suspension struts and a tubular anti-roll bar.

In order to ensure precise wheel location, play-free ball joints are used to transmit transverse forces. The stiffening plate and additional bolted connection between the axle subframe and the body sills, which increases the stiffness of the front-end structure, also has a positive influence here.

bmw-m2-exterior-4

The longitudinal forces passing through the suspension are transmitted into the torque struts directly via special elastomer bearings, and this delivers the desired rolling comfort at the same time.

All the control arms and wheel carriers of the new BMW M2’s five-link rear axle are made from forged aluminium, which reduces the unsprung masses of the wheel-locating components by around three kilograms compared to a steel construction.

In addition, a racing-derived rigid connection, dispensing with rubber bushings, is used to fix the lightweight steel grid-type rear axle subframe to the body. This further improves wheel location and tracking stability.

bmw-m2-interior-3

The manual gearbox has an engagement control function which blips the throttle on downshifts and lowers the engine’s revs on upshifts. This makes gear changes smoother for additional stability during hard driving on the track.

The M DCT has its own tricks as well. Other than throttle blipping, there’s also the Stability Clutch Control (SCC) function which disengages the clutches when necessary to prevent oversteer. There’s also the Smokey Burnout function, which invites the driver to indulge in a degree of rear wheel spin while the car is moving at low speeds.

The BMW 1 Series M Coupe retailed for RM509k in Malaysia when it was launched in 2012. Factor in the sad state of our exchange rate – could we be looking at about RM550k for the new BMW M2 Coupe?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• batu3 on Oct 14, 2015 at 5:48 pm

definitely getting this!
    hope it’s cheaper than RM393k CLA 45 AMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • George Abdul on Oct 14, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Crony A, crony B, crony C and until N already book the car… While poor Rakyat keep paying tolls and still surviving with debts until died !!!

• Hello, got no crony la. You work hard, you can get this car. Our government is honest and caring, be grateful you are in a safe country.

I trust our Government fully. Terimakasih BN kerana prihatin dan baik hati. Our cars are cheap. You work hard, you can buy any car!! BN always gives us oppurtunity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
        • YourNightmare on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:28 am

I bet you’re Crony M and have booked the last available slot for the first shipment of this ///M

• Machinery on Oct 14, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Fat chance it will be. But i like your optimism.

• neutral on Oct 14, 2015 at 9:45 pm

I remembered a while back Paultan covered a post where someone actually bought a specially ordered manual tranny M135i from BMW Malaysia and it costed the owner 400+k. Seems to me that BMW Malaysia are not that generous with their prices. M135i is actually around Golf R money everywhere else but here it costs 400+k. This would mean that the M2 would potentially cost more than 450k. Could also be due to higher taxes on bigger engines. Mercedes hit the jackpot here with their “45” engine AMGs.

• Kenneth Fook on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:03 am

DOnt be silly. There is 0% chance for it to cheaper than the CLA 45. This is a 3 liter engine as compared to the 2 liter found in the CLA. #wheredemsenses

• hazamiey on Oct 14, 2015 at 6:00 pm

RM 550k. A house in Klang Valley or this car? Definitely THIS CAR. No brainer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2015 at 7:27 pm

i can bring this car go zouk and get ahmoi….but i cannot drive my house out to get golddiggers

• A house in Klang Valley for 550k?
      You must be from kampong.

• Pierre on Oct 15, 2015 at 9:48 am

For this price, might as well get a Porsche Cayman.

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:19 am

Or if you’re lucky enough, you can get an Audi R8 V8 4.2 with open-gated manual tranny

• Munif on Oct 14, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Rear wheel drive or all wheel drive? Can’t find any mention in the article, maybe I missed it.

• Although it’s an absolute beauty to look at…. If the reported RM550k were to be true, I will still go for CLA45 AMG… No point paying extra 100k++ for the roundel.

• Gaviny on Oct 14, 2015 at 9:34 pm

550k I laff, nothing less than 700k

• Kenneth Fook on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:00 am

DOesnt make sense to price it above 700k as the M4/M3 which is slightly above 700k. Not to mention the price of the C63 is also below 700k. #comparativesense

• Still a best driver’s car by some margin.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:59 am

The CLA 45 AMG is in a league below this monster with a puny 2.0 engine and costs a lot cheaper too. This baby however is what everyone is hoping for, a proper smallish but excellent handling M car. Price for one here however will be quite interesting. Not sure if the MYR will be more stronger than the USD when it arrives so I’d expect it to rise from the old but excellent 1M but who knows? BMW Malaysia occasionally surprises us with stuff.

• chikohpek on Oct 15, 2015 at 9:29 am

1M is damn ugly wei. Without a 2nd glance, it look a bit like saga blm. Cant imagine those who paid huge amount of moolah for 1M ugly duckling. But this M2 is superb looking.

• This car has the synonym not only power, but the M represents “M”anual enthusiasm…… not to despise the dual-cluth transmission, but it’s really accelerate your adrenaline level, your left leg steps on the cluth pedal, while the other controls fuel, and finally both hands do the shifting and hold steering. What a combination!

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:04 am

I say at the pathetic exchange, be happy if it comes in below 600k.

Would I take this over a CLA45AMG?

Of course. But I really wish BMW did a 1M Hatch for this generation, that would have been really something considering the next generation is going down the front drive route (shudders).

• Burong on Oct 15, 2015 at 8:44 am

If I am getting one BM sport, I think M4 is the my base line for super car’s look at the money I am forking out.

I am getting a super car for her look and performance, but M2 seems like a small boy with muscular body. GTR is the answer if you would like performance n look, my advice.

• sepul on Oct 15, 2015 at 9:24 am

Finally something that sounds more mechanical from BMW. Thought the auto blip feature is a bit like a nanny bot. Can it be turned off?

• YourNightmare on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:29 am

Definitely buying this. Feb 2016 though and dealerships have yet been able to give a timeframe. Just went last week and they have no idea yet. I hope we don’t get all black interior options again. Getting sick of this bullshit.