GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Sienta at Mitsui Outlet Park

Toyota_Sienta_Ext-2

We’ve seen the 2016 Toyota Sienta in Malaysia before, but outside the hustle and bustle of a motor show stand and in better lighting, the quirky MPV’s ongoing appearance at Mitsui Outlet Park KLIA gives us an even better look at the upcoming seven-seater.

Pricing has already been revealed since last month – the base 1.5G variant is priced at RM92,900, while the range-topping 1.5V retails at RM99,900. Both prices are on-the-road with insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Destined to sit above the Avanza in UMW Toyota’s lineup, the Indonesian-built Sienta – seen here in 1.5V guise – is a very curious-looking car indeed, perhaps belying its nature as a very Japanese-oriented MPV (the previous-generation model was sold only in Japan).

The 1.5V model comes with all the bells and whistles, including bi-LED headlights with LED positioning lights, 16-inch machine-finish alloy wheels and light guides for the tail lights. The base 1.5G makes do with halogen headlights, 15-inch rollers and plain LED tail lights. Both models get LED daytime running lights.

Toyota_Sienta_Ext-16

Inside, the Sienta again breaks away from the norm, with a dual-tier dashboard featuring a Peugeot 208-esque high-mounted instrument cluster. The centre console with unique air-con controls, floor-mounted gearlever and added storage space is different from the JDM model, as is a rear air-con blower – but the novel way in which the third-row seats fold under the one-touch tumble second-row seats has been retained.

Again, it’s the 1.5V that is better equipped, with features such as an acoustic windscreen, keyless entry, push-button start, Optitron gauges, a Camry-style colour multi-info display, automatic air-con, a 6.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with voice control and a reverse camera.

Also fitted is brown fabric upholstery, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, twin electric sliding doors, premium security and solar tinting and the digital video recorder (dash cam) first seen on the new Hilux and Fortuner. The 1.5G gets none of these features – a 2-DIN Bluetooth-enabled radio is fitted instead, its seats are black and and only its left (passenger) sliding door is power-operated.

Toyota_Sienta_Int-17

The good news is that safety equipment is identical on both models – you get three airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control, Hill-start Assist Control (HAC) and ISOFIX child seat anchors on the outer second-row seats, no matter which variant you punt for.

Options include a RM2,109 DVD-AVX touchscreen infotainment system with reverse camera for the 1.5G, a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation system and a RM2,014 upgrade to the DVD-AVN system for 1.5V buyers. Customers of the 1.5G can also opt for either RM1,166 Toyota Essential Solar Film or the RM2,109 Toyota Premium Security & Solar Film – as mentioned, the latter is standard on the 1.5V.

Both models are powered by Toyota’s new 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-pot engine producing 107 hp at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm. A continuously variable transmission (CVT) with a seven-speed stepped ratio mode sends drive to the front wheels.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• finally something easy on the eyes to look eyes rather than the avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Wow this will sell like hotcakes…it does look different…in the same category with evoque…eyecatching indeed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
      • Mentioning the evoque in the same sentence as the sienta is an insult to the evoque. Eyecatching doesn’t mean it looks good. The sienta is eyecatching because it is a weirdo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Pay abit 20K more can get a more proper, more comfortable, more specious of Nissan Serena S-hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 11, 2016 at 7:14 am

You dont have to be jealous just because it looks more eyecatching than you…

• IGP mom on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:47 pm

I definitely wouldn’t be jealous but laughing at a fool if you support your own words by buying this piece of junk. Mark my words, you will see this Sienta on the road as often as you see Proton Juara.

• Nosushi on Jul 09, 2016 at 2:52 pm

But if using takata airbags oso no use

• finally something easy on the eyes to look rather than the avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • IGP mom on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:40 pm

This is seriously very ugly. There’s not many that can beat it in terms of ugliness!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 41
    • Yokohama24 on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:02 pm

To me this looks better than Avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Herman Low on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Honda Freed rings a bell?

• Big Ben Of London on Jul 10, 2016 at 1:20 am

Don’t sleep with the same alarm clock with your whole life!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Are you referring to yourself…ok then we accept that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • IGP mom on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Very funny. There’s no need to thumb down me. It’s my choice to think it is ugly. For those who disagree, go ahead and prove by buying this junk. For over 90k, see how many join you at all. What a joke.

• Sudahla Cukupla Proton for Me on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:58 pm

I wouldn’t mind this slight ugliness of this Toyota. As long as it is not a Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
  • Hamidah on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Thanks to that Proton creator Malaysians pay an extra RM40k to get a car that cannot even open both ways. That’s really nice to treat Malaysian lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
    • Hamilanjiao on Jul 08, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Cheapest manual version cost RM70k++ over Japan and Indonesia.
      I wonder what you score in your UPSR Mathematics.

• This somehow manages to top the multipla in ugliness, by making the rear look like the front.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 09, 2016 at 11:11 am

P1 didahulukan, kewangan diutamakan. Salam 1 Bolehland

• Otak udang on Jul 09, 2016 at 11:54 am

JDM cheapest grade 1.69m yen = rm66k
      Indonesia cheapest grade 248j rupiah = rm77k

• Prlist on Jul 09, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Can open lor. Go and check the price in Thai, similar price

• Nearly coughed out my roti canai whole. My god this is ugly

• Even without proton, you think the barang naik government couldn’t think of other ways to squeeze us of our money? Time for reality check!

• it actually looks a lot better in flesh then in the photos. Very practical car, exceeded expectations when i checked the car out earlier

• Sammy Loo on Jul 09, 2016 at 1:39 pm

well equipped, good design and practical family car.

Great reliability, fuel saving engine and gearbox combination and good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Every1canTalk on Jul 09, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Previously die die defend that the old 1.5vvt engine pair with 4speed gearbox is the best combination, perfect for fuel consumption… so now what is the explanation that UMW replace new engine and gearbox? lol

• Sammy Loo on Jul 10, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Definitely improvement will be coming from time to time, the older 1.5 VVT-i engine pairing with the 4 speeder is still one of the best combination in the world. Those engine and gearbox are still running good until today.

Toyota always go the safe route, rather late than sorry. Just like the C-HR, it will be a good reliability car, that’s the main concern of Toyota. Therefore most of the Toyota cars are having good RV.

• fendy on Jul 11, 2016 at 7:56 am

got the chance to witness the car at Mitsui…. for the size and estimated price, i’ll find a proper size MPV