570 horsepower Ferrari 458 Italia makes its debut!

Ferrari 458 Italia

Here you go, the all-new Ferrari that will make 360 and 430 owners whip out their checkbooks, or so Ferrari hopes.

The new Ferrari 458 Italia is powered by a new 4.5 litre V8 engine producing 570 horsepower at a mind-boggling 9,000rpm, and 540Nm of torque at 6,000rpm (over 80% of this available from 3,250rpm onwards), thanks to high-revving, a 12.5:1 compression ratio, and direct injection. The torque numbers are pretty darn high for a normally aspirated of this size, thanks to direct injection and the high compression. Ferrari pointed out that out of the 570 total horses, 5 are gained only at higher speeds thanks to a ram air effect.

Ferrari 458 Italia

Power goes to the rear wheels via a new 7-speed dual clutch F1 gearbox (no mention of a stick shift so far?). This combination of a V8, a twin clutch, and a dry weight of 1,380kg takes the car up to 100km/h in 3.4 seconds, and the top speed is set at over 325km/h. For those who even bother, fuel consumption is 13.7 litres per 100km on a combined cycle and Ferrari says this is the best in its segment.

See the triple exhaust setup at the rear? It wasn’t mentioned in the press release but apparently it is said that they work in stages, with all three pipes only working from mid-rev onwards. I’m still looking for more confirmation on this.

Ferrari 458 Italia

Do I like it? No. I mean, it’s not ugly but it won’t win any beauty contests for sure. I’m sure it will be an object of lust and attention in the metal but I’m seriously not digging the overly cab forward design of this new car. It takes after the Enzo too much but ends up looking like a Pagani Zonda from the sides.

I’m not sure if the decision to make the car look overly futuristic was influenced by the fact that many are falling for Lamborghini’s cleaner, simpler, straighter and futuristic fighter jet design cues. The new 458 somehow seems to lack the class that a Ferrari is supposed to have.

Ferrari says the car’s styling is heavily influenced by aerodynamic needs. The nose features small aeroelastic winglets which help generate downforce and contributes to the 140kg of downforce generated at 200km/h.

Look after the jump for a few more photos of the new 458 Italia, and watch a teaser video of the 458 Italia accelerating from a stand-still – however it looks like, the sound and performance of that V8 overshines it all!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=403]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:00 am

i hate it. what have ferraris become, a joke?

• First!

• slimershine on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:08 am

entry-line ferarri maybe.

and this ferrari can be a daily car with such low fc and if i'm not mistaken, the fc almost the same with alfa147 which is 13.5L/100km right?

• hvannees on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:25 am

what a beauty!!..

• roti naan1 on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:26 am

the hands-on-wheel pic looks soooooo amateurish….

did ferrari sub-contract to China-man for their graphic work??

• ohmy... on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:49 am

well you know what they say about ferrari's press pics, the real thing can be so much better when you lay your own eyes on them. i'm really digging the curves on the bonnet, the headlights and the bumper design

• ohmy... on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:53 am

Paul,

is that torque figure correct? other websites are stating it as 398 lb-ft at 6000rpm

• Paul Tan on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:58 am

Erm, 398 lb-ft is 540Nm. We normally use Nm in Malaysia.

• fertitta1 on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:10 am

not bad , looks like enzo .

I dont know why I like the looks than u guys hate it.

• keliwon on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:56 am

Front side view is the best …posterior side not so good …back too bulky disproportionate to the 1/3 front

• koozold on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:52 am

sexy ferrari from the side view!!

• sixspeed on Jul 29, 2009 at 3:29 pm

roti naan1 said,

July 29, 2009 @ 1:26 am

the hands-on-wheel pic looks soooooo amateurish….

did ferrari sub-contract to China-man for their graphic work??

It's a screen grab from the video, from an animation that's on the screen for about 0.2 seconds and not intended to be a still pic on its own. Watch the video before making stupid comments.

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:10 pm

buy bmw better, more luxury

• Head Hunter on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:33 pm

Say whatever you like, this car is about passion.. This is what we call a car, looks good in pictures, spectacular in real life. It's a beautiful car, the more you look at it, the more you fall in love with it.

Appreciate it, the Italian way, look at it, savor the curves, touch it, feel it, and then start the engine, total aural pleasure..

And then you drive it..

That is how you love a Ferrari, just like enjoying your meal after days in the jungle without food or water. Savor every bit.. Right down to the last morcels, love it and treasure it while it lasts..

It's a Ferrari, sex on wheels..

• Head Hunter on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:39 pm

sixspeed, don't worry about ppl trying to bash this car. A Ferrari is still a Ferrari, it will always be beautiful. Ferrari lovers, either we do not own or own them, we appreciate them wholeheartedly. Passion and excitement makes this car wonderful. I can't wait to see the car in Malaysia.

• madzda 3 mps on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:43 pm

i can't think of a reason why anybody would choose this over a lambo

• stephenstreets on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:47 pm

It looks weird…..

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:49 pm

… and the price will be 20 years of our salary… :-)

• Chris Chong on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Got diesel model, arr…?

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:53 pm

570 hp from only a 4.5 litre normal aspirated V8!!!!!? That's colossal! Paul, is the 7-speed dual clutch F1 gearbox similar to the one in the California?

• MycarMylife on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Supercar from Maranello again, great with hot babes and for the super rich Chinese taipans ( explains the near oriental look) with great aero dynamics.

East is where the market is go go Forza Ferrari.

• droll on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

eh, quite pretty what. i hate the current crop of ferraris. so freaking ugly (except for the california. aaaahh)! the old school type ferraris looked much better and this 458 Italia is lovely!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Hmm . .. . I got a mixed feelings on this. Ferrari supposed to be a beauty, but this one . . . .. NOT!

• Wak Rempit on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Trying to find points to bash this car…… nahhh

can't help but to love it, it's a Ferrari!!

• roti naan1 on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:57 pm

sixspeed said,

I know you are super highly intelligent but I can comment what i want.

Even Paul approved the posting.

By the way, i was merely making fun at my posting. Ppl as inteligent like you didn't understand it ka?

Bro, you need to chill la….hihihihi

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Such low FC is equal to some MPV, like our P1 MPV, haha…

When the Ferrari goes up to 200km/h our P1 MPV haven't reach 100km/h yet, hahaha…

anyway, I not so much like the design, but I very like other things else…

It's going to a superb car…

• majavaz on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:33 pm

I don't know but u guys, but It look very2 good to me..I like it… maybe after a while u will find it sexy as well.. hahah.. dream car absolutely..

• One man's trash is another man's treasure. myself, i like the new design.

• Maverick on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Its not as capturing and imaginative as Ferrari's of the old. Lambo's design cues works, because Lambo's have their own personality, the drivers are mostly lunatics and flashy. But Ferrari drivers would be more.. stable, solid, smooth, this car looks out of place. The the rear just looks wrong, all wrong…

• antaras on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:47 pm

uhhhh… making fun at your posting? ummm… still didn't get it.

Anyway, this design is definitely different from what they have now. Maybe a tad too futuristic? Looks like something that came out from Ridge Racer but I'm definitely digging it! ^_^

• mitlanevo on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:07 pm

typical ferrari on the inside, but agree with Paul, this car looks a bit weird, kinda like mixing Enzo with F430……

P/S: used to love F50 and F430 so much, but lately fell in love with 599 and California, haha

• victor lee the stupi on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:09 pm

That look has been carefully and intellectually designed by Ferrari's professional engineers considering all thing in aerodynamics and you guys amateurish are just to comment this and that

• david on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Wow I like it. I think it looks great.

• droll on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:23 pm

doesn't the side profile look like the road going McLaren F1?

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:45 pm

i love every angle of the car, it looks great to me..

• farid on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Its our Paul's hand on the steering wheel..hehehe, the car looks great though..errr 3 xhst pipes?

• Euwww on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm

What an ugly car! It surprises me that this thing comes out from Ferrari factory. I like California, but not the name though..

• Slayer on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Arghhhh..!!

• Maserati on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:22 pm

WOw,what a beauty!!.Now wondering how much it will cost in M'sia..

RM 2M anyone?

• Paul, you dont like it?! Its gorgeous! The rear takes a little getting used to, but the front is just amazing! They should have made the exhaust a 2 & 1 top and bottom, like an upside down pyramid… That would be nicer…

• madboy on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Well a Ferari is a Ferari. In Malaysia, it does not matter which model you are driving. Just drive one is good enough to make head turn.

• AdamRadin on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:22 pm

I do think the decision to make the car look overly futuristic was influenced by the fact that many are falling for Lamborghini’s cleaner, simpler, straighter and futuristic fighter jet design cues. And I agreed with Paul that the new 458 somehow seems to lack the class that a Ferrari is supposed to have.

• LorenzooOOOoo on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:28 pm

FUHHH!!!

The real great sport car !!!!

Very interesting !!!!

With MASSIVE HP N TORQUE !!!!

• lambov12 on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:15 pm

i still think the F430 is a lot better looking ..

• fulamak………………………

• Late me become a Gov on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:37 pm

that super…

• nonengko on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:55 pm

I like it………….

• ugliest Ferrari ever! Even worse than the testarossa!! I prefer the Scuderia…

• aksMs on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:01 am

After looking at the pictures, one after another, I decided the only angle that is good to look at is the 1st picture. Heck, I think 512TR looks better than this. F430 is still the best looking Ferrari of all. The sound, was it just me or is it the growl are getting softer?

• Only side profile looks stunning but boring and looks so typical, like it been designed by DejaVu. Bring in bangle radical transformation.

• sixspeed on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:21 am

roti naan1 said,

heh make whatever excuses you want la, I'm clearly not the only one who thought your comment was dumb and not particularly funny.

Back to the car, I quite like the new design actually. Way better looking than the California. I imagine it'll look even nicer in real life. As far as the futuristic criticism goes, it still seems pretty mild and evolutionary to me. Besides, futuristic isn't a bad thing, after all the most iconic Ferrari to many people is still the Testarossa.

3 exhaust tips is a nice throwback to the F40, it's amazing to think that the new "entry-level" Ferrari will exceed that mythical legend's performance in just about every way!

• nighttrain on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:38 am

Too wierd for a Ferrari. I agree with Paul, if it were a Pagani or a Lambo, I wouldn't even have blinked. The windows are too big, the whole rear half is just wrong.. You see, I've never complained a Ferrari design before, ever. Not even from the fifties model until now. This is the first time. Sad day for me.

• aki_zz on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:27 am

it looks fake. like a toy ferrari…i thought paul was joking that time…hahaha

• Kuku_Nan on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:21 am

Did Ferrari give sub-contract to our local for the car design? No class at all!

• mystvearn on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:42 am

So, you get more bhp the faster you go. Interesting

• Gajen on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:53 am

not bad…btw is this the replacement for F430?

• the front feels like the Saleen S5S.

• P2_permanent_basher on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:25 am

what type of light is that? one bulb with a line of leds? can anyone confirm this????

• nice can … just in my dream.. if efford to buy it , i wont by it no where to go using this car.. just tunjuk kaya ermm.. better beli sport compact car that can eat this car…. this car cost to much buang duit.. ekeke so yang lain terus kan berangan bersama ok ekekke

…. oh ferrari wish to drive once.. can effort to buy scale model at shell ekekeke… buy all the model perhh day dream…

• Alafat on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:56 am

I think this is the Sexiest ferrari design to date, I m sure the real thing will look 10 times sexier than in photos and it's really Funny so many malaya ppl here think otherwise….

• hmm, somehow i agree with paul. i think the f430 looks sportier, this one abit too futuristic.

• nighttrain on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Who did Ferrari ask to design this car? Guigiaro, Pininfarina, Bertone.. this is definately not any of their signature designs. Maybe one of those young punks from nothern Europe working for them..

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:45 pm

10,000 times better than any P1 or P2 will ever be… Amazing!

• Emran on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:51 pm

The 3 exhaust pipes look similar to that of the original and iconic F40. Probably this is homage to that model

• I beg to differ. I think it looks great! Not mind blowing but looks pretty different compared to their recent designs. Something different from the Ferrari stable.

• Yumiko on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:28 am

look shorter haha

• DeViLiCiOuS on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:07 am

This is one of the love it or hate it kind of design. Think of it as super mario gone 3D… New things brings mixed reviews but give time to embrace it … lets wait for it to hit the roads =)

• LightningMcQueen on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Dear Paul,

Is this the shortest overall length of a ferrari?

how about the wheel base, overhang and tread?

• YAKUP on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:36 am

VERY VERY GOOD

• Ferarri=F1…

This is Ferarri's modern F1 interpretation to their road cars. Aerodynamics & technical highlights first, then others. In the end, it's a car that looked wierd to some, but admired by owners and supporters, same like F1 cars!

• anakayam on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:55 am

we got a booking last saturday for this unit. also being told indonesia allocation all snapped up..

• Raixa on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:43 am

I don't know anything about ferrari but is this what they called an evolution of their car then they do it right even though the ram air effect is the same that been use by yamaha R-1.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:24 pm

WOW! 2 MIL.?

How much it cost outside Bulleh Land?

Even the charity unit for HAITI foundation cost about RM1.7mil. Every cars purchased in Bulleh Land contributing great charity. Including urs Japanese Honda, Toyota, Mitsubishi…….and Hyundai etc….

But these charity is channel to BBBB..NNNN……. Gomen.

Congratulations on being part of the generosity donater! :-)

• Nigel on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

love it!

• prince on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:30 am

this 458 should combine with 430…front 458 and back 430…look very nice n very sporty.
    458 bumper ugly……