Updated Proton BLM Stage-by-Stage Teaser

Proton BLM Chassis

Proton has updated their Cineleisure Mutiara Damansara chassis with a new one that has a roof structure and some body panels. Compare this to the previous bare chassis here. Now we are able to see clearly the roofline of the car in person without disguise.

It’s not awkward like some Japanese hatch-turned-sedan cars, but I did notice that the BLM is a taller than average sedan, probably to improve the headroom in the interior.

Proton BLM Chassis

It’s hard to tell from photos, but you will be able to visualize the shape and size of the Proton BLM’s boot space better in person. Looks acceptable for a small car.

Three more photos available after the jump.

Proton BLM Chassis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hypermount (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 3:54 am

Just like what I’ve said earlier, the metal front bumper beam in the 4th pic completes the highlighted beams which reinforce the chassis..

http://images.paultan.org/images/proton-blm/Proton_BLM_Build_Teaser_15.jpg

• cc (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 3:59 am

tomorroe they will be at angsana.. i will be there for sure.

• abeb (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 4:16 am

can see the exhaust is on the side…

• 707 (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 10:20 am

alamak…the handbrake having erection la!!!! dia stim kodok!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 10:56 am

Hmmm…. I’m thinking, Proton shld come out with Proton Siap (Saga-in-a-box).

Buy the car pre-assembled, then u fix it urself. Price? Cut rm7-8k of the OTR price.

Ok mah? heh, ok fine, im just bored :-P

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:05 pm

Yesterday i saw the real thing white new saga driving at highway near tapah tol. The car is really taller then my wira. Looks very good, but from the view in ur picture i saw the steering and the interior wide looks a bit crowded? Yup, the headroom is very tall. but how about leg space? If u see carefully, the steering is almost near the middle of the front door. Ppl drive savvy say the leg space behind the rear passenger is a bit crowded, i hope proton can do it better.

This model will sure sell in appearance n also the improve campro. Better then the Persona louzy campro kosong…

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Pretty basic car I’d reckon from the pics. No fancy things going on here. Can’t even see an ABS module. But then that’s probably why Proton can sell it in the sub 40k. Just that I hope it’s a decent car for the average joe.

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:23 pm

wait!!!
    there is something different here. the tire is goodyear ducaro ga, not the sime tire like in the previous roofless chassis. they’ve already installed the rear aker summore. lol.
    and the hole’s diameter at the rear seat has been reduced too. got some insullation summore.

• BW (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:50 pm

hmmmm… looks ok la… still all i have to say is i hope it wont disappoints

• lone_rider (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 1:44 pm

anyway, u choose
    if the way of thinking still “average us”
    too much expectation..there u go, same old story..
    just expect it as 27K saga with some improvement
    and hopefully some BIG improvement :)

• skywalkers (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 1:45 pm

WE WILL SEE WHAT WE WILL SEE.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:02 pm

cant wait to see the real car…

• carsut (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:10 pm

I still remember my father bought brand new 1.3 cc “Proton Saga Megavalve” in 1990, the price was 29K. but this new Saga will be sell at 30K ++ with 1.6 cc.. I thing is not bad at all..

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:38 pm

cecibo,

you got my point!!

• DeyChitPooodah (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Kenapalah proton suka buat bontot kereta tinggi-tinggi….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:57 pm

========================================

ini style kereta zaman sekarang la bang…nak boot besar memang kene buat macam nie….nanti boot kecik complain lagi pulak…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 4:14 pm

bontot tak besar…tarak boot space… haha…
    bontot kecik…nak buat apa?

anyway…can’t wait for the launch… although i won’t buy this car…but still feel pretty excited…

the persona 1.6 campro should at least be updated with VIM also la…sheesh…

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 4:49 pm

Clearly, the car is small and potentially crampy. Anyone who expects previous Saga cabin size will be disappointed I think. Check the 2nd pic and you can see the boot is only as deep as the diameter of the spare tyre.
    But with good build quality and an improvised campro engine, it should be a good buy for the price offered.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 5:17 pm

Clearly, the car is small and potentially crampy. Anyone who expects previous Saga cabin size will be disappointed I think. Check the 2nd pic and you can see the boot is only as deep as the diameter of the spare tyre.
    But with good build quality and an improvised campro engine, it should be a good buy for the price offered
    ============================================

previous saga is spacious?

• metallic_car (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 5:35 pm

It’s a good family sedan budget car. And I’m sure to buy it.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

DeyChitPooodah said,
    January 10, 2008 @ 2:46 pm

————
    They may get idea from nature – “buntut semut keranga api”!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 6:21 pm

Aheem, “lawn mover engine”!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 7:32 pm

Thanks for the update, Paul.

At least now I can see the front horizontal safety impact beam across (Picture 4). Anyway, how about the rear? Is there any? Just wanted to know.

Can wait to see more. All the best to Proton. Hopefully Proton can do better this year both local and export markets.

Happy motoring everyone.

• szw (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 7:56 pm

i think this is another improvement from proton…

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:43 pm

Even the handbrake paddle look fragile like i want to kick it, why it seems like it raised up from the tires like we wanna go for of road or something. I can imagine what it look when it’s finish, horrible.

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:52 pm

the body looked raised due to not enough parts installed to the car like doors, spare tire, fuel tank, seat, carpet, insulator, fabric trim, bumper, light, bonet, trunks and etc….
    when all the parts are assembled, i believe, it will be just nice, for standard car.

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:54 pm

#
    cecibo said,

January 10, 2008 @ 8:43 pm

Even the handbrake paddle look fragile like i want to kick it, why it seems like it raised up from the tires like we wanna go for of road or something. I can imagine what it look when it’s finish, horrible.
    ————————————————————-

maybe because there is only the chassis, no other parts like seats or bumpers that reduced the weight..so, less burden to those suspension..

my english is not good, but i hope u get the idea..

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:55 pm

with all the parts assembled, the car will be lowered to its standard level due to extra ‘weight’.

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:59 pm

MisterBenjo said,

January 10, 2008 @ 5:17 pm

____________________________________________________________________________

It was a comparison lah. And take off your helmet for goodness sake!

• proton12vauto (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

sempitlaa.. handbrake tinggi laa.. steering tinggi laa… belum siap pasang lagi maaa…

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 10:00 pm

The wheel base to short and the roof looks tall. Good styling must be good propotion. Engineering dont expect too much….this car is so basic not as good as their promotion advertisment. Car might be good selling coz their price (survival price).Myvi still practical car.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 11:30 pm

car_key99 said,
    January 10, 2008 @ 10:00 pm

The wheel base to short and the roof looks tall. Good styling must be good propotion. Engineering dont expect too much….this car is so basic not as good as their promotion advertisment. Car might be good selling coz their price (survival price).Myvi still practical car.

lately styling is secondary already…too many ugly cars on the road…lucky this car is still acceptable…and we are not paying so much to design it as pininfarina or anywhere else…
    and i dont understand what you trying to say..the car so basic??and myvi is more practical..in what sense?/
    myvi is basic too..besides additional airbag and abs…what else myvi has to be more that basic and practical??price itself is not practical..no boot space too…and this car is way much powerful…i dont this abs and another airbag for passenger will cost rm 10 k..right??so this car is more practical i guess if compare to a myvi!!

• cc (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:52 am

i agree with you Prem3377, myvi is basic. i dont like the interior (plastic), cost much (than BLM) more and still plastic.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 1:01 am

————————————————————–

U do not need to imagine..the spyshoy shot is there already..ini orang buta ka apa.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 1:04 am

MisterBenjo said,

January 10, 2008 @ 5:17 pm

It was a comparison lah. And take off your helmet for goodness sake!

—————————————————————

previous saga is not roomy at all,headroom also not very good
    i dont believe it is spacious than the BLM

• azrai (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 7:24 am

From what I see on the car frame itself at Cineleasure, the headroom is quite high (to counter the wrong design in Gen2 previously), the boot volume is large (just like Persona big boot), the length is quite proportionate. The main thing to consider is the width. I don’t think it is wide enough compare to the current Saga/Iswara. It really taken from the Savvy width. This evening on 8pm the Proton’s engineer gonna make it again at Cineleasure.

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 8:39 am

everyone also bising2 aa..mybe we all just wait & see..then sambung bising2 again..hehe..happy motoring.

• waimak (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:25 am

Guys, this is a mock up and for launch gimmick only

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:36 am

Viva : http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg
    vs
    BLM : http://images.paultan.org/images/Proton_BLM_Buildup_100108_4_Large.jpg

Now lady.. if you think viva is cute.. think again.. you had risk to lost you beautiful shinny shaved leg after accident in viva!.. :p Change your mind now.. (*my cousin just canceled her viva and booking this)

SPACIOUS ONE GET GRAND LIVINA LAAA!!..
    if this BLM wan spacious one.. would you pay more?
    Basher still basher.. haiya..

• GTI (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:44 am

Proton will update the BLM tonight.. 8 pm..
    then they’ll launch 18 january at KLCC..

• GTI (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:47 am

Proton will update the BLM 8 pm.. tonight..
    then they’ll launch 18 January at KLCC.. i herd it form proton guy at Cineleisure Mutiara Damansara yesterday..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 10:13 am

Walaueh, can’t wait the finished product lah.

• cyrixMX (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 10:54 am

wheel arch looks small though, no room to pimp your new saga haha

expect the chassis to be 3″-4″ lower than the pictures when everything is assembled. the spare tyre well looks shallow, maybe only those 1/2 sized steel spare tyres can fit there.

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:27 am

Prem3377

My opinion, myvi is more spacious cabin room, sitting position is more comfortable, practicality meet malaysian requirement. Myvi can carry dinner
    table (4person) inside the car, washing machine wat else….is good damn car men. Wat about blm???????? power full no need laa…..110km speed jee.
    This is call practicality.

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:35 am

is it true that if one myvi tyre is punctured and there are 5 people in the car, theres not enuff space to keep the tyre and the tyre had to be hold by one of the passenger??if this is true..its not that practical..any myvi owner care to share their experience??

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:43 am

yippi33

Sorry i dont understand la, wat are you trying to said…..?#)*$

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Come on guys… lets support local product. If you want spacious ( why, you have to balik kampung every day ah? )… buy a NAZA Ria, need powerful ( want to race everyday ? )…buy an Evo, good quality car ( If you’re rich…. ) ?? why not the new Mercedes or BMW. Want a cheap car ? Buy a secondhand kancil or saga. But if you want a reasonably good, cheap, spacious enough for 4 adults, fast enough for malaysian road and at the same time support the local economy… let’s give this new BLM a chance. Don’t judge it by the badge…

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

tonight 8 pm at cineleisure…wait and see.lets go together proton12vauto!

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm

car_key99, he means where to put the punctured tyre, care to share ur experience? i guess he means the boot isnt big enough for full size tyre,oni can fit the spare tyre, tats y passenger has to hold the punctured tyre, any comment?

• hctiu (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 1:14 pm

cecibo said,

Even the handbrake paddle look fragile like i want to kick it, why it seems like it raised up from the tires like we wanna go for of road or something. I can imagine what it look when it’s finish, horrible

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 2:53 pm

thanks fastcx,

If no space…. put in luggage area le bang…temporary je…jarang berlaku.
    If that major problem, I suggest u use emt tyre ….le….

• zech57 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:05 pm

cecibo said,

Even the handbrake paddle look fragile like i want to kick it, why it seems like it raised up from the tires like we wanna go for of road or something. I can imagine what it look when it’s finish, horrible

===============================================

dear cecibo

the car is raised to make room for the proton people to assemble the car…. is suspended like when u send ur car for service… so the suspension is not compressed which make it look like that… dun be so judgemental…haf u seen the spyshots?

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:12 pm

hahaha..if the boot is already full with bags??donno how true is this story man..but people usually buy myvi as their second car anyway..if long distance, better use larger car..

cant wait for this car to be launched..eager to feel the diff the iafm produce..

• Q-CAR (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:19 pm

saw the in the flesh the other day.I wont say it’s a bad car.actually it looks pretty nice.outside dimension acceptable if a little bit tall.but that how cars nowdays designed.i was lucky 1 of them wasnt locked.so i sat inside.the meter is like the savvy except the aircond vent is round like the kancil.centre console for the aircond is slightly different.however there is no centrebox/armrest.as for space,i’m a 6 footer.when i adjust the driver seat for my height,i still can sit at the back comfortably.it is also a bit narrow.boot space is reasonable.

i think this car will be saleable.i prefer this car than the viva or myvi coz i need the boot space.interior quality is on par with the persona,savvy.

see the car first than give comment.normally i dont like proton,but lately they are getting better,just give them chance to improve then we’ll see later.

• Q-CAR (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:21 pm

i forgot to say but there were no keys so i cant start the car,so driving experience have to wait.dono how the engine and drivetrain perform.

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:23 pm

dear cecibo

the car is raised to make room for the proton people to assemble the car…. is suspended like when u send ur car for service… so the suspension is not compressed which make it look like that… dun be so judgemental…haf u seen the spyshots?

—————————————————–
    dear zech57

I’ve seen it and i hate it, as much as i hate looking at City & the new Vios

the only Proton that i love & adore is Neo, the one & only prettiest Proton exist

• shamel (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Kudos to Proton as they know what majority of people want. This eagerness and excitement is something we should give them credit. RM30k-RM40k is very competitive price-easier to compete in ASEAN or even FC-sensitive markets, provided their end product really perform and exactly like said before, not merely on paper. Bashing is the easiest thing we Malaysians can do, huh?

Is the car deliver, Viva really hard to sell, even the cheapest version. Myvi, still better city car or nice to young family, especially the passenger area. So generous for this type of city car. Perhaps, 1.5 VVTi borrowed from Vios in the pipeline, in case Myvi will hurt by the BLM. So far l don’t think so but I’m discounting the market share for Myvi remain as new midlife facelift will be unveiled in Q3.

If Myvi bring class leading turbodiesel 1.4 from Toyota for their lineup while maintaining from current pricing, god willing they’ll maintain their pole position.

Believe me, Proton’s new management efforts will be paid off. They deserved it.

• Siva (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

INTERIOR: http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/2161/10012008076yr2.jpg
    CAR: http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/7825/10012008075kr6.jpg

• wong (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Thanks Siva, not bad at all…

• MrSavvyUltraman (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 4:57 pm

wow the interior same like savvy

but savvy is lucky because get clarion audio head unit ehehe

• izaman (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 5:04 pm

nice job siva

• zech57 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

cecibo… true…. the only car from proton which is beautiful is neo….

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 5:25 pm

as always proton looks solid,

(anyway who trade in wira can reuse your alloy because it fits)

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 5:45 pm

not bad at all…no yellow odometer..simple and neat..

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 5:46 pm

oh my… those heat control knob, like it’s been recycle from old Iswara, adoi… really disappointed.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:00 pm

car_key99 said,

January 11, 2008 @ 11:27 am

Prem3377

My opinion, myvi is more spacious cabin room, sitting position is more comfortable, practicality meet malaysian requirement. Myvi can carry dinner
    table (4person) inside the car, washing machine wat else….is good damn car men. Wat about blm???????? power full no need laa…..110km speed jee.
    This is call practicality.

—————————————————————

washing machine?really ahh?taruk kat atas bumbung ker..

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

P1 dont have identity ka?? every time new model different image…no idea..
    the design look boring la…if neo with blm price may be can break myvi’s
    record….blm i dont think so.

anyway who trade in rusty wira please consider rusty problem….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

dear zech57

the only Proton that i love & adore is Neo, the one & only prettiest Proton exist

—————————————————————

after this i ask proton to make for u…mpv kepala neo….pickup truck kepala neo …wagon pun kepala neo

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm

oh my… those heat control knob, like it’s been recycle from old Iswara, adoi… really disappointed.

————————————————————-

menyahut seruan kerajaan….recycle all the plastic

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:05 pm

the interior looks simple and nice…but somewhere i feel it too simple…feel a little bit plasticky…mayb that why it was call BLM in the first place rite.the exterior is so marvelous….look decent enough but truly i think its look better then latio or new vios (really ugly)…look like a very strong car.good luck p1 g luck BLM

• amlan (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm

hai everybdy new here…..

• amlan (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm

nice rangka……

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:55 pm

ey…u all already see the interior ha?where to see, if got share la….

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 7:10 pm

MisterBenjo said,

January 11, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

ey…u all already see the interior ha?where to see, if got share la….

————————————————

Siva said,

January 11, 2008 @ 3:50 pm

Buta ke!!!!!

• 90125 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

cecibo said,
    January 11, 2008 @ 3:23 pm

—————————————————————-
    So you like sporty cars? Cool….!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 8:54 pm

To Siva. Thanks for the photos especially the one showing interior.

Can’t wait to fell this new SAGA.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:05 pm

Hi everyone!

One thing i realised here, is that MALAYSIAN’S ARE VERY HARD TO PLEASE!

To car_key99:
    Last time when Proton tried to stick with a single styling concept, there were COMPLAINTS THAT PROTON DESIGNERS NO IDEA! Always the same stuff! When they come with new styling, u guys complaint no identity la, different image la. If use same styling also say no idea, use different styling also say no idea means, U PEOPLE CRAZY OR WAT?

To chap_de_x:
    BLM stands for BASIC LINE MODEL! So it is supposed to be basic! Thats why Proton kept the interior simple yet with clean and functional styling. When Proton do ‘gempak interior’ also complaint, not suitable la, not sports car la, should have kept it simple la. Now simple ready, also complaint, too simple la. To MR. CHAP_DE_X, U CANT FEEL PLASTICKY FEEL BY SEEING IT! U HAVE TO ACTUALLY FEEL IT!!!! Please dont pass this kind of un-intelectual judgement! Sorry to Mr. chap_de_x, no heart feelings pls. My PROMISE to YOU PERSONALLY, the interior is FAR FROM PLASTICKY FEELING! I have touched it, stripped it apart, played around with it and i can assure u that. AND I CAN SAY THAT THE PLACTIC USED IS STORNG PLASTIC! Trust me on that.

To Everyone:
    The head unit is a Clarion head unit, as we can see from the pics, a single din wan. The compartment below can be used to keep stuffs or also if you guys wanna fir a double din head unit also can. Please don’t judge the car foolishly and remember the car is a Basic Line Model! The CONTROL DIALS ARE NOT RECYLED FROM OLD ISWARA! It has the solid feeling, and easy to turn (soft). Feeling similar to dials in Japenese Cars (Feels much better then Myvi dials also). All i can say that the interior is purposely designed to be simple, neat and functional. Since the car is aimed for everybody, from low income people as their first car to people going to used as their second car, this deisgn approach is used. I can assure you guys and promise u guys, the best bits of this car is its comfortability(i am 5’6″, with the drivers seat adjusted to my drving position,i still can sit comfotably at the back with enuf leg room; much more then the old iswara), luggage space and most importantly its ENGINE PERFORMANCE! HOLD YOUR JUDGEMENT UNTIL YOU ACTUALLY FEEL, TOUCH, DRIVE THE CAR!

Cheers!

• owaief (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 9:15 pm

i liked the exterior, it looks decent enough…. but frankly, the interior looks kinda wierd… i think it loooks better if they just reuse savvy’s interior. my dad has a savvy, and i think its interior’s design is alright for a under 40k car… but this is just…………………….. hope the materials used is better than the savvy though.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 10:55 pm

if compare to vios city ,really this PROTON SAGA 1.3, clean, uncuttered , pleasing with solid weighty look,

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:12 pm

alaa… interior tak cantik… sayang betul..

LOL… aircond knob still use that classic saga .. that picture cannot be real.. it’s from my dad 1987 saga aircond knob!!.

nice job but i’d really hope to see interior much better that that. but considering base line model.. hmm… ok lah…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:23 pm

wahaha i kene balik dengan cecibo
    aiya tak nampak la thanks bro for the reminder.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:31 pm

LOL… aircond knob still use that classic saga .. that picture cannot be real.. it’s from my dad 1987 saga aircond knob!!.

nice job but i’d really hope to see interior much better that that. but considering base line model.. hmm… ok lah…

—————————————————————

ok la for that price ma i think buyers wouldnt mind

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:38 pm

fadzlizuka said,
    January 11, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

———————————————————–

even Audi and Lamborghini use the same part

• vliam (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm

I saw the interior at another blog…can i post the link here?

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Toyotas are known to have simple interiors. But it is the high reliability and practicality that sell their cars. And the a/c knobs you’ve seen inside the BLM also exist in some of current Toyotas. So, I’m not worried about that. It is the vents that I’m worried about. I have a feeling they break easily.

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:05 am

proton.GL.. said

apa kelas nak compare wit Audi and Lamborghini, its like beauty and da beast.

• zzua (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:24 am

bkn compare ngn audi/lambo, tapi normal la letak komponen yg identical pada model yg berbeza dari pengeluar yg sama.
    hmm.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:28 am

Toyotas are known to have simple interiors. But it is the high reliability and practicality that sell their cars. And the a/c knobs you’ve seen inside the BLM also exist in some of current Toyotas. So, I’m not worried about that. It is the vents that I’m worried about. I have a feeling they break easily.

—————————————————————

Dont be so negative thinking la my fren …..get a feel in the showroom first than bash la….

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:43 am

proton.GL.. said

———————————————————-

if anyone want to feel what it’s like inside a lamborghini, get inside the new kancil, it’s air vent looks just the same

wait, i’m out of this topic is it???

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:54 am

car_key99 said,
    January 12, 2008 @ 12:05 am

proton.GL.. said

apa kelas nak compare wit Audi and Lamborghini, its like beauty and da beast.
    ————————————————————

sorry la my friend ,appologise,
    im too overly generalised,
    but thats what auto industry is about, to be economical,
    even last time, ferrari use its fiats bin for switches,
    nothing is too wrong there i think, as long as it fits nicely is acceptale,
    not to mention the steel wheel is from wira, but thats how it should be done,
    steering from satria neo, padel rubber pad, some of the brake fluid lid, are from past model,

i think its an ok practice, for auto industry,

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:57 am

MisterBenjo said,

January 12, 2008 @ 12:28 am

Dont be so negative thinking la my fren …..get a feel in the showroom first than bash la….
    I do support Proton if you have to know. And I may buy one as a 2nd car some day. I’ve always been +ve towards Proton. Check all my previous posts if you don’t believe me. But I’ve seen countless broken a/c vents in a Proton before including in my in-law’s a few months old Satria Neo. So, that was just a reality check. Cheers mate. Don’t be so uptight.

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:00 am

wahaha i kene balik dengan cecibo
    aiya tak nampak la thanks bro for the reminder.

———————–

ur welcome.

• shamel (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:16 am

Generally, acceptable for second car or graduate first car. If we want to conquer world why not having a more contemporary interior design while using the old parts?

Remember, we need to fight with big names in other unprotected markets.

Proton got 6.5/10. Just waiting for FC report, if around 5.5l/100km at 90kmh the car is OK. Maybe 7-7.5/100 point for this segment. Maybe after Savvy dashboard finish, Proton should redesign new one. :)

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 2:25 am

why the interior so weird…like no flow in the design?anyway cant complain much for the price…if the head unit is a double din design like savvy..it should have been nice..gear knob is good..aircond vent is acceptable…door handle is finally large enough to put 2 or more fingers in…good job proton…but you should continue the interior styling/trend of neo,persona,gen2 and savvy…this is a step backward…i bet many feel so…but i really hope quality will be a few steps forward…

i heard proton engineers took alot of effort looking at perodua,toyota,honda and even hyundai switches,button and etc to produce buttons and switches…

sifu should know how true is this….

all the best PROTON…wanted to book one today…but still waiting…whats the interest rate??some say 4.3 so saying 4.1 and rest saying its 3.88%…anyone can confirm?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 3:58 am

MisterBenjo said,

January 12, 2008 @ 12:28 am

I do support Proton if you have to know. And I may buy one as a 2nd car some day. I’ve always been +ve towards Proton. Check all my previous posts if you don’t believe me. But I’ve seen countless broken a/c vents in a Proton before including in my in-law’s a few months old Satria Neo. So, that was just a reality check. Cheers mate. Don’t be so uptight.

————————————————————–

opsss sorry bro…wrong target ..hihi …cheers :)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:44 am

Prem3377 said,

January 12, 2008 @ 2:25 am

why the interior so weird…like no flow in the design?anyway cant complain much for the price…if the head unit is a double din design like savvy..it should have been nice..gear knob is good..aircond vent is acceptable…door handle is finally large enough to put 2 or more fingers in…good job proton…but you should continue the interior styling/trend of neo,persona,gen2 and savvy…this is a step backward…i bet many feel so…but i really hope quality will be a few steps forward…

i heard proton engineers took alot of effort looking at perodua,toyota,honda and even hyundai switches,button and etc to produce buttons and switches…

sifu should know how true is this….

all the best PROTON…wanted to book one today…but still waiting…whats the interest rate??some say 4.3 so saying 4.1 and rest saying its 3.88%…anyone can confirm?

————————————————————–

I am confused with the interest rate..isn’t the interest rate is set by Bank Negara? Can someone explain to me how the interest rate differ between cars? Anyway for 5 and 7 years loan for BLM is 3.88 if i not mistaken.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:56 am

MisterBenjo said,
    January 12, 2008 @ 4:44 am

I am confused with the interest rate..isn’t the interest rate is set by Bank Negara? Can someone explain to me how the interest rate differ between cars? Anyway for 5 and 7 years loan for BLM is 3.88 if i not mistaken.

===================

Interest rates for vehicle hire purchase are not determined by Bank Negara. Its up to the Banks to charge. As far as I know of, Hong Leong provides the cheapest car hire purchase at lightly below 3%.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:15 am

Siva said,
    January 11, 2008 @ 3:50 pm
    ________________________________________–

Nice job siva. Any front profiles?

That car yard looks familiar.. It isnt by any chance in sec 18 shah alam (or nearby) is it?

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:21 am

Hi everyone!

To chap_de_x:
    BLM stands for BASIC LINE MODEL! So it is supposed to be basic! Thats why Proton kept the interior simple yet with clean and functional styling. When Proton do ‘gempak interior’ also complaint, not suitable la, not sports car la, should have kept it simple la. Now simple ready, also complaint, too simple la. To MR. CHAP_DE_X, U CANT FEEL PLASTICKY FEEL BY SEEING IT! U HAVE TO ACTUALLY FEEL IT!!!! Please dont pass this kind of un-intelectual judgement! Sorry to Mr. chap_de_x, no heart feelings pls. My PROMISE to YOU PERSONALLY, the interior is FAR FROM PLASTICKY FEELING! I have touched it, stripped it apart, played around with it and i can assure u that. AND I CAN SAY THAT THE PLACTIC USED IS STORNG PLASTIC! Trust me on that

================

Mr Si-Fu,
    The main thing that we concern, is the quality & hardness of plastics used are the same as that of savvy? The plastics used in savvy are hard ones, and definitely feels plasticky and not up-to-the-market. You know its not good when it makes ‘loud’ sound when u knock it (like the keyboard plastics u’re typing now). Its not just about the color & texture, the hardness & feel also matters. Just asking, I intend no harm.

I was in mutiara last night, hoping to see proton people start to put in the interior panels. But sadly they only put one front door only. no interior items except the steering wheel.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:31 pm

Hi Everyone!

Thx Mr. Normaluser for giving feedback on my comment. THE INTERIOR QUALITY IS NOT SAME AS SAVVY. ITS ON PAR WITH PERSONA. Which i personally think is much better then the Savvy, and also the previous versions of the Saga and Iswara. If wanna describe it, i can say the interior has good quality plastics at the same time soft texture where when u touch it, u can feel its solid and when u knock it, it does not give an empty sound. It gives a ‘weighty’ sound similar to Persona.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Some one mentioned the Proton saleman indicate the launch is on 18 Jan 08 at KLCC, let it launch, then we can has a “conclusive judgement” hand on touch on the car interior.

• king (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 2:18 pm

MisterBenjo said,

I am confused with the interest rate..isn’t the interest rate is set by Bank Negara? Can someone explain to me how the interest rate differ between cars? Anyway for 5 and 7 years loan for BLM is 3.88 if i not mistaken

the only thing that bank negara sets is the ceiling for H.Purchase interest rate i.e max 10% p.a.

interest rates are determined by each banks and normally gets cheaper if your loan amount is larger. eg: loan 30k int rate 3.5%p.a, loan 200k int rate 2% p.a.
    Some car companies also subsidize interest rates for customers and that makes the interest rate lower and the total car price alot cheaper.

car companies like p2 do not subsidize interest rates at all that is why their interest rate is so high. eg: hyundai atos loan 32k interest rate 2.8%p.a for 7 yrs but perodua viva loan 32k interest rate 3.99%p.a for 7 yrs.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 3:17 pm

normaluser said,

January 12, 2008 @ 10:21 am

Hi everyone!

To chap_de_x:
    BLM stands for BASIC LINE MODEL! So it is supposed to be basic! Thats why Proton kept the interior simple yet with clean and functional styling. When Proton do ‘gempak interior’ also complaint, not suitable la, not sports car la, should have kept it simple la. Now simple ready, also complaint, too simple la. To MR. CHAP_DE_X, U CANT FEEL PLASTICKY FEEL BY SEEING IT! U HAVE TO ACTUALLY FEEL IT!!!! Please dont pass this kind of un-intelectual judgement! Sorry to Mr. chap_de_x, no heart feelings pls. My PROMISE to YOU PERSONALLY, the interior is FAR FROM PLASTICKY FEELING! I have touched it, stripped it apart, played around with it and i can assure u that. AND I CAN SAY THAT THE PLACTIC USED IS STORNG PLASTIC! Trust me on that…

sorry to say mr normaluser i think u get me wrong…i am just give my point of view over here. its not a complain…its not a bashing its just a point of view thats all. beside feel is not just can be done using touch sense. its also can be done by ur eye or ur heart…hmm recognize “i feel Hot” “i feel Angry” hhhm can it be touch mr normaluser…hmmm and wut i said earlier is about what i feel through my vision and trough my heart…that all..no hard feeling ok but if u accusing me un-intellectual please for me can you be intelectual in accepting others point of view…btw thanx for the info about the interior ok…i am also eager to feel n touch this baby.

• kopiwes (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 3:43 pm

looking forward for NEW SAGA.
    Affortable price and stylish design.
    already being another choice for those just graduate or low income want have a their car.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 5:33 pm

interior is not bad, conservative yet modern like some on the continentals,
    enough to give a good feeling and conventionality,
    and looks more flush if the passangers air bag done, or its a extra compartment for exchange, and air vent is a bit italian, ….like it,

not bad,

• metallic_car (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:04 pm

king said,
    January 12, 2008 @ 2:18 pm

MisterBenjo said,

I am confused with the interest rate..isn’t the interest rate is set by Bank Negara? Can someone explain to me how the interest rate differ between cars? Anyway for 5 and 7 years loan for BLM is 3.88 if i not mistaken

the only thing that bank negara sets is the ceiling for H.Purchase interest rate i.e max 10% p.a.

interest rates are determined by each banks and normally gets cheaper if your loan amount is larger. eg: loan 30k int rate 3.5%p.a, loan 200k int rate 2% p.a.
    Some car companies also subsidize interest rates for customers and that makes the interest rate lower and the total car price alot cheaper.

car companies like p2 do not subsidize interest rates at all that is why their interest rate is so high. eg: hyundai atos loan 32k interest rate 2.8%p.a for 7 yrs but perodua viva loan 32k interest rate 3.99%p.a for 7 yrs.

I also not satisfied with all bankers. Double standard for our local companies. Damn them all. May be all bank CEO get “payung besar” from non-local dealer. And P1 are not rich enough to give them payung.

Is anyone realise that subsidize of their interest rate already include in their car price (not shown in price list).

• drizal (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:03 pm

I’ve booked one!
    Berikan semangat kepada proton bukan hanya tohmahan dan kutukan.
    Sokong produk tempatan untuk pembangunan masa depan.
    Nak berada di atas, kena melangkah satu per satu “anak tangga” supaya tak tergelincir di pertengahan jalan…

Good luck Proton dan teruskan usaha anda!

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Why this car cheaper than savy??? some of savy user said ‘tipah tertipu’…..
    second value for savy become worst. Did P1 consider all this…are they study
    product segment..or..just do wat ever they want…still ???

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:54 pm

MisterBenjo said,

===================

Interest rates for vehicle hire purchase are not determined by Bank Negara. Its up to the Banks to charge. As far as I know of, Hong Leong provides the cheapest car hire purchase at lightly below 3%.

—————————————————————
    thanks for the explanation king and metallic_car
    but why do the interest rate jump from 2% to 3.88 when p1 and p2 announced their cheaper price 2-3 years ago?If i not mistaken they said it is because of minimum interest rate set by bank negara?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:55 pm

————————————————————–

Buat murah salah …buat mahal pun salah….it is the trend the car prices will be lower….just like computers.

• metallic_car (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:13 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    January 12, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

————————————————————–

Buat murah salah …buat mahal pun salah….it is the trend the car prices will be lower….just like computers.

———————————————————
    That’s right Mr. Benjo.

It same like computer games. We never play Sony PS when we were kid long times ago. But nowadays, my son never miss a day playing it.

It’s TIME matter.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:03 am

Dear chap_de_x,
    Just to clarify that didn’t said that to you. Please scroll higher.

si-fu said,
    January 11, 2008 @ 9:05 pm

Hi everyone!

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:20 am

I hope proton can continue to improve. It’s moving in the right direction now but i think they must also improve their marketing strategy. There are a lot of crappy cars in the world & i’m sure proton is better than some of them. You don’t have to make the best car, because as we all know the best car doesn’t necessarily mean the best selling car. If the BLM is made by toyota or honda, & sold at less than 40k malaysian will storm all showrooms. Be patient proton… Malaysian used to hate korean cars too but now they’re driving their inokom,naza,kia,hyundai,… 30 years ago.. we hate japanese cars.. macam tin milo.

• tkp (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:58 pm

huhu… the compartment under the radio can be use to put in book i think… for Muslims, we can put in small size Quran in it :)

btw, i’m quite satisfied with the interior.. although not much as expected but it is understandable… its a BASIC LINE MODEL..

hehee… better than kancil or viva i guess ;)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:14 pm

BLM = Bit Like Mahaleel
    = Boleh Land Model
    = Boleh Lawan myvi
    = Big Little Monyet
    = Buttocks Like Monkeys
    = Big Liilie’s Mouth???

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 7:57 pm

BLM=Boleh Land Malaysie…

• king (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:56 am

metallic_car said,

Is anyone realise that subsidize of their interest rate already include in their car price (not shown in price list).

part wrong n part correct. all dealerships already included additional margin in case need to subsidise interest rates.

it is those like p2 which are super greedy n retain the extra profit to themselves. ( their int rates are even higher than p1 when many of their models are more expensive than p1)

i can go on further to elaborate but this is Out of topic already

• Avivaalicia on Sep 14, 2009 at 11:14 am

Ok now it is already on the road.. so what u guys think? it is not bad rite?

Anyone experience the seat? is it comfortble? For me, the interior and space is not bad but the seat is smaller(Front seat) than normal car. it just fit the M size of boo***.. how about the larger sizes is that any complaints about this?

Please give some opinion coz i'll be doing some research on this to make it better… happy driving tQ