More shots and details of the Porsche Panamera

Porsche Panamera

Porsche has released more details and 7 high-resolution shots of the new Porsche Panamera, which include the 5 medium-res photos we saw earlier. Before you head onto the photo gallery after the jump to download the high-res photos for wallpaper use (for those who like the look of this thing of course), let’s get into the initial details of the Porsche Panamera range.

Porsche calls the Porsche Panamera a four-door grand touring sports car, which does a good job of describing what it is actually. It’s 4,970mm long, 1,931mm wide and 1,418mm tall, but no wheelbase was quoted. That slots it somewhere in between the length of an E-Class and an S-Class, but that’s probably because it does not have the additional length of the S-Class SWB’s boot. It’s also wider than the S-Class and rides much lower.

Porsche Panamera

Porsche says the engine options that sit in the engine bay up-front consist of six-cylinder and eight-cylinder options with some being turbocharged, which point to a similiar line-up to the Porsche Cayenne – a 3.6 litre V6 for the baseline Panamera, a 4.8 litre V8 for a Panamera S and a twin-turbocharged 4.8 litre V8 for the Panamera Turbo. Porsche also says there will be a hybrid.

Drive will either be to the rear wheels or to all four wheels, so regular Panameras will be offered alongside “Panamera 4” models, as evident from the set of photos which feature a Porsche Panamera 4S, which indicates a normally aspirated V8 powering all four wheels.

You can either shift through the gears youself with a six-speed manual transmission or enjoy the ease of the PDK gearbox, a 7-speed dual clutch transmission which unlike other “basic” twin clutchers, can also predict downshifts.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• natworks88 (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:06 am

I mean seriously, IMHO Porsche lost its pedigree when it created the Cayenne ( I’m not saying its not good ) and now this beast from no where? Porsche gotta reassign it’s design team. They gotta be on weed or something man..

• natworks88 (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:07 am

Who knows people might just need time to accept new designs like how Chris Bangle did on BMW..

• maknyer (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:26 am

a kancil’s width is 1395 mm, 53cm narrower..huge!

• trustgtr (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:56 am

I like it..!!

• cyberx11 (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 8:01 am

wow..sedan

• kington (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 8:21 am

natworks88 said,
    I mean seriously, IMHO Porsche lost its pedigree when it created the Cayenne ( I’m not saying its not good ) and now this beast from no where? Porsche gotta reassign it’s design team. They gotta be on weed or something man..

I agree with you somewhat, for a performance oriented carmaker to turn to SUV’s and sedans is a bit of an oxymoron, but it allows them to make moeny, loads of it too. I believe i read somehwere that Porsche is the most profotable car maker currently, deposing Toyota.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 9:02 am

kington said,

November 25, 2008 @ 8:21 am
    I agree with you somewhat, for a performance oriented carmaker to turn to SUV’s and sedans is a bit of an oxymoron, but it allows them to make moeny, loads of it too. I believe i read somehwere that Porsche is the most profotable car maker currently, deposing Toyota.

————————————–

so profitable, they own the majority stake in the PAG group (VW, Audi, Lambo, Skoda, Seat…)

no other niche sportscar maker can boast such financial success…
    to me, they’ve just managed to know what the market wants, and what their customers want.

the cayenne might look like crap, but they sold huge numbers in the US and the middle east.

• torque (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:45 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    November 25, 2008 @ 9:02 am

the cayenne might look like crap, but they sold huge numbers in the US and the middle east.

True, true! Especially the largest buyer of the Cayenne in US is the….HOUSEWIFE!!! :-)

• torque (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:52 am

I’ll say this…just like the Cayenne, it’s not that gorgeous but Porsche knows not only how to built a great cars but they have proved that they can built a great SUV! Now, let’s wait and see if they can built a sedan…a performance sedan…

p/s: Ugly or not…you’ll see those lucky rich peoples in Malaysia buying this like they buy the Cayenne…I’m willing to bet that! It’s a PORSCHE maaa… :-)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 12:40 pm

somehow, the front looks like the Corvette, especially viewed from the front third-quarter.

If only the back didnt look like a mutation of the Chevy Crossfire and Cayman.

But initially review indicates that the handling smokes all the other performance saloons, and the interior is so premium it could rival a Bentley.

Just initial words, we’ll wait for the final test. Look out for test in Autocar/TopGear/Evo ;)

• abtm (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:07 pm

reminds me of topgear when they make their own limos…this is a cayman sedan

• gajen (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:52 pm

really nice…sth different…wonder how will rapide and estoque compete..hopefully top gear tests this car the next season..

• szw (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 7:46 pm

i still like estoque…

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 4:30 pm

paul,

the base cayenne is not 3.0. it’s a 3.6 now. up 400cc from the pre-facelift model which had a 3.2L lump. i think it was a typo.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:28 pm

a porsche hatchback?