W212 E-Class Wagon features 3rd row seats

W212 Wagon

These medium-res photos of the new E-Class Wagon found their way on the net earlier this week. How it looks like is really no surprise considering this new W212 E-Class was first shown to the world in wagon form. But there’s one thing that caught my eye…

W212 Wagon

The new E-Class Wagon has third row seats! They’re quite small though, and they face rearwards. But they have proper seatbelts and all. Probably a nice cushiony area for your dog to lie ;) You can look after the jump for more of the leaked photos.

More details will be unveiled when Daimler releases the full press pack.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=415]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mr big on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:53 pm

the reverse 3rd row seat idea is something new, but 2nd row passenger won't be happy, cannot lower the back seat down, then, the 3rd row passenger…how to sit like that? if kids involve, can become commotion in the car some more haha…

• for a wagon to have third row seat is agood idea but facing backward is a bad idea. I think dog's also not appreciate it!

• Jian L on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:20 pm

A nice station wagon from Mercedes!!! Merc Rocks!!!

• Cutester on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Can place their children's teddy bear or soft toys behind. Kinda cute idea especially those who have kids.

• sudha on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:22 pm

As far as I can remember, the third row seats were already available in W123 series stationwagons that were in production between 1976 to 1984. It was continued on to the W12A series between 1984 to 1994

The seats are meant to be for children. They may no be practical but they are safe if used properly like any other child safety seats.

• Thomas on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:28 pm

It's weird to see people sitting in the boot… People will laugh!

• eshan on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:28 pm

perfect for punishing a child….imagine the amount of mental trauma the kid gonna have…

• yish... on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Volvo should be screaming "COPY CAT!" by now since they're the ones who first came up with this concept for their 2001 P2 V70 XC. I think the 3rd row seats in this E-Class would be similar to the Volvo's in terms of use, i.e.: "for small children weighing less than 40kgs". Nonetheless, I love its ingenuity to be able to fold flat into the cargo floor.

• since this is a mercedes car, nobody will bash this car harshly..

• Anyway paul, why is the gear located behind the steering wheel in some picture and in the centre in the other pictures ? Any idea which will be the available one in our market ?

• budlee on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:02 pm

hmm? is it weird? this is pretty normal for a mercedes.. even the older E class estates has it ( as an option perhaps?) its common for station wagon in the US, during the station wagon era..

ah… the return of the indestructible E class, Mercedes paid a great deal of attention this time for quality and reliabilty.

If I am not mistaken, the diesel engines and smaller petrol engine gets the central gear stick while the high end AMG gets the steering stalk shift..I could be wrong

• old timers on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:18 pm

nice one…rindu naik wagon seperti dulu-dulu…

• acermet on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:38 pm

This is not something new. Some Volvo 850 T5 Wagon '96 have already got this in the boot.

• Oh c'mon having xtra seats in a car even though its small is always a plus factor. U'll never know if u need to fetch xtra people in an emergency

• theanswer on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:05 pm

tho it's facing backward, it's kinda useful if need to bring along extra kids..later on ppl will get used to it..even in trains also ppl will seat backwards rite?

• xavier lert on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:07 pm

hmmm….i think this can prevent those freaky accident lately (when the car is stall and treler came from behind)..provided the driver must keep a good distance from the car infront….

anak:"papa papa treler is comminggG!!!!…"

papa:"wat!!!! hiyahhhh to the left to the left…."

so the "family" is safe……

• nighttrain on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Haha macam kereta kuda.. rear seats facing rearwards.

• Srotong on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Nothing new Paul, I own a 1985 230TE (last of the 123s) for umpteen years. Same 3rd. row with seat belts and even a cargo net to separate the 2nd-3rd rows. Hydraulic-N2 rear suspension, too.

Can't get overenginnered cars like this anymore, that's why i'm keeping it – over 250k miles with only one major overhaul.

My kids and wife say i'm crazy to keep that 'hearse' looking thingy since i use a 'modern' 4WD and numerous other kiddie cars for daily commute – but what to do… nothing like an old classic!

• 3rd seat row….been there in my fren's W124 E320TE Wagon when i'm a teenager

it is comfortable and fun too!

think of this, not everyday you gonna carry full load of passengers. most of the time, it is just you or you and your driver or you'll probably drive your other car…..

• mayor81 on Aug 05, 2009 at 10:09 pm

This is not new paul. All E-Class merc estates since W123 have this. Might be copied by others or copied others! :)

• looks nice….

• barca_supporter on Aug 05, 2009 at 10:52 pm

station wagon with extra seats… i think it's better than compact mpv… agree?

• CooShyRee on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:05 pm

i think this is a really neat idea.. i have often wondered y doesnt all this estates come wit a small 3rd row seating, guess sumbody heard me :p

• if kids sit like tat in a long trip at 3rd row…..headache la…….unless they prefer to sit at the 3rd row n doze off till the destination, it will be ok……..

somemore, the car behind will be annoted when ppl look to them eye ball to eyeball…… try trailing a pick up with ppl behind….if got a beautiful girlfren, they will stare at her till u over take them…….

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Peugeot 406 SW featured third row seating in wagon long time ago…

• 3th row seats in the boot has been a feature in the Volvo wagons for many years, long before the popularity of midi MPVs with 3 rows of seats. I have seen them in Malaysian Volvos.

• eh……feel weird…….

• g-mey on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:32 am

its not new… old merc already have this 3 row seat in a wagon..

http://www.mudah.my/Mercedes-Benz-200T-Limited-Ed…

other than merc.. old camry wagon also got this 3rd row facing backward…

• babyboy on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:39 am

nice one.. but 3 rows look like crowded..

• BrakeFader on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:47 am

The 3rd row seat facing backward looks safer than the usual position. I guess they decided based on safety factors especially on rear impact.

• redrules on Aug 06, 2009 at 2:42 am

Facing rear when moving forward induces motion sickness especially in kids. I guess that's why they put a tray at the foot end of the rear seats.

• Aper Nie on Aug 06, 2009 at 3:02 am

How do people access to the 3rd row eh?

"Mai2 masuk kut pintu blkang, jgn segan2 tau…"

Huhu.. naik van kilang pon x masuk kot situ kui3..

Maybe they should include a big screen LCD for the 3rd row occupants. PS3, Xbox anyone?

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 06, 2009 at 9:29 am

Rear facing 3rd row seats are nothing new, full sized Euro and US wagons do come with them as options.

They are small but useful for kids. Its not unlike the 3rd row on the new fangled compact MPVs…in fact these look to be much more spacious.

I would wish they would be more common on more value priced wagons.

• Cocobear on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:19 am

http://www.mudah.my/Mercedes-Benz-200T-Limited-Ed…

Walau… this merc is superb and inside is pristine. We are lucky to have Germans to make good cars.

• readmoregetmore on Aug 06, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Don't lough at Merc about this 3rd row seat…they will lough at us cause we dont know their history.

There was a time when I travelled in UK and saw the E type with 3rd row sit. And there was an adults k*** at the back and I sure their parent don't know what they are doing at the 3rd row seat!

• Seat recliner fan on Aug 07, 2009 at 11:47 pm

What Mercedes thinking? Back to Back seats.

No gap between 2nd row and 3rd row and 3rd row at reverse order.

Long journey sufferings.

2nd row passenger has to sit straight all the way, cannot recline the seat down.

3rd row passenger also has to sit straight all the way, cannot recline the seat down.

The 2nd row passengers may use VETO power to still recline their seat down after pushing the 3rd row seat full flat into the floor.

3rd row passengers lie down and sleep like beggars….

Pity la as this is Mercedes ma…

Even Mazada5, Naza Ria, Kia Carens, Santa Fe, Proton Exora no need like this what…

• CARing on Aug 08, 2009 at 3:30 am

Third row seats in estates car are common in Europe.

I've experienced once in a Volvo 940…and its quite fun for short trip for adult..but you will end up cramped for long haul trip…

I've seen quite a few Malaysians brought in an estate that had 3rd row seats especially those who came back from UK..one thing good about estate is that it is a car…so there is no van like driving experience

• alldisc on Aug 08, 2009 at 10:28 pm

i must agree with some comments here that a 3rd row seat in an estate is nothing new.

whn i was in the UK back in 86/87, there are so many Estates with 3rd row seat albeit for small children use. besides Merc W124, there were Vauxhall Carlton Estate, Renault 21 Savannah, Volvo 700 series Estate and few other models.

This 7 seater estate ideas along with people carrier vans (Toyota Town Ace, Mitsubishi Space Wagon and Renault Espace 1st gen – all with fixed seats) has evolved to become what is known as the MPV (multi purpose either to carry people or loads) today.