Live pictures of the rugged-looking MINI Beachcomber Concept

MINI recently revealed the rugged-looking Beachcomber Concept which is a compact SUV that makes you think of the bare Mini Moke from the sixties whenever you look at it. The concept made its debut at the Detroit motor event and we have some live pictures to share with you. As mentioned earlier the Beachcomber has been confirmed for the assembly lines and that it will be launched by the third quarter of this year.

The concept that is rumored to be called the Countryman when it is revealed in production form has an “open-body concept” meaning there are no doors. It also does without a roof but in case of a wet weather, the Beachcomber can be fitted with a removable roof. Along with its rugged demeanor the concept has a four wheel drive configuration and sits further away from the ground. Do enjoy the live pics after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=761]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• nice…1st

• looks funky but lack of simplicity there.

• droll on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:47 am

omg………this just looks WRONG. it looks like a bastardized MINI

• mystvearn on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:02 pm

So, you can get a roof when it rains, but then what about draft at the sides which has no doors. Mud going into car as well.

• okla… for me…

• Bruce Ban on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:24 pm

no door? hahaha no thanks for me…

• eiling on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Ooh looks really cute but probably not in Malaysia!

• nikolo98 on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:18 pm

I think this idea will sell well in western countries…. have one in KL and everyone will say you're crazy…. haha….

no roof = accelerated skin cancer

no doors = accelerated "stolen-car" status

All in all, I think its still an ok looking vehicle…. fit for the showroom in my opinion…..

• I hope Proton will come up with SUV that looks like this but with door and roof of course.. and I will be the first to buy!

Come on lah Proton.. you already have MPV, bila nak keluar SUV for the young and trendy?

• droll on Jan 14, 2010 at 6:47 pm

this vehicle isn't meant for road use! it's meant to be used at the beach.

• eisyam on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:48 pm

a very expensive buggy

hehehe

• hiruma kecil on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:17 pm

harap x hujan…

• snatch-theft inducer?

• MiniLover on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:56 pm

being a rich man, i like to park this lovely jeep at my private beach resort….and drive it around with my girl friends to hit the sea wave during non-monsoon season..others may not image how fun it is, but sure some rich men do!

• Peter on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Somehow this car will be able to sell in western countries. In our own country, i dont think you will see this often. European cars are more unique and special . Asian cars are more for practical use.

• JULIAN_LEE on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:57 pm

I thinking this is good stuffs for malaysian

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:23 am

WHY DONT JUST LEAVE IT WITH THE TYRES

• Hadi1975 on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:52 am

No roof, no door…

leave it at the road side…no car…hehehe…

• what's the point of a roof when the doors will just let the rain in and the splashes from passing vehicles will still get to you.

this is a lifestyle vehicle i suppose. something for you to run around in occasionally.

• MazdAstina on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:35 am

my neighbour has a moke, it was fun for evening and night drives. For those of you who dunno how a moke looks like, there is 1 on display at sate kajang haji samuri in kajang.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:24 am

very funky

• MINI MOKE??????