Schumacher is not the No.1 driver at Mercedes

With the arrival of Michael Schumacher at Mercedes, many expect him to jump straight into the role as the number one driver for the Silver Arrows. But not so, according to Schumi’s old accomplice and team boss Ross Brawn.

“I would dispute this title of the number one driver – the number one driver is the fastest one,” he said. “Whoever is the fastest driver and winning the most races, you can argue is the number one driver. We will give maximum support to both drivers. It will be absolutely evenly split and I think we demonstrated this past season that we gave both Jenson and Rubens absolute equal support,” the Brit said.

“Of course if a championship starts to develop, where one driver has a greater chance of winning the championship, or it becomes numerically possible only for that driver to win the championship, then there may be different priorities. That will be the case this year and it is there for both drivers to establish their positions, beat each other, compete with each other but do it in the correct fashion in a constructive way. That will be the strength of the team to achieve that. We don’t have a number one driver and we don’t intend to have a number one driver,” Brawn told Autosport.

By the way, superstitious Schumi has requested for number three on his car, which was originally going Rosberg’s way. The man only wants odd numbers, and number four isn’t. Looks like Michael has something in common with the Chinese!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• he should get 8!

• V70T5 on Jan 26, 2010 at 7:06 pm

good to see 'Petronas' on his chest!

• redxdevil on Jan 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm

hail the great schumacher!!

• When i saw Schumacher in this outfit,instantly i remembered Mika Hakkinen..

If only Mika would return to F1…

• p1basher on Jan 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

they shud get miika hakkinen along with schumacher.

• Ndmervin on Jan 26, 2010 at 7:37 pm

So we cant deny the power of Numerology and how it affects our lives.. so whats your number, Paul?

• drMpower on Jan 26, 2010 at 7:48 pm

what the great schummi has in common with the chinese? number 4?

pah. the greatest man in F1 doesnt favour even number. chinese for whatever reason seem very illogical to me, dont want number 4. how about 8?

these chinese would be very happy to have the even number 8 which schummi doesnt favour.

not being racist or whatever but associating schummi with the chinese even on this numbering term, doesnt really suit average mind of mine. or humor sense of mine.

lets get the fact clear.

• nabill on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:24 pm

now u all talking about the number tingy and the rest of the article is totally irelevant…geeez…

• Next election on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:42 pm

lor racist…dun bash if dun like…diam diam la bang..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Relax, drMpower! Truly sorry if I have offended you.

• azrai on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:54 pm

using Primax 95. :-)

• NeuroOne on Jan 26, 2010 at 9:02 pm

hail petronas!

• barca on Jan 26, 2010 at 9:33 pm

drMpower said,

January 26, 2010 @ 11:48 am

what the great schummi has in common with the chinese? number 4?

pah. the greatest man in F1 doesnt favour even number. chinese for whatever reason seem very illogical to me, dont want number 4. how about 8?

these chinese would be very happy to have the even number 8 which schummi doesnt favour.

not being racist or whatever but associating schummi with the chinese even on this numbering term, doesnt really suit average mind of mine. or humor sense of mine.

lets get the fact clear.

————————————-

obviously, the joke is hard for you to process.

simply put, don't bite more than you can chew. :)

• Gonggok on Jan 26, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Since we are into numbers. I guess in Mandarin they do not care. It is only 'important' in Cantonese.

Hopefully Petronas will get some mileage with this sponsorship.

• Jaybond on Jan 26, 2010 at 11:17 pm

I have feeling for this year, that Schumi's greatest local rival will be Sebastian Vettel, not Nico Rosberg….

• Ferruccio on Jan 26, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Vettel would be a rival ONLY if the RBR is as quick as the MercGP. Won't know till later. But I do suspect that RBR would remain competitive this year.

• mystvearn on Jan 27, 2010 at 12:36 am

I pity Nico, everyone talking about Shumacher, that he looks like the second driver rather than the firet

• kopi-man on Jan 27, 2010 at 12:45 am

Now Petronas will be on TV most of the time!…uurr…how about our Flower team with Tony?…please make sure your car at least can start :P

We can count after the race how often the Petronas word comes out vs the Flower team i guess. Now that is call marketing investment instead of throwing money into the sea.

• peYno F**K on Jan 27, 2010 at 1:21 am

they should beware of ferrari n mclaren coz the rumoured said they gonna be strong again this year….just wait and see..

• Jaybond on Jan 27, 2010 at 1:28 am

And don't count out RBR, the cars are the quickest around most tracks, in the second half of last year..

• seancorr on Jan 27, 2010 at 2:15 am

whoa gonna b hard to adjust to seeing him in white haha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:41 am

how come number 3? i thought number 1

• f1crazy on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:14 pm

@Mazda 3 MPS

The number 1 car is always driven by the reigning world champion. And that person is Jenson Button. So Hamilton will get the no. 2 car. If Button were to drive for Lotus Malaysia, the cars will still be no. 1 and 2 respectively. Since Mercedes(BrawnGP) lost Button, but still won d constructors last year, they assume the next 2 numbers in the order.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:43 am

f1crazy said,

January 27, 2010 @ 9:14 am

@Mazda 3 MPS

The number 1 car is always driven by the reigning world champion. And that person is Jenson Button. So Hamilton will get the no. 2 car. If Button were to drive for Lotus Malaysia, the cars will still be no. 1 and 2 respectively. Since Mercedes(BrawnGP) lost Button, but still won d constructors last year, they assume the next 2 numbers in the order.

—————————–

thanks for the info =)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:38 am

If you not good, you'll still not good…..no matter what number u own…..

hardwork and faith, that is life…..not some believer of numbers…..

• squawk on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:00 pm

This is pro sportsmen superstition. Some wear the same gloves, some insist on certain number, some wear the same undies (unwashed) etc etc etc.