Ford Mondeo gets new 2.0 liter EcoBoost and uprated diesel range in Europe

Ford’s European division has announced a new 2.0 litre EcoBoost gasoline engine along with upgraded 2.0 litre Duratorq diesel engines for the Mondeo mid-sized sedan.

The turbocharged EcoBoost 4-potter with direct injection makes 203hp at 5,500 rpm and 300Nm of torque between 1,750 rpm and 4,500 rpm. This model is offered standard with Ford’s 6-speed PowerShift dual-clutch transmission.

The Mondeo would take 7.9 seconds to hit 100 km/h and can offer a top speed of 232 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is figured at 7.7 litres per 100 kilometers which sounds pretty good. The 2.0 litre Duratorq diesel engine has been upgraded to match higher emissions standard and is offered in three forms including 115hp, 140hp as well as a 163hp version.

Us Malaysians get the 2.3 litre Duratec HE petrol engine which produces 159hp at 6,500 rpm and 208Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. It would be nice if we can have the EcoBoost unit mentioned above as the Mondeo could use more power. The Duratec does its job well but more kick is always better.

A diesel Mondeo would be nice as well. I had a go in the Focus TDCi recently and its a cracking drive! A 140hp 2.0 litre Duratorq for the Mondeo perhaps?

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:57 pm

we need this here.

• mrHanS on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:35 am

common one…

• biskut_jari on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:00 am

yaa agree!

• ali38hak on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:08 am

what about proton waja replacement?
    and diesel engine from proton?

we are still waiting, since years!

• omahabojan on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:06 am

I’ve been asking this same question over and over again, no answer

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 28, 2010 at 6:56 am

I wonder the DCT in Mondeo come with wet clutch…

• Turbo.. it just so sweet from the manufacturer.. erm.. 300Nm of torque between 1,750 rpm and 4,500 rpm is just too good to be true here…

• proton _noprodua on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:26 am

please bring it to malaysia…i want 1

• Motorist on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Turbo diesel engines are the future. It’s about time M’sia start catching up.

Please Ford M’sia. Bring in the new 140hp turbo diesel Mondeo. Pretty please, with sugar on top.

Though, my guess is they will wait till our diesel is Euro4 quality (eta 2011).

I think many European car manufacturers are waiting for Euro4 diesel quality before deciding bringing in diesel models. Currently available models are detuned to accept our Euro2 diesel.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:18 pm

or maybe that turbo project on campro was a tortoise project???

• Motorist on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:51 am

huh????

P1 campro turbo is a petrol engine.

It’s apples & oranges comparison with the Euro4 direct injection turbo diesel engines that we’re discussing here.

• ali38hak on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm

here in türkey is 60% of all sales diesel engined!
      but proton has no diesel, so they sell in a year only 700cars,
      hyundai sells in a year more than 25000 cars, because they have in all models diesel!
      proton is now on winter sleep.

• The Loner on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:30 am

I don’t think so. Most of the European marque have diesel engine variant dare not to mention the engine is compliant to latest Euro emission standards.

The emission standards for most of the diesel engines available in Malaysia are limited to Euro 3 standard, due to the high content of sulphur in diesel fuel.

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:08 am

what will happen to the 5-cylinder Mondeo?