Volvo V60 unveiled – wagon version of the S60

A new model has been added to the Volvo range of cars which is the Volvo V60. Touted as being the five door wagon version of the S60, the car features sleek and a coupe-like design but is not trying to compete with the likes of the V70 and XC70.

Nevertheless it’s no shrinking violet when it comes to load carrying as the car can accommodate 430 litres with the rear seats in place. This along with the 1095 millimetre wide tailgate and fold flat passenger seats provides flexibility when loading and unloading.

Volvo will offer five petrol engines along with three diesel variants. The five petrol engines will be the T6 3.0-litre six cylinder 304hp engine, T5 2.0 four cylinder 240hp engine and the T4 and T3 1.6-litre engine that produces either 180hp or 150hp. Also in the list is a force-inducted 2.0 litre GTDi which is good for 203hp and 300Nm of torque.

Oil burners on offer are the turbo diesel D5 five cylinder 205hp engine producing 420Nm of torque and the D3 2.0 five cylinder 163hp engine that produces an equally impressive 400 Nm of torque. There will also be an economical 1.6 D DRIVe producing 115hp and 270Nm of torque. The engine will be matted to either a manual gearbox or Volvo’s six-speed automatic Geartronic transmission

The car is said to share handling dynamics with the S60 and offers a dynamic chassis as standard for the V60 in European markets while the rest of the world gets a softer, smoother touring chassis. This is backed up by driver assistance programmes such as Advanced Stability Control, Corner Traction Control, City Safety and Rollover Protection System (RPS).

Pricing for the V60 has yet to be released but expect it to come below the V70 pricetag. 50,000 V60’s will be built in their Torslanda plant in Sweden, while first deliveries are expected to be in the final quarter of 2010. Look for a picture gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1289]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments about the Volvo V60 reveal a mix of admiration and critique. Many appreciate its stylish design and safety features, considering it a significant improvement for Volvo and a potential competitor to popular German wagons. Some compare it favorably to the Caldina, highlighting Volvo’s better driving dynamics and safety, although a few believe this model's rear design could be improved. There are discussions about its pricing and market prospects in Malaysia, with some predicting it may be too expensive for local buyers who prefer MPVs or sedans. Enthusiasts also express interest in the car's technology, like the manual gearbox and autopilot features, and praise Volvo's evolution towards younger aesthetics. Overall, the comments showcase enthusiasm for Volvo's sporty wagon and highlight the car's potential appeal despite some criticism of design details.

• Paul Tan on Jul 07, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Looks weird.

• michly on Jul 07, 2010 at 4:47 pm

like Caldina.

• Jacob Alexander (Member) on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:03 pm

looks like a c30 with an elongated posterior

• Faisal on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:25 pm

nice :)

• mine long -ger on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Looks like the Toyota Caldina.
    Volvo trying to re-invent the stationwagon.
    No more bulky grand-pa car
    but a sporty gp(chick magnet) instead !!

• ha ah.

mcm caldina.

cuma tak segarang n setajam caldina.

this car is subtler.

• Anti Proton on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:33 pm

i think it looks brilliant

• Firdaus Yusof on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:44 pm

really nice car will great safety features. Volvo is known as the car with advance and good safety features.

• JULIAN LOO on Jul 07, 2010 at 5:57 pm

this is more like the bubbly version of caddy wagon…. the edges of the caddy are a bit too sharp..

• cantik.

…even more beautiful if it’s an mpv.

• chuakz on Jul 07, 2010 at 6:32 pm

i always love volvo station wagons and i love this one too….saabs look much better however they’re not popular here sadly

• Mr Bak on Jul 07, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Looks like Caldina. and should be better than Caldina. If i have so much money, i’ll buy it

• raybrig on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:04 am

of course its gonna be better overall…caldina is only good in look but not in the other aspect

• The front is weird but the rear is so hot!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:07 pm

don’t like the bulbous bonnet…wonder if it can be replace with aftermarket variant…

• jlooi on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:13 pm

now a day, volvo hv evol to younger look. even wagon also look good.

• drMpower on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:22 pm

wagons have come a long way ever since that post box long car for obituaries.

volvo in general is very good in getting nice design cars with curves. this is no exception. it amazes me how wagon is not the thing here.

i bet some of the caldina owners are saying their rides are MPV. its not. its a wagon!

• Mr Bak on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Yes, Caldina is a wagon

• tiadaid on Jul 07, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Oh yeah caldina’s a wagon. So don’t think malaysian market for wagons are small, because it isn’t, just lumped in the wrong category!

• drMpower on Jul 08, 2010 at 4:50 am

apart from caldina, i couldnt think of any the wagon that popular here. and caldina was bought because of the coolness of it. i saw a few volvos, T5s, one skoda back in penang. and thats about it.

but i am pretty sure there are alot of wagons on our roads. it just they are not even a fifth of a tenth of numbers of our cars.

it shows our people dont really care about the class of vehicles they bought. or the type of vehicles. it just personal preferences. and of course it can seat 5. and looked great at the same time ;D

• dickybird on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:00 am

i love wagons! my Livina is a wagon! u want an mpv which is just a van got get an avanza or innova! lol! this is my 2nd fav after the F1 medical car C63 AMG estate. sweet!

• There are lots of wagon here in Msia & very popular too!…..stream, odyssey,wish, perodua alza to name a few (they are actually wagon wt additional rear seats for kids)

• squawk on Jul 08, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Not to forget the Xantia wagons. Still quite a few around.

• lazyf on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:32 pm

nice!!!

• jaguarXJ on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:46 pm

damn,this car is nice!
    sporty look

• mata katak on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:57 pm

WOW!!!! The car look nice. The design is interesting…..for unker and auntie that is…..

• Very much like Roadster design, looks somewhat great BUT defy functionality (read BLIND SPOT) though life is important for the company. Perhaps, since Chinese company takeover they reduce LIFE theme.

• the nicest headlamps i’ve ever seen..

• wagon or estate is oways a better choice. however, not many models hv d perfect finishing especially d rear area.

tis v60 certainly a winner in wagon segment

• think on Jul 07, 2010 at 8:35 pm

finally a great design from volvo..the engines looks good..hopefully it can match with the e class or 5series………..if volvo can have an extra 2 seats at the rear it will be a great mpv,,and can be new mpv entry in malaysia while sedan form can be for continental feel…

• I haven’t the slightest idea how much this will cost, but there’s no way in hell I’d pick this over a Caldina GT4-N, which is not only 130k for 260 bhp (value for hp), but looks cooler in every way especially without the FUGLY Volvo grile in front, which is classic fugly, which is the worst type of fugly.

If i may humbly conclude, the Caldina is the only wagon that doesn’t look fugly.

• Tiadaid on Jul 07, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Audi’s wagon looks nice too, and fast (if you choose the RS models). If I’m given a choice between the Caldina & this, I’d pick this over the Caldina anytime. And my friend who’s a big wagon friend would definitely agree. This car’s driving dynamic’s much better than any Toyota, I can guarantee that!

• raybrig on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:10 am

if u look at the overall aspect..this volvo will easily beat caldina..dont talk only about the speed…the important thing is driving dynamic and safety..it will easily topple the caldina..caldina only survive because of its look…nothing special about those caldina..yeah..agree with tiadaid..audi is another choice which offer the good looks…same goes to alfa 159 sportswagon…

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 07, 2010 at 9:08 pm

love it!!

• james on Jul 07, 2010 at 9:39 pm

obviously no one cared to read the article on how crazy the car autopilots itself.

• 1kereta on Jul 07, 2010 at 9:52 pm

volvo is a brand which always improve the front look but forgot the back look…

• MaleModel on Jul 07, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Decent car but won’t sell here. It will probably be priced in the RM220-260K category and as a result people will opt for their German competitors instead.

Besides Malaysia really isn’t a market for wagons. Those who want space go for a MPV and those who want speed go for a saloon.

• feisal on Jul 08, 2010 at 12:06 am

Those who wants both go for Caldinas? Now they have a choice. :-)

• petrol head on Jul 07, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Wooo… I think Volvo is like Hyundai, a big improvement with every new launch. Good job! Just need to change what is called post-sales issues like service center, certified mechanics, affordable & plentiful of spare parts, etc.

• wajarays on Jul 08, 2010 at 1:28 am

not all malaysian love german … still got sweden fan here… what ever it is, volvo car now come with a cool design …

• Jarum on Jul 08, 2010 at 2:37 am

Don’t really like the back of the car.

• Very good car
    If it come with AWD..

• when i saw xc60 on the road at night, it was really2 a looker with a bright rear light..
    i couldn’t look elsewhere except xc60..

• zaff1984 on Jul 08, 2010 at 8:57 am

I think Caldina is a sport wagon… this Volvo is a luxury wagon…

• zaff1984 on Jul 08, 2010 at 8:58 am

oh my bad… it a sport wagon according to icars.sg…. just my point of view…

• wajarays on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:50 am

if you already try volvo wagon with t5 engine like the legend 855 t5, v70 t5 or v50 t5, caldina is nothing … 855 t5 is the 1st fastest wagon in early 90s and the 1st wagon IN THE WORLD entered BTCC :)

• karpus on Jul 08, 2010 at 3:03 pm

If u don’t have a caldina….please don”t simply comment like you don’t have any brains……… my caldina can simply tapao those T5 or T6…………even in standard form……it got 260hp, LSD, and 4 wheel drive and much lighter ……not to say its looks la…so think about it…

• subhero on Jul 08, 2010 at 4:00 pm

japanese vs germany.

but not in the WC2010

• sorry mate…your caldina is only up to 180kmh…
        unless u abuse the speedcut..
        not like volvo..naturally can go above 180…
        we here not talking about modding..
        if u mod kaw2, go tapao ferraris..probably can..
        but i’m not interested to know…
        and please,dont drive at high speed with ur toyota..your pedal may stuck..
        be in volvo at high speed..they are safer..

• dickybird on Jul 08, 2010 at 7:38 pm

dont la like that. we are all estate fanboys dont matter if its caldina or v70 t5. so be cool. anyway, if we keep playing trump cards like this, soon someone with C63 AMG will come along and shut you ppl up. wakaka. so pls driving carefully unlike those ezora owners who think they are driving evoras. kekeke.

• wajarays on Jul 08, 2010 at 10:54 pm

“karpus says”

If u don’t have a caldina….please don”t simply comment like you don’t have any brains……… my caldina can simply tapao those T5 or T6…………even in standard form……it got 260hp, LSD, and 4 wheel drive and much lighter ……not to say its looks la…so think about it…

hello boy, if you really know me “mr wajarays” i got waja turbokit (malaysian car), airtrek turbo(jdm car), and not to forget volvo s60 t5 (2006 facelift model) …. thats why i know which is better in terms of performance (i mean turbo engine)… if talk about safety, MEMANG TAK LAYAK COMPARE VOLVO…. if you never try any volvo yet, try one ( the model with t5 engine) then you will know what im talking about, mr karpus…..

• bingo!

• karpus on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Waja rays….u may be driving malaysian car (aka modified with turbo bla bla bla)….air trek turbo ( heavy and useless MPV turbo …too heavvy..shud put twin turbo to make it moving and s60 t5 ( i think i am among the 1st to drive this in Malaysia…back in 2003 with sport package ) u drive all the useless car yes..i would say useless CAR… even the T5 with 2.3 litre engine…even u put 2.5 litre engine…the car is bloody heavy. Come on…u have to drive more cars and open up your eyes…and fan….pedal stuck? no..i don’t think so…the problem with pedal is in the US and Europe….JDM got no problem with this…u want a safe car? or transportation…use aeroplane….or Malaysian KTM…much safer for u……huhu give up your driving licence…change to small cc cars…like kancil 660….volvo is an uncle car…believe me….i have tested more volvos than u do Mr. Fan…

• wajarays on Jul 14, 2010 at 12:41 am

hahahha …. i think you the one should open your eyes mr karpus ;) and i do believe you never test a volvo with t5 engine …. caldina gt4 4 speed can tapau t5 or even t6 ???? you could be kidding kid ;) caldina performance like airtrek turbo jer …. even my waja 1.6 sohc turbokit boosting at 0.5bar (soft turbo) pon can smoke easily your caldina gt4 auto :P

• kzack on Sep 06, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Mr. Wajarays, just let him (Mr.Karpus) go with his Caldina GT4 whatever… i personally believed he never tested any volvo the way it should be tested. Volvo is not the fastest car but ironically my stock 80’s volvo 740 turbo already smoked that so called sport wagon Caldina GT4 sometimes ago (0-180kmh). Of course T5 engine variant is better in performance.

• Izhar on Jul 08, 2010 at 10:52 am

hahaah..T5 used by police traffic….in 90’s…..but i love T5…first sports wagon…

• lkf0512 on Jul 08, 2010 at 12:22 pm

I don’t get the rear seats in the pic…

• Another luxury car from Vovo

• kecy82afr on Jul 08, 2010 at 3:15 pm

“The engine will be matted to either a manual gearbox or Volvo’s six-speed automatic Geartronic transmission.”

I loved this part. A manual tranny. A new S60 cost around RM216k,correct if i’m wrong. So if this wagon do make it to M’sia it should be around the region of 225k-230k. Isn’t it?

• wajarays on Jul 08, 2010 at 11:23 pm

i dont think latest s60/v60 arond that price kecy82afr… what i know from volvo SA, the price would be higher than previous … last time s60 2.0t priced 220k while s60 t5 priced at 260k

new s60 will come with 3.0 t6 engine for malaysian market … will arive malaysian by end of this year

• omanjedi on Jul 08, 2010 at 11:46 pm

WOW. 1st time I said it to a Volvo.

• phas3r on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:15 am

i don’t expect a lot of comments for a wagon car. i thought malaysians and wagons don’t mix. lol. in europe wagons are everywhere

• ladybird on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:01 am

volvo is for high end market and caldina for mid market.. comparing both wagon is not a fair deal.. for stock performance i can say volvo better than caldina.. for mods caldina.. i dont think so.. different people different taste.. at the end of the day.. your money your choice.. and most important thing.. you enjoy your ride.. just my 2 cents.. ;)