Nissan recalls 2 million vehicles over ignition relay problem – locally, the K12 March gets a special service campaign

nissan march k12

Right, it’s recall time again, folks. Next up to the base is Nissan, which has issued a global recall of 2.14 million vehicles, its third largest ever such exercise, over an ignition problem that may stall the engine.

The problem lies with a faulty relay in the ignition, and affects vehicles produced from August 2003 through July 2006. Nissan said that in extreme cases, the engine will stall and will not be able to start. On the recall list are a number of models, from compacts such as the March/Micra, Cube and Note right up to the likes of the Tiida sedan and Infiniti QX56 SUV.

The company said that the rectification would require about 30 mins, and that no accidents were reported to have been caused by the defect.

Meanwhile, in relation to this, Edaran Tan Chong Motor has issued a statement saying that Nissan has confirmed that all its Serena, Navara, Sylphy and Latio models sold in Malaysia are not affected by the recall. ETCM however added that some fully imported Nissan March units (of the previous generation K12) sold by it might be affected by the exercise.

As such, the company has started a safety service campaign for all K12s sold by it, and the safety check can be done by appointment at the nearest Tan Chong Express Auto Service centre or during the scheduled maintenance service. All labour costs and replacement parts for the safety check will be free-of-charge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• there you go.
    2 million cars.

• shawal on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:04 pm

1) Alot of car parts are made in china
    2) China is hoping to be a automotive superpower
    Do the math…

• Need4SpeedUnderground2 on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:08 pm

too bad … life must go on …

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

another recall…yawn…..

• azrai on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Arnold Schwazenegger Total Recall 2010

• fantausy on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Luckily this time TChong got recall “apart” of their car, if not we always say we have the highest quality and not get affected from the recall.

• learner on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:33 pm

but in paragraph four says this, ‘Edaran Tan Chong Motor has issued a statement saying that Nissan has confirmed that all its Serena, Navara, Sylphy and Latio models sold in Malaysia are not affected by the recall’.

• ben10 on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:02 am

so it means their Sentra’s realy need to be recalled for some “noise” problems lah….. adoi

• riswanrahman on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

How about yearssss backkk …. look like for all this while the car company MAYBE hiding all the problem.
    After one brand to another brand.

• mitlanevo on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:30 pm

let the recall game continue, WOOOHOOO!!!

• why always d local produced cars sold in malaysia,are not effected by the recall,its really hard to believe? let be real and dare to admit,because we are not god,human do make mistakes…………I salute proton to announce a recall recent…………..

• arcana on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

ahha that makes me wonder too….
      so many recalls yet almost every time malaysia is not affected.
      just a minority type of cars were recalled in malaysia….how lucky we are

• lucifah on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:42 pm

will the Nissan X-Trail (bought in Oct 2003) be affected too?

• SeriuosSAM on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

and the winner in re-call contest is…. NISSAN!!!

lol

• savvy88 on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Every time when got recall, one statement that will come similarly ;

“models sold in Malaysia are not affected by the recall”

WOW!!! Malaysian factory QC is very10000X good, even surpassing all other nations including Japanese and European!!
    Proud to be Malaysian.. haha

• Hey Paul,

I drive a Cube, bought in manufactured in 2005. Obviously its not a TCM import, so how do I check if I’m affected?

• udasalleh on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:30 pm

waaahhh..! suddenly the proton bashers fall silent amidst the latest recalls… :P bet they’ll flare up once more if it wuz proton’s turn again.

• heh heh on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:10 pm

pure marketing strategy just to show to their customer that “We Care About Your Safety.”

and the customer will go “Aww… That’s sweet.. I’ll buy more cars from you..”

• razzack04 on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:25 pm

“Recall doesn”t affect models sold in Malaysia”,off course la…. tak mau mengaku punya, kasi diam2 saja coz M’sians are stupid senang kena tipu. Foreign models….. good quality, but still got recall what, Nissan, Toyota,BMW… macam2 la. Proton saja selalu kena bash. Those in car industry, working with vendors, suppliers tahu la. All carmakers… German, Japanese, American, French, Malaysian…. sama saje… pusing2 same vendors, suppliers, personnel. Resign from Proton join P2 then join NAZA then lompat to Honda Melaka jump again to AMM Pekan…. mau gaji besar lagi jump to Japan, some transferred to Thailand or got posting in China…. next time if don’t know don’t just bash, get the right info first.

• rulered on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

That’s why its best to avoid recond cars, you’ll never know when the recond’s model time is up for recalls especially no warranty is given.

• DaveDiablos on Oct 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm

So which car company is next on the list?

Im hoping for Chery as no news bout it… lol

• FuelEfficient on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Suddenly recalling becomes a craze. Rather than hurting sales, it actually gives FREE publicity.
    Toyota, Honda, BMW, Proton, Hyundai & now Nissan…
    I Wonder why VW not in list? Either their cars are damn good quality or their Billion profits are sufficient enough.. No need the extra publicity….

• learner on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

why should VW be in list if there is really no need for them to make a recall? normal QC problems that never affect safety such as radio signal jumps frequency, or rattling here and there no need recall. but if engine suddenly die off while cruising at speed or brake suddenly jammed sure must recall ASAP. however, if US gov doesn’t urges you to recall, then can silent-silent only lah. ;-)

• Goproton on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

BUATAN CHINA!!!!!!

• farrel8177 on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:54 am

Paul, how to check our car’s manufacturing date ?

• perodua no quality on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:33 pm

many car manufacturer recall their model if have problem. but here in malaysia, Toyota-daihatsu-perodua are not affected at all. i drive myvi before this, and got stering vibrate while braking.go to tyre shop for balancing, but same problem happen.then go to perodua for inspection, and they said the “disc brake is missallignment and u have to change it sir”.i reply, this is supposed your responsibility to replace F.O.C because of manufacturing problem.,then he said”cannot sir, bcause your car is already 2.5years and out of waranty.”..you must pay rm260 for the replacement.”..WTF perodua.same problem happen to my fren but he is lucky bcause still in waranty..and no more perodua-daihatsu-toyota for me after this. i want to move to other brand..sori perodua..u r dispointed me..

• feline family auto on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Machines are made, flaw discovered, recalled back faulty machines, safety first.

Man made products are imperfect.
    Even natures are imperfect.

• Ford_GT on Oct 30, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Nissan. Shit The Future.

• stewpid on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:14 pm

i hope nissan won’t do like toyota did… read this
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20101029/bs_nm/us_toyota_litigation

• another day…

another recall…

its getting crazier the more we approach year’s end.

and why malaysian market always not affected? boleh bangkrap ke kalau issue a recall?

come on, don’t wait until someone dies or something before taking any action..

• taboo on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:31 am

The reason Nissan cars are crap now is because of Renault..

• Yap HF on Jan 02, 2014 at 1:18 pm

ETCM:
    “Meanwhile, in relation to this, Edaran Tan Chong Motor has issued a statement saying that Nissan has confirmed that all its Serena, Navara, Sylphy and Latio models sold in Malaysia are not affected by the recall.”

My Serena (2006) engine stall yesterday at KL.
    Exactly the same issue as described. Is the models sold in M’sia really not affected by the recall ? I’m personally indoubth & will send the car to ETCM service center.