Volvo XC 60 2.0T launched – locally-assembled at RM281k

volvo xc60 1

Volvo Car Malaysia has launched a second XC60 model, and this one is in 2.0 litre turbocharged form. The XC60 2.0 Turbo Powershift, to give the SUV its full moniker, follows in the trail blazed by the XC60 T6, which arrived on the scene in June 2009 in LE and SE forms. Its arrival brings to an end the journey of the T6 variant in the country, of which 150 units have been sold.

Where the T6 version was fully-imported, the 2.0 Turbo Powershift happens to be a CKD version – it’s assembled at Volvo’s plant in Shah Alam, and joins the seven-seater XC90 2.5T petrol and XC90 diesel D5 versions on the lineup of locally-assembled Volvo SUVs.

volvo xc60 2

The vehicle is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0T GTDi (Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection) engine offering 203 hp at 6,000 rpm and 300 Nm of torque, the latter available from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm, mated to a six-speed, dual-clutch Powershift tranny.

Performance specs include a 205 kph top speed, 0-100 kph sprint time of 8.9 secs and 8.5 litres per 100 km combined cycle fuel consumption. Among the standard kit are Xenon headlamps, front fog lamps, power tailgate and 18-inch Merac-design alloy wheels wearing 235/60 series tyres.

volvo xc60 3

The CKD car is comprehensively equipped – there’s City Safety, which helps avoid low-speed collisions by automatically slowing or stopping the vehicle, Collision Warning with Auto Brake (CWAB), Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Dynamic Stability & Traction Control (DSTC) as well as Roll Stability Control (RSC) and Roll-Over Protection System as part of the package.

All these, in addition to the host of TLAs strapped on – ABS with Hydraulic Brake Assist (HBA), Ready Alert Brakes (RAB) and Fading Brake Support (FBS), Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD) and Active Bending Lights (ABL) along with Advanced Stability Control and Traction Torque Vectoring as part of DTSC.

volvo xc60 4

Prior to the launch, VCM opened bookings for the SUV in a pre-launch campaign early last month, and more than 80 units of the vehicle have been sold. The XC60 2.0 Turbo Powershift is priced at RM281,950 (on the road, without insurance).

Gallery of launch photos after the jump

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1729]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nonce on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:28 am

the ckd version doesn’t look as sporty as the cbu version.

• Tan Kah Joh on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:19 pm

China owned company also want to sell so expensive kah? Like Akira, better sell a bit cheaper than the big boys.

It should be RM200,000 and below

• handsome*dude on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:24 pm

always see this kind of dumb comments…

so according to wat u said…

then we should have the Cheap lotus selling here long time ago….right?

i guess. the gap between Proton and Lotus, compare to Dong Feng / Volvo are way bigger right???

• Johan Mahad on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Nothing dumb I see here. No gap between Proton and Lotus cause Malaysia does not come out with toxic contaminated milk, and even if it did, Malaysian government won’t cover it up.

So, I think no gap lah brother. So to answew you, Lotus should not be sold cheap here.

Btw, I just read, baby in China growing pubic hair also lah cause got hormones in the milk.

• yesman on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:50 am

don blame car company for selling expensive, the only one to be blamed is our own government who taken big portion of $ rom its duty!

• Richard on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:27 pm

I am a mechanic and I specialise in Volvo cars. I can tell you one thing, 20 years ago, Volvo was solid like a rock. After Ford took over, every single part was taken from Ford. For example the S40, it is exactly the same car as the Ford Focus. Every part also comes from the Ford Focus. So, in other words, you think you are buying a Volvo, but in actual fact, you are buying a Ford. Now China has bought Volvo, I won’t be surprised if parts come from China. The Chinese are not stupid. They don’t buy a company for fun. They buy for profit. So, after a while, the Volvo will start using China parts to cut cost. Rest assured, Volvo is on its way of becoming a Cherry.

• Privin on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:54 am

Just want to check with uuuuuu how much uu know about the technology in chery vehicle & the ford.

• sutheshkumar on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:48 am

launch of this model also spells bye bye to navigation, fog lamps and sunroof? T___T

• David on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

bro, not to despair. The sunroof may be gone, but you still can, and definitely order the in-built sat-nav and fog lamps. Bear in mind, however, that the sat-nav costs a whopping RM 13,000!!

• sutheshkumar on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:27 pm

thanks for the heads up. you working for volvo? :D

• David on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Nope, am one very interested customer intending to get either an S80 or the XC60. Love both cars, but not exactly sure which one to choose. Which one’s better? I love the drivability of the S80, but i absolutely love the versatility of the XC 60!!

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:34 am

But u will hate the reliability of volvos.

• sutheshkumar on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Both is great in their own ways, but if you are a family man go for the S80. I see the XC60 as and active lifestyle type vehicle. :D

• tutukang on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:30 am

Ya ya, It’s depend on your age bro.. If u are around 30’s like me.. then go for XC60.. It’s very elegantly young executive design.. If u did watch Twillight movie, that damm vampire is driving this model.. But if u are more mature, go for S80.. I did test both of these car, S80 is better performance compare to XC60 in term of fast fuel response and power. XC60 is a bit slow..

• BeemerFreak on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:22 am

Hmm i realised that the T6 model has been taken out of the website entirely. Even the pricing and specs are missing. If I still want one, it is possible to get it?

• Tan Kah Joh on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Why even buy this or the T6? Just add a bit more to RM320,000 (obviously those willing to pay RM280k got money to top up) and get a CBU, pure Made in Germany Audi Q5.

The Q5 is far better, pure German and no Malaysian Made CKD parts. Bigger car as well.

Only a fool will buy this China owned car.

• handsome*dude on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm

again, the bias Tan Kah Joh here again….

then you should also say, only the foolest will buy a Lotus who own by Third world country? bcos we have third-world people like u… true!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:16 am

Only a fool will wait 11 months for a car………. If you want one now, Euromobil can even tell you when they can deliver the car….. The Audi is also smaller in all dimesions………SO research and think before you talk.

• Renault Power on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:41 pm

not sure. i went and asked federal auto in glenmarie yesterday. they say can. for the ckd, they say get now better cos its not so localised yet. the later versions according to them will see great decrease in quality.

• Anthony,

Is 205 kph really the top speed? i see the meter could as far as 260kph.

Loving the car. Even the spare tyre is properly insulated.

• the 205kmh might be +-..
      but it is a good drivetrain there..
      2.0 producing >200hp with 6 speed transmission..almost equivalent to audi Q5
      nice car from volvo

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

That’s what the spec sheet says.

• Evoque on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:07 am

Wow… very nice car & price too!! A car that I want my wife to drive..

• nonetheless on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:17 am

Apparently this car is designed by Steve Mattin an ex-Mercedes man with the SL, SLK, SLR and the Maybach in his portfolio. No wonder the handsome look inside out.

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

Now Volvo get Turbocharged For M’sian…now we can pay less road tax…save money for 2.0 turbo engine below 300k…the 3.0 T6 vr expensive, fuel thirsty, high road tax…it is vr good price value for money to own a famous well known Europe high score safety car in the world…

• It’s no longer European car my friend ….. it’s China owned co. mind you ! haha

China is going from strength to strength …

nevertheless pretty nice car and it’s a little more affordable now that it is CKD.

• Tan Kah Joh on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

I agree totally. I hope owners and also in articles, we refer to it as China owned car.

At least, people will know more before buying.

• Evoque on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:22 pm

So what if it was a China owned car? Even clothing materials are from China.

Even if it was German made, French made, the screws and nuts in the car were from China. So, whats the issue?

• Wong Fatt Seng on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:36 pm

You know what happened to the toys? The paint actually came out and was poison to children. That also big company what.

I won’t be surprised if the paint or colouring from the steering wheel come out when it is a hot day. Or some liquid come out from the gear lever as it mixes with your hand.

Anything associated with China always like that.

• Evoque on Nov 30, 2010 at 4:19 pm

“Anything associated with China always like that.”.. then u should make/produce/manufacture everything that you use, you eat, you wear on your own. Dont hate the player, hate the game.

• Malik on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:08 am

Tan Kah Joh,

You are not being rational at all but misleading yourself firstly before us. You do have a mental problem .

Volvo cars are manufacturer from Sweden as well from their Gent ,Belgium plant.

Most parts of Volvo cars in Malaysia either in CBU or CKD till todate is still manufactured from Europe.

Geely is only just being the largest shareholder of Volvo car corporation same as TATA owning Jaguar and Land Rover. The rest of the remaining shareholders of Volvo are not from China but Europeans.

Volvo cars are still being design and engineered in Scandinanvian or European Technology ( not China) eventhough the largest shareholder is Geely , China.

Geely wants Volvo because of its technology and foremost their world renowed Safety .

Please check your facts carefully as Volvo cars are not make in China.yet

Volvo shall always remain as Volvo ( European design and enigineering input ) and Geely shall remain as Geely ( China design and engineering input).

I do NOT see Volvo car manufactured from China coming to Malaysia at this time yet .

Obviously if you can afford a Volvo by all means go ahead to purchase one and if you cannot afford a Volvo better for you to stick to the Japanese crap like Camry or Vios

Cheers !!

• Tan Kah Joh on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:46 am

Malik, you cannot comprehend what I commented? I never said at all Volvo cars are made in China. I said its China owned.

You cannot understand English and you say people got mental problems. You learn English first. You from Uitm?

• Tan,

Everyone knows that China , Geely Auto bought Volvo from FORD recently .

I am not to concern who owns Volvo now. I am more happy to know that VOLVO as a leading Premium brand is better off bought by another potential Buyer rather than left to be wrot and cannibalised by FORD without funds to improve its own Technology .

I would not like to own VOLVO if the parts used in making is coming or produced by FORD. That would mean we are driving a FORD instead of a VOLVO.

Anyhow , Thank you for highlighting VOLVO as China Owned but VOLVO is still manufactured from SWEDEN and BELGIUM .

Volvo is still a European car with about 80 years history and we as a customer cannot never go wrong owning a VOLVO .

To me VOLVO always stand for

1) World renowned and leading Safety
          2) Good Quality
          3) Good reliability.

These attributes above had me make owning a VOLVO a wiser choice than other makes.

Volvo for life !!

• Malik on May 14, 2011 at 12:38 am

Tan Kah Joh,

FYI , you are the one who had half past six english understanding

You are a person of two tongues

Buying from germany or sweden made is own perogative and should not be dictated by whoever unless you are paying for it totally

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:12 pm

i know currently owned by Geely…but all the tech now is from Ford tech (turbocharged engine, dual clutch powershift )…so still consider as American/European car…
        China’s global power make the world cannot deny it strengh & economic power…

• Renault Power on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:38 pm

yes they really are not.

• Dr Lim Ah Wah on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm

How to be jealous when in China, everything they do is low quality. So, how to be jealous? Can only feel sorry for those buying Volvo.

Bear in mind, it does not have to be Made in China, anything connected or owned by a china firm always got hanky panky going on.

The world saw all this with the countless of babies seeing their death with tainted milk.

• Dr Lim Ah Wah,

Same saying goes for you

We are talking about cars and not MILK ( health products ) here

Since you are a Malaysian doctor, the China /Europeans patients will not trust your prescriptions/drugs at all even though you are anything connected educated from Overseas as a doctor . Simply because these patients think Malaysian doctors had got no Standard and Professional Ethic at all eventhough drugs provided are under stringest medical controls and yet they suspect hanky panky providing sub standard drugs leading to deaths eventhough unfounded..

Same goes you commenting on China and what about eating beef imported from USA or Europe, ( mad cow disease) whereby Cattles are feed with made of ground-up dead, diseased animals has been fed, and is still being fed, to other animals being raised for human consumption, including chickens . This is even worst whereby death occurs. Is there anymore hanky panky or cover up news now for beef imported from these countries including mad cow disease??

I feel sorry about yourself as a professional making comment such unworthy HANKY PANKY statement.

All cars as whether who the NEW owner is and yet still have to adhere to their stringent make quality control of what the brand represent otherwise they will goes out business in no time to come if short change their customers.

Volvo knows these very well so is Geeely and the same goes for all other cars manufacturers like proton, Jaguar, BMW. AUDI .

So those short change or hanky panky problems in Volvo cars associated with geely does not arise to us only your self conscience mind tell you only in relation to tainted Milk.

We only knows very well !! Bear in Mind China even send their own astronauts to space with chinese own built Rockets with great success unlike some others.

What about chinese medicines and acupunture? Aren’t them better than taking pills make from traces of chemical elements?

Hanky Panky ?? Please wake up as this the 21st century

• tutukang on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:56 am

Ya ya,,, I’m very agreed with what Sha’s talk rather than a Doctor Lim comment.. What Sha said is true…

For my own opinion, we can’t judge a huge basket a apple because of only 1 or 2 bad apples. All the countries in this world sure have some problem with their peoples. Nowadays, China still is very big and strong country whereby they have their capability to manufacturing whatever quality products from worse to the best in the world. Just the matter that they have to suit to the market demand where nowaday consumers need cheap products. Of course if u want cheap, they have to find alternatives ways to satisfied our needs. And the only ways is to cut cost.

U said China lousy, but bare in mid that they are the country where US scare the most. Most of our world big firm is still owned by China. So, what can we do Dr. Lim???

• Alanore Chong on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

No air-cond vent for the rear passengers? at this price?

• Bobot on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:51 am

As with most volvos, the rear aircond vents are at the B-pillars

• RON97 on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:50 am

got la, bro at B pillar.
      Don’t buy overrated Q5 (some more have to que + arrogant SA).

• Renault Power on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm

its true. i really like the federal auto service. same goes for the volkswagen. audi was….kinda stuck up.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Have. As per all volvos, they are on the B pillar. or the pillar that the rear doors are hinged to.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

Locally assembly!! Somemore so EXPENSIVE…………….

• keluangman on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:54 am

Give me Pajero any day…

• How come:-

Fuel Consumption (mixed)
    Six-speed Powershift transmission 8,5 l/100km
    Fuel Consumption (city)
    Six-speed Powershift transmission 11,3 l/100km
    Fuel Consumption (highway)
    Six-speed Powershift transmission 8,9 l/100km

Mix should be between city and highway right?

• Your article said:

2.0T GTDi (Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection) engine offering 203 hp at 6,000 rpm

But website specs:

Max Engine Power (kW) 203 kW
    Horsepower (Hp) 149 hp

Who is right?

• niuhje on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:48 am

yea i can now afford to get it…. NOT!!!
    anybody knows how does one become a politician?
    they seem to be doing pretty well huh?… big car, big house…

• firefox on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm

design is good, but interior….hahaha..the price same as tiguan….better get VW…

• Renault Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:28 pm

its a nice car. but honestly i can’t see any savings by the ckd. yes it would be cheaper if volvo malaysia gave us the same lovely T6 engine as given previously. but now what we have is a greatly underpowered 2.0 T. not to mention the problems bound to occur for ckd cars. my verdict. get the car, but pay the extra for the cbu. as far as i have last checked at federal auto, they are still selling the cbu T6. =)

• Renault Power on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

what i like most is dat volvo is giving us that neat looking wood trim instead of the usual aluminium plasticky looking thing as seen on the s40. now the car looks like a swedish high end furniture. =)

• Park Du Bor on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Overpriced for a Geli

• Park Du Bor on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm

No fog light summore :(

• Malik on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Tan Kah Joh,

I think you are typical arrogant CHINAMAN.

Which school of thought you come from???

Perhaps you are from University of TIMBUKTU. Maybe you are the one that neeed special coaching and catching in English.

No matter who owned the car companies , you cannot keep portrating VOLVO cars must sell cheap as it is Geely owned . You have no logic at all.

If the car is make or comes from Europe obviously as a brand Volvo is a Premium badge unlike Toyota and Honda ( Less Premium ) , It is sold a premium price to those who can afford to buy ( not everyone can afford to a New Volvo )

For your Info , I test the Audi Q5 and XC60 in glenmarie recently, i find the Volvo X60 had a more premium and more spacous feeling over the AUDI Q5.

So for the craps you are talking about buying a AUDI Q5 simply because it is German. is irrelevant in this context. Some German goods are not that excellent as you portray

My verdict is that VOLVO XC60 is a much better car than the AUDI Q5. Even my friends do agree with it.

• Handsome suv. Greedy distributor.

• McNair on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:46 am

I have been a great fan of the Volvo, and the xc60 is simply an amazing car, I wish it was below 250k or there about.
    Now with Geely being a major shareholder it does cause some worry. Cos logically, any company or even an individual who buys something would want to see a benefit/profit being reaped from it. So in the case of Volvo and Geely,I hope Malik is right, and the Chinese hopefully are only leveraging on the Volvo tech and safety, cos if in order to turn Volvo around, they want to reduce/compromise on the quality and in turn reduce prod, we no longer wud be able to say Volvo for Life.

• It’s a Handsome and world Safest SUV

Unlike the Over Price , FUGLY , Overated , Less Stronger Lexus RX350 or Dumb, Stupid Design, FUGLY . Less Pricey, TIN Can sheet metal Honda CRV

China and Sweden will power to the Future !!

• I have been to China and i disagree with Dr.Lim Ah Wah and Wong Fatt Seng views.

Not all things from China are bad quality but some are extremely good quality with good design.

In China if you are willing to pay and spent on a good products , you get an excellent quality products . Vice versa if you always have the mentality of buying only cheap price things from China , you will end up buying poorer quality goods . So simple !!

Good thing do not come Cheap and Poorer Grade Goods will always comes cheaper. It depends on what you want and your budget.

Example, I bought myself a high end china make Nokia Mobile and till todate it is still performing excellent as the Nokia mobile make elsewhere. I do NOT see any sharp drop of quality from goods make from China…..

China is the future world economic powerhouse !!

• Henry Chua on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Volvo in Malaysia is dead. Already the resale value of volvo’s are so bad, now, with this China thing, its going to plummet like crazy.

It does not matter whether its true or not about Volvo using China parts, the perception is already there. Ask any Malaysian now about Volvo, they say “aiseh, that China company lah”

That is now the perception in Malaysia and people are staying away from Volvo. They are so scared that the already bad resale value brand is now going to get worse and fetch even lower price. Even embassies, which used to like Volvo cars for their DC cars are now staying away from the brand.

Nobody wants to take the rish, buy a Volvo for RM280,000 and then, few years later, cannot even sell for RM100,000 even. This is a fact. Everybody knows, Volvo is for Life and it has one of the worst resale values ever.

So, this China buying the company is doing it even more harm. In Malaysia, its even worse cause we want everything European. We hate even our own Malaysian made products. So, he thought of the car having potential China parts itself scares the daylights of potential owners.

Nobody is buying Volvo now. Don’t just look at the statistics, just go on the road and see with your own eyes, there are hardly any volvos in town. If there are also, you see old 244GL. I hardly see anymore Volvos in town.

The Volvo brand is going to be like the Fiat brand in Malaysia. Its going to hang around but its virtually dead.

All my friends have rushingly sold of their volvos long before it became a China company. Like I said, the perception is vital. It is not whether it happens or not (ie it becomes a fully china car). The perception of Malaysians is that, it is a china company.

• Rajaratnam on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:54 am

I have to agree unfortunately. Its like Lotus. Lotus was every boy’s dream. We all had a poster of either a Lamborghini Countach or a Lotus Esprit Turbo on our bedroom walls when we were youths. It was our dream car. It was even in Miami Vice often, which motivated every boy to own one.

Lotus sales was so good. At par with Ferrari in United Kingdom. Even Bond loved it.

But then Proton took over.

Lotus just went down hill after that. Though Proton did not make Lotus in Malaysia or interfered with the management, Lotus just went down hill. In overseas, no one purchased Lotus anymore though it was a top seller. Nothing to do with where it is made, its just that, it had a Malaysian owner. I think the same will happen to Volvo unfortunately.

Ford did a big sin selling it to China. They should have sold it to a EU car manufacturer.

• eeeriz on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Although i have to agree with you, Lotus now is in different hand now. With Dany Bahar (ex Ferrari man) at helm now, he has proposed 5 new models with what I say, delicious looking Elise, Elite, Elan, Eterne and.. err.. lupa daa.. to be introduced simultaneously next year!

I think now Proton is looking far ahead now and before and realised that Lotus can go back where it belong previously.

Just don’t give up on Proton, they are surely slowly winning the fan back.

And similar with Volvo. Don’t give up on Geely just yet. All the problems in previous years are due to incompetent of GM policies.

From Volvo car owner. Hehe

• Henry Chua,

Volvo cars in Malaysia is not DEAD as you said as there are a lot of PPL out there still wanting to own a NEW Volvo.

Come on there are many Volvos on the road can be seen everyday like, 240, 940, 850 , S70, S40 , S80, XC90 including other station wagens.

Volvo is a very good quality and longetivity car. After having sold to FORD , FORD is the main culprit in pushing the VOLVO badge downwards so that FORD can sell more of their cars incoporating Volvo Technolgy into their FORD cars before FORD ditch away VOLVO. Look at the latest FORD like Mondeo, Focus ,fiesta and Taurus ( using a lot of Volvo technology now ).

FYI ,

In terms of second hand resale value let us make a short comparison too

1) Mercedes Benz ‘S” 320 year 1997, was selling new at RM 510,000.00 and today second value is only worth between RM 30 to 40 K, ( no second valure too ) . Loss almost RM 470,000

2) Mercedes Benz E280 year 1995 , was selling new at RM 250,000 and today second hand value only worth between RM 18K to 25K ( also no second value ) . Loss almost RM 225,000

3) BMW 7 series 730Li year 2006 , was selling new at RM 580,000 and today second value only worth between RM 240K to RM 250K . Loss almost RM230K

4) BMW 5 series 525i year 2004 , was selling new at RM 400,000 and today second hand value only worth between RM160k to 170K ( Loss almost RM 220K )

5) Volvo 940 year 1996 was selling at RM 163,000 and today second value is between RM12K to RM 16K . Loss almost RM145,000.

After so many years in service and from the above comparison , we can clearly see Volvo losses less in the long run.

So mean to say Mercedes and BMW loss more monies and hence the resale value are even more worst than VOLVO .

In conclusion , If Volvo resale value is worst , then Mercedes and BMW resale is even more worst that VOLVO cos Merc and BMW loss more monies .

To be frank nowadays , if we want to own a car ( as car is not sold cheap) , we must take into consideration that we must have a value and worth buy in terms of the latest technology and the quality , not only reliability but also durability & toughness , comfort and Safety concern of course most important . This is because all cars after leaving the showrooms had got not RESALE VALUE including Japs cars .

Gone are the days when a used Proton Saga will cost more than a New Proton Saga .!! So all cars now have the worst resale value ever . If your car have a good resale value almost close to new car price , why should PPL buy from you , might as well buy a Brand New Car with a NEW clean pleasing SMELL !!!

Sorry to say your own assumptions is totally misleading us!!

• Pak Ajak on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Only a dolop would make a comparison of 15 year old cars. Cars exceeding 10 years always lose a substantial amount of value, no matter what make. You can even buy a 20 year old Porsche for RM50k

I think when people talk depreciation, they are talking about 5 to 7 years and below. Like Honda CRV, new car selling 149k but 4 year old car RM120k. Most Japanese cars hold their value well anyway.

• Steven Richter on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:21 am

The most stupidest thing i have heard. Like saying

Ferrari 360 brand new RM1.5 mil. But 2004 model now selling RM480k

Waja brand new RM53k. 2004 model now selling 20k

So, Waja got better resale as it did not lose 1,050,000.

Cow dung in brain?

• volvoNOTforlife on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

hi ppl…regardless of whether volvo is still swedish or chinese, let me tell u first hand that the quality of cars made by volvo has deteriorated and i believe it has got to do something with the fact that they are now locally assembled…
    ppl think twice before u buy a volvo….some ppl may call japanese cars crap, but i call them reliable..definitely more than a volvo..

p.s. i’m a volvo car owner and i know for sure !

cheers !

• Japanese cars are Terms Crappy cars simply because they are

Reliable but NOT Durable and Tough as a VOLVO and other continenetal cars

LOL !!!

• firefox on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:36 am

volvo is a good car, as henry said, no resale value, i agreed on it, but..haha..volvo for life ma…dun sell it lo…if care on resale value, dun buy the car, buy the bicycle lo, good for environment also…haha..just joking…

i believe such a big brand like this, should have a good QC,QS..and the car with quality, even use the china parts, nowday, china products is not bad as we thinking on it, even from home appliances, chipset, etc. i think more then 60% product in malaysia, all from china, like iphone 4, samsung, LG chipset, computer, our intrakota bus..etc..

this is the trend, mainstream bro….market is king..
    China is the future world economic powerhouse …..

• Wow, I like the handsome look of this XC60 and I want one if i can afford one now

Normally in Malaysia , almost buyers will prefer a continental cars like BMW, VOLVO, AUDI, MERCEDES , VW as their 1st Choice or class cars if they can afford to buy and own one.( not cheap )

This because these 1st choice or class of cars offer better Prestige , comfort , performance , reliability , better durability and toughness and better road holding and safety rating.

HOWEVER, if PPL cannot afford the 1st choice or class car , then 2nd choice or class of cars will come in with less Prestige , comfort, less durability and toughness , road holding and safety. These 2nd choice of cars which have good reliabilty only are like TOYOTA, HONDA , NISSAN , MITSUBISHI , MAZDA , HYUNDAI, KIA , CHEVROLET and so on,
    ( MOSTL;Y JAPS , KOREAN CARS AND OTHER EUROPEANS MAKE HERE )

The 3rd choice or class shall be National cars like Perodua and Proton , whereby PPL buy it because of within easy budget and lesser maintenance used as a working horse.

So it is which category of cars that you can buy with your intended and affordable budget only .

If my budget allows me only to buy Proton , then i would be happy to settle on a Proton and salute others who buy a higher category cars name than myself without any jealousy.

• anafanas on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

it’s a car with full of safety system.dats wat we looking for…safety+great design

• volvofan on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:28 am

Dude, volvo has been locally assembled in Shah Alam since 1967. Dunno if you were born yet..