Ford Fiesta gets five-star safety rating in China NCAP

Not that it matters an iota to Ford Fiesta fans and owners, but here’s more proof that the car is – besides being fun to drive – one safe bag of tricks. The car has obtained a maximum five-star safety rating from the China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATARC), which recently released its C-NCAP (China New Car Assessment Program) ratings.

The Fiesta 1.5 litre MT scored 12.32, 15.38 and 14.77 in the frontal 100% overlap rigid barrier, side impact and 40% offset impact respectively in the CNCAP crash test, and received an additional three points for having other safety features such as six airbags, in this case driver and co-driver seat airbags, new side-chest airbags and inflatable air curtains for front and rear seat occupants.

While this should make the car an even more convincing proposition for Chinese consumers, the car already doesn’t have a problem winning lots of new friends – introduced in China in 2009, over 75,000 new Fiestas were sold there last year, a 59% increase compared to the year before.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Vince Chong on Jan 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Actually, I have not seen many fiestas around. How are sales here since the launch?

• I’ve been driving for a month… Seeing a dozen for a month as well…

• tokmoh on Jan 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm

China NCAP buat apa… depa sendiri buat keter macam cardboard, tau apa tentang safety…

Nevertheless, I’m pretty confident this will get 5-star EURO NCAP :) Has the Fiesta gone through EURO NCAP edi? anyone knows n can share?

• wolfsburg on Jan 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Proton Persona only scored 3-star in China NCAP…
      FIesta scored 5-stars in Euro NCAP but it is not applicable to the model sold in Malaysia. Our Fiesta only got 2airbags in the top specced model…

• hangtuaha on Jan 10, 2011 at 10:30 pm

they got 6 airbags, we got 1 airbag for sedan and 2 airbag for hatchback. lol.

• Just few questions here:
      1. Did the NCAP standard is same even in different country?
      2. Any any1 standardized the NCAP test standard all over the world?

• dukenborg on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:31 am

Ford Fiesta Mark 6 has undergone Euro-NCAP test – result is 5-Stars. See this link http://www.euroncap.com/tests/ford_fiesta_2008/333.aspx

• wolfsburg on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:17 pm

The sales of Fiesta was quite poor in China… At such a big market, they only managed 6000+ units every months combined the sedan and hatchback…

• haziq on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Ford fiesta vs Honda Jazz…….i like it RM?? VS RM???

• Solerz on Jan 10, 2011 at 10:12 pm

I saw a few 2-3 fiesta here in my neighbourhood, but the fiesta sedan looks ugly , but the hatchback is cool and nice.

• toyuta on Jan 10, 2011 at 10:24 pm

good move for china to begin their own NACP….soon the euro NACP should close down….china is better in quality control…

• lol there r several more NCAP…. Australia NCAP, Latin NCAP, NHTSA-ANCAP, EuroNCAP

• Naz@AE111 on Jan 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm

FoFi.. i gonna buy one for my future wife.. coz the safety is high on tis car.. :)

• hello on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

Are you sure? Well, i think you’re just kidding so you’re forgiven. I understand deep down inside your heart, you are not 100% sure. Crap car

• Jimmy on Jan 10, 2011 at 11:17 pm

China SIRIM.
    Can we trust it???
    No corruptions can be involved, good. Ha ha.
    Sounds like better than thundercatland.
    Oh sorry, no local NCAP, it’s just SIRIM.
    Have our thundercat got SIRIM?
    Is the HALAL-labelled food really halal, my dear?
    You see the problems?

• hello on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:16 am

Ford fiesta is one of the worst car I’ve ever seen. Despite all the advertisement, hype, stupid radio songs, you don’t see lots of this rubbish on our roads. That means, people are smart now, not to spend such money for crap like this. Rubish

• Tiadaid on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:30 am

Bullshit rubbish car. This car will smoke the City & Vios anytime!

• artworkz on Jan 13, 2011 at 6:18 pm

hello must be drvive i world greatest myvi/saga. hahaha. i own a fiesta. dun wan say smoke vios n city lah coz 100cc different, in term of comfort n noisy fiesta is on upper.

• I not think so, this car (hatchback) look great and nice, the handling is good too..
      If this car also consider as rubbish car, then what car consider as good car?

• You are talking based on experience or emotion?
      As for myself, my concern with Ford is the after sales service that can be provided by Sime Darby Autoconexxion. I do not know that…. the only way to know is to ask people who has used it and lived with it. So I am not an early adopter… And I think so does millions of other road users. So if everyone wait and see… would you see many on the road immediately?

I know the car is good in terms of handling and quality and also pricing… what about servicing. Hope it does not unexpectedly blow a hole in my pocket. To reassure this…. Sime Darby Autoconnexxion needs to do something.

• BlackBJQ on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:47 am

Chinese NCAP?? u must be kidding.. LFOL!!

• buloss on Jan 11, 2011 at 10:06 am

if malaysia have our own NCAP…. do u trust?