otofest 2012 at Cheras Auto City Dec 8-9, 2012 – great year end deals for used and recond vehicles

Used cars. A term that used to have less than pleasant connotations – shady salesmen, dodgy deals and lemons come to mind. Of course, things have come a long way since the days of Honest Joe. They have.

Nowadays, chances are you’ll come away with a winner, taking your pick from the pre-owned route – there are plenty of great deals and a veritable variety of vehicles to pick from, and none are what you’d consider antiques (unless you’re skimping on the dough, of course).

Much of the landscape has changed due to the arrival of grey, or parallel, imports. This has brought about a significantly improved level of selection and choices, and many times, at significantly cheaper prices.

Sure, most people usually like them new. Unfortunately, there are times when going new doesn’t always make for a wide and varied choice, what with new car prices being what they are.

The thing is, say you have RM80,000-RM90,000 to spend. You could buy a Toyota Vios, Ford Fiesta, Honda City or Nissan Almera new, and be plenty happy with any of them. But, if you’re a bit more open to things, you could end up with a steal like a 2011 Honda Civic 1.8SL, like seen on our sister site, oto.my.

If you’re feeling more adventurous, then something like a first-gen Mini Cooper S might tickle your fancy – hunt around and you’ll find plenty of neat R53 examples in that sub-RM90k price range. Move up the price range to the RM125-RM150k region and a slew of E60 BMW 5 Series awaits you, not bad when you consider that they’re a good deal off the original price asked.

Whatever it is, the buyer is spoilt for choice when it comes to cars, especially going the recond and used route. More so now that it’s the end of the year, with stock clearances and discounts going full swing.

If you happen to thinking along those lines, and shopping around for a deal, then otofest 2012 will definitely pique your interest. The event, organised by our sister classifieds website oto.my, takes place next weekend, on December 8-9 2012, and the whole bag of dealerships located at Cheras Autocity are set to take part in the festivities.

More than 700 vehicles – across a varied price range – will be available for viewing, and there’ll be many offerings specially priced for the two-day event; you won’t get these prices pre- or post-event, we’ve been told.

In a straight-up case, say with a 2010 Toyota Vellfire 2.4Z Platinum that’s going for RM250,000, a seven-year loan tenure at 2.45% interest with a 20& downpayment works out to be RM2,789 a month. What if we tell you that we can knock off the first year repayment down by almost RM1,000? We won’t reveal all, but suffice to say that there are packages which will reduce the monthly repayment rate, among them a step-up repayment structure.

These are thanks to special financing packages only for the carnival. Our oto.my team has set up some fantastic deals thanks to Alphera, a division of BMW Credit Malaysia. Alphera will be setting up stall at the event, and will have very attractive interest rates (starting from 2.45% for new recond vehicles) and financing deals on hand.

We’ll cover more about this in due time, as well as highlight the cherry pick of the deals that await. All you need to do now is remember the dates – December 8-9 – and the place, which is otofest 2012 at Cheras Autocity.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Paul Tan, we all know that 90% of the 2nd hand market adjust or tamper with the mileage meter. How do we overcome this? What is your site and your sister site doing to curb this huge mega problem? This is a big problem because if I buy a car that shows 20,000KM, when infact it has clocked 100,000 KM, I will need to spend more to replace the parts. In other words, the goods sold to me did not correspond to what was represented to me. All cars can be “refurbished” to brand new state with all the autocar spas sprouting out like mushrooms. After an autospa treatment, the car looks newer than new. Most of the 2nd hand cars and recond cars all do not have service history booklet, so how do we verify the mileage on the car?

Though I admire your sister site for coming up with this fest, it still does not solve this big problem we have. For example, 9 out of 10 recond cars that take Porsche’s Welcome Package get a shock of their lives because when their cars are plugged into the Glenmarie’s diagnostic machines, it shows something else. Most owners who bought their cars thinking it has clocked ONLY 15,000 miles but the machine shows over 100,000 miles. Most likely, the car concerned was ex rental cars from the UK.

Is there anyway we can curb this problem Paul Tan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 223 Thumb down 3
    • I agree with bro AVH – my sister’s ex-boyfriend is one of the reputable car dealer in KL with outlets in Jalan Pudu and Puchong Auto City. I’d once spoken to him (more of a casual chit chat) and he frankly told me that 9 out of 10 cars that they sell have been tampered with the odometer. Reason is simple – customer likes low mileage and often associate low mileage with low maintenance fee. Most continental cars can be checked through diagnostic machine – I did this when I bought my 2005 E60 525i 4 years ago. Even though it was 3 year old car with 11000km Japan spec (most Japan spec car comes with low mileage), I wanted to make sure so I asked the car to be sent to BMW specialist with the diagnostic machine. Test came out positive so I bought in the end.. But most of us don’t want to go through the hassle of spending a couple hundreds of ringgit to get it checked. And I’m not sure if Japanese car can be checked.
      And one real case scenario – my partner’s 3 year old Mazda CX9 clocked 200,000km was tuned down to less than 100,000km by my sis’s ex before being sold to unsuspected buyer…
      Cheras auto city – actually I have nothing against this place but I had experience with one of them. Went to one of the dealer driving Honda City while asking for BMW E46 with my younger brother.. Not only the salesperson didn’t layan me, I didn’t even get the chance to talk – he cut short the conversation in record speed and concluded by saying “this is the best price we can offer you and if you want to nego more, you can go to other dealers”… Talk about customer service.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 4
      • hantu on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:32 am

our car secondhand market is dominated by a bunch of conmen. you are one of them too if you knowingly let them tamper with the odometer of the car you were selling. so sad ….

• It’s up to their (car dealer) sole descretion – I can’t just wall up to them and asked them not to temper the odometer. Or you prefer me to stand by the vehicle and warn each and very customer about the tempering??
          I just sold the car to them at a price.. Whatever they did with it thereafter, it’s not up to my control anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • hantu on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Would you like the same thing happen to you? You knew what the car dealer was doing … and you did nothing because it benefited you. Such is the society now … if it doesn’t affect me … don’t bother.

• Jagminder Singh on Nov 28, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Ha Ha my friend who works in Jaguar told me customer who bought recon Jaguar S Type car wanted to check whether the 30,000KM on his dial was true. Its the policy of Sisma not to entertain recon cars totally but somehow, this guy managed to pull a favour and the service centre did him a favour. When they plugged in the car, it showed 300,000 KM done. Whoaaa! Now beat that! I really don’t know how much those XJ’s being sold currently for RM600,000 have clocked! Anyway its mind juggling to know that 2nd hand 2010/2011 Jaguar XJ’s units being sold for 25,000 pounds (Rm125,000) in Britain is sold here for Rm600,000. But tax and duties by Kastam Malaysia is only 130%…..

• Well said. There’s nothing you could do about it. I’m also a victim. My advice is get a copy of custom form both front and rear. Usually they only give the front copy but the rear have details info about the vehicle including chassis number, engine number as well as mileage when the vehicle reaches the port. So, you would know details of your vehicle condition before being tempered with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • TheVictimz on Nov 28, 2012 at 10:48 am

That custom form rear can be faked easily LOL..dun be surprised honey!

• Please by those car with full service in oem sc. All record will be show including milleage.

• OrangBesar on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:02 am

Aiyo u so straightforward how u expect anthony to response LOL…is there is a way to solve this problem then almost everyone ll go for recond n used car lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • AP UNTUNG BANYAK on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Well said. These AP cowboys really make a killing. At least a clean profit of RM100,000 on a RM400,000 car sold. The higher the car price, the more profit they make. Some cars, the profit margin can even be RM500,000 ringgit. Merely on one car sold! The wonderful thing is this, each AP holder gets hundreds of FREE AP’s. So, you can calculate his profit margin. I think even KLSE listed company also kalah!

Many people in Malaysia don’t know this, in the UK, the value of a car is based upon the MILEAGE and NOT the Year of make as it is in Malaysia. For example, a 2009 Mercedes E250 that has 10,000 miles will cost FAR MORE than a 2011 Mercedes E250 that has clocked 80,000 miles. The 2011 Mercedes E250 will be sold very cheaply because UK people pantang high mileage cars. Very pantang. The price difference can be so great. Often you see, a 2007 car with low mileage will cost double than the a 2010 model same car but with 200,000 miles on it.

So our AP cowboys are very clever. They buy the 2011 model (because Malaysians value car based on Year of Make) and then work magic with the odometer.
      Our pricing system for cars is completely opposite from the UK because Malaysians are more concerned about year of make.
      So, their untung is VERY BIG if you think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:30 pm

the attitude of car salesmen on malaysia is the same. Quick sales and quick profit. Paperwork hassle and many times confusing. What was promised is different, what is delivered is different too (over promised and under delivered most of the time).

The only difference is name of outlet and so-called their claimed ” good customer service”.

This is not negative perception, but a known fact about 2nd hand shady car dealership. I had my fair share of bad experiences with bad car dealers…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • The rule is simple. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. If they treat you bad, then leave them. Spread the word. The power is in your hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • I forgot to mention this issue pointed out by DarkerMarker.. My friend recently bought landcruiser King from a big dealer in Jalan Ipoh – let’s leave the name out of the equation ok? Anyway, the sales exec promised heaven and earth even before he put deposit for the vehicle.. And kept on saying OK to rectify all minor problems highlighted by my friend before delivery of the car. I have known my friend for very long time – he’s very particular when it comes to the condition of his vehicle as he treat car like wife.
      When he finally got his car – some of the problems were not fixed & despite several complains to the exec, he kept on avoiding ny friend. It was not until my friend threatened to bring the matter to his manager only then he agreed to fix it.
      Classic case of “before buying mat dou dak, after that man man dang”… Sigh!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • civicEK on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Easy money maaaaaa~

• Meanmachine on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Used cars are always used cars…you can never expect them to be like brand new cars! What makes a bad experience of buying used cars is having to mingle around dirty used car lots from one end to another, bargaining with abusive salesmen who don’t actually know about cars and the worst thing is salesmen ask for booking fees in order for you to test drive their units. They even have the guts to say that if you want the cars to be lady owned (most buyers perceive lady owned and low mileage cars as a good buy), they can do it for you. So, it’s not only the mileage has been tampered with but also the registration cards can be altered up to their whims and fancies…wonder how this is possible? Well, after all it’s everybody’s choice whether to buy new or used cars but one thing for sure, our used car dealers have not changed much after all these years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:06 am

I’m not being sexist but from my experience, car owned by lady is a good buy is a myth. I see most women driver just know how to drive but never checked their car’s condition (tyres, engine oil, etc). Eventhough man drive their car in heavy foot mode most of the time, they still manage to look for their car’s condition (Not all but most man).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • Simon Ng on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:28 am

Lady owners does not mean car well taken care. Even if is taken care, you also have to think twice. One of my aunt would wash, polish her car regularly. However, she has never service her car.

Another story that I tend to hear from 2nd car dealers are, the cars are to owned by datin. Maybe is my luck, I went to three dealers looking for Camry. All dealers told me that the car was owned by datin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • well Simon .. its either ure damned lucky or the dealers were trying to fool you .. thot that ure not smart enough not to believe them ..

• It is all because of the ruling govt. Vote the opposition in the next GM, they’ll also give us the sky & the moon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 23
  • KillBox1 Alpha on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:14 am

Like someone mentioned above, used cars will be used cars…and you buy the car along with the risk that comes with it…and this cannot be avoided.

Never expect 2nd hand car to be like a new car…otherwise buy the new one.

As for mileage, its very easy to check the real mileage. If the car is from Europe, get the VIN number and check it with the relevant original dealers. They will always come back to you with the history of the cars. I know this because I have several friends whom I helped to get their car history, and these were recond ex UK cars and these go for MOT checks yearly…but guaranteed, mileage is tampered…but not in Malaysia…UK itself..they call this clocking

Sorry for the rant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Turboman on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:55 am

Let me share my experience when i was getting my first recon car.

I went to at least 10 dealers, with more than 20 potential units to select. However, out of the 10 dealers, only 2 were willing to send the cars to a workshop of my choice for inspection. And out of 3 units sent for inspection, 2 of them had tempered millege leaving only one with genuine millege at 25000 miles ( x 1.6 for KM ).

And I had to pay an extra few thousands for an Opal warranty. True, buying recon is not for the fainthearted. And even that, after 6 months of ownership, the HP fuel pump gave way, but the warranty claim process was rather painless.

I didnt encounter a single pain in the butt salesman but during the bargaining process, images of me buying vegetables at the pasar malam came to mind many times.

Pros: U get a kick ass ride of a fraction of the price. Mine was exactly 61 percent off new. ( Just in case Sam wants to say something, its not a korean ride ). Features might be better too.

Cons: U need to spend lots of time scouring dealers after dealers. Haggling with “vegetables seller” under the attap roofed shack is a given. And do send to a reputable workshop who knows how to obtain the true millege. Mine was run by a mat salleh in PJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Turboman on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:00 am

Also, get the warranty!

Its not too expensive for what it is. A single claim for ABS pump for a E60 more than make up for the extra money paid for 3 years warranty. And ABS pumps/module on modern cars have a tendency to break especially on recon cars with questionable servicing history.

• Paul Tan on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:12 am

Your workshop – are you referring to German Motors?

We’re coming up with a story that talks about warranty packages from companies like Opal warranty next.

While we want to drive traffic to our event, we also want to make sure buyers there can make educated decisions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Turboman on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:40 am

Haha. Paul. I feel like im doing free advertisement for Opal. They should give me 2 years additional warranty for free, either for my current ride or next ride.

Yes. I am referring to German Motors. But many reputable workshops can verify the millege too. Again free advert for them, need to claim for 3 free car service from them later.

Perhaps u can come up with a guide to help buyers navigate the maze when they are shopping for a recon/used car. And how’s your diesel car doing so far? Wanted a diesel as that 380NM is very enticing but ended up with a petrol.

• Whynot on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:38 am

Be sure to know the car well. That is with a good Mechanic in hand. The bad things about motor business in Malaysia is that everything is expensive. From buying new car and paying a huge sum in replacement parts. If thinking of a saving wise but a car that has cheap secondhand spare parts – especially those of local or Japanese car. Not advise to go for continentals because spare parts is just too expensive due to import policy. Or else wait for the policy change in the next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • gtmaniac on Nov 28, 2012 at 10:31 am

I dont mind buy used. But stick to the plan and DO the research on that particular make and model before u visiting used car lot. Otherwise, u might drive out an E46 when u planned to get a Persona..

Out of 10 cars i owned before and currently, 6 were bought used from used dealership. My tips is simple: if i dont see OEM/original headlight/taillight AND the owner’s manual and service book on the unit i want, i simply walkaway.. not worth checking everyting else on that car.

• seancorr on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:14 pm

After reading all the comments here, a newbie would think twice before going to the used car shop unless he/she has a mechanic friend who is willing to inspect the car for you.

We have a long way to go before we can match the business ethnics of our European counterparts.

• Business Ethics of European counterparts…well they are no better than us. Used Car dealers all over are the same – out to disponse of their aging cars. Its the buyer’s responsibility to do the homework before purchasing a used car.

• Fukuoka on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:58 pm

I don’t know about Europe, but here in Japan the ethic is still there. We can safely take the claimed info at face value.

I once came across a ad of Nissan Serena C25. It stated that the actual odometer is 12,000km more that what is displayed in the picture, since the previous owner replaced the meter with a new one.

• I just bought a used 4yr car from direct owner at almost 40% off from original price. It is a long process: a lot of trust involved, you got to do your homework, you must have a workshop that you can trust to inspect it and ofcause some luck.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Buying used is always a gamble. Most used cars will not have proper service history, and the recon cars are even more difficult to spot, since everything is touched up and you can’t see the actual condition of the car. One has to remember they are cheap for a reason.

If one is looking for a premium brand, at least there are Manufacturer backed pre-owned cars with warranty. For the rest, its going to be hit or miss.

Its always a good policy to bring an experienced friend or mechanic along.

Used cars can look tempting, but you will need an idea the parts replacement cost would be like. Try stomaching a replacement gearbox for a continental WHILE still paying for the loan. Best rule of thumb, if buying used, if you can afford to buy it outright in cash (not that you have to), you can probably afford to maintain and repair it, if not, you are courting trouble.

I’ve always bought used (car number 6 now), in fact I’ve never owned a new car since I started driving some 20 years ago.

• Agreed, if you prefer premier continental car, you can either buy pre-registered or pre-owned car. Currently there are many promotions out there.

I bought a two month pre-owned Merc 200C Class from MBM. The car came with low mileage and backed by 4 years manufacturer warranty. The nice thing thing is I saved RM38k off the new price car and the car is superb. My advice is buy local car, if you prefer CBU, then buy it from authorised dealers.

• A simple advice to use car buyer is to check its service booklet, compare the mileage written in the service record with the ODO meter and make sure that they match. Whatever it is, buying a “used” car is like getting a “used” GF, u might end up with a lemon :)

• I think it is a good idea to request for service booklet if you are buying 2nd hand. But the best thing, of course, buy a brand new car. If your budget is 50k, buy a brand new myvi, rather than 2nd hand volvo.

• _xXx_ on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:48 pm

i beg to differ. I prefer a used ’03/04 S60T5 than the crap u mentioned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • tricycle on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Feel like participating.

Change the government, with 50k you “might” be able to buy a brand new Honda Civic 2012.

*the price mentioned above is based on the price in the USA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • never trust “might”… hahaa… dream on you guys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Car tax is one of the main income for “G”. You can dream on….. Protact the local brand is always the excuse but the actual cause is always $$$$$$$

• Trading in a 2006 Honda Civic (Blue Colour), after the car had been inspected by the used car dealer, he gave price around 69k. he tried to push the car price down, by saying that the car needs to be repainted to white colour and add some bodykits. But I was shocked when he said that the car had high mileage (120000KM) and they usually pull down the mileage on the car, however, since it was fully serviced by Honda, they cant do that because they say they might get sued if they were caught doing it if the buyer of the car decided to check the service history at Honda..

• Alias on Dec 02, 2012 at 10:50 am

NZ tampered 100% mileage of their cars. This was told to me by LX Mode salesman (ex-NZ salesman)…believe it or not?

• Made IN Malaysia on Dec 04, 2012 at 5:41 pm

In Malaysia where got low mil car anymore. we got beautiful hiway and budaya balik kampung every weekend. think rationally la