MAI: Malaysian new car sales expected to grow to 700k units in 2015; local brands’ market share to increase

MAI_14_15_review_ 008

The Total Industry Volume (TIV) for new car sales in Malaysia is expected to rise to 700,000 units in 2015, said Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Mohamad Madani Sahari. This will be a significant five percent increase over 2014’s TIV figure of 665,675 units, itself 1.5% higher than in 2013.

On top of that, MAI predicts that the market share of the two local carmakers (Proton and Perodua) will be on the rise in 2015 – estimated to be 52% compared to 46.8% last year. The positive forecast is based on “new models and attractive prices” from the two brands, according to Madani. All-new Proton Saga and Perodua sedan, anyone?

In 2014, Perodua maintained its market lead (29.4% market share) over Proton (17.4%). The latter suffered a notable decline of 3.8% against 2013. Sales figures of Proton’s three most successful models – Saga (56k units), Persona (21k) and Exora (15k) – pale next to Perodua’s best-sellers – Axia (29k in just three months), Myvi (82k) and Alza (55k).

Among non-national brands, Toyota leads the way with a 15.3% market share, followed closely by Honda (11.6%) and Nissan (7.0%). Honda is the biggest gainer of 2014, increasing its market share by 3.7% with the help of new models (City and Jazz). Nissan, meanwhile, suffered a market share drop of 1.1%.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express skepticism over the projected car sales increase, citing economic factors, rising car prices, and high taxes as potential barriers. Many criticize protectionism and government policies that favor local brands like Proton, arguing they hinder fair competition and inflate prices. There is concern about safety and reliability of certain models, with some noting frequent breakdowns and accidents. Viewpoints highlight Malaysian purchasing power, comparing it unfavorably to countries like the UK, and question the sustainability of high sales figures amid economic challenges and currency issues. Some comments reveal frustration with industry forecasts, government promises, and protectionist practices, while others discuss the impact of high taxes on affordability and the need for improved infrastructure. Overall, sentiments are mixed, with skepticism about achieving the optimistic sales growth and confidence in local brands being questioned.

• Proton…. lagi mau tipu Preve since launch got more cars on the road than Vios.
    As usual, they should be having meeting now thinking they are still in the competition. Meeting includes how to insult intelligence, road testing at London, Iceland, Sweden, Australia … and more importantly how to ask for more money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 17
    • unnit on Jan 12, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Hahaha so after this expect what? Iriz sales are more than Axia right?

Axia of course dun have to test, even australia cannot go in, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • What is the rational in protecting Proton if the sales of its cars are declining?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Japan, USA etc also protects their auto industries when sales are declining

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • MAI - The Con Artist on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:55 am

MAI and Madani are con artist directly hired by MITI and the Government to confuse people with heavy duty charts and figures.

Every single prediction and forecast MAI has come out in the past has not happened. Infact, it has cost a lot of trouble for people and the car industry.

Malaysians are fed up that MAI is actually a puppet used by the Government to confuse the car buying community to con them into paying high car prices.

Before Madani comes out with all his predictions and analysis, may I remind you Madani, whatever you have told us in the past has not come out at all. In the past you told us that the Government was moving towards EEV. Many people took your advice and bought Hybrids. Then suddenly, Government themselves pulled the plug on the tax issue and said no more tax benefits on hybrid. So many people were left stuck. Honda also took Madani’s advice and set up billion dollar plant to CKD the Civic and Jazz. That also went down the drain.

Billions wasted because Madani gave “false” direction to all the local companies to set CKD Hybrid in Malaysia. Those who bought Hybrids also now suffer because Insurance premiums have gone up (Insurance companies now value your car not RM150,000 but RM250,000) and to replace a stolen Civic Hybrid would cost that much. So, current owners of Hybrid suffer with higher premiums and also nobody wants to touch these cars in the 2nd hand market because the price is like yo yo.

So what happened Madani? You always come out with heavy duty charts to show Government encouraging EEV and Hybrids, now apa jadi?

Second issue is, Madani should, before coming out with all his usual nonsense from his mouth, he should ask his boss Najib, what happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Najib, before the elections last year promised all MAlaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN in. He said not to trust PKR because PKR was dishonest. he further stressed that BN always kept their promises and that it was 100% sure he would reduce car prices by 30%

So what happened to Madani’s boss Najib and his promise?

Madani, instead of kipas Najib and waiting for your Datukship, do something for the rakyat. Even the AP issue also you have not sorted out. the PEKEMA theives are stealing so much from the rakyat and MAI and MITI and the Government close an eye. 30 million people suffer just for 20 PEKEMA members to make billions per annum each.

So, why Madani you come out with all this analysis and prediction when two most important things you have not done

1) Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices 30%
            2) Abolishing the PEKEMA AP conmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • SAGA more than VIOS. Proton menang. PREVÉ also more than ALTIS. Proton menang lagi. Hanya CAMRY more PERDANA. Yang ini Toyota menang. Jadi mane ade tipu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • trollmaster3000 on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:33 pm

so kalu menang dapat apa..? more protection money ehh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Crony on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:39 pm

For supporters, more ego boost
          For us, more songlap money lol

• kan ioma ne ckp ttg Proton tipu, sy hy beritahu perkara sebenar. Sy pun ade ckp Toyota menang, jadi u nk pesan ape? U nk Proton tutup kedai, sokong lah Toyota.

• Boleh on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Menang dalam kampung boleh tapi global boleh kah?

• Base on this data, Malaysians can afford cars, therefore i suggest the government don’t remove the taxes on cars.

Not only the government risks earning less tax revenue from this tax removal. The trade deficit would also widen as more people op for foreign car makes, further devaluing the Ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 74
    • For all the talk about how great the iriz is, the amount of Iriz i can see on the road today is still about 2-3. And the only reason why you see the saga is because people have no choice but to get the cheapest car in malaysia, not necessarily because they want your crappy cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • Saga is not the cheapest car in bolehland
        get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • grime on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:25 pm

true! the cheapest car at that time was viva! not saga

• It was in one point in time, get YOUR facts right.

• mengh on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:13 am

Now myvi is best seller but it’s neither the cheapest nor best car

• OMG…Should say the cheapest sedan car in Malaysia. P2 sales still much more better than P1…pity Dr.M, he no face liao loh…

• What is the rational not removing protection?
      People buying the cars using their hard earn money. It’s their money. Why must the pay more to protect the parasites?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
      • SakaO on Jan 12, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Alot people are just blind and think they deserve more

• Why in korea japan china usa europe have sort of protection too?

Parasite? You are blind uf you say it doesn”t pay any tax to gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
          • Why they got protection? Because they can product good product without insulting ppl intel.
            Proton apa ada? Nak harap designer Azlan & his tiga suku engineers?

• proet on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:16 am

5 star Australasian NCAP car can insult intel?
            Only retards like you get insulted and butthurt with p1 success. At least in safety.
            Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Cars with Punch CVT really insult intel. Not tested and give to public? At least, people are smart not to get it

• DataSonglap on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Kalau data sendiri datang dari kroni gov mesti lah sokong kroni
      LoL pundk

• joyah on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:43 pm

good job Honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Whats d point of talking about “protected” brand? Its being protected and therefore it is on top of the chart. Why not publish best overseas brand? Like the big and mighty 3 from Germany and also luxury marque from Japan? Local brand…. always top the chart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:21 pm

More ppl buy Proton, Proton and its cronies spare part supplier earns.

More ppl buy foreign cars, more tax paid to government, eventually to the cronies.

The plan is unchanged: Whatever Malaysians earn, make the money in certain ppl’s pockets.

When can Malaysian get rid of this expensive car trap??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
    • jacksonljs on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Simple… If there’s no necessities, stop buying any new cars at any cost, be it ‘chapalang’ Plotong/Perutdua or ‘almighty godcar’ Toyota

• hapadei on Jan 12, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Problem is there is always a necessity of owning a car in Malaysia with our lack of infrastructure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:47 pm

dont u think all part supplier that supply part for CKD part car in boleh is the same..which ever company supply part to p1 they oso supply parts to p2, honda, toyota n even mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:59 am

Buy second hand lor.

Let uncle depreciation eat most of it off first. Think about supporting your local economy via bengkel bengkel kereta.

20-30K can buy a decent set of wheels. If it can last 3 years, you untung already. a new B segment will loose almost that much in the same time frame.

• jacksonljs on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:01 pm

somemore you can send to outside workshop (only if you have a reliable and trustworthy foreman) for periodic maintenance, usually after warranty period is over. A brand new car, not only eating huge depreciation (sit tou pa), but have to stick to their authorised SC during warranty period although generally a new car have more peace of mind that some of the used cars doesn’t have especially those old cars without known history.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:23 pm

godness me how many more cars our roads can take….
    its already bottlenecked everywhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • wayangkulit on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:38 am

so what happens when car prices reduced by 30% overnight?
      everyone cycles to work :)

alot of Malaysians are asking without thinking through the consequences
      and neither can they come out with a solution
      they either sit and ask blindly or complain

• slk3879 on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Say whatever you want, all of us should just wait and see

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:52 pm

the government cant control the amount of ppl buying cars and the cars on our road

so the only logical way is to have more highways and tolls to control the mass of cars flowing into high densed area, and yet people are complaining when the government is subsidizing the toll companies, which are essential in the ecosystem of our road transportation

stop being a cry baby and learn to appreciate the government for once

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
  • The problem with Malaysians is that they want everything cheap. Cheap cars, cheap oil, no toll, etc…where will the government collect taxes to sustain the expenditure? The flip side of it, the gov needs to plug the wastage done in managing the country.

In certain European countries, cars are cheap but oil is expensive, but if compared to middle eastern countries where oil is cheaper than mineral water, cars is also cheap there…so why not most Malaysians migrate to the middle east for cheap cars and fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
    • “In certain European countries, cars are cheap but oil is expensive,” -> europe does not produce oil, hence it’s expensive.
      It’s really downright to bad country management that we are at where we are now (financially). Personal gains (corruption) over the entire countries benefit.

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Who said Europe doesn’t produce oil – the European Union countries produces 2.1 million barrels per day, and that doesn’t include Norway (1.9 million) and the UK (1 million).

Norway taxes their fuel usage & have enough revenue to provide social programs. Now that’s a progressive society – as opposed to Malaysians who asks so much, give so little in return & complains left right and centre if things don’t go their way.

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:52 pm

some highlights while doing comparisons

– a clerk in UK earns 1,000 pound sterling a month.
      – a new ford fiesta mid range sells about 10,000 pounds (10 times salary)
      – petrol range from 1 pound per liter to abt 1.50 for premium unleaded in remote areas.

– a clerk in Malaysia earns RM1,500 a month
      – a new ford fiesta sells for abt 80K. (80 times her salary)
      – petrol is +- rm1.90 per litre.

• Bolehland is not developed country why compared it with UK?

• Ya lah. Bila bandingkan harga minyak, suka bandingkan with developed countries. Bila bandingkan protectionism suka bandingkan.
          Bila cakap pasal harga kereta, tak boleh banding sebab those are developed countries.

What a hypocrite.

• I’m sorry, but 10,000 GBP can only buy you the most basic Fiesta in the UK. So it’s unfair to compare it with the 80k Fiesta we have here.

• Why you no talk about UK tax? What is VAT percentage and income tax percentage?

• wayangkulit on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:53 am

I agree with you wholeheartedly
      All they do is complain day in and day out
      None of them will want to lift a finger for a solution

So if cheap cars, cheap oil, toll-free roads, tax free cars are being implemented
      Who is going to come out with the money to build and maintain extra roads?
      Who is going to come out with the money for extra public transports?
      Who is going to make up for the lost of income for the government?

If the government increases tax to make up for the income lost they all complain again

If the government remove our dirt cheap health care to make up for the lost of income, they complain again
      We pay less than RM5 in government clinic/hospital
      In places like US, without a health insurance, just a simple anesthetic will set you back USD1000 or more
      Hospitalization? Get ready to pay USD3500 or more per day

• Let everything cheap, car price only min 5000 – 30000 max, fuel only cost few cents per liter, change spare parts only cost min 5 – 500 max, no need to pay road tax and insurance. So can you imagine that you can pay cash directly if you happened accident because spare parts cheap.

• DataSonglap on Jan 13, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Paying tax on top of tax on top of bank interest and on top of insurance is not cheap

• Gajen on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:12 pm

I think this year might drop

• takNakP1 on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:53 pm

i always take their info in reverse psychology.
    The more they try to influence my thinking to their preference the more I will think other wise.

• Macha on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:54 pm

With current economy, I don’t think the sales will increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Aunties got a lot of money, they will support Vios, Myvi and Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • S Class on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:45 am

Aunties with lots of money will get A Class or Beetle lah, why those cars? Poor aunties will drive Iriz

• P2ssy on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:55 am

are you blind? more aunties drive axia, everywhere on the road nowaday…………

• Only poor “Aunties” and Aunties will drive Vios, Myvi and Axia.

• Why you said Aunties got a lot of money then you said Aunties is poor? Both also don’t want Iriz, only Bangla wants

• Handsome racer on Jan 12, 2015 at 6:17 pm

where is kimchi?

• jamjam on Jan 12, 2015 at 6:30 pm

what I know , traffic jam increase 700%

• Samah Khan on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm

All because of crappies Viva, Myvi, Vios and now Axia always make accident and breakdown on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Same Same Lol on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:33 am

How about those 56k Saga, 21k Persona and 15k Exora? They don’t breakdown and make accidents kah? Btw, they all lack 6 airbags and VSC. This tells you that majority of Proton cars are not as safe as said by supporters. People are smart to know the facts

• Samah Khan on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Maybe I too unlucky, i always see crappies Viva, Myvi and Vios breakdown on the road and involved in accident too.

• hahaha…all that car in your comment is the one most reliability brands as well….

• Samah Khan on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Just last week only, I saw 2 units Vios and 1 unit Viva breakdown at road side, 2 units Myvi accident + front bonnet heavily damaged. oh ya, 1 unit old version Saga breakdown too.

• Traffic jam u always can found that front line sure have one unit Perodua brand drive slowly intend to save fuel and the stupid driver don’t know give way to car behind for pass.

• When can you learn your lesson? on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Why Nissan market share drop? Because ETCM sells cars like Teana and Sylphy close to their rival’s price, and that is super marked up price that made people couldn’t afford with little to offer.

• carlies on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:26 pm

There has no problem Nissan Teana and Sylphy priced close to it’s rival, Camry, Accord, Altis and Civic. Nissan’s good quality is there.

Also, most of the comments I read here in this blog seems like not accurate and real. How good the City is but the sales can’t pick up to Vios. Also the Kimchi how good it is, I can’t see here. So sorry. The public comment here is unreliable and not reflecting the real market trend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • hoong on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:30 am

Bolehland people read fb whatsapp etc much more than browsing sites like PT

• It is true that the City sales is not as high as Vios however do note that City was launched late March and delivery only started in April onwards. The Vios had over 3 months headstart of sales and yearlong promotion and rebates of RM3000 which helped it stay ahead in terms of sales volume. However there is no denying that a large chunk of Vios sales went to the City as the current City is by far the most popular over all the previous generations.
        Now to see if Mazda 2 can put a dent into the City and Vios sales.

• Albert on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:48 pm

En.Hafriz,my fellow Victorian,700,000 units TIV may be achieved,but I reckon a big chunk will be affordable low end Axias,Myvi,Saga,Iriz.
    Like it or not,2015 is not going to be rosy.With our sliding ringgit,the professor’s daughter at Bank negara is sweating due to currency trading onslaught.Our imports,including cars in US Dollars will mean price increase unless gomen reduce car taxes,which is unlikely.

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Reduction in imports isn’t the end of the world to be honest.

• tiger on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:55 pm

how will we know the ACTUAL sales figures WHEN THOSE GENIUSES at MYCC (My Competition Comiittee or something) prohibited car manufactuers TO PUBLISH THEIR MONTH SALES BY MODELS? how do we know real or not if Car brand Xxxx claimed it sold XXXX number of XXXX models in XXX month?? MYCC threatened to impose FINE equal to 10% of the parent company’s REVENUE if they “share” their MONTH SALES FIGURES BY MODELS to the public!!!

• tiger on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:56 pm

good…we need to build more tolled highways!!!

• Abang ah Beng on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:50 am

vios, perodua, poor safety, no vsc –>accident–>total lost–> buy a new perodua/vios again if still alive…
    that’s why high sales figure for this model… simply come kacau, don’t hate me please…

• lolol on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:12 pm

That sounds like the logic of a boy who hasn’t even hit puberty. Lol

• 2015 car sales will drop, increase price due to Riggit jatuh. Also GST on sales & service will kill all the buyer..