KL-Butterworth ETS service ready next month – Liow

ktm-ets

Here’s some good news. The northern route of the Electric Train Service (ETS) from Ipoh to Butterworth is expected to start next month. When combined with the current KL-Ipoh service, the fast train will connect the capital city to Penang, offering an alternative to the car and airplane.

“On July 9, I will personally head to Batu Gajah in Perak to attend a trial run with other government officials to check on the Ipoh-Butterworth trains. Only after that, I will announce the important details of this new route, such as the schedule and the fares,” Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said in Sitiawan yesterday.

Liow said that trial runs are currently ongoing and a lot of preparation was needed before the route could be fully operational. “Once it is, I’m sure it will provide a good service to the people.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sulaiha on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:36 am

But the government has to make it clear that ETS only provide train transit from KL to Penang. There is no such direct train from KL to Penang, you have to take KL-Ipoh then wait for another train from Ipoh to Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • So people have to change the train in Ipoh?
      Does anybody know why there will be no direct connection KL-Penang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Black Dog on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Because the govt likes to do things part by part, without connectivity.

LRT, then Komuter, then MRT, then Monorail.

Toll booths u have Cash lane, Touch n Go lane, Smart Tag lane, then the upcomming one, No stop Sensor lane.

Too many cronies to feed lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 27
        • doctorproc on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Please don’t talk cock with no knowledge, they are doing this because there is currently a lack of trains, more trains are arriving later this year and then they will have direct services to Penang and beyond

• Better late than never. Next priority should be ETS to the east coast. Not the HSR or another LRT/MRT line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • So how much hours is the journey from KL to Ipoh than take another train from Ipoh to Butterworth?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Wikipedia: “Field testing of the KTM Class 93 sets, have found that utilizing the present upgraded EDTP, it is possible for the train to reach Padang Besar from Kuala Lumpur within four hours and fifteen minutes, with 5 stops at hand, Kuala Lumpur-Penang within 3 hours.”

Three hours from KL Sentral to Penang would be possibly faster than travel by aircraft (KL -> KLIA -> PEN).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Pensilpatah on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:19 pm

You must be fair then.

Your home -> KL Sentral -> Penang

• Sharma on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:28 am

ETS Fare to Ipoh is same as Bus fare to Bworth. Can u imagine what the fare would be to Bworth. Better take flight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • For taking a flight I would have to go to KLIA first? A taxi or train to KLIA is not for free and takes time too…

BTW: The Acela train service between Washington DC and New York (three hours) nearly killed all flights between both towns, as people prefer to take the faster train (no transfers from/to airport).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Not Babi Negara on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:05 pm

There’s a city airport call Subang (SZB). Also, Butterworth is not Penang Island where most business meetings are held.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Razak on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Yes indeed. Amtrak Acela express is an excellent example

• You need to go airport in Penang and from KLIA to KL Sentral. Time is around 3hours. If you are heading to KL city center, train still cheaper (include taxi to/from airport)

• ets frequenter on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:37 am

I am sure there will be direct ETS KL to Penang.

However, there is no ETS service that start from KL to Ipoh that does not stop in another station. The Gold Service does stop at 3 to 4 stations.

Therefore, I feel that KL to Penang direct service will stop in Ipoh for sure to pick up passengers who wants to go to Penang from Ipoh

• Ultra2Disk on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:46 pm

At the start of ETS service back 2011, three package is available, Silver Gold and Platinum, where Platinum is fastest , KL-Ipoh direct. But the price is too high, KTMB drop the service, over Gold and Silver until today.
      I hope they revive back Platinum and hope the price not too high.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:03 pm

If they launch it just in time for the Hari Raya exodus, then it will be a nice alternative to taking the bus, which with the crazy traffic will take a rather long time.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Don’t hold your breath.

They wont don’t have enough coaches and seats to cope with the Holiday exodus…ETS has been operation for 5 years now, and they still can’t cope. And this is KL – Ipoh. KL Penang? Good luck.

Hell, they can’t even cope with the weekend commuter for crying out loud.

Its a good alternative to driving, but KTM needs to continually improve as ridership increases.

Even last CNY, they had a huge screw up with their booking system leading to triple and quadruple overbooking.

And I started laughing when I read “Fast train”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • Public transport in KL still no good.. Wait until MRT and more LRT line complicated then i will consider to take ETS from Penang to KL. Or else, you still need to rent a car in KL which will cost higher

• Amirul on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:39 pm

How about the price? How much the ticket from KL to Butterworth?

• Stupid lo. If a thousand stop from kl to penang route, it’s really crazy better take flight or car might faster than it. I tried once in blue moon by taking this ETS for 2 hours. Others country are operated bullet train and we are still operating the train by 120/km … (lll= =) Futhermore thousand stop in between.. then you think la what time will be reached in penang? !#$/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • Stupid lo. If a thousand stop from kl to penang route, it’s really crazy better take flight or car might faster than it. I tried once in blue moon by taking this ETS to IPoh for 2 hours. Others country are operated bullet train and we are still operating the train by 120/km … (lll= =) Futhermore thousand stop in between.. then you think la what time will be reached in penang? !#$/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
  • Kenny on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:07 pm

I would like to ask so this ETS train is it a direct train to butterworth something like the Intercity North Line or is it a totally different thing?

• So many comments from people who don’t know nuts.

This is an extension on the double tracked Rawang – Ipoh ETS. Now you can take the same ETS trains up to Butterworth and soon to Padang Besar.

• Any ETS trains from Alor Setar to Ipoh soon ?

• How long the estimated arrival time from KL central to Butterworth? might consider this instead of driving if less than 3 hours

• What about the connectivity from butterworth or nibong tebal into penang island itself? It would defeat the purpose if there is no affordable and reliable transit.

• get it on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Really hope to have Kedah 2nd airport….especially in Kulim…so headaches to go to penang airport..

• get it on Jun 23, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Things will not going smooth when too many cronies to feed leh…Really hope to have Kedah 2nd airport….especially in Kulim…so headaches to go to penang airport leh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Complain saja on Jun 27, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Ade train pun complain…
    tak ade train pun complain…

If u hv nothing nice to say, duduk diam je la..

#brown

• Confused on Jun 28, 2015 at 10:11 pm

How about ETS connecting Singapore to Penang? Singapore, Kuala Lumpur and Penang are top tourist draws. An ETS connecting these 3 cities will definitely boost tourism.

• good progress it will be more beneficial for students who often travel during their off days

• People are never satisfied with things. These new achievement will help many in their day to day travels. Alhamdulillah