Mazda 3 recalled in the US due to leaky fuel tank, involving 14,270 units; Malaysian vehicles not affected

Mazda3_2013_family_01__jpg300

The Mazda 3 has officially been recalled in the United States for an issue pertaining to a faulty shut-off valve in the car’s fuel tank. It’s said that some fuel may be allowed to enter the fuel tank’s emissions system (a charcoal filter canister that seals vapours from the tank), resulting in a leak if too much fuel enters it.

As part of the recall, 14,270 Mazda 3 sedans and hatchbacks of the 2015 and 2016 model years are affected. Currently, no accidents or injuries have been reported due to this issue, but Mazda Motor Corporation has issued a stop sale and stop delivery order until corrective measures have been taken to fix the issue.

Mazda North America will contact owners affected by the recall, who will be advised to bring their vehicles in to have the fuel tank and the faulty valve replaced.

Owners of the Mazda 3 here in Malaysia need not worry, because the recall only concerns those in the United States. Mazda 3 models in Malaysia are not affected, as confirmed to us by official distributor Bermaz Motor.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hahaha on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Someone help me with this. I notice all over that cars are being recalled but none (not sure?) to very few have been recalled in Malaysia. Just wondering…

• Mazda on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Probably factory specific and our car come from different factory

• IrresponsibleMazda on Oct 16, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Because Malaysia is a small market, we will probably get our recall later or never.

• Sunny land on Oct 16, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Mazda 3 sold in the US are built in their Mexico factory. Different to Malaysia. Different specs. Different conditions.

• mr1031 on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:33 pm

proton x pernah pun recalled..power la jaguh kampung ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:02 pm

No recall = better car?
      You never do body checkup doesn’t mean you are cancer-free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Dia bodoh, u pun bodoh. Google lah Proton recall. Even in PT oso got article. Lazy betul Malaysians ni!

• kampungEGGpower! on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:53 pm

can trust bermaz words? u just never know..