PLUS advises motorists to be cautious of road debris

highway

With traffic volumes set to increase significantly on the North-South Highway in the coming week, PLUS has advised motorists to be wary of debris on the route, particularly between the Ipoh and Bidor exits.

According to news reports, the highway concessionaire is asking road users to pay extra caution while travelling on the stretch, given previous reports of objects such as tyre fragments and steel pipes having being found on the road. Two complaints were made by road users last week about the problem of debris causing damage to their cars – the motorists said their tyres were damaged after hitting unknown objects.

Last year, more than 1,570 objects were found along the 66km-long stretch of the highway, PLUS Section C1 manager Asnor Ali told reporters. “More than half of the objects were tyre fragments from heavy vehicles, and we also found large stones, steel pipes, wood fragments and household items like prayer mats on the highway,” he said.

He said that there was no indication that these items had been dumped deliberately, but added that highway users, particularly lorry drivers, should be more responsible in terms of safety. “They should check their tyres and also ensure their loads are fastened securely before they start their journey,” Asnor said.

He added that PLUS is stepping up it security on the highway by increasing the frequency of its patrols to ensure that the road was clear of objects and obstructions. Patrols are now being done every hour instead of every 1.5 hours, and two patrol teams would be deployed specifically at the stretch between Ipoh and Bidor.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rchoo on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:06 pm

My Car hit a BIG Plastic NJB at KM 290.5 near Ipoh and a few vehicles also hit it. How could a big plstic NJB (New Jersey Block) possibly laid at the center of the furthest most right lane and hit by a car at 110km/hr? Till today I still have not receive any feedback on insurance compensation from PLUS despite the case being close to 6 months already.

Nor Fatiin Amirah Binti Azmi – PLUS, appreciate your prompt action.

Thank You.

• Motorist on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Malaysian motorists advice PLUS to do their job as we paid them to, to clean up the debris that might harm us.

• Wiwiwiwiw on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:04 pm

In japan that clean and fix pull maintainance on their roads everyday at night. Pay toll also get shitty road quality. Can’t bloody drive at peace of mind at 90km/h

• Anoni on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Penah kena dekat Kampar(KM308) Oktober lepas. Time tu malam. Dgr mcm byk jugak kereta kena tayar lori besar tuh. Dahla malam, tayar tu kat lorong memotong pulak tuh. Keta laju. Abis hancur.. PLUS lambat bertindak, ramai yang terkena. Kesian kat semua mangsa termasuklah saya.

Claim kat PLUS dah. Takde khabar berita pon…

• langkasokan malaysian on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:23 pm

any takers on class action suits? calling all attorney and queen counsel?

• Rajaraja Choolan on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Go ahead sues them and claims damage as per se US$800k

• rchoo on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Fortunately I was driving a big car, If it were a small car or motorbike, I would be a dead duck by now.

• Most item found is the Re-tread tyre from lorry. Govt should baned re-tread tyre.

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Support +1. Retread tyre always break off and all over the highway

• komarad on Feb 04, 2016 at 10:24 am

government have tried to ban it before but persatuan pengusaha lori rejects it…

• winwin on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:55 pm

The police and JPJ should play a part too. Everyday can see huge tyre carcass at random lane in NKVE. This happens because of the usage of rethreaded tyres by large lorries.

• plususer on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:30 pm

The relevant authorities does not care about the debris on the highway…the care more on summons to be issued … the never care to issue summon to lorries.. how many of u notice wood bar unsecuredly place / untied under the body of those lorries…

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:59 pm

I am a frequent user of the NSE. Its not uncommon to see these debris all over the road.

The biggest culprit are heavy loaders with re-treaded tyres. I’ve seen several disintegrate right in front of me.

Stone and pebbles are the other big issue. Also by the heavy loaders.

• My car was hit by object about 4x within 10 years on same stretch of Rawang-Damansara NKVE:-
    1. Hitting a monkey crossing from opposite lanes
    2. Hit by a meter length wooden plank splash across from front car over to my front windscreen exactly infant of my driving seat, lucky have tinted film otherwise just can’t imagine of consequence
    3. Hitting a rugby size stone, I was driving a Kenari, the whole car felt like all 4 tyres flying off the ground, front wheel badly damaged
    4. Hitting a leftover car front bumper causing damaged to my whole front & need repaint whole car

I made police report & submitted report claims (complete details with photos, related documents as requested by PLUS) on Incident#2 & #3 but guess what PLUS letter replied on both incidents…same wordings “Siasatan lanjut kami mendapati bahawa lokasi berkenaan adalah bebas dari sebarang objek…….Kami mendapati bahawa kami telah berusaha sebaik mungkin menjalankan tanggungjawab kami dengan mengambil langkah2 yg munasabah (“reasonable duty care”)……Oleh its, dukacita dimaklumkan bahawa kami tidak dapat membuat sebarang bayaran pampasan kepada tuan.” guess they just simply copy & paste on each reply to complainant…WTF. So if anyone intend to sue them kaw2 do count me in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0