Toyota Eco Youth focuses on solid waste management

Toyota-Eco-Youth-2016

The Toyota Eco Youth (TEY) challenge celebrates its 15th anniversary and this year’s theme is solid waste management. Starting off as an eco competition between schools, the annual programme has grown over the years, impacting secondary schools and teachers as well as communities around the schools.

“It is no secret that environment sustainability is second nature to Toyota,” said Datuk Ismet Suki, president of UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT), who added that on a global basis, the company has established the Toyota Environmental Challenge 2050, which identified six key environmental issues to be tackled in the next three decades such as CO2 reduction, water optimisation and establishing societies that practice recycling and an earth-friendly culture.

“The main problem with solid waste is that they are not biodegradeable. A plastic bottle takes 500 years to break down, a plastic bag 10-20 years, a milk carton five years, a tin can 50 years, a glass bottle 1 million years. This means it is not only a problem to the planet now, but for the next 10, 100, 1000, up to a million years,” laments Mahamad Amran Kamsi, chief assistant director at the Ministry of Education (MoE).

In the past, participating schools were selected by MoE, typically one from each state. This year, schools intending to participate in TEY had to submit a project proposal to the organising committee. This new arrangement is expected to bring even better results in terms of the project outcome, promotions and exposure, as schools that submitted proposals had shown their competitive spirit from the onset.

Mahamad Amran says that attitudes must change. Although the best solution is still the 3R- with emphasis on Reduce, then Reuse and Recycle, the recycling rate in Malaysia is still dismal at 2%. “We cannot afford to wait until the world turns into a planet of garbage.”

To date, 209 schools have participated in TEY and UMWT has spent over RM6 million on the social responsibility programme since 2001.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Waste on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Just let the indah water,Alam flora do their parts on solid waste.. Your part just to install more safety specs on your car

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:05 am

Want more safety? Get our Corolla/Camry/Prius/86/Prius C lar… Now you blame us it is too expensive. Ask your beloved MITI lar, you think we can’t sell Corolla at RM70k?

• If Nissan can sell almera at 60k, why u cannot sell vios at 60k too?
        If Nissan can gip all round safety in sylphy, why u cannot with corolla?
        If Nissan can sell teana with all safety, gud equipment & at reasonable price, why u cannot with camry?
        If Nissan can gip navara with multilinks, why is ur hailat still so hailat?
        Why dun u ask ur beloved Dear Leader to force his crony UMW to do all these above?

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Buy Nissan lar, I won’t stop you at all. There is great gap between Nissan and Toyota in terms of comfort, reliability, fuel saving and RV.

Nissan cheaper and better specs so what, still can’t outsell Toyota. Why? If you don’t know, you are too young in the industry budak!

• Toyota & P2 help the environment by reducing population via their moving coffins.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:07 am

If you drive like mat rempit, Volvo also moving coffin for you. In fact, Proton drivers has the highest fatality rate on Malaysian roads. Those safer Proton models are all in showroom, no one buy while most of Proton Iswara, Wira, Waja, Satria on the road, doesn’t even have a single airbags/ABS.

• P1 is moving coffin until 2010. Toyota until 4040 still is moving coffin. So until then, how many pipu will u kirr compared to P1?

Toyota shud have new motto:
        Moving coffin dulu, moving coffin sekalang, moving coffin selamanya

• Mau Murah Lagi on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Konon want to improve the environment. Can tipu tipu kids lah…..but Toyota Malaysia have been cheating consumers and giving so little safety features in their sub-standard milo tin cars……

Toyota Malaysia is stingy, unscrupulous and big time cheater!

• azrai on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:35 am

I think the ‘solid waste’in this case are their salesmen like Same Loo. they are thinking ways to manage these ‘solid waste’ because the sales plunging to a record 77% reduction. Kudos to same loo.

• I truly respect Toyota effort in encouraging teens to enhance their awareness toward healthy environment.Kids are kids, but adults are acting more like kids as a keyboard warrior.