The stage bus industry will be receiving RM142.7 million under the Interim Stage Bus Support Fund (ISBSF) 2016, which will be channelled to 65 stage bus operators who have applied for assistance this year, according to a statement by SPAD. To date, operators from Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Kuala Lumpur, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Selangor, and Terengganu have received financial assistance amounting to RM11.62 million.
“Buses remain a key mode of connectivity in smaller towns and areas that rail services do not reach. Recognising the need to keep these vital social routes running, the Government is working on improving stage bus services for a more sustainable future through various initiatives,” said SPAD chairman, Tan Sri Datuk Seri Dr. Syed Hamid Syed Jaafar Albar in a statement.
Existing recipients of the funding under the ISBSF programme will be migrated into the Stage Bus Transformation (SBST) programme, which introduced the myBAS programme in 2015, according to the statement.
It says the SBST programme is designed to improve operator viability and expand bus routes by migrating from the fare-box revenue collection model to the gross-cut service delivery model. SPAD has so far rolled out myBAS services in Kangar, Seremban and Ipoh, and is set to do the same for Kuala Terengganu and Johor Bahru.
“With the continuation of the Interim Stage Bus Support Fund (ISBSF) by the Government in 2016 the total budget allocated for this programme to date is RM661.7 million,” he continued. “In Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley, stage buses as supporting services to the rail system underwent a network revamp in December 2015 targeted at upgrading bus services that were previously inconsistent due to unpredictable frequency especially in low demand areas,” said SPAD CEO Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah.
SPAD adds that the Government has recently approved a budget allocation to ensure that free bus services offered by GoKL continues to operate until 2021, and estimates that an annual budget of RM13 million is required to support the operations of GoKL annually.
RBAs says why need spend money for subsidised bus service to org kampung, better gip subsidy to org bandar cuz they know to vote for Party Hard
You’re an idiot
Now only you know he is an idiot?
Why u reply to ur own dupe?
lets who is the middle man for those new buses….same old cow dung….enough already !!
all small town DONT NEED such huge buses but frequent run mini van.
another classic cronies bus supplier job..
These r stage buses. They go to a few towns in a trip. Dun just stay in city assume kampung pipu dun need big buses.
There goes the majority citizen’s money to the cronies.
While less than 20% of the budget goes to the needy.
I can understand the logic behind the subsidies for Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, and Terengganu because they have a large rural population and mobilizing a fleet to cover the large land mass with meager returns does need some form of government assistance. But KUALA LUMPUR?? SELANGOR?? It really speaks digression if the capital and the major cities in Malaysia needs such assistance. Better spend those money developing rural towns or build a few more local uni for rural students.
If dun help KL and Sel, then Party Hard more winrar lor!
you try watch bus off peak hour. empty. And you think the ticket price is enough to cover their operation cost? lol
gov not allowed bus operator to increase the fee. So gov have to compensate them.
Less than a year becomes old bus.
Stage bus industry to receive RM143 million from Government, aims to benefit small towns and villages!!!
But actually it benefit certain bus operator.. not need to jalan, receiving fixed subsidies…tongkat culture continue and only minority connected people benefit it without doing anything!
When it come to msia, always u look at the bad things.. see our neighbour, their gahment just awarded 7 billion for 2 yrs to 10 yrs contract to 2 main bus operators.. that is in sgd leh.. u can convert it urself to rm..
this is all a conspiracy by evil bn government! liea, lies, crony, crony, 1mdb, imdb! arrrrrrrrrghhhh scream with meeeee
I literally laughed out loud. U know they’re gonna down vote u hard now
Out of curiosity, who won the contract to manufacture the busses?