2016 Proton Persona awarded 5-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating; ESC, minimum two airbags across range

Proton_Persona_Cutout-4

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has officially awarded the new 2016 Proton Persona with a five-star safety rating, which made its official launch debut today.

In the Adult Occupant Protection test, the Persona managed to obtain a score 14.07 points out of a possible 16 points, enabling it to secure a five-star rating. As for Child Occupant Protection, the sedan achieved an 82% compliance score as well. These are the exact same scores obtained by the Iriz.

As the Persona is an enhancement of the Iriz, there is no reason for the car to perform the actual test, according to Proton. However, with increased volume, ASEAN NCAP might consider crash testing the car.

All variants of the Persona – Standard, Executive and Premium – qualify for the safety rating as they come as standard with dual frontal airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), ABS (with EBD and BA), Isofix child seat anchors and hill hold assist. Only the Premium gets an additional four airbags to total six.

Proton_Persona_Cutout-6

“With the Proton Persona, Proton provides options for the consumers to choose, ranging from hatchback to sedan, without compromising any safety performance. Although the Persona is an extended rating, ASEAN NCAP had verified the results by examining the crash data from the development test by Proton at MIROS PC3 and comparing it with Iriz’s crash data,” said ASEAN NCAP chairman, Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon.

“There have been tremendous improvements in the safety level of cars manufactured in Malaysia and also the ASEAN region in general, since the establishment of ASEAN NCAP. We can now see excellent safety levels have been incorporated among new locally produced cars. Proton Persona is one good of example of such cars,” added ASEAN NCAP secretary-general, Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim.

The 2016 Proton Persona was officially launched today, with prices ranging from RM46k to RM60k. Read out first drive report of the sedan, here.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Persona safety features display

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:50 pm

GOOD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:33 pm

We should thank BN and Najib for this high spec car. This is proof enough that Najib cares for us all. He has given such a safe car to us. Time for us to say thank you to Najib and stop listening to rumours about him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 76
      • Kenapa roda begitu kecil berbanding dgn badan nya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
        • Same L00 on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:18 pm

HPF body bang the tree also die people, so nothing special. People won’t buy the car because of HPF, same like you won’t buy a house because of big toilet. Don’t play play with Proton quality, take good care of your saving account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
          • Vios killer on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Damn…. This is one good looking Proton.

• ahmad albab on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:26 am

kenapa? kau pernah nampak ka tayar lagi besar dari badan kereta? kereta apa tu? huhuhuh, agak2 wujud wujud tak rim 50 inci? hahahahahahaha

• Horizon Sailor on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Pls bro..No hatred and No politics in auto blog..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Stop your bodek in the first place!!! You must be living in the hutan for a very long time. What do you mean by rumors, these are painstaking investigations with documentary evidences carried out by several countries. What you should do is ask BN to come out with their evidences to dispels such rumors as what you have just said. What a nut!!!

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Boleh tengok, beli jangan dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
  • kanazai2001 on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:54 pm

beautiful proportion of front n back; roof height n line…
    fully loaded with all da safety gadgets (although im not a fan of explosive bags n T control n bra bra bra)… but by using da HOT steel COLD stamp method for reinforcement on da PASSIVE SAFETY really double thumbs UP!! impressive indeed!!!

again… unfortunately… ur customer service n service center r killin da bRanD…

** GD LOOKING well proportional car… hope u can FACELIFT da ugly vw UP damimicking BUTT of iRiZ very soon…

thumbz uP!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
  • Vincent on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Whatever technology U put in.. as long as it is P1.. people just don’t buy.. simply because branding crisis!!!!

Personal I believe new P1 model is better than P2. But when P1 get solve loan from G.. that gone again the name and it is no turning back!!! In the eye of Malaysia, P1 is not our pride, but shame!!! After 30 years, still non stop sucking people money by getting Government support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 90
    • atokkk - not real one on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:27 pm

you a sick with empty brain. do things without think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Vincent on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:05 pm

I notice P1 now playing a lot of keyboards hero to help them dislike negative comment!!! Good job! U can dislike.. end if the day… sale qty will tell. Look at the number p2 sell…and what p1 sell. Continue to fool urself and get more loan from G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
        • And a lot of u P2 salesmen r here posting crap, so what make it different?

• Vincent on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Sorry.. i am not P2 salesman nor anyone who sell car! I am P1 actual boss…the tax payer.. who been funding P1 since day one! I am concern about my 1.25 Billion softloan! Can P1 declare to public… so far… how much they have pay off those subsidiary or soft loan? P1 been lossing money more than 10 years…i don’t think any coperate tax been pay back to Government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • aiyo.. buthurt? seem like during bezza launching P2 also topkek their keyboard warrior.. yeah.. hidup bezzatonggek!

• RoadRage (Member) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:44 am

what the hell is a solve loan?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:02 pm

This car is so good, you must be stupid to buy other car brands. Only an idiot will not support Proton now. Now Proton shows that it is a good company and the country is corruption free too. All negative rumours before are just rumours!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 44
    • reason why malaysians have little cash to spend is because we pay a lot of money for cars and houses. at the end of the month there is not much money left. house and cars are both necessity but with car you have the option to buy used car to reduce your commitment unlike house. think before you buy a car. you are always tempted to stretch your budget for new car especially the branded one but its going to cost you in the future. If really need new car get the affordable one but not compromising on safety

• Burong on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Sales figure will tell stories.

Do hope Proton can gain its market share back and make Malaysian proud. Don’t treat Malaysian like 2nd class and treat foreigner like first class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Hello, How come until now no comment on this car, good or bad ? I thing this round Proton got do there job lah, still need to improve the car and after sales service.

• Hello….. how come this car already out but still no comment form you all ? I this this round proton got do the job, not bad car for the price but ……..after sales don’t know how ?

• xoxox on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:04 pm

lol, proton…proton..really boleh (can shout only)…Sedan and Hatchback is different…use your brain please…. use iriz ncap score for persona???what the hell is your brain storing???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 61
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Well ANCAP (Aussie) can give 5 star for suprima using preve result..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • atokkk - not real one on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:29 pm

why there is brainsless people like you. very short sighted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Farghmee on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Why the airbags look like baymax?

• Knight E on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Thanks to Hot Press Forming (HPF) and much improve safety compare with other brand…good job…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Roda Impian, roda kecil badan besar. Roda kecil murah, R14 = RM180, R16 = RM250. Simple Logic

• Edward on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:50 pm

So much Proton hype on safety but still lost to Perodua:-

Proton Persona – 14.07 / 16.00 points
    Perodua Bezza – 15.38 / 16.00 points

Apa lagi Malaysia mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
    • Scissorhand Edward on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Malaysia mau lu tutup mulut..

Persona is getting 5 stars across all variants but Bezza only for the premium version..got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Correction, 5 star Bezza ONLY for Advance version, premium version of Bezza still cannot get 5 star due to absence of VSC.

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:01 pm

I believe the Persona (Iriz results) are similar to Bezza, but it got 14+ compared to Bezzas 15+ AOP points because of a rupture in the footwell which added a penalty score which dropped protons score down. Would be interesting to see if the footwell has been modified to take into account aseancap results. will have to wait till they crash test an actual persona.

• My fren wud like to know u better, hes from Nirvana and we have a special package just for u

• red light on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:05 am

where is multi-link rear suspension?
    I doubt the new Persona handling could be worse than previous one