Volkswagen Polo hatch limited time offer – RM69,888

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 1

The Volkswagen Polo hatchback has received a limited-time promo – now at RM69,888 nett, following an earlier reduction to RM77,646 (RM76,888 retail) in September. This marks a discount of RM7,000 from the earlier price drop, offering a potential saving of RM20,000 from when the facelift was first introduced.

Mechanical specifications remain the same, with a 1.6 litre, naturally aspirated MPI four-cylinder producing 105 PS and 153 Nm, powering the front wheels via the same Aisin six-speed torque converter automatic transmission from before.

Shopping for A Volkswagen? Get the best deals at CarBase.my .

GALLERY: 2015 Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch CKD facelift
This is the 2015 model year version of the facelift, from when it was introduced last year

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• xxxxyy on Mar 10, 2017 at 12:34 pm

ummm, still cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:09 pm

This is really scary. VW Malaysia just throw prices without thinking. they have done this too many times.

Last year was the worst. Brand New Passats and Jetta were going for nearly HALF Price. Imagine the owner of a Passat who bought his car for RM180k, then VGM themselves sell for RM120k.

Domino effect. Second hand market also collapse. No wonder now, 4 yr old Passat can buy for RM50k.

to all those Tiguan buyers thinking of buying the new Tiguan for RM149k, better you wait 1 year. VW Malaysia will sell it for RM90k in a couple of months time brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:52 pm

they making car cheaper is gud.. don u want that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Good cheaper but who will pay the thousands of VW buyers loan off?

So many VW buyers have to fork out about RM50k to RM80k just top up a 1 year old car loan.

Cause the RV jatuh like crazy due to VW throwing their prices.

Imagine, in just one year, car jatuh RM80k in value.

• Nothing gud is cheap.
            Nothing cheap is gud.

So if u wan cheap then, whut da H..!?

• Passat Owner 2012 on Mar 10, 2017 at 11:49 pm

I want to buy new Passat B8 with 120K!!!!

• Very Wrong move on Mar 12, 2017 at 5:02 pm

VW should introduce GAP plan instead… then at least they secure existing car owners

• timbuktu on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:11 pm

this kunta kinte guy needs to get his facts right. the previous passat and jetta sold at huge discounts were produced in previous years. they are not brand new. they have been sitting in the showroom or some warehouse for more than a year.

but having said that, i still don’t agree with VW’s way of slashing prices.. good for new buyers, but bad for existing owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 4:22 pm

You are wrong. VGM was selling brand new 2016 cars in 2016 itself. Get your facts right too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 4:27 pm

You are wrong. VW Malaysia was selling brand new 2016 models in 2016 itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Kunta bin kambing on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:51 am

Kunta yang Amat berhormat, you are always in the lime right for the wrong reasons. Your info in this car forum are all half baked facts. The previous Passat and Jetta which you confidentially mention being sold at discounted price is NOT manufactured in the same year of sale. They are older batches which were produced in previous years.

• 380tsi on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:25 pm

coty VW affordable bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Honda vs Nissan vs VW on Mar 10, 2017 at 4:50 pm

3 years maintenance cost and Annual leave taken

1) Honda after 3 years – RM2000
          2) Nissan after 3 years -RM1800
          3) VW after 3 years -RM10,000
          (mostly tow truck payments)

Annual Leave taken to service car
          1) Honda after 3 years 9 days
          2) Nissan after 3 years 9 days
          3) Nissan after 3 years 68 days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Honda vs Nissan vs VW on Mar 10, 2017 at 4:46 pm

2017 Polo Hatch RM69,888
        2020 Polo Hatch RM15,000

2017 Nissan Almera Rm68k
        2020 Nissan Almera Rm50k.

2017 Honda City Rm78k
        2020 Honda City RM55k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0rr on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Problematic DSG. Buy Toyota, Honda & Perodua better!
      But buy the junk Proton is better than this junk VW! More cheap spare parts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
      • X same lor on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:10 am

I know perodua and Toyota is using cvt and 4AT, but this polo is not using DSG, it’s a conventional Aisin’s 6AT with torque converter.

So glad to hear sam loh promoting Proton for the first time

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 10, 2017 at 12:43 pm

This is definitely a good buy for those seeking an entry level German hatchback. However I still think the price could be at least another $5k lower. Expact to see more Volkswagens on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • No ESP..

• Alphamann on Mar 10, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Car market value checked _ 2015 model costs RM47800.00 only…

• Matchy on Mar 10, 2017 at 1:17 pm

What is the year made?

• Still using dino era engine?

• tkhengong on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Buying Subaru XV 2.0iP also same. Bought at RM135K OTR last April, now brand new selling RM113K. It’s a depressed car market currently. Sure signs our economy not as great as painted by government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Choochoo on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Reliable?

• Mikey on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Ha ha ha. No manufactured year mention means its an older model since VW already offered it at RM77,646 in September 2016.

For RM70k, it is quite a good buy for a continental brand. It is solidly build. U get a Aisin 6-speed torque converter auto.

I still think VW should lower the price by another 10k. That will make the Polo a Best buy.

• intermilan on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Fun fact: Around 10 years ago, this is the OTR price for 1.4L 8V + 4 speed automatic gearbox for Naza Bestari.

• passion on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:30 pm

nice car strong chassis but terrible build quality. creaks and rattles all over. current owners have to live with it. the suspension is too bouncy as well. surprisingly high maintenance cost for a 1.6 NA. VW will have to regain the trust of Malaysians again but i don’t think it will happen anytime soon.

• agreed with the suspension and the maintenance cost.
      unbelievable for a small car

• High maintenance cost? u sure? this polo only using 1.6 liter NA engine wt 6 speed torque converter auto…how come high maintenance? Its not the turbo TSI & DSG combo….further more, service intervals are 15,000km. Sounds like toyota vios salesman trolling around…hahahahahahaha

• Yea 1.6 polo sedan owner here. Steady for 3 years, no breakdown no failures. Solid japanese gearbox, indian CKD & engine great for everyday driving. Prolly the VW w the cheapest maintenance cost in the whole range.

• Jimmy on Mar 10, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Doubt that you own any VW.

Many people are happy with their Beetles.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 6:34 pm

this car no better than myvi

• Jimmy on Mar 10, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Are you serious?
      If you can afford, I am sure you want a Polo rather than a Myvi. Have you ever driven a VW?

Polo is much better perceived by the public compared to Myvi.

There is a millionaire with multiple businesses, his young son is driving a Polo.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:05 am

i am billionaire with multiple massage parlour…i make sure my son don drive polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Sub_zero on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:53 am

Still got people have trust with vw? vw is like proton german version

And for those lapsap who care for rv go japs, especially your godlike toyolta

• ben yap on Mar 12, 2017 at 2:56 pm

waiting for the jetta to be offered RM88K for the highline.