Mercedes-Benz A200 now RM3k more costly – RM209k

Bad news for those looking to buy a Mercedes-Benz A 200 AMG Line – the middle child of the local A-Class lineup is now RM3,000 more expensive, retailing at RM208,888 on-the-road without insurance. Prices of the other two models, the A 180 Urban Line and the A 250 AMG Line, remain unchanged at RM195,888 and RM238,888 respectively.

For the extra outlay, you get the same specifications and equipment as before, including LED High Performance headlights, the AMG Line’s sportier bumpers and side skirts, a diamond grille with chrome pins, 18-inch AMG multi-spoke alloy wheels and a stiffer sports suspension that lowers the ride height by 15 mm.

Inside, there’s an AMG flat-bottomed steering wheel, faux carbon fibre dash trim, Artico faux leather and Dinamica microfibre upholstery with red stitching and alloy pedals. Standard kit includes power-adjustable front seats with memory, manual air-conditioning, Active Parking Assist, a reverse camera, a Dynamic Select driving mode selector and a basic Audio 20 CD infotainment system with an eight-inch Media Display.

Power comes from a 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine that develops 156 hp at 5,300 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,250 to 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the Mercedes-Benz A-Class range, and find the best deals on a new car, on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:52 am

Syukur syukur syukur, harga kereta sudah jatuh! Kerajaan sudah tunai janji rendah kan harga kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:14 pm

some more can buy under marker value…issnt it…wah nice nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:53 am

This what happens when ringgit got no more value. But pro bum lickers say ringgit jatuh good for our exports and good for the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Lemang on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:58 am

Perghh kereta hipster.

• Rockstar on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:01 am

OK mampu beli 1600/bulan.

• Gracke on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:24 am

Because of its brand, so it gonna makes it as expensive as they can to raise up their badge!!!

• Basheer on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:48 am

This makes the BMW 318i a much more attractive option.

• Tax the… oh wait..

• tokmoh. on Apr 04, 2017 at 11:44 am

Ala, celah gigi je RM 3k.

Come Jan 2018, MBM will report 2017 sales pecah record lagi. Mana rakyat terjejas? Kan Maslan cakap betul, GST kurangkan kos hidup, makin ramai mampu Mercedes. Cukurlah ekonomi kukuh di bawah pimpinan Rosm- Najib. Yeap.

• Matjava on Apr 04, 2017 at 12:39 pm

actually which one to choose.
    1. A200 merc
    2. 120i bmw
    3. Golf TSI
    4. Countryman 1.6 turbo
    5. A3

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Volvo V40

• Gracke on Apr 04, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Golf TSI

• Honestly for the same amount of money it is wiser to go for BMW 318i. The dealers are offering very good deals, so you should be able to get around 190k for a 318i. A class and 1 series is way too small unless you’re buying it as a secondary car.

• Azahari on Apr 04, 2017 at 6:08 pm

For me. Same amout of money I go for, Civic. Then remaining balance I will buy another house. You guys elit group can go for that small Merc. I scrap my Merc or BMW or Audi idea. Those German cars seems over price to me. I mean if you look at price vs product perspective.

• Muthusammy Loo on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:15 pm

RM3k increase in Merc A200 celah gigi je, still lower than RM4k – RM5k increase in Pookedua Axial which is hell a lot (just by put back VVT-i and ABS brakes which were wrenched out previously). Now you can see Pookedua’s true color compared with Mercedes.

Oh ya, Mercedes is more towards premium brand (soon could be ‘common’ brand in Malaysia, even me that never drive luxury cars around on the road before drive Mercedes numbers of times before although it’s not mine, but car owner let me drive it) while Pookedua is entry level brand, but this young sucker can afford to hike up price so much (perhaps they learn from their big brother sucker to hantam their carbuyers).

• Roque on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:27 pm

hahaha…stupid people who voted for the thieves. now the Rakyat will have to pay for their handbags, their luxurious lifestyle. pls wake up.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:14 pm

boikot mercedes…beli volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:53 am

Bad news for those looking to buy a Mercedes-Benz A-200 AMG Line. Why Bad News ??! For RM209k, U can buy much more. The A-class is NOT the Merc to buy/own.

Ask john & chances are he will tell U 2 buy a Suprima S & invest the difference. It is Mercedes loss & P1 gain. If want to buy a Mercedes, buy the entry C-class.