Malaysia aims to be ‘marketing hub’ for EVs – targets 100k electric cars, 125k chargers on the road by 2030

Malaysia has electric dreams, and the target is to be a ‘marketing hub’ for electric vehicles. The government envisions that by 2030, we will have 100,000 electric cars on the road, along with 2,000 electric buses and 125,000 charging stations in the country, Bernama reports.

Energy, green technology and water minister Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili said that the EV target is part of the National Green Technology Master Plan and the Electric Mobility Blueprint (EMB).

“With that as the target, the government’s transport sector has to start developing the developing the Green Technology Sector more aggressively. Public awareness is also crucial to produce a landscape of low carbon mobility in Malaysia. Therefore, consumers have to be convinced that electric vehicles are an option which is comparable with the existing vehicles they have now,” he added.

Ongkili said the National Green Technology Master Plan and EMB were developed to address the issue of greenhouse gas emissions, which in turn focuses on developing the EV industry.

“EMB is part of the government’s effort to introduce electric vehicles to replace diesel and petrol vehicles. Expansion of the use of electric vehicles is important to reduce dependence on fossil fuel which is the source of energy for all air, marine and land transportation,” he added.

Sounds good, but how? Will carmakers start making EVs here without the demand and incentives? Will buyers consider expensive EVs without some sort of tax breaks in place? Who will be responsible for building and footing the bill for charging infrastructure nationwide? We will need to know more about this EMB for sure.

Thailand is currently courting car manufacturers to set up green car production in the country. A comprehensive range of incentives including tax holidays (for the makers) and excise duty exemption (for the buyers) have been established. Read more about Thailand’s EV push.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Laksamana on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:03 am

Sure…why 2030…why not 2050..keep on dreaming. .and don’t fall off the coconut tree

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 0
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:17 am

Is this a syiok sendiri statement? Cause Thailand already confirmed by all car manufacturers is the EV Hub.

Somemore, how to do EV hub when even the cheapest EV car is about RM250k? Malaysians already susah payah want to even buy Myvi also, gomen expect us to be EV hub?

Also BOTH the national car producers don’t even have EV or PHEV. Even old 10 year old Hybrid technology also don’t have.

Still want to syiok sendiri?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
      • Ah Kow on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:43 am

Gov should fix proton first. It is bleeding money, nations money. Can’t even market our national car properly, now want to market EV. Another tin kosong statement…. cakap pandai, tiada tindakan.

Kononnya Wawasan 2020. TN50 should be the same if our GOV attitude continue to be like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Fix is a wrong word to use here Close fits better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Operation Manager on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:46 pm

All plans failed… SPM level project plan from miti.mai.maa. I not seeing project plan of each year from 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020… until 2030 —> what is the Agenda Development planned for every year vs. Actual achived, then review both very quarter & every year & how is the Recovery Plan for every quarter/every year plan failed …????? Now Talk here, talk there only… Target here, target there, target everywhere else…? *Hybrid/EV tax exemption 1 year, then come out EEV incentives, etc… end-up car price still increasing… Hybrid Camry (after tax break) still selling 170k, India-Australia only 110k. Also, NISSAN NOTE/Hnda Jazz Hybrid selling 50k~60k only, can bolehland …? Then AP TESLA create Tesla car Rental business… talk green then selli g EURO2 DIESEL keep pulloted environment. still the same –> already Q2’2017, Where is the 30% CAR PRICE reduction PROMISED BN…??? Confused …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • tokmoh. on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:49 am

BMW, Merc pecah sales record
        Honda sell more than Proton
        KFC, Starbucks full
        Samsung S8+ launch tak sampai 2 jam sold out

Mana rakyat terjejas? Takkan menteri je kena jimat, masak nasi goreng tanpa GST sendiri kat rumah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
        • alldisc on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:26 pm

By 2030 Thailand already selling 250k EV. So far ahead.

• Bash Basher on Apr 12, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Jeles lettew tokmoh. hikikihihkih

• tokmoh. on Apr 12, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Sampah tak kesah.

By 2030, Volvo would’ve sold millions of EV already.

Our Volvo of Asia meanwhile busy begging RM40bil from taxpayers, stuck with making fuel guzzler car nobody wanna buy.

• Volvo Sweden sucked Billions orso. Oh wai

• Tokok on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:27 pm

This is why people like you cannot govern the country well. The way to talk is like gomen talking. No sense and inconsiderate talking.

Please compare the owners of MERC and BMW combine VS those who are struggling taking public transport.

Please compare the owners of Honda,Toyota, Nissan VS the owners of kapcai.

Compare KFC MCD Starbucks customers VS those who can’t afford those luxury.

There are many families out there who can’t afford to what you have mentioned.
          Worse, the moderate income earners are starting to feel the pinch. If this continues, I’m sure the rich will be dragged down together in a matter of time.

Please be considerate and dun tokok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • tokmoh. on Apr 12, 2017 at 5:49 pm

You go on the internet expecting everyone to be dead serious. Kek.

It’s a satirical take on our minister’s measurement of economic indicator. To them, if all above happens, it means our economy very strong.

• Tokok on Apr 13, 2017 at 10:16 am

You win! Tokok apologizes

• Hyundai Ioniq??

• Donno on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:47 am

Bla bla bla EV zero emissions green technology. Are we ready to dispose 100K of highly toxic EV battery packs after this? What is the government plan for that? Also currently most of the electric in the country is generated by coal power plants, so the electric is not so green actually, and decrese in car emissions would be compensated by the increase in power plant emissions.

• brogineer on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:51 pm

Electric drivetrain more efficient than ICE bro. Using petrol to transport petrol to all the petrol stations in the country, compared to low loss high tension voltage lines. Do you even electric bro?

• BbalingBiru on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:52 am

Yes, agreed. This is like when a state leader was saying to make his state a tourisme spot for cyclist. But where the hell the proper infra? Take a visit to Sweden and see how they did this, properly.

• aim and aim…keep on aiming in your dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:27 am

All car companies now running to Thailand to do their EV. Infact, our existing CKD fellows like Toyota, Honda and even Nissan also might close shop in Malaysia and move to Thailand fully.

Japanese car manufacturers cannot take the 3 main nonsense.

1) The local Japanese entity must give 30% away FREE
      2) The local entity must source all CKD parts from crony vendors
      3) The chairman of local Jap entity must be ex gomen servant
      who will get free gaji and free kuih lapis in AGMs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:14 am

Syok sendiri again. They think carmakers need to beg on their knees to get govt to allow them to sell their EV cars?

The reality is they all go to Thailand. Govt is the one that should beg on their knees, lowball offer kawkaw to get them to change their mind.

Same mentality with proton. Give rm1.5bil still fail, now ask rm1.8bil. Yet, still muka tebal demand this, demand that from future owner, oops, partner. Kononnya they’re on equal terms with the likes of Geely la, eeeeee gelinya orang suka syok sendiri ni.

Know your place, dirty peasants. Geely masterrace move forward with Volvo, breaking sales record and profit, you all should surrender unconditionally. Well whatever, not like Geely can’t survive without Proton.

Geely > all
    Volvo > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:34 am

The Japs will never make Malaysia the EV hub after MAI told them to invest BILLIONS as Malaysiawas now encouraging Hybrids. Honda and Toyota invested BILLIONS to CKD the Jazz, Civic and Prius.

Then one fine day, gomen said podah and no more tax incentive for hybrids. Japs were dumbfounded. Typical flip flop

In the 80s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Because of all the nonsense MITI was doing controlling the prices of all cars and telling japanese cars what CKD supplier they should use, all lari to Thailand.

We lost hundreds of billion USD investment plus hundreds of thousands of jobs to Thailand. Even until today, every few months we hear every other month, Thailand is getting billions of USD being invested in Thailand. All lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • thepolygonal on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:26 am

We already have electric cars in the form of RC cars which should number more than 100k already. What is he talking about? RC cars can just plug into the normal house electric socket for charging so the 125k charging station is already capai. Sudah capai matlamat long time ago.

Anyway, without any form of incentives, tax break, free service, coffee, BR1M untuk kereta, government can terus guna the power of dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • C. P. MOHAN on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:28 am

What is this thing call ‘MARKETING HUB’ you mean STORAGE FACILITY FOR FINISHED PRODUCT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • sohai on Apr 12, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Gee… you make it sound like we are toll collector… wait…

• Marhaen on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:28 am

Toksah cakap besar sampai 2030 lah…..
    Isu 2017 pon terhegeh hegeh nk settle.

AP, cukai eksais mpv, harga minyak, lesen taxi…..
    Gua pemandu taxi biasa pon ada visi tahun 2074 Malaysia buat flying taxi elektrik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Neutral on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:30 am

It’s achievable if Proton is not in the picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • C. P. MOHAN on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:31 am

What is ‘MARKETING HUB’ or is it the less fancy words of STORAGE FACILITY.

• fadzie on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:35 am

Mcm mana nak support kalo yang mampu miliki kereta elektrik hanya gaji 8ke ke atas, dah harga bukan mampu milik…its just a dream and will be a dream.

• Why? Remember, the electric hub … gone to bin already or just wake up from dreaming … but now got new dream … marketing hub for electric! ha ha ha

• lao yee on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:00 am

Somehow such statements triggers my anger. Look around us in Malaysia. The rivers, the open burning, the chemical plants, rubbish management, now you’re talking bout green environment. OK, back to EV, reduce the CO2 emission,look at our road, those lorries, aged buses and vehicles, does any strict control on the smokes produced? The people from Paultan forum probably concern VW scandal more than our Transport Ministry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • During 90’s we heard about 2020. Now we heard about 2030, 2040, 2050. Government seems to be addicted to putting numbers and targets without achieving it. Just like a saying in Chinese “Fen Shui masters cheat you for 10 years”. A good plan is always a medium short term plan. Companies like Apple, Alibaba and Google will never tell you what they are going to become after 20 years.

• SadekSegaraga on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:26 am

TNB will have a big 360 smiles on their faces

• AhBoy on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:01 pm

BIG dream…too BIG till it remains a dream. Haiz :-(

• Hydrogen fuel cell vehicles are the future, not electric vehicles.

• orang biasa on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:42 pm

cakap proposal senang, tapi utk capai target… *perh*… wait & daydreaming. No matter who state or Federal government, all government project won’t long last because of fund tak cukup atau kena tambah fund lagi. This project should kena guna fund tinggi ni… we wait & see how in 2030.

• Do we even produce enough electricity to recharge that many electric cars in thr first place…

• sohai on Apr 12, 2017 at 1:27 pm

what is the economic rational behind such move?
    we are first and foremost an oil producing country.
    and we own no patent or technology in battery or EV vehicles.
    how do we know we are competitive and realistic in achieving our goals?
    everything is too vague and to say it is for 2030…
    Might as well say we want to be a hub for self-driven vehicle…. in 2040.

• FireAce on Apr 12, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Toyota & Honda, you guys gonna bite this ‘bait’? hahaha.. Guess not..

Fool you once, shame on you (know MY gomen style). Fool you twice, served you right (For being stupid).

• JW Wong on Apr 12, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Gov all talk no action. All car manufacturers are making Thailand the automobile hub and Malaysia is nowhere near the standard set by Thailand.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 12, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Most of the people commenting here have got it spot on. While the idea is good, the execution part would need more than plain talking lah. I think under the right governance, Malaysia would really be an ideal hub for the automotive industry as compared to Thailand. But sadly, due to protections given to certain car brands, we have to give up opportunity and practically hand them to our neighbouring countries.

EV vehicles look to be the future of the automotive industry but as it is today, the majority of Msians can only dream about owning one as they are too expensive. So much so that it makes no sense from a financial point of view. The money one has to fork out vs. the savings on petrol is out of the question. So, only the rich and those that really love the environment so much can consider getting an EV.

• In 2050, I, as future PM, would push Malaysia to be the hub for Flintstone car technology. That is why we keep having all these running, marathon, walkathon & cycling events; to build up the leg strength. By then, we regulate sugar & rice price, not fuel.

The Flintstone cars can also work as a small road roller and everyone can help flatten our roads patched by our best-est contractors. Thus saving them money (no need to get a steamroller) to pay me duit kopi to get those road patching contracts.

• FIST (Member) on Apr 12, 2017 at 2:50 pm

telling this joke again…? cukup-cukup lahhh

• Treeman on Apr 12, 2017 at 4:08 pm

We are still using the poisonous Euro 2 fuel. Fix that first la. Suddenly care so much about the environment, tipu meh.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 12, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Where is the first Proton EEV car??
    It has been announced since 2012,
    Until now, no news

• kentot on Apr 12, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Garment cakap esok kita mau naik matahari liau, so u jangan mainmain playplay

• Multi Management and Future Solutions on Apr 12, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Transport mechanism is a source of income. While wants to get their own peripherals you can target a signals advisory for Bursa KLSE have with Multi Management and future Solutions!

• Sammy Loo on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:40 pm

possible if government immediately remove the tax for CBU EV as well.

else, wait for this long over due project…
    https://paultan.org/2014/01/23/proton-hybrid-to-enter-market-end-2015/

• When you announce this, any plan to encourage ev on road? U can attract Tesla making ev in Malaysia? U build how many supercharger station? Tenaga ready to reduce electric price? Infrastructure to support ev? Nothing? Look like dreaming?! Cakap kosong saja

• Malaysia is very behind on EV , still living on caves lah n hospital full of people with hydrocarbon related illness . Gov kita bila baru mahu introduce EV.