FIRST LOOK: Toyota C-HR SUV walk-around tour

It’s still a long way to go before the Toyota C-HR makes its way to Malaysia, but UMW Toyota is already putting the B-segment crossover on a tour of Peninsular Malaysia, so we took the opportunity to give you a closer look at the hotly-anticipated product.

Slated to be launched either at the end of the year or early next year, the Malaysian-market C-HR will come powered by a 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i engine – likely the 139 PS/173 Nm 2ZR-FE mill in the Corolla Altis – matched to a CVT. The car seen here is an entry-level Australian-spec model featuring a 115 PS/185 Nm 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbocharged, which we won’t get.

Other details revealed include the incorporation of follow-me-home headlights, puddle lights projecting the C-HR logo as well as rear cross traffic alert. While the car seen here also comes with features such as dual-zone automatic climate control and the Toyota Safety Sense suite that includes autonomous emergency braking and active cruise control, it should be noted that this unit is not representative of what we’re getting.

Want to know more about this car? Then watch as our man Hafriz Shah takes you though a tour of the Toyota C-HR. Let us know what you think in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MdKadir on Aug 08, 2017 at 10:50 am

Tak cantik sangat lah berbanding HRV.. kalau spec asal bila masuk malaysia diubah lagi jawabnya tak laku lah ye…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • not practical on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:48 am

x guna pon C-segment base platform, ruang nya sempit. Luar pon mcm kembar Vios jer

• Kereta Kosong on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Truly Ah Beng’s car. Sure will attract a lot of Ah Beng to buy and mod here, mod there, put light blink blink here and there, big speaker, big exhaust pipe.

• Sejati on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Caya la Friz! Hrv cx3 puihhh

• slow as snail on Aug 09, 2017 at 2:16 pm

look fast but slow… just a reminder to future buyer, on the highway pls stay on left lane… jangan menyusahkan pemandu lain

• YeezyGuy on Aug 08, 2017 at 10:52 am

Ultraboost, ultra trendy, ultra hip. Toyota CH-R, worth the Wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • No point learning about this car if spec is not even similar. Pls gip review for tomyam CHR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:31 am

The Thailand-assembled Toyota C-HR has not been unveiled just yet.

• Presenting a car from vastly diff market creates too much speculation from armchair “experts” here. Better to keep Aussie CHR reviews to a minimum, just a taste of whats the car about. Then go full monty on tomyam CHR when its unveiled. Keeps things more realistic than having unnecessary heated arguments here.

• Con toyoda on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:23 am

So outdated interior! Myvi also look better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • I’m pretty sure the autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and lane departure warning will not be offered in the base line but will be offered at a higher variant model in Malaysia. We will get both blind spot monitoring and rear-cross traffic alert as these two features work together.

As for the engine, I’ve test driven one in Perth the other day. The test drive unit that I’ve had was the 1.2 litre turbo engine paired with CVT.
    On normal flat road, it was driven with ease considering it has enough torque to get up to speed. However, the drive itself was somewhat disappointing for uphill climbing. I’ll need to floor down the accelerator for it to give the extra power to get it up to speed at 60km/h.

As for the 1.2 litre turbo engine, given the average weight of a C-HR was 1395kg. The turbo has a power figure of 85kW Power. This translate to only just 60.9 W/kg Power to weight ratio. As for the 1.8 litre engine, it has 103kW of power, which translate to 73.8 W/kg. Which means, this car might be powerful enough to climb hills like Genting if paired with CVT.

My two cents worth of opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Zoom Zoom on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:18 pm

CH-R at 1395kg is quite heavy compared to HRV about 1260kg.
      Is even heavier than a Mazda 6 2.0 D-Segement 1393kg. To me 1.8 or 1.2T will be quite under power for a 1.4 tons car. Pickup will even lose to 1.5 Honda City.

• Nazee on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Do you think the average Malaysians cares? They see T or H. Buy buy buy. No need test no need think.

• Stick T badge on literal shiet oso sheeps says its smells gud.

• Henry on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Why don’t you stick T or H on your cars to see if it can sell? Don’t tokkok lah.

• taknaktoyota on Aug 08, 2017 at 9:33 pm

T badge is a joke now, not worth to stick on

• boooooo on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:39 pm

This is 1.5 tons car, not 1.4!!!!
        Turbo engine can getthe toeque sooner but is still not enough and have to push pedal hard

In short, it is sucky big time

• yep..
    pricing pls..

• nabill (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:34 am

stimes when there is too much design in a small confined space,it will look messy,and it will look u r trying too hard…that interior has 0 cohesion in design…its a mess…

• SadekSegaraga on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:36 am

This car will sell like hot cakes if its interior spacious like HRV and cheaper than HRV

• toyota lover on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:46 am

ini kereta berapa lui $$$?

• thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:47 am

Again, nice to see the durian (CHR) but cannot eat (buy) because belum masak (different spec)

Great looking car. By looks alone it should be able to sell, now all depends on the price. If it’s on par with HRV price (since both 1.8 NA) then Honda have a good competitor. Anything higher then it will have to fight with a higher proper SUV segment which might not fare well for poor tiny CHR.

• Sulaiman on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:49 am

So disappointed after waiting so long. 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i engine 139 PS/173 Nm is no go. Its an ancient engine. Big cc with no power

• Tokok on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:43 pm

UMW think we 3rd country ma, deswai gip us 3rd world country specs

• Sulaiman on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:56 pm

1.5yrs down d road they wl introduce d 1.5l turbo engine wt 170hp in d facelift. Coz only then its ready. U think they care for ur well being !! If u r in d us, europe mayb. Kat sini gigit jari je la. Here nobody wants to say anything abt their behavior

• SoFarSoFail on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Dear PaulTan,
    Has it been confirmed whether the 1.8 engine is a hybrid or a non-hybrid model for Malaysian market?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:55 pm

As far as we know, it will be a non-hybrid 1.8 Dual VVTi unit.

• Powershot on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Read the review of the car at AU.
    Conclusion:
    Mazda CX-3 < Toyota C-HR < Honda H-RV

• Lastest Polis Car on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:51 pm

this would make a terrific polis car…criminals will regret committing a crime after sitting at the back..well done Mr CHR

• horrayooi on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Unprofessional video. Too dark, not enough light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Apologies, we had to shoot this at 7am in the morning to avoid the crowd, and the backlit sun was too much for our camera.

• Dear PT,
    Has it been confirmed whether the 1.8 engines is the hybrid or non-hybrid model for MY market? I’ll not waste more time waiting if its the non-hybrid model and find other options.
    Thanks.

• ccy7218 on Aug 08, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Buang masa buat walkover sebab kereta ini bukan specs kita, so memang wasting time… Kena tunggu yg actual car baru cakap lah…

• RavenAii (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Bad rearview visibility. Imo too much blind spot for the driver.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:29 pm

seriously im surprised by the very positive comment on the interior…the interior was quite basic…i dont see much difference between this interior and that of HRV….